DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ohtsuji (US 2020/0008127 A1).
Regarding claim 1, 8
Ohtsuji discloses an operation method of a first terminal (Fig.1(1)) in sidelink communication (See [0049]; sidelink communication), comprising:
determining a first transmit power for sidelink communication (See [0108]; determine sidelink transmission power) with a second terminal (Fig.1(2)):
determining a second transmit power for uplink communication (See [0108]; determine uplink transmission power) with a base station (Fig.1(3)):
comparing the first transmit power with the second transmit power (See [0108]; compare the sidelink transmission power ( or the power consumption required for the sidelink transmission) in the relay path with the uplink transmission power ( or the power consumption required for the uplink transmission) in the direct path): and
in response to the first transmit power being less than the second transmit power (See [0108]; comparison of transmission power is performed) ,
performing the sidelink communication using the first transmit power (See [0108]; select a path that will result in smaller transmission power (or smaller power consumption).
Note:
With Regard to Claim 8, the terminal comprises a processor (Fig.8(804))
Regarding claim 2, 9
Ohtsuji teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, 8 and Ohtuji further teaches
in response to the first transmit power is greater than the second transmit power (See [0108]; comparison of transmission power is performed),
performing the sidelink communication using the second transmit power (See [0108]; select a path that will result in smaller transmission power (or smaller power consumption).
Regarding Claim 3, 10
Ohtsuji teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, 8 and Ohtuji further teaches
comparing the first transmit power (See [0108]; determine sidelink transmission power) with a third transmit power (See [0088-0089]; [0108]; determine terminal maximum uplink transmission power of a terminal);
and
in response to the first transmit power being greater exceeding the third transmit power (See [0108]; comparison of transmission power is performed), setting the first transmit power to the third transmit power (See [0108]; select a path that will result in smaller transmission power (or smaller power consumption).
Regarding Claim 4, 11
Ohtsuji teaches all the features with respect to claim 3, 10 and Ohtuji further teaches
wherein the third transmit power is a maximum transmit power of the terminal (See [0088-0089]; the uplink quality information may indicate maximum transmission power of each relay UE 2) .
Regarding Claim 5, 12
Ohtsuji teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, 8 and Ohtuji further teaches
wherein the first transmit power is determined based on reception power related parameters received from the second terminal (See [0108]; the remote UE 1 may use the path loss between each relay UE 2 and the base station 3 to estimate the sidelink transmission power of each relay UE 2) .
Regarding Claim 6, 13
Ohtsuji teaches all the features with respect to claim 5, 12 and Ohtuji further teaches
wherein the reception power related parameters includes at least one of
a reference signal received power (RSRP) (See [0027-0028]; [0082-0083]; downlink RSRP received in Relay UE 2 is considered by remote UE1)
or
a path loss measured based on a signal transmitted by the first terminal (See [0108]; UE1 determined path loss between UEs and path loss between UE and base station) .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Ohtsuji (US 2020/0008127 A1) in view of Lin (US 2021/0211845 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, 14
Ohtsuji teaches all the features with respect to claim 6, 12
But Ohtsuji fails to explicitly recite
wherein the signal is a synchronization signal block (SSB) transmitted by the first terminal.
However in an analogous art,
Lin teaches about transmission of synchronization signals where the signal get measured (See [0027]; [0040]).
Ohtsuji and Lin are analogous art because they all pertain to wireless communication signal with V2X technology. Ohtsuji teaches about a UE comparing uplink and sidelink signal in order to select the smaller power transmission. Lin teaches about transmission of synchronization signal where the signal get measured. Ohtsuji could use Lin features such as to use one of the usual transmitted signal to measure and compare against the SSB signal power. Therefore it would have been obvious as to one of ordinary skill at the time of the written of the claim to combine Ohtsuji and Lin as to obtain an efficient wireless communication system.
Note: Tang (US 2021/0329657 A1) is a reference that could have been used a prior art but not used. It teaches about selecting transmission power between uplink and sidelink by priority configuration.
Conclusion
/GARY LAFONTANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646