DETAILED ACTION
The following correspondence is a non-final Office Action for application no. 18/937,311 for an INFLATABLE SEATING APPARATUS, filed on 11/5/2024. Claims 1-15 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Berenson et al. (U.S. Pat. 9,486,083).
Regarding claim 1, Berenson teaches a seating apparatus comprising: an inflatable seat-back comprising a rear surface (41), the seat-back having a first area having a first width and a second area having a second width, wherein the second width is wider than the first width; an inflatable seat-bottom interconnected to the seat-back; an inflatable arm-rest assembly comprising a first arm-rest, a second arm-rest, and a cross-member; wherein the first arm-rest is configured to extend forward of the seat-back on a first side of the seat-back and the second arm-rest is configured to extend forward of the seat-back on a second side of the seat-back; wherein the first area of the seat-back extends between a first interior side of the first arm-rest and a second interior side of the second arm-rest; and wherein the second area of the seat-back extends under and partially supports a first portion of the first arm-rest and a second portion of the second arm-rest.
[AltContent: textbox (Inflatable seat back)]
[AltContent: textbox (1st width of 1st area)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Cross member )]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (1st arm rest)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (1st interior side of 1st arm rest)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (2nd interior side of 2nd arm rest)]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (2nd portion of 2nd arm rest)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (2nd arm rest)]
[AltContent: textbox (Inflatable seat bottom)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Hinge area allows for rotation )][AltContent: textbox (2nd width of 2nd area)]
Regarding claim 2, Berenson teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the seat-back is adapted to rotate relative to the cross-member (Fig. 2, via hinge area as shown in in Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 3, Berenson teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the rear surface of the seat-back is hingedly interconnected with the arm-rest assembly (Fig. 2, via hinge area as shown in in Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 4, Berenson teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the arm-rest assembly comprises a substantially planar upper surface and a substantially planar lower surface (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Berenson teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first arm-rest, second arm-rest, and cross-member are co-planar.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berenson et al. (U.S. Pat. 9,486,083) in view of Cerdas (U.S. Pub. 2015/0197323).
Regarding claim 6, Berenson teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but does not teach a magnetic connection apparatus interconnected to a top surface of the first arm rest or the second arm rest. Cerdas teaches an inflatable device with a magnetic connection apparatus interconnected to a top surface for attaching a tethering material thereto [0029]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectations of success, to construct the apparatus of Berenson with a magnetic connection apparatus interconnected to a top surface of the first arm rest or the second arm rest in order to removably and quickly attach various members to the apparatus to prevent loss if the apparatus were to overturn, in view of Cerdas.
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berenson et al. (U.S. Pat. 9,486,083) in view of Hjerpe et al. (U.S. Pub. 2020/0307118).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Berenson teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but does not teach that the arm rest assembly comprises a plurality of inflatable chambers or wherein the seat back, the seat bottom, and the arm rest assembly comprise drop-stitch construction. Hjerpe teaches an inflatable structure comprising a plurality of inflatable chambers and drop-stitch construction in order to hold the air chamber firmly in shape allowing the structure to maintain its stability under heavy outside pressure and impact. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to construct the arm rest assembly of Berenson, comprising a plurality of inflatable chambers or wherein the seat back, the seat bottom, and the arm rest assembly comprise drop-stitch construction in order to allow for easy folding and compact transportation and storage, in view of Hjerpe.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berenson et al. (U.S. Pat. 9,486,083).
Regarding claim 9, Berenson teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but does not teach that the seat back, the seat bottom, and the arm rest assembly are adapted to inflate to at least about 10 PSI. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to construct the seat back, the seat bottom, and the arm rest assembly of Berenson, adapted to inflate to at least about 10 PSI in order to provide an apparatus of sufficient firmness to hold a wide range of weight, and further, because discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-15 allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USP 12458148, 9924801, 9676305, 9144318, 7571965, 7331,074 (inflatable seating apparatus).
/NKEISHA SMITH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632 January 24, 2026