DETAILED ACTION
Surface Cleaning Apparatus with Steam
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 11, it is unclear what the “a heated liquid dispenser comprising the heated liquid outlet; and a steam dispenser comprising the steam vapor outlet, wherein the steam dispenser is positioned on an exterior of the housing and the heated liquid dispenser is located within an interior of the housing” is supposed to be since claim 1, discloses the outlets dispenses liquid it is unclear how there is an additional dispenser. Examiner will be interpreting that the dispenser and outlet include the same component.
Regarding claim 17, it is unclear how “dispensing, from a liquid dispenser, unheated liquid at a flow rate of 1600 to 2100 ml/min toward at least one rotating agitator; wherein the unheated liquid is dispensed simultaneously with the heated liquid and the steam vapor.” is being performed since a pump for liquid dispenser is not disclosed in the claims, and the liquid dispenser’s flow rate is dependent on a pump. Examiner will be interpreting that the liquid dispenser needs to be capable of performing this action.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. It is unclear how dual-phase distributor provides additional structure, since all the limitations have been recited in claim 16 and claim 20 can be interpreted as defining multiple separate parts as a group. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12,14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (US20210393102A1) in view of McDowell (US20170251897A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bian teaches
a housing (para 0056 , figure 6) having a portion adapted for movement over a surface to be cleaned; and
a fluid delivery system (para 0073) comprising:
a fluid supply container (1, figure 6);
a heater (2, figure 6) in fluid communication with the fluid supply container, wherein the heater is configured (examiner interpreting only one of these limitations need to be met) to at least one of:
heat cleaning fluid to about 100 °C (para 0063);
generate heated fluid having a steam quality of 20 to 30%
a first supply path (33 and 35, figure 6) including the heater;
a first pump (34, figure 6) configured to pressurize the first supply path; and
a steam vapor outlet (115, figure 6)to dispense a vapor phase of the heated fluid as steam vapor;
wherein:
the fluid delivery system is configured (capable of performing this action see para 0022-0023) to dispense steam vapor at a flow rate of 10 to 18 ml/min from the steam vapor outlet.
Bian fails to teach a heated fluid inlet in fluid communication with the heater to receive heated fluid from the heater, control the delivery of heated fluid to the heated fluid inlet, a heated liquid outlet to dispense a liquid phase of the heated fluid to the surface to be cleaned as heated liquid, the fluid delivery system is configured to dispense heated liquid at a flow rate of 41 to 72 ml/min from the heated liquid outlet.
Mcdowell teaches a surface cleaning apparatus that includes a fluid delivery system (para 0163-0166) comprising:
a fluid supply container (1116, figure 30) configured to store a supply of a cleaning fluid; a heater (1318, 1306, figure 30) in fluid communication with the fluid supply container; and
a heated fluid inlet (top end of 1136, figure 30) in fluid communication with the heater to receive heated fluid from the heater (para 0163-0166);
a heated liquid outlet (1134, para 0163-0166, figure 30) to dispense a liquid phase of the heated fluid to the surface to be cleaned as heated liquid; and
a steam vapor outlet (1312, para 0163, figure 30) to dispense a vapor phase of the heated fluid as steam vapor.
Since, both Bian and Mcdowell teach a surface cleaning apparatus that have heaters and are designed to have outlets that deliver liquid. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date to use the teachings of McDowell to modify the structure of Bian’s apparatus, to include having a heated fluid inlet in fluid communication with the heater to receive heated fluid from the heater, control the delivery of heated fluid to the heated fluid inlet, a heated liquid outlet to dispense a liquid phase of the heated fluid to the surface to be cleaned as heated liquid, the fluid delivery system is configured to dispense heated liquid at a flow rate of 41 to 72 ml/min from the heated liquid outlet. This modification would help with cleaning carpeted surfaces or upholstery without causing damage. (see para 0004 0159,0162 of Mcdowell)
Regarding claim 2, modified Bian teaches the fluid delivery system is configured (capable of performing this action) to dispense heated liquid at temperature of about 90 to 100 °C (see McDowell para 0154) from the heated liquid outlet; and
the fluid delivery system is configured (capable of performing this action see Bian para 0063) to dispense steam vapor at a temperature of about 90 to 100 °C from the steam vapor outlet.
Regarding claim 3, modified Bian teaches a second supply path (see Bian 31, figure 6); a liquid dispenser (see Bian 111, figure 6) having an unheated liquid outlet; and a second pump (see Bian 32, figure 6) configured to pressurize the second supply path and control the delivery of unheated liquid to the unheated liquid outlet.
Regarding claim 4, modified Bian teaches wherein the liquid delivery system is configured (see Bian para 0066 capable of performing this action) to dispense unheated liquid at a flow rate of 1600 to 2100 ml/min from the unheated liquid outlet.
Regarding claim 5, modified Bian teaches the fluid delivery system is configured (capable of performing this action) to dispense heated liquid at temperature of about 90 to 100 °C (see McDowell para 0154) from the heated liquid outlet; the fluid delivery system (see Bian para 0063)is configured (capable of performing this action) to dispense steam vapor at a temperature of about 90 to 100 °C from the steam vapor outlet; and the second supply path (see Bian 31, figure 6) bypasses the heater to deliver unheated liquid to the unheated liquid outlet.
Regarding claim 6, modified Bian teaches wherein the second pump (see Bian 32, figure 6) is in fluid communication with the fluid supply container.
Regarding claim 7, modified Bian teaches a manifold splitter (see annotated figure below) in fluid communication with an outlet of the fluid supply container, the manifold splitter comprising a first outlet (see interaction with 34, figure 6) in fluid communication with the first supply path and a second outlet (see interaction with 32, figure 6) in fluid communication with the second supply path.
Regarding claim 8, modified Bian teaches comprising at least one brushroll (see Bian 19, figure 6), and the heated liquid outlet (see McDowell 1134,figure 30) is positioned to dispense the heated liquid in front of at least one brushroll.
Regarding claim 9, Bian as modified above teaches all limitations stated above, but fails to teach , wherein the steam vapor outlet is positioned forwardly of the at least one brushroll and forwardly of the heated liquid outlet.
However, Bian does disclose in different embodiment repositioning the steam vapor outlet to be on front side of the housing (see para 0077).
Per MPEP 2144.04 (VI-C), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date to use the teachings of Bian’s different embodiment to further modify the structure of Bian’s apparatus to have wherein the steam vapor outlet is positioned forwardly of the at least one brushroll and forwardly of the heated liquid outlet, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. This modification would help soften the dirt on surface, which provides convivence for the subsequent cleaning by the cleaning roller. (see para 0077 of Bian)
Regarding claim 10, modified Bian teaches wherein the heated liquid outlet is positioned to dispense heated liquid directly onto the surface to be cleaned (see Mcdowell para 0167), and the steam vapor outlet (see Bian 115, figure 6) is positioned to dispense steam vapor toward the surface to be cleaned.
Regarding claim 11, modified Bian as modified above teaches all limitations stated above, a heated liquid dispenser comprising the heated liquid outlet (see Mcdowel para 0163-0166; 1134, figure 30); and
a steam dispenser (see Bian 113, figure 4; para 0068) comprising the steam vapor outlet, wherein the steam dispenser is positioned on an exterior of the housing (see Bian 113, figure 3), but fails to teach the heated liquid dispenser is located within an interior of the housing.
However, Mcdowell does disclose a surface cleaning apparatus does disclose in different embodiment repositioning the heated liquid dispenser is located within an interior of the housing. (see para 0160, figure 29).
Per MPEP 2144.04 (VI-C), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date to use the teachings of Mcdowell’s different embodiment to further modify the structure of Bian’s apparatus to have the heated liquid dispenser is located within an interior of the housing involves only routine skill in the art. This modification would help protect external objects. (see figure 29 of Mcdowell)
Regarding claim 12, modified Bian teaches a suction nozzle (see Bian 114, figure3) , wherein the steam vapor outlet (see Bian 115, figure 3) is positioned forwardly of the suction nozzle, and the heated liquid outlet is positioned rearwardly of the suction nozzle. (see Mcdowell 1134 rear of 1108, figure 30)
Regarding claim 14, modified Bian teaches all limitations stated above, and a suction nozzle (see Bian 114, figure 6) and a vapor discharge conduit (see annotated figure 6) to supply the vapor phase to the steam vapor outlet, but fails to teach wherein the vapor discharge conduit ports the vapor phase around the suction nozzle.
However, Bian does disclose in different embodiment repositioning the steam vapor outlet (see para 0077).
Mcdowell teaches in different embodiment a surface cleaning apparatus that includes a vapor discharge (1138, figure 25) wherein the vapor discharge conduit ports the vapor phase around a suction nozzle (1108, figure 25).
Per MPEP 2144.04 (VI-C), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date to use the teachings of Mcdowell’s different embodiment to further modify the structure of Bian’s apparatus to have wherein wherein the vapor discharge conduit ports the vapor phase around the suction nozzle, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 15, modified Bian teaches a fluid recovery system (see Bian para 0073-0075) comprising a suction nozzle (see Bian 114, figure 6) , a recovery container (see Bian 3, figure 6), and a suction source;
wherein the surface cleaning apparatus is an upright extraction cleaner (see Bian para 0056), and the housing (see Bian para 0056) includes: a base (see Bian 12, figure 3) adapted for movement across a surface to be cleaned and comprising the suction nozzle; and an upright assembly (see Bian 11, figures 2-3) that is pivotally connected to the base for directing the base across the surface to be cleaned; and wherein at least the steam vapor outlet (see Bian 115, figure 3) is located on an exterior of the suction nozzle.
Claim(s) 13,16-18,20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (US20210393102A1) in view of McDowell (US20170251897A1) and Conrad (US20190082925A1).
Regarding claim 13, Bian teaches a suction nozzle (see Bian 114, figure 6), wherein the steam vapor outlet (see Bian 115, figure 6) is positioned forwardly of the suction nozzle and heated liquid outlet (see McDowell 1134, figure 30), but fails to teach the heated liquid outlet is positioned forwardly of the suction nozzle.
Conrad teaches a surface cleaning apparatus (abstract) where liquid outlet (164, figure 14) is positioned forwardly of the suction nozzle (104, figure 14).
Because modified Bian and Conrad are both surface cleaners designed to have liquid dispensing outlets. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modify Bian to include the teachings of Conrad so that heated liquid outlet is positioned forwardly of the suction nozzle. This modification would help with ensuring the heated liquid can dispense liquid in the areas in front of the suction nozzle. Further, rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 16, Bian teaches providing a surface cleaning apparatus comprising a housing (see para 0056) having a portion adapted for movement over a surface to be cleaned and a fluid delivery system (para 0073) comprising a fluid supply container (1, figure 6), a heater (2, figure 6) in fluid communication with the fluid supply container, a supply path (35, figure 6) including the heater, a pump (34, figure 6) configured to pressurize the supply path and a steam vapor outlet (115, figure 6) to dispense a vapor phase of the heated fluid as steam vapor; an unheated liquid (see 111, figure 6) and the steam vapor (115, figure 6) are dispensed simultaneously to the surface to be cleaned.
However, Bian fails to teach a heated fluid inlet in fluid communication with the heater to receive heated fluid from the heater, control the delivery of heated fluid to the heated fluid inlet, a heated liquid outlet to dispense a liquid phase of the heated fluid to the surface to be cleaned as heated liquid.
Mcdowell teaches a surface cleaning apparatus that includes a fluid delivery system (para 0163-0166) comprising:
a fluid supply container (1116, figure 30) configured to store a supply of a cleaning fluid; a heater (1318, 1306, figure 30) in fluid communication with the fluid supply container; and
a heated fluid inlet (top end of 1136, figure 30) in fluid communication with the heater to receive heated fluid from the heater (para 0163-0166);
a heated liquid outlet (1134, para 0163-0166, figure 30) to dispense a liquid phase of the heated fluid to the surface to be cleaned as heated liquid; and
a steam vapor outlet (1312, para 0163, figure 30) to dispense a vapor phase of the heated fluid as steam vapor.
Since, both Bian and Mcdowell teach a surface cleaning apparatus that have heaters and are designed to have outlets that deliver liquid. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date to use the teachings of McDowell to modify the structure of Bian’s to perform the method of a heated fluid inlet in fluid communication with the heater to receive heated fluid from the heater, control the delivery of heated fluid to the heated fluid inlet, a heated liquid outlet to dispense a liquid phase of the heated fluid to the surface to be cleaned as heated liquid; dispensing, from the heated liquid outlet. This modification would help with cleaning carpeted surfaces or upholstery without causing damage. (see para 0004 0159,0162 of Mcdowell)
Further, Bian as modified by Mcdowell would teach wherein the heated liquid (see Mcdowell 1136, figure 30) and the steam vapor (see Bian 115, figure 6) are dispensed simultaneously to the surface to be cleaned.
Bian as modified by Mcdowell fails to teach heated liquid at a flow rate of 41 to 72 ml/min to a surface to be cleaned, and a flow rate of 10 to 18 ml/min of the vapor outlet.
Conrad teaches surface cleaning that has outlet for dispensing liquid via nozzle (see para 0659), and having various different cleaning modes based on different fluid flowrates.
Since, modified Bian and Conrad both teach a surface cleaning apparatus designed to have outlets that deliver liquid. Though each of modified Bian and Conrad teach similar apparatus with flowrate having specific flowrate based on a desired effect. Knowing this, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to try to modify the structure of the outlet of heated liquid to have any desired size, including having a flowrate of 41 to 72 ml/min for heated liquid outlet, a flowrate of 10 to 18 ml/min for steam vapor outlet, the unheated liquid outlet dispenses unheated liquid at a flow rate of 1600 to 2100 ml/min. in an attempt to optimize the flowrate in an attempt to try different cleaning modes. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 17, Bian as modified above teaches dispensing, from a liquid dispenser (see Bian para 0075-0074) unheated liquid at a flow rate of 1600 to 2100 (see rejection above) ml/min toward at least one rotating agitator (see Bian 16, figure 6); wherein the unheated liquid is dispensed simultaneously with the heated liquid and the steam vapor (see Bian para 0070-0076, figure 6).
Regarding claim 18, Bian as modified above teaches dispensing from the heated liquid outlet, the steam vapor outlet, and the liquid dispenser in response to depression of a trigger on the housing (see Bian para 0058).
Regarding claim 20, Bian as modified above teaches with the pump, the supply path (see Mcdowel 1134; para 0163-0166, figure 30) to deliver heated fluid from the heater to a dual-phase distributor (see 112 rejection above) comprising the heated liquid outlet and the steam vapor outlet (see Bian 115, figure 6).
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (US20210393102A1) in view of McDowell (US20170251897A1) and Conrad (US20190082906 A) further in view of York (US 6675437 B1).
Regarding claim 19, modified Bian teaches all limitations stated above, but fails to teach the heater generates heated fluid having a steam quality of 20 to 30%.
York teaches a washing system, where thermodynamic properties of cleaning fluid can be changed to change the thermodynamic quality (col 2 lines 31-45)
Because McDowell is silent to the steam quality of heated fluid. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date to use the teachings of York to try and modify the steam quality of Bian to have any desired ratio in an attempt to optimize the steam quality in an attempt to try and deliver fluid at a desired pressure or mixture, as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp, and where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2,16-17,19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 17-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,910,977. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the application claims are broader in at least one aspect than the patent claim.
Instant Application 18937296 Claims 1-2,16-17,19
U.S. Patent No. 11,910,977 Claims 1,17-18
A surface cleaning apparatus comprising:
a housing having a portion adapted for movement over a surface to be cleaned; and
a fluid delivery system comprising:
a fluid supply container;
a heater in fluid communication with the fluid supply container, wherein the heater is configured to at least one of:
heat cleaning fluid to about 100 °C; and
generate heated fluid having a steam quality of 20 to 30%;
a first supply path including the heater;
a heated fluid inlet in fluid communication with the heater to receive heated fluid from the heater;
a first pump configured to pressurize the first supply path and control the delivery of heated fluid to the heated fluid inlet;
a heated liquid outlet to dispense a liquid phase of the heated fluid to the surface to be cleaned as heated liquid; and
a steam vapor outlet to dispense a vapor phase of the heated fluid as steam vapor;
wherein:
the fluid delivery system is configured to dispense heated liquid at a flow rate of 41 to 72 ml/min from the heated liquid outlet; and
the fluid delivery system is configured to dispense steam vapor at a flow rate of 10 to 18 ml/min from the steam vapor outlet.
The surface cleaning apparatus of claim 1, wherein:
the fluid delivery system is configured to dispense heated liquid at temperature of about 90 to 100 °C from the heated liquid outlet; and
the fluid delivery system is configured to dispense steam vapor at a temperature of about 90 to 100 °C from the steam vapor outlet.
16. A method of wet cleaning a surface comprising:
providing a surface cleaning apparatus comprising a housing having a portion adapted for movement over a surface to be cleaned and a fluid delivery system comprising a fluid supply container, a heater in fluid communication with the fluid supply container, a supply path including the heater, a heated fluid inlet in fluid communication with the heater to receive heated fluid from the heater, a pump configured to pressurize the supply path and control the delivery of heated fluid to the heated fluid inlet, a heated liquid outlet to dispense a liquid phase of the heated fluid to the surface to be cleaned as heated liquid, and a steam vapor outlet to dispense a vapor phase of the heated fluid as steam vapor;
dispensing, from the heated liquid outlet, heated liquid at a flow rate of 41 to 72 ml/min to a surface to be cleaned; and
dispensing, from the steam vapor outlet, steam vapor at a flow rate of 10 to 18 ml/min to a surface to be cleaned;
wherein the heated liquid and the steam vapor are dispensed simultaneously to the surface to be cleaned.
17. The method of claim 16 comprising:
dispensing, from a liquid dispenser, unheated liquid at a flow rate of 1600 to 2100 ml/min toward at least one rotating agitator;
wherein the unheated liquid is dispensed simultaneously with the heated liquid and the steam vapor.
19. with the heater, cleaning fluid to produce heated fluid having a steam quality of 20 to 30%.
A surface cleaning apparatus comprising:
a housing having a portion adapted for movement over a surface to be cleaned; and a fluid delivery system comprising: a fluid supply container configured to store a supply of a cleaning fluid; a heater in fluid communication with the fluid supply container; and a dual-phase distributor comprising: a heated fluid inlet in fluid communication with the heater to receive heated fluid from the heater; a phase separator separating a vapor phase of the heated fluid from a liquid phase of the heated fluid; a heated liquid outlet in fluid communication with the phase separator to dispense the liquid phase of the heated fluid to the surface to be cleaned as heated liquid; and a steam vapor outlet in fluid communication with the phase separator to dispense the vapor phase of the heated fluid as steam vapor.
17. The surface cleaning apparatus of claim 1, comprising one or more of: an outlet diameter of the heated liquid outlet of approximately 0.5 mm; the heated liquid outlet is disposed about 20 mm from an underside of the portion of the housing adapted for movement over a surface to be cleaned; the steam vapor outlet is disposed about 9.75 mm from an underside of the portion of the housing adapted for movement over a surface to be cleaned; the heated liquid outlet dispenses heated liquid at a flow rate of 41 to 72 ml/min; the steam vapor outlet dispenses steam vapor at a flow rate of 10 to 18 ml/min; the heated liquid outlet dispenses heated liquid at temperature of about 90 to 100 °C..; the steam vapor outlet dispenses steam vapor at a temperature of about 90 to 100 °C..; and the heater generates heated fluid having a steam quality of 20 to 30%.
18. The surface cleaning apparatus of claim 1, comprising a liquid delivery system comprising a liquid dispenser having an unheated liquid outlet, and comprising one or more of: an outlet diameter of the heated liquid outlet of approximately 0.5 mm; an outlet diameter of the unheated liquid outlet of approximately 0.8 to 1.0 mm; the heated liquid outlet is disposed about 20 mm from an underside of the portion of the housing adapted for movement over a surface to be cleaned; the steam vapor outlet is disposed about 9.75 mm from an underside of the portion of the housing adapted for movement over a surface to be cleaned; the unheated liquid outlet is disposed about 20 to 25 mm from an underside of the portion of the housing adapted for movement over a surface to be cleaned; the heated liquid outlet dispenses heated liquid at a flow rate of 41 to 72 ml/min; the steam vapor outlet dispenses steam vapor at a flow rate of 10 to 18 ml/min; the unheated liquid outlet dispenses unheated liquid at a flow rate of 1600 to 2100 ml/min; the heated liquid outlet dispenses heated liquid at temperature of about 90 to 100°C.; the steam vapor outlet dispenses steam vapor at a temperature of about 90 to 100°C.; the unheated liquid outlet dispenses unheated liquid at a temperature of 32-55°C.; and the heater generates heated fluid having a steam quality of 20 to 30%.
Thus, it is apparent, that patent claims 1,17-18 includes features that are not in application claims 1-5,16-17,19. Following the rationale in In re Goodman, cited above, where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific or narrower invention, applicant may not then obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer. Since application claims 1-5,16-17,19. is anticipated by patent claims 1,17,18, and since anticipation is the epitome of obviousness, then application claims 1-5,16-17,19. is obvious over patent claims 1,17-18.
Claim 8 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,17-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11910977 in view of McDowell (US20170251897A1)
Instant Application 18937296
US Patent No. 11910977
A surface cleaning apparatus comprising:
a housing having a portion adapted for movement over a surface to be cleaned; and
a fluid delivery system comprising:
a fluid supply container;
a heater in fluid communication with the fluid supply container, wherein the heater is configured to at least one of:
heat cleaning fluid to about 100 °C; and
generate heated fluid having a steam quality of 20 to 30%;
a first supply path including the heater;
a heated fluid inlet in fluid communication with the heater to receive heated fluid from the heater;
a first pump configured to pressurize the first supply path and control the delivery of heated fluid to the heated fluid inlet;
a heated liquid outlet to dispense a liquid phase of the heated fluid to the surface to be cleaned as heated liquid; and
a steam vapor outlet to dispense a vapor phase of the heated fluid as steam vapor;
wherein:
the fluid delivery system is configured to dispense heated liquid at a flow rate of 41 to 72 ml/min from the heated liquid outlet; and
the fluid delivery system is configured to dispense steam vapor at a flow rate of 10 to 18 ml/min from the steam vapor outlet.
1. A surface cleaning apparatus comprising: a housing having a portion adapted for movement over a surface to be cleaned; and a fluid delivery system comprising: a fluid supply container configured to store a supply of a cleaning fluid; a heater in fluid communication with the fluid supply container; and a dual-phase distributor comprising: a heated fluid inlet in fluid communication with the heater to receive heated fluid from the heater; a phase separator separating a vapor phase of the heated fluid from a liquid phase of the heated fluid; a heated liquid outlet in fluid communication with the phase separator to dispense the liquid phase of the heated fluid to the surface to be cleaned as heated liquid; and a steam vapor outlet in fluid communication with the phase separator to dispense the vapor phase of the heated fluid as steam vapor.
17. The surface cleaning apparatus of claim 1, comprising one or more of: an outlet diameter of the heated liquid outlet of approximately 0.5 mm; the heated liquid outlet is disposed about 20 mm from an underside of the portion of the housing adapted for movement over a surface to be cleaned; the steam vapor outlet is disposed about 9.75 mm from an underside of the portion of the housing adapted for movement over a surface to be cleaned; the heated liquid outlet dispenses heated liquid at a flow rate of 41 to 72 ml/min; the steam vapor outlet dispenses steam vapor at a flow rate of 10 to 18 ml/min; the heated liquid outlet dispenses heated liquid at temperature of about 90 to 100? C.; the steam vapor outlet dispenses steam vapor at a temperature of about 90 to 100? C.; and the heater generates heated fluid having a steam quality of 20 to 30%.
18. The surface cleaning apparatus of claim 1, comprising a liquid delivery system comprising a liquid dispenser having an unheated liquid outlet, and comprising one or more of: an outlet diameter of the heated liquid outlet of approximately 0.5 mm; an outlet diameter of the unheated liquid outlet of approximately 0.8 to 1.0 mm; the heated liquid outlet is disposed about 20 mm from an underside of the portion of the housing adapted for movement over a surface to be cleaned; the steam vapor outlet is disposed about 9.75 mm from an underside of the portion of the housing adapted for movement over a surface to be cleaned; the unheated liquid outlet is disposed about 20 to 25 mm from an underside of the portion of the housing adapted for movement over a surface to be cleaned; the heated liquid outlet dispenses heated liquid at a flow rate of 41 to 72 ml/min; the steam vapor outlet dispenses steam vapor at a flow rate of 10 to 18 ml/min; the unheated liquid outlet dispenses unheated liquid at a flow rate of 1600 to 2100 ml/min; the heated liquid outlet dispenses heated liquid at temperature of about 90 to 100°C.; the steam vapor outlet dispenses steam vapor at a temperature of about 90 to 100°C.; the unheated liquid outlet dispenses unheated liquid at a temperature of 32-55°C.; and the heater generates heated fluid having a steam quality of 20 to 30%.
Claims 1,17-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11910977 do not teach at least one brushroll, and the heated liquid outlet is positioned to dispense the cleaning fluid in front of the at least one brushroll.
However, McDowell teaches at least one brushroll (1110, figure 30), and the heated liquid outlet (1134, para 0163-0166) is positioned to dispense the cleaning fluid in front of the at least one brushroll (1110, figure 30).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the cleaner recited in claim 17 and 18 to include at least one brushroll, and the heated liquid outlet is positioned to dispense the cleaning fluid in front of the at least one brushroll. This modification would allow heated liquid to be dispense onto the surface to be cleaned and clean areas that are heavily soiled (see para 0167 McDowell).
Claim 8 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,17-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11910977 in view of McDowell (US20170251897A1)
Instant Application 18937296
US Patent No. 11910977
A surface cleaning apparatus comprising:
a housing having a portion adapted for movement over a surface to be cleaned; and
a fluid delivery system comprising:
a fluid supply container;
a heater in fluid communication with the fluid supply container, wherein the heater is configured to at least one of:
heat cleaning fluid to about 100 °C; and
generate heated fluid having a steam quality of 20 to 30%;
a first supply path including the heater;
a heated fluid inlet in fluid communication with the heater to receive heated fluid from the heater;
a first pump configured to pressurize the first supply path and control the delivery of heated fluid to the heated fluid inlet;
a heated liquid outlet to dispense a liquid phase of the heated fluid to the surface to be cleaned as heated liquid; and
a steam vapor outlet to dispense a vapor phase of the heated fluid as steam vapor;
wherein:
the fluid delivery system is configured to dispense heated liquid at a flow rate of 41 to 72 ml/min from the heated liquid outlet; and
the fluid delivery system is configured to dispense steam vapor at a flow rate of 10 to 18 ml/min from the steam vapor outlet.
1. A surface cleaning apparatus comprising: a housing having a portion adapted for movement over a surface to be cleaned; and a fluid delivery system comprising: a fluid supply container configured to store a supply of a cleaning fluid; a heater in fluid communication with the fluid supply container; and a dual-phase distributor comprising: a heated fluid inlet in fluid communication with the heater to receive heated fluid from the heater; a phase separator separating a vapor phase of the heated fluid from a liquid phase of the heated fluid; a heated liquid outlet in fluid communication with the phase separator to dispense the liquid phase of the heated fluid to the surface to be cleaned as heated liquid; and a steam vapor outlet in fluid communication with the phase separator to dispense the vapor phase of the heated fluid as steam vapor.
17. The surface cleaning apparatus of claim 1, comprising one or more of: an outlet diameter of the heated liquid outlet of approximately 0.5 mm; the heated liquid outlet is disposed about 20 mm from an underside of the portion of the housing adapted for movement over a surface to be cleaned; the steam vapor outlet is disposed about 9.75 mm from an underside of the portion of the housing adapted for movement over a surface to be cleaned; the heated liquid outlet dispenses heated liquid at a flow rate of 41 to 72 ml/min; the steam vapor outlet dispenses steam vapor at a flow rate of 10 to 18 ml/min; the heated liquid outlet dispenses heated liquid at temperature of about 90 to 100? C.; the steam vapor outlet dispenses steam vapor at a temperature of about 90 to 100? C.; and the heater generates heated fluid having a steam quality of 20 to 30%.
18. The surface cleaning apparatus of claim 1, comprising a liquid delivery system comprising a liquid dispenser having an unheated liquid outlet, and comprising one or more of: an outlet diameter of the heated liquid outlet of approximately 0.5 mm; an outlet diameter of the unheated liquid outlet of approximately 0.8 to 1.0 mm; the heated liquid outlet is disposed about 20 mm from an underside of the portion of the housing adapted for movement over a surface to be cleaned; the steam vapor outlet is disposed about 9.75 mm from an underside of the portion of the housing adapted for movement over a surface to be cleaned; the unheated liquid outlet is disposed about 20 to 25 mm from an underside of the portion of the housing adapted for movement over a surface to be cleaned; the heated liquid outlet dispenses heated liquid at a flow rate of 41 to 72 ml/min; the steam vapor outlet dispenses steam vapor at a flow rate of 10 to 18 ml/min; the unheated liquid outlet dispenses unheated liquid at a flow rate of 1600 to 2100 ml/min; the heated liquid outlet dispenses heated liquid at temperature of about 90 to 100°C.; the steam vapor outlet dispenses steam vapor at a temperature of about 90 to 100°C.; the unheated liquid outlet dispenses unheated liquid at a temperature of 32-55°C.; and the heater generates heated fluid having a steam quality of 20 to 30%.
Claims 1,17-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11910977 do not teach at least one brushroll, and the heated liquid outlet is positioned to dispense the cleaning fluid in front of the at least one brushroll and the steam vapor outlet is positioned forwardly of the at least one brushroll and forwardly of the heated liquid outlet.
However, McDowell teaches at least one brushroll (1110, figure 30), and the heated liquid outlet (1134, para 0163-0166) is positioned to dispense the cleaning fluid in front of the at least one brushroll (1110, figure 30), and the steam vapor outlet (1312, para 0163) is positioned forwardly of the at least one brushroll (1110, figure 30) and forwardly of the heated liquid outlet (see para 0163 discloses 1310 which comprises 1312 is positioned on front of base see figure 30 forward of the brushroll)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the cleaner recited in claim 17 and 18 to include at least one brushroll, and the heated liquid outlet is positioned to dispense the cleaning fluid in front of the at least one brushroll and the steam vapor outlet is positioned forwardly of the at least one brushroll and forwardly of the heated liquid outlet. This modification would allow heated liquid to be dispense onto the surface to be cleaned and clean areas that are heavily soiled (see para 0167 McDowell).
Regarding claims 2-7,11, 20 of instant application are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 ,17-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11910977 in view of Bian (US20210393102A1); see 103 rejections above.
Regarding claims 10, 14, 15 of instant application are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 ,17-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11910977 in view of Bian (US20210393102A1) and McDowell (US20170251897A1); see 103 rejections above.
Conclusion
/SARAH AKYAA FORDJOUR/ Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723