DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Paragraph 0001 of the instant filed specification must be amended to indicate application 17/770,230 is now U.S. 12,173,735.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the internal flow regulating passage, the injection nozzle for dispersion of liquids, measurement device for determining fluid properties and corrosion coupon for monitoring corrosion, and auxiliary piece of equipment must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). In addition, the instant filed specification paragraph 0094 states in part: “The grooves 106 are illustrated in alternating colours, blue and red” in reference to instant filed Figs. 8-10, however there is no colorization, only black and white representations in Figs. 8-10, as such, fail to indicate what is stated in the specification. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. 2021/0164842 to Grabenauer et al. Grabenauer et al. disclose a vortex suppressing sample probe (see entire reference, particularly, paras 0003 and 0010) for a fluid flowing in a pipeline/process space (P) (see Fig. 7 and paras 0084-0087), the sample probe comprising: an elongate body (3.1, 4.1) with an outer surface having a leading section and a trailing section along a length of the elongate body, in relation to a direction of fluid flow (F) when the sample probe is located in the pipeline/process space, the elongate body having one or more grooves (spaces between helix structure 3.5, or indentations (see Figs. 11A-11D), defined in the outer surface and that extend from the leading section to the trailing section of the elongate body, the grooves being configured so that in use, when the sample probe is in the pipeline/process space, the grooves allow fluid flow towards the trailing section that inherently disrupts a formation of vortices (see paras 0004-0006 and 0011-0012) (as recited in instant independent claim 1); wherein the grooves follow a path around the elongate body section in a helix/sinusoidal (see para 0011) (note: a helix is mathematically built directly from sinusoidal components) circumferential path which extend transversely to a longitudinal axis of the elongate body from the leading section to the trailing section (meeting the limitations recited in instant dependent claims 2 and 3); wherein the elongate body having a first end (4.2), a second end (4.3) and an internal passage (see Fig. 4B) extending between the first end and the second end for collecting fluid/gas samples (as recited in instant dependent claim 4); wherein the elongate body is configured to be inserted into the pipeline/process space (see Fig. 7) (as recited in instant dependent claim 11); wherein the elongate body can include a measurement device/temperature sensor for determining fluid/temperature properties (as recited in instant dependent claim 12).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. 2019/0242792 to Knight. Knight discloses a vortex suppressing sample probe (see entire reference) for a fluid flowing in a pipeline/process space (see para 0002), the sample probe comprising: an elongate body (112) (see Figs.) with an outer surface having a leading section and a trailing section along a length of the elongate body, in relation to a direction of fluid flow when the sample probe is located in the pipeline/process space, the elongate body having one or more grooves (spaces between helical fins 220a-c) defined in the outer surface and that extend from the leading section to the trailing section of the elongate body, the grooves being configured so that in use, when the sample probe is in the pipeline/process space, the grooves allow fluid flow towards the trailing section that inherently disrupts a formation of vortices (see paras 0003-0011, 0029 and 0057) (as recited in instant independent claim 1); wherein the grooves follow a path around the elongate body section in a helical path (as recited in instant dependent claim 2); wherein the elongate body having a first end, a second end and an internal passage (32) extending between the first end and the second end for collecting fluid/gas samples (as recited in instant dependent claim 4); wherein the elongate body is configured to be inserted into the pipeline/process space (see abstract and para 0002) (as recited in instant dependent claim 11); wherein the elongate body can include a measurement device/temperature sensor for determining fluid/temperature properties (as recited in instant dependent claim 12).
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S.2009/0211368 to Garnett et al. Garnett et al. disclose a vortex suppressing sample probe (see entire reference) for a fluid flowing in a pipeline/process space (10), the sample probe comprising: an elongate body (21) with an outer surface having a leading section and a trailing section along a length of the elongate body, in relation to a direction of fluid flow when the sample probe is located in the pipeline/process space, the elongate body having one or more grooves (Fig. 3C) (see paras 0065-0068) defined in the outer surface and that extend from the leading section to the trailing section of the elongate body, the grooves being configured so that in use, when the sample probe is in the pipeline/process space, the grooves allow fluid flow towards the trailing section that inherently disrupts a formation of vortices (see paras 0001, 0005, 0006, 0042-0043 and 0055-0057) (as recited in instant independent claim 1); wherein the grooves follow a path around the elongate body section in a helical path (as recited in instant dependent claim 2); wherein the elongate body is configured to be inserted into the pipeline/process space (see Fig. 4 and associated text).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2021/0164842 to Grabenauer et al. as applied to claims 1 and 4 above, and further in view of U.S. 4,481,833 to Bajek. Grabenauer et al. disclose a vortex suppressing sample probe having all of the elements and associated functionality stated previously. Grabenauer et al. do not explicitly disclose the elongate body further including a threaded connection located at the second end for connecting the sample probe to an auxiliary piece of equipment (as recited in instant dependent claim 5); a flow regulating arrangement located at the first end for regulating fluid flow into or out of the internal passage (as recited in instant dependent claim 6); the flow regulating arrangm3ent includes a valve in fluid communication with the internal passage (as recited in instant dependent claim 7). Bajek discloses a sampling probe (1) (see entire reference) for sampling fluids in a pipeline (2) having an elongate body extending into the pipeline, the elongate body having an internal passage and first end and a second end, wherein an opening (7) to sample the fluids is located at the first end (see Fig. 1); wherein a flow regulating arrangement can include a valve in communication with the internal passage for regulating the flow of fluid into or out of the internal passage (see col. 3, lines 35-39) and wherein a threaded connection (9) is located at the second end of the sample probe for connecting the sample probe to a sample handling apparatus/auxiliary piece of equipment. It would have been obvious to modify the sample probe disclosed by Grabenauer et al., employing a valve as a flow regulating arrangement at the first end of the elongate body, to stop (i.e. control) the sample flow as necessary to sampling handling apparatus/auxiliary piece of equipment (see col. 3, lines 37-39), thus meeting the limitations of instant dependent claims 5-7.
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2021/0164842 to Grabenauer et al. and U.S. 4,481,833 to Bajek as applied to claims 1-7 above, and further in view of U.S. 6,360,619 to Schultz, Jr. Grabenauer et al. and Bajek disclose a vortex suppressing sample probe having all of the elements and functionality stated previously. Bajek further discloses that sampling probes can further include filter/screen (17) is employed at the first end of the probe near the opening to remove/prevent particulate matter from being sampled along with the fluid (see Fig. 3) or at some other point downstream of the sample probe which is in fluid communication with the internal flow regulating passage, thus meeting the limitations of instant dependent claim 10. Grabenauer et al. and Bajek do not explicitly disclose the valve includes a poppet valve body, and a spring configured to bias the poppet valve to rest on an annular valve seat (as recited in instant dependent claim 8); wherein the spring is located in an internal flow regulating passage in fluid communication with the internal flow regulating passage (as recited in instant dependent claim 9). Schultz, Jr. discloses a sampling probe (10) employing (see entire reference) employing a poppet valve body (32) and a spring (54) configured to bias the poppet valve body to rest on an annular seat (63); and wherein the spring is located in an internal flow regulating passage defined in a flow regulating arrangement, and that any type of valve means known to those skilled in the art useful for controllably opening or closing a conduit to the flow of a fluid therethrough including gate valves, poppet valves, shuttle valves, plug valves, needle valves, elliptic valves, globe valves, iris valves, and “butterfly” valves (see col. 4, line 66 to col. 5, line 5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to employ a poppet valve and the associated elements, or any other suitable valve with the associated valve elements required for the valve to function as taught by Schultz, Jr., , modifying the valve in the sample probe disclosed by Grabenauer et al. and Bajek, to prevent fluid leakage (see abstract of Schultz, Jr.), thus meeting the limitations recited in instant dependent claims 8 and 9. In addition to the above, the instant filed disclosure fails to disclose an particular engineering or design reasons in employing a poppet valve and the associated limitations thereof encompassing instant dependent claims 8 and 9, and it appears any other suitable valve (as disclosed by Schultz, Jr.) would work equally as well. In addition, poppet valves are known to those of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date, and are known to provide faster response times (i.e. opening and closing times), as well as superior leak-tight sealing, as well as longer service life than other valves, along with capable of handling dirty environments, as well as operating cleanly without requiring external oil lubrication. As such, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify the valve arrangement disclosed by Grabenauer et al. and Bajek, employing a poppet valve and all the associated aspects thereof recited in instant dependent claims 8 and 9, for the aforementioned reasons.
Claim(s) 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2021/0164842 to Grabenauer et al. and U.S. 4,481,833 to Bajek. Grabenauer et al. disclose a vortex suppressing sample probe for a fluid flowing in a pipeline/process space (P) (see entire reference, particularly, paras 0003 and 0010) the sample probe including: an elongate body (3.1, 4.1) having a first end, a second end, and an internal passage (see Fig. 4B) extending between the first end and the second end for collecting fluid/gas samples, and an outer surface including a leading section and a trailing section along the length of the elongate body, in relation to a direction of fluid/gas flow (F) when the sample probe is located in the pipeline/process space, the elongate body having one or more grooves (spaces between helix structure 3.5, or indentations (see Figs. 11A-11D) defined in the outer surface and that extend from the leading section to the trailing section of the elongate body, the grooves being configured so that in use, when the sample probe is in the pipeline/process space, the grooves allow fluid flow towards the trailing section that inherently disrupts a formation of vortices (see paras 0004-0006 and 0011-0012) (as mostly recited in instant independent claim 13); wherein the grooves follow a path around the elongate body section in a helix/sinusoidal (see para 0011) (note: a helix is mathematically built directly from sinusoidal components) circumferential path which extend transversely to a longitudinal axis of the elongate body from the leading section to the trailing section (meeting the limitations instant dependent claims 14 and 15). Grabenauer et al. do not explicitly disclose a flow regulating arrangement located at the first end, the flow regulating arrangement includes a valve in fluid communication with the internal passage for regulating the flow of fluid/gas into or out of the internal passage (as recited in the remaining limitations of instant independent claim 13); or wherein the elongate body further includes a threaded connection located at the second end for connecting the sample probe to an auxiliary piece of equipment (as recited in instant dependent claim 16). Bajek discloses a sampling probe (1) (see entire reference) for sampling fluids in a pipeline (2) having an elongate body extending into the pipeline, the elongate body having an internal passage and first end and a second end, wherein an opening (7) to sample the fluids is located at the first end (see Fig. 1); wherein a flow regulating arrangement can include a valve in communication with the internal passage for regulating the flow of fluid into or out of the internal passage (see col. 3, lines 35-39) and wherein a threaded connection (9) is located at the second end of the sample probe for connecting the sample probe to a sample handling apparatus/auxiliary piece of equipment. It would have been obvious to modify the sample probe disclosed by Grabenauer et al., employing a valve as a flow regulating arrangement at the first end of the elongate body, to stop (i.e. control) the sample flow as necessary to sampling handling apparatus/auxiliary piece of equipment (see col. 3, lines 37-39), thus meeting the remaining limitations recited in instant independent claims 13 as well as limitations of instant dependent claim 16.
Claim(s) 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2021/0164842 to Grabenauer et al. and U.S. 4,481,833 to Bajek as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of U.S. 6,360,619 to Schultz, Jr. Grabenauer et al. and Bajek disclose a vortex suppressing sample probe having all of the elements and functionality stated previously. Bajek further discloses that sampling probes can further include filter/screen (17) is employed at the first end of the probe near the opening to remove/prevent particulate matter from being sampled along with the fluid (see Fig. 3) or at some other point downstream of the sample probe which is in fluid communication with the internal flow regulating passage, thus meeting the limitations of instant dependent claim 19. Grabenauer et al. and Bajek do not explicitly disclose the valve includes a poppet valve body, and a spring configured to bias the poppet valve to rest on an annular valve seat (as recited in instant dependent claim 17); wherein the spring is located in an internal flow regulating passage in fluid communication with the internal flow regulating passage (as recited in instant dependent claim 18). Schultz, Jr. discloses a sampling probe (10) employing (see entire reference) employing a poppet valve body (32) and a spring (54) configured to bias the poppet valve body to rest on an annular seat (63); and wherein the spring is located in an internal flow regulating passage defined in a flow regulating arrangement, and that any type of valve means known to those skilled in the art useful for controllably opening or closing a conduit to the flow of a fluid therethrough including gate valves, poppet valves, shuttle valves, plug valves, needle valves, elliptic valves, globe valves, iris valves, and “butterfly” valves (see col. 4, line 66 to col. 5, line 5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to employ a poppet valve and the associated elements, or any other suitable valve with the associated valve elements required for the valve to function as taught by Schultz, Jr., , modifying the valve in the sample probe disclosed by Grabenauer et al. and Bajek, to prevent fluid leakage (see abstract of Schultz, Jr.), thus meeting the limitations recited in instant dependent claims 17 and 18. In addition to the above, the instant filed disclosure fails to disclose an particular engineering or design reasons in employing a poppet valve and the associated limitations thereof encompassing instant dependent claims 8 and 9, and it appears any other suitable valve (as disclosed by Schultz, Jr.) would work equally as well. In addition, poppet valves are known to those of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date, and are known to provide faster response times (i.e. opening and closing times), as well as superior leak-tight sealing, as well as longer service life than other valves, along with capable of handling dirty environments, as well as operating cleanly without requiring external oil lubrication. As such, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify the valve arrangement disclosed by Grabenauer et al. and Bajek, employing a poppet valve and all the associated aspects thereof recited in instant dependent claims 17 and 18, for the aforementioned reasons.
Claim(s) 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2019/0242792 to Knight and U.S. 4,481,833 to Bajek. Knight discloses a vortex suppressing sample probe for a fluid flowing in a pipeline (see entire reference) the sample probe including: an elongate body (112, see Figs.) having a first end, a second end, and an internal passage (32) extending between the first end and the second end for collecting fluid/gas samples, and an outer surface including a leading section and a trailing section along the length of the elongate body, in relation to a direction of fluid/gas flow when the sample probe is located in the pipeline (see para 0002), the elongate body having one or more grooves (spaces between helical fins 220a-c) defined in the outer surface and that extend from the leading section to the trailing section of the elongate body, the grooves being configured so that in use, when the sample probe is in the pipeline/process space, the grooves allow fluid flow towards the trailing section that inherently disrupts a formation of vortices (see paras 0003-0011, 0029 and 0057) (as mostly recited in instant independent claim 13); wherein the grooves follow a path around the elongate body section in a helical path (as recited in instant dependent claim 14). Knight does not explicitly disclose a flow regulating arrangement located at the first end, the flow regulating arrangement includes a valve in fluid communication with the internal passage for regulating the flow of fluid/gas into or out of the internal passage (as recited in the remaining limitations of instant independent claim 13). Bajek discloses a sampling probe (1) (see entire reference) for sampling fluids in a pipeline (2) having an elongate body extending into the pipeline, the elongate body having an internal passage and first end and a second end, wherein an opening (7) to sample the fluids is located at the first end (see Fig. 1); wherein a flow regulating arrangement can include a valve in communication with the internal passage for regulating the flow of fluid into or out of the internal passage (see col. 3, lines 35-39). It would have been obvious to modify the sample probe disclosed by Knight, employing a valve as a flow regulating arrangement at the first end of the elongate body, to stop (i.e. control) the sample flow as necessary (see col. 3, lines 37-39), thus meeting the remaining limitations recited in instant independent claims 13.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is invited to review PTO form 892 accompanying this Office Action listing Prior Art relevant to the instant invention cited by the Examiner.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Primary Examiner John Fitzgerald whose telephone number is (571) 272-2843. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 7:00 AM to 3:30 PM E.S.T. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor John Breene, can be reached at telephone number (571) 272-4107. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. The central fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOHN FITZGERALD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855