DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Examiner notes: currently, NO limitation invokes interpretation under § 112(f).
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 10610165. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claim(s) substantially anticipate(s) the identified claim(s) of this application.
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 10966669. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claim(s) substantially anticipate(s) the identified claim(s) of this application.
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12635957. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claim(s) substantially anticipate(s) the identified claim(s) of this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Examiner notes: for brevity, economy, and clarity of reading, select of the claims may be addressed jointly herein when instances of limitations with verbatim or near-verbatim similarity are recited in the body of differently numbered claims and/or when multiple different limitations are clearly addressed by a same/similar citation to/within a reference.
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stack (US 20130308099 A1) in view of Pavlidis (US 4838681 A).
For claim 1, Stack teaches A method for detecting, diagnosing or screening for cognitive impairment in a subject comprising:
a) positioning the subject in front of a screen; [Fig(s). 1B]
b) displaying a video to the subject on the screen, the video including a target that moves around a predefined closed perimeter of the screen, the target forming at least one revolution on the screen around the closed perimeter; [¶¶75-78]
c) tracking eye movement of at least one eye of the subject as the subject watches the video; [¶¶78-83]
d) analyzing eye movement of at least one eye of the subject; [¶¶78-83]
e) calculating a statistical test for eye movement of at least one eye of the subject as compared to a normal or mean eye movement; [¶¶109-117]
f) detecting, diagnosing or screening for an impairment based on the calculated statistical test. [¶¶109-117 esp. ¶115]
Stack fails to teach step providing a clinical intervention based on the test.
Pavlidis teaches a method of screening for a cognitive impairment in a subject using eye tracking [abstract, col. 3 ll. 35-45] including a step of providing a suitable clinical intervention based on statistical analyses. [col. 22 ll. 30-40 col. 23 l. 40 – col. 24 l. 5]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed to modify the method of Stack to incorporate the treatment step of Pavlidis in order to aid the subject with any determined impairment. As motivated by Pavlidis col. 23 l. 40 – col. 24 l. 5.
For claim 2, Stack teaches The method according to claim 1 wherein eye movement of both eyes of the subject are tracked and analyzed. [Fig(s). 6]
For claim 3, Stack teaches The method according to claim 1 wherein both x and y coordinates of eye position for one or both eyes of a subject are collected. [¶104]
For claim 4, Stack teaches The method according to claim 1 wherein the eye movement is tracked for at least about 100 seconds. [¶48, ¶126]
For claim 5, Stack teaches The method according to claim 1, further comprising comparing eye movement of at least one eye of the subject to the eye movement of the other eye of the subject or comparing eye movement of at least one eye of the subject to the eye movement of an eye of one or more other subjects or controls. [¶¶112-113, ¶¶116-117]
For claim 6, Stack teaches The method according to claim 1, further comprising comparing eye movement of both eyes of the subject to the eye movement of one or both eyes of one or more other subjects or controls. [¶¶112-113, ¶¶116-117]
For claim 7, Stack teaches The method according to claim 1 wherein the tracking, analyzing and comparing comprises collecting raw x and y cartesian coordinates of pupil position, normalizing the raw x and y cartesian coordinates, and sorting the data by eye. [absolutizing and normalizing per ¶¶104-106, ¶111, ¶116]
For claim 8, Stack teaches The method according to claim 1 wherein the analyzing and comparing comprises calculating multiple individual metrics. [¶¶109-114]
For claim 9, Stack teaches The method according to claim 1,
wherein the analyzing and comparing comprises calculating one or more individual metric selected from the group consisting of L height, [60 in Fig(s). 4] L width, [58 in Fig(s). 4] L area, L varXrit, L varXlef, L varTotal, R height, [60 in Fig(s). 4] R width, [58 in Fig(s). 4] R area, R varYtop, R varXrit, R varXlef, R varTotal, Conj varX, Conj varXrit, Conj varXbot, Conj varXlef and Conj varYlef.
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stack in view of Pavlidis and Waldorf (US 20130278899 A1).
For claim(s) 10-12, Stack fails to teach the video display including a target making five revolutions around the perimeter with a unique color for each revolution.
Waldorf teaches an eye tracking method [abstract] including a step of providing a video display of a target making multiple revolutions around a perimeter including color changes. [Fig(s). 3 ¶¶50-58]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed to modify the method of Stack to incorporate the video of Waldorf in order to aid in the evaluation of children and younger athletes. As motivated by Waldorf ¶17. The particular use of five revolutions and a specific new color for each revolution would be a matter of design choice. See MPEP § 2144.04.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN S MELHUS/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791