DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 15, and 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Reasons for allowance will be provided in the event the application becomes in condition for allowance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-14, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuda (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2009/0147288) in view of Coulter et al. (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2020/0272376) in further view of Pu (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2022/0179588).
Regarding claim 1, Matsuda (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2009/0147288) discloses:
A printing system comprising:
a printing device having a print engine, wherein the printing device receives a job having a plurality of pages (paragraphs [0027], [0033]);
a raster image processing (RIP) system to provide rendered pages to the print engine (paragraph [0044], raster data is produced for each page);
a memory to store rendered pages from the RIP system (paragraph [0046], the rendered raster image is normally stored in a memory); and
wherein the RIP system is configured to
render at least one object of a first set of objects of the plurality of objects of the job (paragraphs [0044]-[0046], the objects for each page are rasterized);
store the rendered at least one object of the first set of pages in the memory (paragraph [0046], the render raster image is normally stored in a memory);
determine that the memory is not available (paragraph [0046], the memory becomes unavailable);
render at least one object of a second set of objects of the plurality of object of the job (paragraphs [0046], another object is rasterized); and
store the rendered at least one object of the second set of objects in a first storage drive accessible by the RIP system (paragraph [0046], when the memory is unavailable, the object is stored into the HDD).
Matsuda does not explicitly disclose:
Wherein the objects correspond to separate pages being rasterized and stored;
Wherein the drive is one of a hierarchy of storage drives accessible;
Coulter et al. (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2020/0272376) discloses:
Wherein the objects correspond to separate pages that are being rasterized and stored (paragraph [0021], the rasterized pages are stored to a RIP spool such that they are ready for printing)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system of Coulter with the system of Matsuda such that the system would have been configured such that the objects corresponded to separate pages that are being rasterized and stored as described in Coulter. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to implement a system capable of ensuring “rasterized pages at the RIP spool [are] ready for printing” and “ensuring a complex print job can be printed at rated engine speed for higher output resolutions” (paragraph [0021] of the Coulter reference).
The combination of Matsuda and Coulter does not explicitly disclose:
Wherein the drive is one of a hierarchy of storage drives accessible;
Pu (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2022/0179588) discloses:
Wherein the drive is one of a hierarchy of storage drives accessible (paragraphs [0003], [0206]-[0207], hierarchical drive storage is well known in the computing arts)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system of Pu with the combination of Matsuda and Coulter such that the system would have been configured to include a hierarchy of storage drives accessible as described in Pu. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to implement a system in which “data having different storage requirements are stored in storage devices having different read/write latency” (paragraph [0004] of the Pu reference).
Regarding claim 2, Matsuda additionally discloses:
wherein the first storage drive is a solid-state drive or a hard disk drive (paragraphs [0026], [0046], the drive is a hard disk drive)
Regarding claim 3, Matsuda additionally discloses:
wherein the RIP system is further configured to determine that the first storage drive is not available (paragraph [0046], when the memory is unavailable, the object is stored into the HDD)
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Matsuda, Coulter, and Pu discloses the method of the parent claim (claim 3).
As previously noted, Coulter discloses:
Wherein the objects correspond to separate pages that are being rasterized and stored (paragraph [0021], the rasterized pages are stored to a RIP spool such that they are ready for printing)
Matsuda further discloses:
rendering at least one page of a third set of objects of the plurality of objects using the RIP system (paragraphs [0044]-[0046], all of the objects in the document are rendered, this includes a third set of objects);
Regarding claim 6, Matsuda additionally discloses:
wherein the RIP system includes an engine manager (paragraph [0055], engine I/F driver)
Regarding claim 7, Matsuda additionally discloses:
wherein the engine manager is configured to read the at least one page of the first set of pages from the memory (paragraph [0055], the engine I/F pulls the rendered bitmap image from memory)
Regarding claim 8, Matsuda additionally discloses:
wherein the engine manager is configured to provide the at least one page of the first set of pages to the print engine (paragraph [0055], the engine I/F transfers the bitmap to the printer engine)
Regarding claim 9, Matsuda additionally discloses:
wherein the engine manager is configured to read the at least one page of the second set of pages from the first storage drive (paragraph [0055], the engine I/F pulls the rendered bitmap image from memory)
Regarding claim 10, Matsuda additionally discloses:
wherein the engine manager is configured to provide the at least one page of the second set of pages to the print engine (paragraph [0055], the engine I/F transfers the bitmap to the printer engine)
Regarding claim 11, Matsuda discloses:
A printing device comprising:
a controller, wherein the controller receives a job having a plurality of pages (paragraphs [0027], [0033]);
a print engine coupled to the controller, wherein the print engine is configured to print rendered pages of the plurality of pages (paragraphs [0027], [0033])
a raster image processing (RIP) system within the controller to provide the rendered pages to the print engine (paragraph [0044], raster data is produced for each page);
a memory to store rendered pages from the RIP system (paragraph [0046], the rendered raster image is normally stored in a memory); and
wherein the RIP system is configured to render at least one object of a first set of objects of the plurality of objects of the job (paragraphs [0044]-[0046], the objects for each page are rasterized);
store the rendered at least one object of the first set of objects in the memory (paragraph [0046], the render raster image is normally stored in a memory);
determine that the memory is not available (paragraph [0046], the render raster image is normally stored in a memory),
render at least one object of a second set of objects of the plurality of objects of the job (paragraphs [0046], another object is rasterized), and
store the rendered at least one objects of the second set of objects in a first storage drive accessible by the RIP system (paragraph [0046], when the memory is unavailable, the object is stored into the HDD)
Matsuda does not explicitly disclose:
Wherein the objects correspond to separate pages being rasterized and stored;
Wherein the drive is one of a hierarchy of storage drives accessible;
Coulter et al. (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2020/0272376) discloses:
Wherein the objects correspond to separate pages that are being rasterized and stored (paragraph [0021], the rasterized pages are stored to a RIP spool such that they are ready for printing)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system of Coulter with the system of Matsuda such that the system would have been configured such that the objects corresponded to separate pages that are being rasterized and stored as described in Coulter. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to implement a system capable of ensuring “rasterized pages at the RIP spool [are] ready for printing” and “ensuring a complex print job can be printed at rated engine speed for higher output resolutions” (paragraph [0021] of the Coulter reference).
The combination of Matsuda and Coulter does not explicitly disclose:
Wherein the drive is one of a hierarchy of storage drives accessible;
Pu (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2022/0179588) discloses:
Wherein the drive is one of a hierarchy of storage drives accessible (paragraphs [0003], [0206]-[0207], hierarchical drive storage is well known in the computing arts)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system of Pu with the combination of Matsuda and Coulter such that the system would have been configured to include a hierarchy of storage drives accessible as described in Pu. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to implement a system in which “data having different storage requirements are stored in storage devices having different read/write latency” (paragraph [0004] of the Pu reference).
Regarding claim 12, Matsuda additionally discloses:
wherein the first storage drive is a solid-state drive or a hard disk drive (paragraphs [0026], [0046], the drive is a hard disk drive)
Regarding claim 13, Matsuda additionally discloses:
wherein the RIP system is further configured to determine that the first storage drive is not available (paragraph [0046], when the memory is unavailable, the object is stored into the HDD)
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Matsuda, Coulter, and Pu discloses the method of the parent claim (claim 13).
As previously noted, Coulter discloses:
Wherein the objects correspond to separate pages that are being rasterized and stored (paragraph [0021], the rasterized pages are stored to a RIP spool such that they are ready for printing)
Matsuda further discloses:
rendering at least one page of a third set of objects of the plurality of objects using the RIP system (paragraphs [0044]-[0046], all of the objects in the document are rendered, this includes a third set of objects);
Regarding claim 16, Matsuda discloses:
A method for managing printing operations, the method comprising:
receiving a job having a plurality of pages for printing at a printing device having a print engine (paragraph [0044], raster data is produced for each page);
rendering at least one object of a first set of object of the plurality of object of the job using a raster image processing (RIP) system (paragraphs [0044]-[0046], the objects for each page are rasterized);
storing the rendered at least one object of the first set of object in a memory accessible by the RIP system (paragraph [0046], the rendered raster image is normally stored in a memory);
determining that the memory is not available (paragraph [0046], the memory becomes unavailable);
rendering at least one object of a second set of object of the plurality of pages of the job using the RIP system (paragraphs [0046], another object is rasterized); and
storing the rendered at least one object of the second set of objects in a first storage drive of a RIP system (paragraph [0046], when the memory is unavailable, the object is stored into the HDD).
Matsuda does not explicitly disclose:
Wherein the objects correspond to separate pages being rasterized and stored;
Wherein the drive is one of a hierarchy of storage drives accessible;
Coulter et al. (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2020/0272376) discloses:
Wherein the objects correspond to separate pages that are being rasterized and stored (paragraph [0021], the rasterized pages are stored to a RIP spool such that they are ready for printing)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system of Coulter with the system of Matsuda such that the system would have been configured such that the objects corresponded to separate pages that are being rasterized and stored as described in Coulter. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to implement a system capable of ensuring “rasterized pages at the RIP spool [are] ready for printing” and “ensuring a complex print job can be printed at rated engine speed for higher output resolutions” (paragraph [0021] of the Coulter reference).
The combination of Matsuda and Coulter does not explicitly disclose:
Wherein the drive is one of a hierarchy of storage drives accessible;
Pu (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2022/0179588) discloses:
Wherein the drive is one of a hierarchy of storage drives accessible (paragraphs [0003], [0206]-[0207], hierarchical drive storage is well known in the computing arts)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system of Pu with the combination of Matsuda and Coulter such that the system would have been configured to include a hierarchy of storage drives accessible as described in Pu. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to implement a system in which “data having different storage requirements are stored in storage devices having different read/write latency” (paragraph [0004] of the Pu reference).
Regarding claim 17, Matsuda additionally discloses:
wherein the first storage drive is a solid-state drive or a hard disk drive (paragraphs [0026], [0046], the drive is a hard disk drive)
Regarding claim 18, Matsuda additionally discloses:
further comprising determining that the first storage drive is not available (paragraph [0046], when the memory is unavailable, the object is stored into the HDD)
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Matsuda, Coulter, and Pu discloses the method of the parent claim (claim 18).
As previously noted, Coulter discloses:
Wherein the objects correspond to separate pages that are being rasterized and stored (paragraph [0021], the rasterized pages are stored to a RIP spool such that they are ready for printing)
Matsuda further discloses:
rendering at least one page of a third set of objects of the plurality of objects using the RIP system (paragraphs [0044]-[0046], all of the objects in the document are rendered, this includes a third set of objects);
Conclusion
/JOHN R WALLACE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682