Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/18/2025 and 08/28/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6,9-10 and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 5, prior art does not explicitly disclose obtaining, by the ME, the identification information of the first decryption network element in the local network; the obtaining, by the terminal device based on the identification information and a mapping relationship, a first encryption key corresponding to the first decryption network element comprises: sending, by the ME, the identification information to the USIM; and determining, by the USIM based on the identification information and the mapping relationship, the first encryption key corresponding to the first decryption network element;
Regarding Claim 6, prior art does not explicitly disclose receiving, by the ME, the mapping relationship and the user identity information from the USIM; and determining, by the ME based on the identification information and the mapping relationship, the first encryption key corresponding to the first decryption network element; the encrypting, by the terminal device, user identity information by using the first encryption key, to obtain a hidden user identity comprises: encrypting, by the ME, the user identity information by using the first encryption key, to obtain the hidden user identity; and the sending, by the terminal device, a registration request to the local network through an access network device comprises: sending, by the ME, the registration request to the local network through the access network device.
Regarding Claim 9, prior art does not explicitly disclose obtaining, by the ME, the identification information of the first decryption network element in the local network; the receiving, by the terminal device, the mapping relationship from a second decryption network element in a macro network through the access network device comprises: receiving, by the ME, the mapping relationship from the second decryption network element in the macro network through the access network device; the obtaining, by the terminal device based on the identification information and a mapping relationship, a first encryption key corresponding to the first decryption network element comprises: determining, by the ME based on the identification information and the mapping relationship, the first encryption key corresponding to the first decryption network element; the encrypting, by the terminal device, user identity information by using the first encryption key,
Regarding Claim 10, prior art does not explicitly disclose the receiving, by the terminal device, the mapping relationship from a second decryption network element in a macro network through the access network device comprises: receiving, by the ME, the mapping relationship from the second decryption network element in the macro network through the access network device; the obtaining, by the terminal device based on the identification information and a mapping relationship, a first encryption key corresponding to the first decryption network element comprises: determining, by the ME based on the identification information and the mapping relationship, the first encryption key corresponding to the first decryption network element;
Regarding Claim 17, prior art does not explicitly disclose: the obtaining, by the access network device, identification information of a first decryption network element in the local network comprises: receiving, by the access network device, the identification information of the first decryption network element from the core network element in the local network by using an internet key exchange protocol security association initial (IKE_SA_INIT) message or an internet key exchange protocol authentication (IKE_AUTH) message.
Regarding Claim 18, prior art does not explicitly disclose establishing, by the access network device, a datagram transport layer security (DTLS) link to the core network element in the local network, wherein the backhaul link comprises the DTLS link; and the obtaining, by the access network device, identification information of a first decryption network element in the local network comprises: receiving, by the access network device, the identification information of the first decryption network element from the core network element in the local network by using a handshake message.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sasi (WO2020250664).
Regarding Claim 12, Sasi discloses A key management method, comprising: in a process of establishing a backhaul link between an access network device and a core network element in a local network, obtaining, by the access network device, identification information of a first decryption network element in the local network; (Paragraph [0088] E.N. The SIDF in the slave UDM will contain its own public and private key pair. The slave UDM receives the indicators to be used on the RAN so that the NPN can be identified. Such indicators include the PLMN ID, the Access Class barring, the Closed Access Group, the key separation indicator etc.)
and sending, by the access network device, the identification information of the first decryption network element. (Paragraph [0088] E.N. The slave UDM may send this public key to main UDM so that the USIM on the UE may be updated with this public key)
Regarding Claim 13, Sasi discloses the method according to claim 12. Sasi further discloses wherein the sending, by the access network device, the identification information of the first decryption network element comprises: sending, by the access network device, a broadcast message, wherein the broadcast message comprises the identification information of the first decryption network element and an identifier of the local network. (Paragraph [0086] E.N. Where the KDF is a cryptographic hash function such as a HMAC-SHA256 and the NPN ID can be the identifier of the NPN broadcast over the air. This mechanism is known as key separation under IOPS in TS 33.501 (NPL 2).)
Regarding Claim 14, Sasi discloses the method according to claim 12. Sasi further discloses wherein the sending, by the access network device, the identification information of the first decryption network element comprises: sending, by the access network device, an identifier of the local network and a first identifier, wherein the identifier of the local network and the first identifier are used to determine the identification information of the first decryption network element. (Paragraph [0029-0030] E.N. An SNPN-enabled UE is configured with subscriber identifiers and credentials for one or multiple SNPNs identified by the combination of PLMN ID and NID. A subscriber of an SNPN is identified by a SUPI containing a network-specific identifier that takes the form of a Network Access Identifier (NAI) using the NAI RFC 7542 (NPL 11) based user identification as defined in TS 23.003 (NPL 12) clause 28.2.2. The realm part of the NAI may include the NID of the SNPN.)
Regarding Claim 15, Sasi discloses the method of claim 14. Sasi further discloses wherein the identifier of the local network is a public land mobile network identifier (PLMN ID) used by the local network. (Paragraph [0088] E.N. The SIDF in the slave UDM will contain its own public and private key pair. The slave UDM may send this public key to main UDM so that the USIM on the UE may be updated with this public key. The slave UDM receives the indicators to be used on the RAN so that the NPN can be identified. Such indicators include the PLMN ID, the Access Class barring, the Closed Access Group, the key separation indicator, etc.)
Regarding Claim 16, Sasi discloses the method of claim 12. Sasi further discloses wherein the method further comprises: establishing, by the access network device, the backhaul link to the core network element in the local network when a connection between the access network device and a core network element in a macro network is broken. (Paragraph [0044] E.N. Isolated E-UTRAN Operation for Public Safety (IOPS) provides the ability to maintain a level of communications for Public Safety users, via an IOPS-capable eNB (or set of connected IOPS-capable eNBs), following the loss of backhaul communications.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-8, 11 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasi (WO2020250664) in view of Goeller (US20100250437).
Regarding Claims 1 and 19, Sasi discloses obtaining, by the terminal device based on the identification information and a mapping relationship, a first encryption key corresponding to the first decryption network element, wherein the mapping relationship indicates at least one decryption network element and an encryption key corresponding to each of the at least one decryption network element, and the at least one decryption network element comprises the first decryption network element; (Paragraph [0093] E.N. The UE reads the public key storage and looks for a key for which the storage contains a corresponding PLMN ID or Access Class or key separation indicator that it received in the SIB. The UE looks for a corresponding element so that the correct public key can be selected.)
encrypting, by the terminal device, user identity information by using the first encryption key, to obtain a hidden user identity; (Paragraph [0090] E.N. The UE also has a storage of home network public key. This key is used for privacy protecting the ISMI by encrypting the IMSI/ SUPI before it sends in a registration request. The encrypted SUPI is also known as SUCI,)
and sending, by the terminal device, a registration request to the local network through an access network device, wherein the registration request comprises the hidden user identity. (Paragraph [0099] E.N. The UE will send the registration request with the encrypted SUPI and the routing ID set to the operator’s slave UDM to the gNB, which forwards it to the AMF. The AMF routes on the basis of the routing ID and sends the SUCI to the operator’s AUSF/UDM instead of the local AUSF/UDM.)
Sasi does not, but in related art, Goeller discloses A key management method, comprising: obtaining, by a terminal device, identification information of a first decryption network element in a local network; (Paragraph [0017] E.N. Decryption and authentication comprises lookup of the public-key associated with the originating network attribute, decryption of the encrypted network attribute, and authentication of the originating network identification if there is a match between the clear text network attribute and decrypted network attribute, to enable forwarding of the service request for completion.)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sasi to incorporate the teachings of Goeller because Sasi does not explicitly disclose obtaining, by a terminal device, identification information of a first decryption network element in a local network which is taught by Goeller. Incorporating the teachings of Goeller to Sasi allows for the terminal device to obtain information of a decryption network.
Regarding Claims 2 and 20 Sasi in view of Goeller discloses the method of claim 1 and the the communication apparatus according to claim 19. Sasi further discloses wherein the obtaining, by a terminal device, identification information of a first decryption network element in a local network comprises: receiving, by the terminal device, a broadcast message, wherein the broadcast message comprises the identification information of the first decryption network element and an identifier of the local network. (Paragraph [0086] E.N. Where the KDF is a cryptographic hash function such as a HMAC-SHA256 and the NPN ID can be the identifier of the NPN broadcast over the air. This mechanism is known as key separation under IOPS in TS 33.501.)
Regarding Claim 3, Sasi in view of Goeller discloses the method of claim 1. Sasi further discloses wherein the obtaining, by a terminal device, identification information of a first decryption network element in a local network comprises: receiving, by the terminal device, an identifier of the local network and a first identifier from the access network device, wherein the first identifier identifies a decryption network element in the local network; and determining, by the terminal device, the identification information of the first decryption network element based on the identifier of the local network and the first identifier. (Paragraph [0086] E.N. Where the KDF is a cryptographic hash function such as a HMAC-SHA256 and the NPN ID can be the identifier of the NPN broadcast over the air. This mechanism is known as key separation under IOPS in TS 33.501 (NPL 2).)
Regarding Claim 4, Sasi in view of Goeller discloses the method of claim 3. Sasi further discloses wherein the identifier of the local network is a public land mobile network identifier (PLMN ID) used by the local network. (Paragraph [0088] E.N. The SIDF in the slave UDM will contain its own public and private key pair. The slave UDM may send this public key to main UDM so that the USIM on the UE may be updated with this public key. The slave UDM receives the indicators to be used on the RAN so that the NPN can be identified. Such indicators include the PLMN ID, the Access Class barring, the Closed Access Group, the key separation indicator, etc.)
Regarding Claim 7, Sasi in view of Goeller discloses the method of claim 1. Sasi does not, but in related art, Goeller discloses wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the terminal device, the mapping relationship from a second decryption network element in a macro network through the access network device. (Paragraph [0031] E.N. Protocol translation may occur between the originating network and the terminating network. For example, service requests carrying originating network operator identification may be based on SIP and IMS service. Mapping to other protocols may be used to carry information including originating operator identification, as long as operators at both ends of the conversion agree on the appropriate mapping, and for example, different protocols may be used on the access side and the terminating side before and after originating network information is applied or verified, or in transit.)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sasi to incorporate the teachings of Goeller because Sasi does not explicitly disclose receiving, by the terminal device, the mapping relationship from a second decryption network element in a macro network through the access network device which is taught by Goeller. Incorporating the teachings of Goeller to Sasi allows for the terminal device to receive the mapping relation of the decryption network for better user efficiency.
Regarding Claim 8, Sasi in view of Goeller discloses the method of claim 7. Sasi further discloses wherein: the mapping relationship is carried in a registration accept message; or the mapping relationship is carried in a user equipment configuration update command message. (Paragraph [0081] E.N. When the UE can listen both the Normal BS and the Standalone NPN in Fig. 3 at the same time, the UE performs the registration procedure by sends the registration request message with the user identity I.E. SUPI or SUCI to the Normal BS and Non-Public Network one by one to register both the USIM application 1 and the USIM application 2 respectively.)
Regarding Claim 11, Sasi in view of Goeller discloses the method of claim 7. Sasi further discloses wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the terminal device, capability information to an access and mobility management network element in the macro network, wherein the capability information indicates that the terminal device has a capability of accessing the local network. (Paragraph [0122] E.N. The NEF enables external exposure capabilities of network functions for supporting Monitoring, Provisioning and Policy/Charging. The network capability exposure comprises:(i) Exposure of network events externally as well as internally towards core network NFs; (ii) Exposure of provisioning capability towards external functions; (iii) Exposure of policy and charging capabilities towards external functions; and (iv) Exposure of core network internal capabilities for analytics.)
Conclusion
/AAYUSH ARYAL/Examiner, Art Unit 2435
/BEEMNET W DADA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2435