CTNF 18/937,352 CTNF 85508 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 07-30-03-h AIA Claim Interpretation The term “slow cooling device” in claims 1, 12, and 18 is interpreted to be a device that achieves the cooling schedule as claimed in the respective claim. Thus the term “slow” is not considered to be an unclear relative term. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 2, it appears “greater than equal to” should be --greater than or equal to --. Appropriate correction is required. 07-29-01 AIA Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 2, it appears “less than equal to” should be --less than or equal to --. Appropriate correction is required. 07-29-01 AIA Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 2, it appears “less than equal to” should be --less than or equal to --. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 12-14 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunwoody ‘915 (US 2018/0093915 A1) in view of Haruna ‘405 (US 2015/0329405 A1) . Regarding claims 12 and 13, Dunwoody ‘915 teaches: directing an optical fiber (optical fiber 115/215) through an inlet (entrance 123/223) of a slow cooling device (cooling device 120/220) to a first zone (Zones 1 and/or 2 and/or 3, Fig. 2, ¶ [0099]-[0100]) within the slow cooling device (Figs. 1, 2) the first zone has a first average ambient temperature T1 (¶ [0010], [0066], [0070], [0073], [0078]-[0080], [0100], [0102]; Configuration 3, Table 1; trace 253, Fig. 3) cooling the optical fiber from a first fiber temperature to a second fiber temperature at a first cooling rate in the first zone (¶ [0007], [0067], [0102]-[0103]; trace 263, Fig. 4) the first cooling rate is less than 5000°C/s (¶ [0007], [0085], [0102], [0109]; trace 263 from about 150 cm to 450 cm, Fig. 4) directing the optical fiber from the first zone to a second zone within the slow cooling device (zone 4, Fig. 2; ¶ [0010], [0102]) the second zone has a second average ambient temperature T2 of at least 900°C (¶ [0014], [0102]; Table 1; trace 253, Fig. 3) the first average ambient temperature T1 is greater than the second average ambient temperature T2 by at least 100°C (¶ [0014]; Table 1; trace 253, Fig. 3) cooling the optical fiber from a third fiber temperature to a fourth fiber temperature at a second cooling rate in the second zone (¶ [0008], [0067], [0102]-[0103]; trace 263, Fig. 4) the third fiber temperature is less than or equal to the second fiber temperature (¶ [0008]; trace 263, Fig. 4) the second cooling rate is greater than the first cooling rate and less than 5000°C/s (¶ [0008]; trace 263 from about 450 cm to 550 cm, Fig. 4) a ratio of a first residence time t1 of the optical fiber in the first zone to a second residence time t2 in the second zone is greater than or equal to 0.14:1 and less than or equal to 5.3:1, or greater than or equal to 0.25:1 and less than or equal to 3.6:1 (“45 m/s”, ¶ [0102]; if the first zone includes only one of zones 1-3, then the first zone would be one meter long and the second zone would be one meter long, and the ratio would be 1:1; if the first zone includes two of zones 1-3, then the first zone would be two meters long and the second zone would be one meter long, and the ratio would be 2:1; if the first zone includes all of zones 1-3, then the first zone would be three meters long and the second zone would be one meter long, and the ratio would be 3:1; all of which fall in the claimed range) Regarding attenuation of the optical fiber drawn by the method, Dunwoody ‘915 suggest a range including less than 0.16 dB/km at 1550 nm (¶ [0033]), although not specifically for Configuration 3 of Example 1. Dunwoody ‘915 is also silent regarding the optical fiber comprising an alkali dopant and regarding a Rayleigh scattering coefficient of the optical fiber. However, Dunwoody ‘915 also does not particularly limit the types of fiber that may be used in the disclosed method. In analogous art of manufacturing optical fibers, Haruna ‘405 suggests that optical fibers comprising an alkali dopant are favorable for reducing Rayleigh scattering (¶ [0005]) and that reducing Rayleigh scattering and attenuation are desirable for optical fiber performance (¶ [0003]-[0005]). Haruna ‘405 further suggests optical fibers comprising an alkali dopant with a Rayleigh scattering coefficient less than 0.75 dB/km*micron 4 and attenuation less than 0.16 dB/km at 1550 nm (¶ [0009], [0045]; Examples 1-5, 8-11, 15-17, 22, Figs. 2-4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Dunwoody ‘915 by making the optical fiber comprise an alkali dopant, to have a Rayleigh scattering coefficient less than 0.75 dB/km*micron 4 and attenuation less than 0.16 dB/km at 1550 nm for the benefit of improving optical fiber performance including improved transmission, as suggested by Haruna ‘405. Regarding claim 14, Dunwoody ‘915 further teaches the first residence time t1 is less than or equal to the second residence time t2 (“45 m/s”, ¶ [0102]; if the first zone includes only one of zones 1-3, then the first zone would be one meter long and the second zone would be one meter long, and the first residence time t1 would be equal to the second residence time t2). Regarding claim 16, Dunwoody ‘915 further teaches the first average ambient temperature T1 of the first zone is greater than or equal to 1150°C and less than or equal to 1250°C (1200°C, Table 1; Fig. 3). Regarding claim 17, Dunwoody ‘915 further teaches the second average ambient temperature T2 of the second zone is less than or equal to 1150°C (960°C, Table 1; Fig. 3). Regarding claim 18, Dunwoody ‘915 teaches: directing an optical fiber (optical fiber 115/215) through an inlet (entrance 123/223) of a slow cooling device (cooling device 120/220) to a first zone (Zones 1-2, Fig. 2, ¶ [0099]-[0100]) within the slow cooling device (Figs. 1, 2) cooling the optical fiber from a first fiber temperature to a second fiber temperature at a first cooling rate in the first zone (¶ [0007], [0067], [0102]-[0103]; trace 263, Fig. 4) the first zone has a first average ambient temperature T1 that is greater than or equal to 1070°C and less than or equal to 1320°C (¶ [0010], [0066], [0070], [0073], [0078]-[0080], [0100], [0102]; Configuration 3, Table 1; trace 253, Fig. 3) a first residence time t1 of the optical fiber in the first zone is greater than or equal to 0.03 sec and less than or equal to 1 sec (45 m/s, ¶ [0102]; zones 1-2 total 2 m long, for a t1 of 0.044 sec) directing the optical fiber from the first zone to a second zone within the slow cooling device (zones 3-4, Fig. 2; ¶ [0010], [0102]) cooling the optical fiber from a third fiber temperature to a fourth fiber temperature at a second cooling rate in the second zone (¶ [0008], [0067], [0102]-[0103]; trace 263, Fig. 4) the third fiber temperature is less than or equal to the second fiber temperature (¶ [0008]; trace 263, Fig. 4) the second cooling rate (trace 263 from about 350 cm to 550 cm, Fig. 4) is greater than the first cooling rate (trace 263 from about 150 cm to 350 cm, Fig. 4) and less than 5000°C/s (¶ [0008], [0102]-[0103]; trace 263 from about 450 cm to 550 cm, Fig. 4) the second zone has a second average ambient temperature T2 that is greater than or equal to 900°C and less than or equal to 1200°C (¶ [0014], [0102]; Table 1; trace 253, Fig. 3; (1200+960)/2=1080°C) a second residence time t2 of the optical fiber in the second zone is greater than or equal to 0.03 sec and less than or equal to 2 sec (45 m/s, ¶ [0102]; zones 3-4 total 2 m long, for a t2 of 0.044 sec). Regarding attenuation of the optical fiber drawn by the method, Dunwoody ‘915 suggest a range including less than 0.16 dB/km at 1550 nm (¶ [0033]), although not specifically for Configuration 3 of Example 1. Dunwoody ‘915 is also silent regarding the optical fiber comprising an alkali dopant and regarding a Rayleigh scattering coefficient of the optical fiber. However, Dunwoody ‘915 also does not particularly limit the types of fiber that may be used in the disclosed method. In analogous art of manufacturing optical fibers, Haruna ‘405 suggests that optical fibers comprising an alkali dopant are favorable for reducing Rayleigh scattering (¶ [0005]) and that reducing Rayleigh scattering and attenuation are desirable for optical fiber performance (¶ [0003]-[0005]). Haruna ‘405 further suggests optical fibers comprising an alkali dopant with a Rayleigh scattering coefficient less than 0.75 dB/km*micron 4 and attenuation less than 0.16 dB/km at 1550 nm (¶ [0009], [0045]; Examples 1-5, 8-11, 15-17, 22, Figs. 2-4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Dunwoody ‘915 by making the optical fiber comprise an alkali dopant, to have a Rayleigh scattering coefficient less than 0.75 dB/km*micron 4 and attenuation less than 0.16 dB/km at 1550 nm for the benefit of improving optical fiber performance including improved transmission, as suggested by Haruna ‘405. Regarding claim 19, Dunwoody ‘915 further teaches a difference between the first average ambient temperature T1 and the second average ambient temperature T2 is less than or equal to 200°C (T1=1200°C, T2=1080°C, 1200°C-1080°C=120°C). Regarding claim 20, Dunwoody ‘915 further teaches a ratio of the first residence time t1 to the second residence time t2 i is greater than or equal to 0.14:1 and less than or equal to 5.3:1 (“45 m/s”, ¶ [0102]; the first zone including zones 1-2 would be two meters long, and the second zone including zones 3-4 would be two meters long, and thus the ratio would be 1:1) . Allowable Subject Matter Claims 1-11 are allowed (however, see claim objections above for claims 7 and 9). 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Dunwoody ‘915 is considered to be the closest prior art. Regarding claim 1, in the examples of Dunwoody ‘915, it does not fairly teach or suggest the combination of features as claimed, and particularly a first residence time t1 greater than or equal to 0.03 sec, a second average ambient temperature T2 of at least 900°C, and a second residence time t2 greater than the first residence time t1 wherein a ratio of t2 to t1 is greater than or equal to 1.5:1. Zones 1-3 have a temperature of 1200°C such that t1 may be defined as 0.022, 0.044, or 0.067 sec. Zone 4 has a temperature of 960°C, and t2 would be 0.022 sec. Zones 5-6 have an average ambient temperature below 900°C. Changing the residence times at different temperatures is not a mere selection or optimization of workable ranges because the times, temperatures, and cooling rates all contribute to changes in the structure of the glass, leading to changes in fictive temperature and attenuation of the resulting fiber (Dunwoody ‘915 ¶ [0002]-[0005]). Similarly for claim 15, Dunwoody ‘915 does not fairly teach or suggest the temperatures recited in claim 12 and the ratio of residence times recited in claim 15. Dunwoody ‘915 also does not suggest that the optical fiber comprises an alkali dopant or has a Rayleigh scattering coefficient as claimed in claims 1 and 12 . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Erin Snelting whose telephone number is (571)272-7169. The examiner can normally be reached Monday to Friday, 8:00 to 5:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Alison Hindenlang can be reached at (571) 270-7001. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ERIN SNELTING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1741 Application/Control Number: 18/937,352 Page 2 Art Unit: 1741 Application/Control Number: 18/937,352 Page 4 Art Unit: 1741 Application/Control Number: 18/937,352 Page 5 Art Unit: 1741 Application/Control Number: 18/937,352 Page 6 Art Unit: 1741 Application/Control Number: 18/937,352 Page 7 Art Unit: 1741 Application/Control Number: 18/937,352 Page 8 Art Unit: 1741 Application/Control Number: 18/937,352 Page 9 Art Unit: 1741