DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see P. 9-11, filed 5/26/2026, with respect to claim 8 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 8, 11 & 12 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 5/26/2026, with respect to claims 1, 6 & 7 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued on P. 7 that “in Huang, the metal plate 1 does NOT include the first ground layer 304 and the second ground layer 305”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Since claim 1 does not recite a structural interconnection between the substrate, the first sub-portion, and the second sub-portion, the claim does not distinguish over the combined structure of Huang et al. to comprise a substrate (1, 304, 305 Figs. 1-4, 11, 12 Par. 0042, 0043, 0075), comprising a first sub-portion (304 Figs. 1-4, 11, 12 Par. 0043) and a second sub-portion (305 Figs. 1-4, 11, 12 Par. 0075) which are also better seen together in Figs. 13 & 14. In order to overcome the rejection, the examiner suggests amending the claim to distinguish the structural interconnection between the substrate, the first sub-portion, and the second sub-portion.
Applicant argued on P. 8 that “Huang fails to disclose and teaches all the technical feature of amended claim 1, and amended claim 1 is novel over Huang” with respect to “the conductive isolation portions”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Since claim 1 does not require the plurality of conductive isolation portions to arranged directly on a surface of the first sub-portion without any intervening layers and/or elements, the conductive isolation portions (303 Fig. 5 Par. 0045, 0046) of Huang et al. disclose the first alternative of being arranged on a surface of the first sub-portion (304 Figs. 1-4, 11, 12 Par. 0043) as seen in Figs. 5 & 6. In order to overcome the rejection, the examiner suggests amending the claim to distinguish the structural arrangement of the conductive isolation portions.
Applicant argued on P. 8 that “The antenna unit in Huang is NOT arranged on the first ground layer 304, but on the second insulating dielectric layer 308”, and on P. 9 “Therefore, those skilled in the art have no motivation to place the metal piece 303 on the surface of the first ground layer 304 or inside the first ground layer 304 based on the technical solution of Huang”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Specifically, since the claim does not require that the antenna module to be arranged directly on the surface of the first sub-portion without any intervening layers and/or elements, or inside of the first sub-portion, the claim does not distinguish over the arrangement of the arrangement of antenna module (201/202 Figs. 1-4, 8-11 Par. 0034) of Huang et al. arranged in the first sub-portion (Figs. 4, 8, 9, 11). In order to overcome the rejection, the examiner suggests amending the claim to distinguish the structural arrangement of the antenna module with the first sub-portion.
Applicant argued on P. 9 that “Huang cannot disclose the technical features in claims 6-7, especially according to the features in claim 7, which can arrange the first isolation portions on the two surfaces of the first sub-portion opposite to each other, respectively, and connect them through the second isolation portion”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Since the language of claim 7 does not preclude the two surfaces of the first sub-portion to be opposite from each other on the same side surface, the structure of Huang et al. as shown in annotated Fig. 5 below discloses the limitations of the claim. In order to overcome the rejection, the examiner suggests amending the claim to distinguish the structural arrangement of the two surfaces of the first sub-portion. Thus the rejection stands. Applicant's representative is invited to telephone the examiner for any clarification of any matter in this case.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 7, 13-16, 19 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al. US Patent Application Publication 2021/0320408.
Regarding Claim 1, Huang et al. teaches an antenna assembly (Figs. 1-4), comprising:
a substrate (1, 304, 305 Figs. 1-4, 11, 12 Par. 0042, 0043, 0075), comprising a first sub-portion (304 Figs. 1-4, 11, 12 Par. 0043) and a second sub-portion (305 Figs. 1-4, 11, 12 Par. 0075);
an antenna module (201/202 Figs. 1-4, 8-11 Par. 0034), arranged in the first sub-portion (Figs. 4, 8, 9, 11) and comprising two or more antenna units spaced apart from one another in the first sub-portion (plurality of 201/202 Figs. 4, 8, 9, 11);
an integrated circuit (310 Fig. 12 Par. 0074), arranged in the second sub-portion (Fig. 12); and
a plurality of connecting portions (307 Figs. 6-9, 13 Par. 0078), arranged on the substrate (Figs. 9, 11), and electrically connecting the antenna units with the integrated circuit (Par. 0078); and
a plurality of conductive isolation portions (303 Fig. 5 Par. 0045, 0046), located between two adjacent antenna units (plurality of 303 between each antenna 201/202 Fig. 5 Par. 0045, 0046);
wherein all of the conductive isolation portions are arranged on a surface of the first sub-portion (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 6, Huang et al. teaches wherein the conductive isolation portion comprises a first isolation portion arranged on the surface of the first sub-portion and a second isolation portion arranged in the first sub-portion (plurality of 303 between each antenna 201/202 Fig. 5 Par. 0045), and the first isolation portion and the second isolation portion are interconnected (“the metal piece 303 is grounded, and the metal piece 303 and the metal plate 1 are connected to the ground. The metal piece 303 may be electrically connected to the first ground layer 304 through a via to achieve grounding of the metal piece 303” Par. 0045).
Regarding Claim 7, Huang et al. teaches wherein the conductive isolation portion comprises a plurality of first isolation portions arranged on two surfaces of the first sub-portion opposite to each other (plurality of 303 opposite to each other and between each antenna 201/202 Fig. 5 Par. 0045, 0046), respectively, and the second isolation portion is connected to the plurality of first isolation portions located on the two surfaces of the first sub-portion opposite to each other (“the metal piece 303 is grounded, and the metal piece 303 and the metal plate 1 are connected to the ground. The metal piece 303 may be electrically connected to the first ground layer 304 through a via to achieve grounding of the metal piece 303” Par. 0045).
Regarding Claim 13, Huang et al. teaches a mobile terminal (“high-frequency multi-band wireless communication terminal” Figs. 15, 16 Par. 0090), comprising the antenna assembly according to claim 1 (as shown in the rejection above) and a housing (“housing of the high-frequency multi-band wireless communication terminal” Figs. 15, 16 Par. 0090), wherein the housing comprises: a frame (“a first frame 601, a second frame 602, a third frame 603, a fourth frame 604” Figs. 15, 16 Par. 0090), surrounding and forming a hollow space (hollow space inside frame seen in Fig. 16), and comprising a sub-segment portion (dashed antenna locations of 601 and 603 Fig. 16 Par. 0090), the sub-segment portion comprises an inner surface facing the hollow space and an outer surface away from the hollow space (Fig. 16), at least one of the inner surface or the outer surface is recessed (outer surface better seen in Fig. 15) to form a first groove (102 better seen in Figs. 3, 4), and the first groove extends in an extending direction of the sub-segment portion (102 better seen in Figs. 3, 4) and is configured to accommodate the plurality of antenna units (antenna units 201 better seen in Figs. 3, 4); and the first sub-portion is located in the first groove (Fig. 15).
Regarding Claim 14, Huang et al. teaches wherein the first groove is provided on the outer surface (Fig. 4, 15), and the second sub-portion is provided on the inner surface (inner surface better seen in Fig. 14); the housing further comprises a second groove formed by recessing the inner surface (Fig. 14), and the second sub-portion is located in the second groove (Fig. 14).
Regarding Claim 15, Huang et al. teaches wherein the first groove comprises a first bottom wall (bottom wall of 101, 102 better seen in Figs. 3, 4), and the antenna units are arranged on a side of the first sub-portion away from the first bottom wall (Figs. 3, 4); the second groove comprises a second bottom wall (bottom wall of 305 Figs. 12, 14), and the integrated circuit is arranged on a side of the second sub-portion away from the second bottom wall (Figs. 12, 14).
Regarding Claim 16, Huang et al. teaches wherein the sub-segment portion comprises a passage penetrating through the inner surface and the outer surface, the passage communicates with the first groove, and the connecting portion is electrically connected to the antenna units and the integrated circuit through the passage (Par. 0031).
Regarding Claim 19, Huang et al. teaches wherein the housing further comprises a decorative cover, arranged to cover the first groove (“an insulating medium is filled again on the basis of FIG. 2, so that the insulating medium covers the radiating patch 201, as shown in FIG. 3. The first insulating dielectric layer filled in the first accommodation groove 101 may be flush with an outer surface (that is, a surface on which the radio frequency module is not placed) of the metal plate 1” Par. 0042).
Regarding Claim 20, Huang et al. teaches wherein two or more concave cavities are formed by recessing a first bottom wall of the first groove (grooves 101 for each antenna 201 Figs. 3, 4 Par. 0034), and projections of the antenna units in a thickness direction of the sub-segment portion at least partially overlap with projections of the concave cavities in the thickness direction (Figs. 3, 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. US Patent Application Publication 2021/0320408 and Fujii et al. US Patent Application Publication 2021/0242569.
Regarding Claim 2, Huang et al. teaches the antenna assembly according to claim 1 as shown in the rejection above.
Huang et al. is silent on wherein the substrate further comprises a bending portion connecting the first sub-portion with the second sub-portion, and the first sub-portion, the second sub-portion and the bending portion are integrally arranged; and an end of the connecting portion is connected to the antenna units, and another end of the connecting portion extends to the integrated circuit through the bending portion to electrically connect the antenna unit with the integrated circuit.
However, Fujii et al. teaches wherein the substrate further comprises a bending portion (170 Figs. 7, 8 Par. 0064) connecting the first sub-portion with the second sub-portion (181 & 182 Figs. 7, 8 Par. 0065), and the first sub-portion, the second sub-portion and the bending portion are integrally arranged (Figs. 7, 8); and an end of the connecting portion is connected to the antenna units, and another end of the connecting portion extends to the integrated circuit through the bending portion to electrically connect the antenna unit with the integrated circuit (RFIC 110 connected to the antennas 1211, 1212 through feed lines 141, 142 extending through the bending portion Figs. 7, 8 Par. 0066, 0073).
In this particular case, providing the substrate with a bending portion connecting the first sub-portion with the second sub-portion and having the connecting portion extending to the integrated circuit through the bending portion to electrically connect the antenna unit with the integrated circuit is common and well known in the antenna art as evident by Fujii et al. to improve antenna isolation (Par. 0005-0008).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the substrate of Huang et al. with a bending portion connecting the first sub-portion with the second sub-portion and having the connecting portion extending to the integrated circuit through the bending portion to electrically connect the antenna unit with the integrated circuit based on the teachings of Fujii et al. as a result effect in order to improve antenna isolation.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. US Patent Application Publication 2021/0320408 and Hojo et al. US Patent Application Publication 2022/0320708.
Regarding Claim 3, Huang et al. teaches the antenna assembly according to claim 1 as shown in the rejection above.
Huang et al. is silent on wherein the first sub-portion and the second sub-portion are separately arranged, and the connecting portion comprises a first sub-segment arranged in the first sub-portion and electrically connected to the antenna unit and a second sub-segment arranged in the second sub-portion and electrically connected to the integrated circuit; and the first sub-segment and the second sub-segment are bound and connected with each other, or the first sub-segment and the second sub-segment are electrically connected with each other through a joint.
However, Hojo et al. teaches wherein the first sub-portion and the second sub-portion are separately arranged (10 & 20 separately arranged Figs. 2A, 2B Par. 0046), and the connecting portion comprises a first sub-segment arranged in the first sub-portion and electrically connected to the antenna unit (top portion 40 connected to antenna 21 and first sub-portion 20 Figs. 2A, 2B) and a second sub-segment arranged in the second sub-portion and electrically connected to the integrated circuit (bottom portion 40 connected to communication circuit 11 and second sub-portion 10 Figs. 2A, 2B); and the first sub-segment and the second sub-segment are bound and connected with each other (top and bottom portions 40 bound and connected with each other through 30 Figs. 2A, 2B Par. 0046).
In this particular case, providing the first sub-portion and the second sub-portion to be separately arranged, and the connecting portion comprising a first sub-segment arranged in the first sub-portion and electrically connected to the antenna unit and a second sub-segment arranged in the second sub-portion and electrically connected to the integrated circuit; and the first sub-segment and the second sub-segment are bound and connected with each other are common and well known in the antenna art as evident by Hojo et al. to provide a compact communication device (Par. 0005-0008, 0046, 0048).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the first and second sub-portions of Huang et al. to be separately arranged, and the connecting portion to comprise a first sub-segment arranged in the first sub-portion and electrically connected to the antenna unit and a second sub-segment arranged in the second sub-portion and electrically connected to the integrated circuit; and the first sub-segment and the second sub-segment be bound and connected with each other based on the teachings of Hojo et al. as a result effect in order to obtain a compact communication device.
Claims 17 & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. US Patent Application Publication 2021/0320408 and Murata et al. US Patent Application Publication 2020/0381843.
Regarding Claim 17, Huang et al. teaches wherein the sub-segment portion further comprises a first side surface and a second side surface connecting the inner surface with the outer surface and arranged opposite to each other (opposite vertical sides of 601 and 603 that connect the inner and outer surfaces Fig. 16).
Huang et al. is silent on the passage is formed by recessing the first side surface, and a top face of the connecting portion away from the second side surface is coplanar with the first side surface, or a top face of the connecting portion away from the second side surface is located on a side of the first side surface facing the second side surface.
However, Murata et al. teaches the passage is formed by recessing the first side surface (see cutout 135 Fig. 11 Par. 0078), and a top face of the connecting portion away from the second side surface is located on a side of the first side surface facing the second side surface (Fig. 11).
In this particular case, forming the passage by recessing the first side surface and having a top face of the connecting portion away from the second side surface be located on a side of the first side surface facing the second side surface is common and well known in the antenna art as evident by Murata et al. to reduce the size of the antenna module (Par. 0016).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to form the passage of Huang et al. by recessing the first side surface and having a top face of the connecting portion away from the second side surface be located on a side of the first side surface facing the second side surface based on the teachings of Murata et al. as a result effect in order to reduce the size of the antenna module.
Regarding Claim 18, Huang et al. as modified teaches wherein the antenna assembly further comprises a connector (309 Figs. 12, 14 Par. 0074), the connector is electrically connected to the integrated circuit (Par. 0074), and each of the connector and the integrated circuit is arranged in the second sub-portion (Figs. 12, 14) the plurality of antenna units are spaced apart from one another in the extending direction of the sub-segment portion (Figs. 12, 14); and the integrated circuit and the connector are spaced apart from each other in the extending direction of the sub-segment portion (Figs. 12, 14).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 11 & 12 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 8, in view of Applicant’s Remarks P. 9-11 filed 5/26/2026, the prior art of record, when taken alone or in combination does not explicitly teach nor render obvious the limitations “the sub-segment portion comprises a passage penetrating through the inner surface and the outer surface, the passage communicates with the first groove, and the passage is located at a position outside the concave cavities” in the arrangement as required by the claim. Claims 11 & 12 depend therefrom.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL M BOUIZZA/Examiner, Art Unit 2845