DETAILED OFFICE ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1,2,3 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103(a) as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. ( USPUB 20200119813) in view of Zhou et al. ( USPUB 20160315698) .
As per claim 1, Zhang et al. teaches An optical communication system ( FIG. 1 – Optical Communication system) comprising: a first transmitter system, comprising: M different selectable lasers (Transmitter system taught within Paragraph [0098-0100]- “…upstream transmission, in an exemplary embodiment, a similar coherent detection scheme is implemented for upstream transmitter 160 as is utilized for downstream transmitter 126. That is, second unmodulated signal 170 (Ch1′) is input to upstream optical circulator 162 and modulated by upstream modulator 164 to adhere symmetric or asymmetric data (not shown, described below with respect to FIG. 6) utilizing one or more slave lasers (also not shown, described below with respect to FIG. 6), …”) , each of the M different lasers configured to generate an optical communication signal having a carrier optical frequency within a corresponding channel that is different than a carrier optical frequency and corresponding channel of each of other M-1 different lasers of the M lasers ( different lasers and carrier optical frequency taught within Paragraphs [0158-0159]- “…After injection locking with slave laser 1408, the newly injected signal of a resultant injection locked carrier signal 1422 is split by second splitter 1416 (e.g., a 3-dB splitter), with one arm thereof returned to homodyne detection unit/receiver 1418 as the LO with phase noise and carrier frequency offset removed. According to this configuration, homodyne detection unit 1418 is advantageously capable of achieving carrier recovery in the optical domain without any delay. The other arm from second splitter 1416 is sent to uplink modulator 1422 become the uplink optical source of upstream modulated wavelength λ.sub.U, which may be communicated upstream by way of a full duplex coherent optical connection schemes using an optical circulator (e.g., FIGS. 15-16, below), or realized by a dedicated separate, second fiber (e.g., FIG. 17, below)….” AND FIG. 43 AND Paragraph [0263]- “…a WDM demultiplexer 4308 that separates the different wavelengths of master laser source 4304 for injection into the respective slave lasers of full-field transmitters 4306. Network 4300 is therefore also particularly useful as a P2P single-fiber WDM network configured to utilize a single optical transport medium 4310 (e.g., an optical fiber)….”) ;
Zhang et al. does not explicitly teach a controller configured to: select and map N of the M selectable lasers based on feedback regarding a quality of each of the M different lasers when at least N of the selectable lasers are available, wherein N < M, and configured to select and map I of the M selectable lasers based on feedback regarding a quality of each of the M different lasers when less than N of the M selectable lasers are available, wherein I < N; wherein a second transmitter system is configured to select and map an additional N-I lasers to accommodate for the less than N laser available to the first transmitter when less than N lasers are available; and a first switch selector configured to select the N or I of the M selectable lasers for transmission over a first optical fiber to a first optical receiver system.
However, within analogous art, Zhou et al. teaches a controller configured to: select and map N of the M selectable lasers based on feedback regarding a quality of each of the M different lasers when at least N of the selectable lasers are available ( Paragraphs [0073-0079]- “…setting the laser 5 to emit the light of the same wavelength as the faulty laser 2, and adjusting the transmittance wavelength of the TFF 2 corresponding to the laser 2 may be implemented by the internal control logic of the optical transmitter, or may be implemented by an external controller connected to the optical transmitter….M lasers, and M input ends of M wavelength-selective optical elements to which the M lasers are coupled, where the M lasers correspond to the M wavelength-selective optical elements in a one-to-one manner, and a wavelength of each wavelength-selective optical element is set to be consistent with a wavelength of a coupled laser.”) , wherein N < M, and configured to select and map I of the M selectable lasers based on feedback regarding a quality of each of the M different lasers when less than N of the M selectable lasers are available, wherein I < N ( Paragraphs [0121-0123] – “…FIG. 9, this embodiment of the present invention provides a method for emitting light by an optical transmitter. The optical transmitter is the optical transmitter described in Embodiment 1 or Embodiment 2. The optical transmitter includes M lasers; the M lasers are coupled to M input ends of M wavelength-selective optical elements; the M lasers correspond to the M wavelength-selective optical elements in a one-to-one manner; a wavelength of each wavelength-selective optical element is set to be consistent as a wavelength of a coupled laser; the M lasers include N lasers that are in a working state, where N<M. The method includes:…”) ; wherein a second transmitter system is configured to select and map an additional N-I lasers to accommodate for the less than N laser available to the first transmitter when less than N lasers are available ( Paragraphs [0065-0067]- “…The optical transmitter in the first embodiment includes: M lasers and M wavelength-selective optical elements, where the M lasers are coupled to M input ends of the M wavelength-selective optical elements, where the M lasers correspond to the M wavelength-selective optical elements in a one-to-one manner, and a wavelength of each wavelength-selective optical element is set to be consistent with a wavelength of a coupled laser….”) ; and a first switch selector configured to select the N or I of the M selectable lasers for transmission over a first optical fiber to a first optical receiver system ( Paragraphs [0122-0125]- “… Switch a first laser in the N lasers to a second idle laser in the M lasers…. the second laser and a wavelength-selective optical element to which the second laser is coupled to be different from the wavelengths of the N lasers and different from the second wavelength. Optionally, before the switching a first laser in the N lasers to a second idle laser in the M lasers,…”) .
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Zhou et al. within the modified teaching of the Fiber communication systems and methods mentioned by Zhang et al. because the Optical transmitter and transmission method, and optical receiver and receiption method mentioned by Zhou et al. provides a method and system for implementation of switching plurality of transmission lasers within optical communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Optical transmitter and transmission method, and optical receiver and receiption method mentioned by Zhou et al. within the modified teaching of the Fiber communication systems and methods mentioned by Zhang et al. for implementation of switching plurality of transmission lasers within optical communication system.
As per claim 2, Combination of Zhang et al. and Zhou et al. teach claim 1,
Within analogous art, Zhou et al. teaches wherein the controller is further configured to communicate mapping of the N of the M selectable lasers to the first optical receiver system when at least N of the selectable lasers are available and communicate mapping I of the M selectable lasers to the first optical receiver system when less than N of the M selectable lasers are available ( Paragraphs [0053-0057]- “…an optical transmitter and an optical receiver are provided. The optical transmitter includes M lasers and M wavelength-selective optical elements, wherein the M lasers are coupled to M input ends of the M wavelength-selective optical elements, the M lasers correspond to the M wavelength-selective optical elements in a one-to-one manner, and a wavelength of each wavelength-selective optical element is set to be consistent with a wavelength of a coupled laser…. first laser in the N lasers is switched to a second idle laser in the M lasers, a wavelength of a wavelength-selective optical element to which the first laser is coupled is adjusted from a first wavelength to a second wavelength, and the second wavelength is different from the wavelengths of the N lasers, where both M and N are integers greater than or equal to 1. ”) .
As per claim 3, Combination of Zhang et al. and Zhou et al. teach claim 1,
Within analogous art, Zhou et al. teaches wherein data stream of the N-I lasers of the first transmitter system are directed to the second transmitter system when less than the N lasers are available at the first transmitter system, wherein the second transmitter system is configured to transmit the data streams of the N-I lasers over a second optical fiber to a second optical receiver system ( Paragraphs [0116-0121]- “… as shown in FIG. 6, an optical network device is further provided, including an optical transmitter 600 and an optical receiver 610, where the optical transmitter is connected to the optical receiver by using a WDM, and the optical transmitter is the optical transmitter in Embodiment 1 or Embodiment 2….The optical transmitter is the optical transmitter described in Embodiment 1 or Embodiment 2. The optical transmitter includes M lasers; the M lasers are coupled to M input ends of M wavelength-selective optical elements; the M lasers correspond to the M wavelength-selective optical elements in a one-to-one manner; a wavelength of each wavelength-selective optical element is set to be consistent as a wavelength of a coupled laser; the M lasers include N lasers that are in a working state,…”) .
As per claim 19, Zhang et al. teaches A method, comprising: generating, by each of a plurality of M different selectable lasers of first transmitter system, an optical communication signal having a carrier optical frequency within a corresponding channel that is different than a carrier optical frequency and corresponding channel of each of other M-1 different lasers of the M lasers ( Paragraphs [0158-0159]- “…After injection locking with slave laser 1408, the newly injected signal of a resultant injection locked carrier signal 1422 is split by second splitter 1416 (e.g., a 3-dB splitter), with one arm thereof returned to homodyne detection unit/receiver 1418 as the LO with phase noise and carrier frequency offset removed. According to this configuration, homodyne detection unit 1418 is advantageously capable of achieving carrier recovery in the optical domain without any delay. The other arm from second splitter 1416 is sent to uplink modulator 1422 become the uplink optical source of upstream modulated wavelength λ.sub.U, which may be communicated upstream by way of a full duplex coherent optical connection schemes using an optical circulator (e.g., FIGS. 15-16, below), or realized by a dedicated separate, second fiber (e.g., FIG. 17, below)….” AND FIG. 43 AND Paragraph [0263]- “…a WDM demultiplexer 4308 that separates the different wavelengths of master laser source 4304 for injection into the respective slave lasers of full-field transmitters 4306. Network 4300 is therefore also particularly useful as a P2P single-fiber WDM network configured to utilize a single optical transport medium 4310 (e.g., an optical fiber)….”);
Zhang et al. does not explicitly teach selecting and mapping, by a controller, N of the M selectable lasers of first transmitter system based on feedback regarding a quality of each of the M different lasers when at least N of the selectable lasers are available, wherein N < M, and selecting and mapping, by the controller, I of the M selectable lasers of first transmitter system based on feedback regarding a quality of each of the M different lasers when less than N of the M selectable lasers are available, wherein I < N; selecting and mapping, by the controller, an additional N-I lasers of a second transmitter system when less than N laser are available to the first transmitter system; and selecting, by a first switch selector, the N or I of the M selectable lasers for transmission of data streams over a first optical fiber to a first optical receiver system.
However, within analogous art, Zhou et al. teaches selecting and mapping, by a controller, N of the M selectable lasers of first transmitter system based on feedback regarding a quality of each of the M different lasers when at least N of the selectable lasers are available ( Paragraphs [0073-0079]- “…setting the laser 5 to emit the light of the same wavelength as the faulty laser 2, and adjusting the transmittance wavelength of the TFF 2 corresponding to the laser 2 may be implemented by the internal control logic of the optical transmitter, or may be implemented by an external controller connected to the optical transmitter….M lasers, and M input ends of M wavelength-selective optical elements to which the M lasers are coupled, where the M lasers correspond to the M wavelength-selective optical elements in a one-to-one manner, and a wavelength of each wavelength-selective optical element is set to be consistent with a wavelength of a coupled laser.”) , wherein N < M, and selecting and mapping, by the controller, I of the M selectable lasers of first transmitter system based on feedback regarding a quality of each of the M different lasers when less than N of the M selectable lasers are available, wherein I < N ( Paragraphs [0121-0123] – “…FIG. 9, this embodiment of the present invention provides a method for emitting light by an optical transmitter. The optical transmitter is the optical transmitter described in Embodiment 1 or Embodiment 2. The optical transmitter includes M lasers; the M lasers are coupled to M input ends of M wavelength-selective optical elements; the M lasers correspond to the M wavelength-selective optical elements in a one-to-one manner; a wavelength of each wavelength-selective optical element is set to be consistent as a wavelength of a coupled laser; the M lasers include N lasers that are in a working state, where N<M. The method includes:…”) ; selecting and mapping, by the controller, an additional N-I lasers of a second transmitter system when less than N laser are available to the first transmitter system ( Paragraphs [0065-0067]- “…The optical transmitter in the first embodiment includes: M lasers and M wavelength-selective optical elements, where the M lasers are coupled to M input ends of the M wavelength-selective optical elements, where the M lasers correspond to the M wavelength-selective optical elements in a one-to-one manner, and a wavelength of each wavelength-selective optical element is set to be consistent with a wavelength of a coupled laser….”) ; and selecting, by a first switch selector, the N or I of the M selectable lasers for transmission of data streams over a first optical fiber to a first optical receiver system ( Paragraphs [0122-0125]- “… Switch a first laser in the N lasers to a second idle laser in the M lasers…. the second laser and a wavelength-selective optical element to which the second laser is coupled to be different from the wavelengths of the N lasers and different from the second wavelength. Optionally, before the switching a first laser in the N lasers to a second idle laser in the M lasers,…”) .
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Zhou et al. within the modified teaching of the Fiber communication systems and methods mentioned by Zhang et al. because the Optical transmitter and transmission method, and optical receiver and receiption method mentioned by Zhou et al. provides a method and system for implementation of switching plurality of transmission lasers within optical communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Optical transmitter and transmission method, and optical receiver and receiption method mentioned by Zhou et al. within the modified teaching of the Fiber communication systems and methods mentioned by Zhang et al. for implementation of switching plurality of transmission lasers within optical communication system.
2. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103(a) as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. ( USPUB 20200119813) in view of Zhou et al. ( USPUB 20160315698) in further view of Mertz et al. ( USPUB 20180269964).
As per claim 16, Combination of Zhang et al. and Zhou et al. teach claim 1,
Combination of Zhang et al. and Zhou et al. does not explicitly teach wherein A x M is selected based on at least a projected end of life of the M different selectable lasers.
Within analogous art, Mertz et al. teaches wherein A x M is selected based on at least a projected end of life of the M different selectable lasers (End of life of M selectable lasers interpreted as the turning off of failed optical carrier and replacing with different optical carrier for transmission taught within Paragraph [0072]- "...To replace the failed optical carrier, the controller 162 gradually replaces the optical carrier with the idler carrier. This can be accomplished by turning off the optical carrier port for the spectral region of the failed optical carrier, shaping the wavelength selective switch profile to match the baseline spectrum in the spectral region of the failed optical carrier, then turning on the input port 116b receiving the ASE light for that spectral region....").
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Mertz et al. within the combined modified teaching of the Fiber communication systems and methods mentioned by Zhang et al. and the Optical transmitter and transmission method, and optical receiver and receiption method mentioned by Zhou et al. because the Systems and methods for dynamic spectral shaping in optical communications mentioned by Mertz et al. provides a method and system for implementation of optical signal spectrum transmission over optical communication systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Systems and methods for dynamic spectral shaping in optical communications mentioned by Mertz et al. within the combined modified teaching of the Fiber communication systems and methods mentioned by Zhang et al. and the Optical transmitter and transmission method, and optical receiver and receiption method mentioned by Zhou et al. for implementation of optical signal spectrum transmission over optical communication systems.
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Examiner’s Notes
3. The Examiner acknowledges the following prior arts below as pertinent to the current applications claim limitations and inventive concept, although the following prior arts shown below were not relied upon to address the limitations within the claim , they are analogous art mentioning the inventive concept key points on (Multiple optical transmitters, optical receivers, selectable light source/lasers , multiplexers, optical modulator ,optical controller , optical carrier frequencies etc.).
1) Tiago M. F. Alves et al.,"High Granularity Multiband OFDM Virtual Carrier-Assisted Direct-Detection Metro Networks," 16th December 2014,JOURNAL OF LIGHTWAVE TECHNOLOGY, VOL. 33, NO. 1, JANUARY 1, 2015,Pages 42-52.
2) Ling Liao et al.,"Silicon Photonics for Next-Generation Optical Connectivity,"19th May 2023,2023 Optical Fiber Communications Conference and Exhibition (OFC), Pages 1-3.
3) Dave Welch et al.,"Point-to-Multipoint Optical Networks Using Coherent Digital Subcarriers, 30th August 2021, JOURNAL OF LIGHTWAVE TECHNOLOGY, VOL. 39, NO. 16, AUGUST 15, 2021,Pages 5232-5235.
4) S. J. Ben Yoo,"Optical Packet and Burst Switching Technologies for the Future Photonic Internet," 2nd October 2006,JOURNAL OF LIGHTWAVE TECHNOLOGY, VOL. 24, NO. 12, DECEMBER 2006,Pages 4468-4487.
5) Damien Lambert et al.,"3.2Tb/s Heterogeneous Photonic Integrated Circuit Chip in a Co-Packaged Optics Configuration,"19th May 2023,2023 Optical Fiber Communications Conference and Exhibition (OFC), Pages 1-3.
6) H. Willebrand, J. Sauer,"Adaptive robust optical fiber receiver/transmitter," 1st May 1996,SPIE Proceedings,Volume 2690,Pages-40-46.
7) Sheng Hu et al.,"Flexible tunable optical transceiver based on field-programmable gate array for time and wavelength division multiplexed passive optical network systems," 23rd August 2016, Optical Engineering 55(8), 086110 (August 2016),Pages 086110-1-5.
8) David T. Neilson et al.,"Wavelength Selective Switching for Optical Bandwidth Management,"3st August 2006,Bell Labs Technical Journal ( Volume: 11, Issue: 2, Summer 2006),Pages 105-120.
9) S. J. Ben Yoo,"Optical Packet and Burst Switching Technologies for the Future Photonic Internet,"2nd October 2006, JOURNAL OF LIGHTWAVE TECHNOLOGY, VOL. 24, NO. 12, DECEMBER 2006,Pages 4468-4487.
10) E. Bert Basch et al.,"Architectural Tradeoffs for Reconfigurable Dense Wavelength-Division Multiplexing Systems," 31st March 2006,IEEE JOURNAL OF SELECTED TOPICS IN QUANTUM ELECTRONICS, VOL. 12, NO. 4, JULY/AUGUST 2006,Pages 615-622.
11) Shpantzer et al. (USPUB 20020186435)
12) Vujkovic-Cvijin et al. (USPUB 20030039015)
13) Stiscia et al.(USPUB 20040136534 )
14) Sheth et al.(USPUB 20040033079 )
10) Stiscia et al. (USPUB 20040136712)
15) Erickson et al. ( USPAT 6882765 )
16) Barnard ( USPUB 20110135305 )
17) Cvijetic et al. (USPAT 9420359 )
18) Zhou et al. ( USPUB 20160315698)
19) Koch et al. ( USPAT 9525490)
20) BINDER ( USPUB 20190154439)
21) JONES et al. ( USPUB 20200371295)
22) NAHMIAS et al. ( USPUB 20240077781 )
23) Chang et al. ( USPUB 20240137675)
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13,14,15,17,18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
5. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for objecting the claims as allowable subject matter:
As to claim 4, prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 4: “…the second transmitter system comprising: X different selectable lasers, each of the X different lasers configured to generate an optical communication signal having a carrier optical frequency within a corresponding channel that is different than a carrier optical frequency and corresponding channel of each of other X-1 different lasers of the X lasers; the controller configured to: select and map an additional N-I lasers at the second transmitter system to accommodate for the less than N laser available to the first transmitter system: select and map Y + (N-I) of the X selectable lasers based on feedback regarding a quality of each of the X different lasers, wherein Y + (N-I) <= X; and a second switch selector configured to select the Y + (N-I) of the X selectable lasers for transmission over a second optical fiber to a second optical receiver system.”
As to claims 5,6,7 and 8 , claims 5,6,7 and 8 depends on objected allowable claim 4, therefore the following claims are not taught by the prior art of record.
As to claim 9 , claim 9 depends on objected allowable claim 5, therefore the following claims are not taught by the prior art of record.
As to claims 10,11,12,13,14 and 15 , claims 10,11,12,13,14 and 15 depends on objected allowable claim 9, therefore the following claims are not taught by the prior art of record.
As to claim 17, prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 17: “…the controller is further configured to receive feedback from a receiver of the N modulated lasers, and adaptively update the mapping of the N of the M selectable lasers based on the received feedback.. ”
As to claim 18, prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 18: “…the controller is further configured to receive feedback from a receiver of the N modulated lasers, and adaptively update the mapping of the N of the M selectable lasers based on the received feedback. ”
As to claim 20, prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 20: “…directing data stream of the N-I lasers of the first transmitter system to the second transmitter system when less than the N lasers are available at the first transmitter system, wherein the second transmitter system is configured to transmit the data streams of the N-I lasers over a second optical fiber to a second optical receiver system.”
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of Reference Cited for a listing of analogous art.
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/OMAR S ISMAIL/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635