/2026DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This is an initial office action in response to communication(s) filed on November 5, 2024.
Claims 1-16 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 5, 2024and April 2, 2026, were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iida (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0055175 A1).
With regard to claim 1, the claim is drawn to an image forming apparatus (see Iida, i.e. in Fig. 1, 2, 4 and etc., disclose the digital printer 102) comprising:
a display which displays an information screen on which operation statuses of the apparatus are aggregated (see Iida, i.e. in fig. 2, 4 and etc., disclose the operation unit 204; and further in para. 36, discloses that “[0036] The printer unit 1000 of the digital printer 102 according to the first exemplary embodiment includes a scanner (not illustrated) and an operation unit 204 (FIG. 4) arranged at the top face of the printer unit 1000. Since the operation unit 204 is arranged at the top face of the printer unit 1000, it is not illustrated in detail in FIG. 1. The operation unit 204 provides the user with various interfaces for performing various settings and operations on the printer unit 1000 according to the first exemplary embodiment. A sheet feeding apparatus 224 and the scanner are provided on the upper part of the printer unit 1000”); and
one or more processors which control a display on the display (see Iida, i.e. in Fig. 2, disclose the controller unit 205, and further in para. 60, discloses that “[0060] The operation unit 204 of the digital printer 102 according to the first exemplary embodiment will be described below with reference to the top view illustrated in FIG. 4. In the operation unit 204, a key input unit 402 can receive a user operation using hard keys. A touch panel unit 401 is a display unit capable of receiving a user operation using software keys (display keys) and displays various operation screens. The operation unit 204 is controlled by the controller unit 205…”), wherein
the one or more processors are configured to:
display the information screen (see Iida, i.e. in fig. 2, 4 and etc., disclose the operation unit 204; and further in para. 36, discloses that “[0036] The printer unit 1000 of the digital printer 102 according to the first exemplary embodiment includes a scanner (not illustrated) and an operation unit 204 (FIG. 4) arranged at the top face of the printer unit 1000. Since the operation unit 204 is arranged at the top face of the printer unit 1000, it is not illustrated in detail in FIG. 1. The operation unit 204 provides the user with various interfaces for performing various settings and operations on the printer unit 1000 according to the first exemplary embodiment. A sheet feeding apparatus 224 and the scanner are provided on the upper part of the printer unit 1000”); and
display, when an execution of a job is detected, apparatus configuration diagram depicting an outer appearance of the image forming apparatus within the information screen, based on a detection result of the execution of the job (see Iida, i.e. illustrations of fig. 14B, 18, 19 and etc, illustrates the “outer appearance of the image forming apparatus” within the display screen and etc.).
With regard to claim 2, the claim is drawn to the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to display a setting item relating to setting of the image forming apparatus within the information screen (see Iida, i.e. in fig. 18, illustrates the setting of the sheeting holding unit 2, with A4, Thick Paper 1 and etc.).
With regard to claim 3, the claim is drawn to the image forming apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to display the apparatus configuration diagram at a display position of the setting item (see Iida, i.e. see the illustrations of setting items illustrated in fig. 14A-14C and etc.).
With regard to claim 4, the claim is drawn to the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, with respect to the display of the apparatus configuration diagram, the one or more processors are further configured to highlight a portion corresponding to an acting portion associated with the execution of the job (see Iida, i.e. in Fig. 18, illustrate the digital printer with arrow pointing [or as “highlight…”] to the sheet holding unit 2 as part of the displayed warning screen for prompting the user; and further in para. 191-192, discloses that “[0191] When the CPU 212 determines that the sheet is set to change to a sheet holding unit designation (YES in step S1306), then in step S1711, the CPU 212 determines print parameters based on the attribute information of the sheet designated by the job. Referring to the example illustrated in FIG. 14C, while a mismatch sheet "A4 THICK PAPER 1" has been changed to a sheet holding unit designation of "SHEET HOLDING UNIT 2", print parameters are determined based on the attribute information of "A4 THICK PAPER" designated by the job. [0192] Then in step S1712, the CPU 212 determines whether the designated sheet holding unit has been opened and closed. When the CPU 212 determines that the designated sheet holding unit has not been opened and closed (NO in step S1712), then in step S1713, the CPU 212 displays on the operation unit 204 a warning screen 1801 for prompting the user to make sure that the correct sheet is set to the sheet holding unit, as illustrated in FIG. 18, and returns to step S1302. On the other hand, when the CPU 212 determines that the designated sheet holding unit has been opened and closed (YES in step S1712), the CPU 212 returns to step S1302”; in addition, in fig. 10B, also disclose, for example, job E is highlighted).
With regard to claim 5, the claim is drawn to the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to display notice information for a user within the information screen (see Iida, i.e. in fig. 18 and etc., disclose the displayed message of “Correct Sheet May not be set in sheet holding unit. Check that correct sheet is set and press OK button”).
With regard to claim 6, the claim is drawn to the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to display machine information identifying the image forming apparatus within the information screen (see Iida, i.e. in fig. 14B, 18, 19 and etc., illustrates the MFP icon displayed in the display).
With regard to claim 7, the claim is drawn to the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to display paper feed tray information area relating to a paper feed tray of the image forming apparatus within the information screen, the paper feed tray accommodating a sheet of paper (see Iida, i.e. in fig. 18, 19 and etc., illustrate the MFP with paper trays 1 to 6 for examples).
With regard to claim 8, the claim is drawn to the image forming apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to display a paper feed tray accommodating a sheet of paper relating to an executing job so that the paper feed tray is highlighted within the paper feed tray information area (see Iida, i.e. in fig. 18, sheet holding unit 2 is “highlighted” with an arrow pointing to it).
With regard to claim 9, the claim is drawn to the image forming apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the paper feed tray information area includes an information area for every type of the sheet of paper accommodated in the paper feed tray (see Iida, i.e. in fig. 14B, disclose the sheet types).
With regard to claim 10, the claim is drawn to the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to display job management information relating to job management within the information screen, the job management information is associated with paper feed tray information related to an executing job (see Iida, i.e. in fig. 10A and etc., disclose the job name, user name, date/time, print job list and etc., or as “job management information”).
With regard to claim 11, the claim is drawn to the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to display information relating to toner of the image forming apparatus within the information screen (see Iida, i.e. in fig. 4, for example, disclose the “automatic color selection” [or “information relating to toner of image forming apparatus”]).
With regard to claim 12, the claim is drawn to the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the apparatus configuration diagram is an overall configuration of the image forming apparatus (see Iida, i.e. illustrations of fig. 4, 14A-14C and etc.).
With regard to claim 13, the claim is drawn to the image forming apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the apparatus configuration diagram is shown in the paper feed tray information area within the information screen (see Iida, i.e. illustration of fig. 14A-14C and etc., with sheet holding unit 1-6 and etc.).
With regard to claim 14, the claim is drawn to the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to be able to select displaying or un-displaying of the apparatus configuration diagram by a predetermined operation (see Iida, i.e. in fig. 10B, para. 96-97 and etc., disclose that “[0096] FIG. 10B illustrates a display example immediately after an operator A has selected print jobs by operating the job hold function operation screen displayed on the operation unit 204. In this case, the operator A has selected three print jobs, Job A, Job D, and Job E, in this order. These jobs in the selected state are indicated by selection marks 1021, 1022, and 1023 to the left of the job name field. The selection mark 1024 indicates last selected Job E, and Job E is highlighted. This indicates that Job E is currently in the selected state in the hold job list 1002. [0097] A print job list 1003 displays print jobs with which the print processing has been started by the digital printer 102, or print jobs waiting for the start of the print processing. The print job list 1003 is an area for displaying a list of print jobs stored in the above-described print queue buffer 521. A waiting time 1014 indicates an approximate waiting time until print processing on each print job stored in the print queue buffer 521 is started…”).
With regard to claim 15, the claim is drawn to the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to display a job list relating to the execution of the job within the information screen, and the job list shows at least one of a execution status of the job and a history of the job (see Idia, i.e. in fig. 10B, disclose displaying of a job list, history, status, job name, time and etc.).
With regard to claim 16, the claim is drawn to a control method for the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, the control method comprising:
displaying the information screen (see Iida, i.e. in fig. 2, 4 and etc., disclose the operation unit 204; and further in para. 36, discloses that “[0036] The printer unit 1000 of the digital printer 102 according to the first exemplary embodiment includes a scanner (not illustrated) and an operation unit 204 (FIG. 4) arranged at the top face of the printer unit 1000. Since the operation unit 204 is arranged at the top face of the printer unit 1000, it is not illustrated in detail in FIG. 1. The operation unit 204 provides the user with various interfaces for performing various settings and operations on the printer unit 1000 according to the first exemplary embodiment. A sheet feeding apparatus 224 and the scanner are provided on the upper part of the printer unit 1000”); and
displaying, when an execution of a job is detected, apparatus configuration diagram depicting an outer appearance of the image forming apparatus within the information screen, based on a detection result of the execution of the job (see Iida, i.e. illustrations of fig. 14B, 18, 19 and etc, illustrates the “outer appearance of the image forming apparatus” within the display screen and etc.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Moro et al. (U.S. Pat/Pub No. 6,327,051) disclose an invention relates to a printing control apparatus and method which make it possible to set the values of functions possessed by a printing device, wherein printing information for controlling the operation of the printing device is delivered to the printing device to control the same.
The Art Unit (or Workgroup) location of your application in the USPTO has changed. To aid in correlating any papers for this application, all further correspondence regarding this application should be directed to Art Unit 2681.
/JACKY X ZHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681