DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
This office action is a non-final rejection in response to the filing of the application on 10/15/2025. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species C (Fig. 4) in the reply filed on 10/15/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that
“Applicant hereby selects with traverse Species C (FIG. 4) for examination. Claims 1-20 are readable on Species C.
MPEP 806.04(f) states: "Where two or more species are claimed, a requirement for restriction to a single species may be proper if the species are mutually exclusive" (emphasis
added).
Species A (FIGS. 1 and 2) shows the details of a
wireless power transfer system including a power transmitting device 12 and a power receiving device 24. Species C (FIG. 4) shows a flowchart of illustrative steps for operating a power transmitting device of the type shown in FIGS. 1 and 2. Species A and C are therefore not mutually exclusive.
Species D (FIG. 5) is related to power receiving device 24 negotiating or setting the duration for the silent period that is employed during the communications sleep mode of FIG. 4. Applicant's original specification specifically states in paragraph 56: "In accordance with some embodiments not mutually exclusive with the embodiments of FIGS. 1-4, power receiving device 24 can be configured to negotiate or set the duration for the silent period that is employed during the communications sleep mode. FIG. 5 is a flowchart of illustrative steps for negotiating a silent period duration." Therefore, as explicitly stated in applicant's original specification, Species C and D are not mutually exclusive.
Species E (FIGS. 6 and 7) shows a packet 400 that may be conveyed between devices 12 and 24 during the operations of block 312 in FIG. 5. Species E is therefore expounding on block 312 of FIG. 5 and is not mutually exclusive with FIG. 5. Species D and E are therefore not mutually exclusive and, correspondingly, Species C and E are therefore not mutually exclusive.
In summary, Species A, C, D, and E are not mutually
exclusive and the presented Restriction between Species A, C, D, and E is improper.”;
in response to applicant’s arguments, after considering applicant’s remarks and the application overall, it has been determined by the examiner to withdrawn the restriction requirement.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 objected to because of the following informalities: please add the letter “a” at the beginning of the claim, before the word “control”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1-16, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al, US Patent Application Publication (US 2020/0382167 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Park et al discloses a method of operating an electronic device (10) (see Figs 1-21, par. [0386]-[0397]), comprising:
with a wireless power transfer coil (see primary coil inside 100 in Fig 4A), transmitting wireless power to a power receiving device (450) (see Fig 4A; par. [0093]-[0094]);
with a data receiver (communication unit 120) coupled to the wireless power transfer coil (see primary coil inside 100 in Fig 4A), obtaining a packet transmitted from the power receiving device (450) (see Fig 4A; par. [0094],[0387]-[0390], communications and control unit 120 coupled to primary coil, Fig 19, timing packet 1900 transmitted from the wireless power reception apparatus to the wireless power transmission apparatus is implicitly obtained by a data receiving component of the communications and control unit);
determining whether the packet has an associated silent period (see Fig 17 and par. [0379]); and in response to determining that the packet has an associated silent period, deactivating one or more communications components of the electronic device during at least a portion the silent period (see Fig 17 and par. [0379]:
“ [0379] Referring to FIG. 17, the wireless power reception apparatus transmits a received power (RP or RP8) packet, indicative of power received from the wireless power transmission apparatus, at a transmission period (T_received) interval of the received power packet. In this case, the received power packet is generated based on received power calculated during a window (t_window) from timing before a next received power period is reached. That is, the wireless power reception apparatus calculates power received from the wireless power transmission apparatus during the window (t_window), generates the received power packet based on a corresponding value, and transmits the generated received power packet to the wireless power transmission apparatus at timing (or timing at which a next received power period is reached) after an offset (t_offset) from timing at which the window (t_window) is ended. In this case, the window (t_window) may be defined as a silent period in which inband communication does not occur between the wireless power transmission apparatus and the wireless power reception apparatus.”,
Park et al clearly discloses the t_window, defined as a silent period, in which inband communication does not occur between the wireless power transmission apparatus and the wireless power reception apparatus, has been interpreted since there is no inband communication between base station 400 and mobile device 450, therefore as deactivating one or more communications components of the electronic device during at least a portion the silent period).
Regarding Claim 2, Park et al discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining whether the packet has an associated silent period comprises evaluating a header of the packet (see Figs 1-21, par. [0379], [0386]-[0396]).
Regarding Claim 3, Park et al discloses the method of claim 1, wherein obtaining the packet transmitted from the power receiving device (450) comprises decoding the packet in accordance with a protocol specification utilized by the electronic device and the power receiving device (450) (see Figs 1-21, par. [0351]), and wherein determining whether the packet has an associated silent period comprises identifying a type of the packet and determining whether the protocol specification defines a silent period for the identified type of packet (see Figs 1-21, par. [0351], [0379]).
Regarding Claim 4, Park et al discloses the method of claim 3, wherein identifying a type of the packet comprises identifying whether the packet comprises a control error packet or an extended control error packet configured to request an adjustment to the wireless power transmitted by the wireless power transfer coil (see primary coil inside 100 in Fig 4A) (see Figs 1-21 and par. [0269], [0281]-[0282],[0350] disclosing the error packet).
Regarding Claim 5, Park et al discloses the method of claim 1, wherein deactivating the one or more communications components comprises deactivating one or more components of the data receiver (120) (see Fig 17 and par. [0379]).
Regarding Claim 6, Park et al discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the data receiver (120) comprises an amplitude-shift keying (ASK) decoder (par. [0101],[0111]), and wherein deactivating the one or more communications components comprises deactivating at least a portion of the ASK decoder (see Figs 1-21; par. [0101],[0111],[0379]).
Regarding Claim 7, Park et al discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the electronic device further comprises an inverter (Power conversion unit 110) configured to output alternating-current (AC) signals to the wireless power transfer coil (Primary coil connected to Power conversion unit 110), the method further comprising: adjusting a supply voltage of the inverter during the silent period (see Figs 1-21, specifically Fig 4A and 7; par.[0094]-[0095],[0286],[0288],[0290]).
Regarding Claim 8, Park et al discloses the method of claim 7, further comprising: adjusting a phase or a duty cycle of the AC signals output from the inverter (Power conversion unit 110) during the silent period (see Figs 1-21, specifically Fig 4A and 7; par. [0105],[0282],[0290],[0293]).
Regarding Claim 9, Park et al discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: with a data transmitter (120: “IB communication module and an OB communication module”) coupled to the wireless power transfer coil (par. [0100]: The communications & control unit (120) may transmit and/or receive information to and from the wireless power receiver (200). The communications & control unit (120) may include at least one of an IB communication module and an OB communication module.), sending an acknowledgement packet to the power receiving device (450) after determining whether the packet has an associated silent period and before or in parallel with deactivating the one or more communications components of the electronic device during the silent period (see Figs 1-21; par. [0322],[0379]).
Regarding Claim 10, Park et al discloses the method of claim 9, further comprising: after sending the acknowledgement packet to the power receiving device (450), deactivating the data transmitter (120) during at least a portion the silent period (see Figs 1-21; par. [0322],[0379]).
Regarding Claim 11, Park et al discloses the method of claim 9, further comprising: with the data transmitter (120), sending a packet to the power receiving device before an expiration of the silent period, wherein the packet notifies the power receiving device that the electronic device is ready to receive new packets (see Figs 1-21, par. [0379], [0386]-[0397]).
Regarding Claim 12, Park et al discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: after deactivating the one or more communications components of the electronic device in response to determining that the packet has an associated silent period, re-activating the one or more deactivated communications components by or before an expiration of the silent period (see Figs 1-21, par. [0379], [0386]-[0397]).
Regarding Claim 13, Park et al discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the electronic device further comprises an inverter (110) configured to output alternating-current (AC) signals to the wireless power transfer coil (primary coil connected to 110, Fig 4A), the method further comprising:
in response to detecting, using the wireless power transfer coil (primary coil connected to 110, Fig 4A), a change in load characteristics (455) of the power receiving device (450) (see Fig 4A, par. [0111],[0252]), re-activating the one or more deactivated communications components before an expiration of the silent period (see Figs 1-21, specifically Fig 4A and 7; par.[0094]-[0095],[0111], [0252], [0286],[0288],[0290],[0379]).
Regarding Claim 14, Park et al discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: identifying, from a portion of the packet (par. [0267]-[0270]), a value representing a duration of the silent period (see Figs 1-21, par. [0379], [0386]-[0397]), wherein deactivating the one or more communications components of the electronic device comprises deactivating the one or more communications components of the electronic device in accordance with the duration specified by the value (see Figs 1-21, par. [0379], [0386]-[0397]).
Regarding Claim 15, Park et al discloses a power transmitting device (400, Fig 4A, 6-8, 17-19) comprising:
a wireless power transfer coil (primary coil connected to power conversion 110) (see Fig 4A, 17);
an inverter (110) configured to supply alternating-current signals to the wireless power transfer coil (primary coil connected to power conversion 110) for transmitting wireless power to a power receiving device (450) (see Fig 4A; par. [0092]-[0106]);
a data receiver (communication unit 120) coupled to the wireless power transfer coil (primary coil connected to power conversion 110) and configured to obtain a packet, transmitted from the power receiving device (450), having an associated communications silence period (see Figs 4A, 17; par. [0379]); and
control circuitry (control unit in 120) configured to deactivate the data receiver during at least a portion of the communications silence period (see Fig 17 and par. [0379]:
“ [0379] Referring to FIG. 17, the wireless power reception apparatus transmits a received power (RP or RP8) packet, indicative of power received from the wireless power transmission apparatus, at a transmission period (T_received) interval of the received power packet. In this case, the received power packet is generated based on received power calculated during a window (t_window) from timing before a next received power period is reached. That is, the wireless power reception apparatus calculates power received from the wireless power transmission apparatus during the window (t_window), generates the received power packet based on a corresponding value, and transmits the generated received power packet to the wireless power transmission apparatus at timing (or timing at which a next received power period is reached) after an offset (t_offset) from timing at which the window (t_window) is ended. In this case, the window (t_window) may be defined as a silent period in which inband communication does not occur between the wireless power transmission apparatus and the wireless power reception apparatus.”,
Park et al clearly discloses the t_window, defined as a silent period, in which inband communication does not occur between the wireless power transmission apparatus and the wireless power reception apparatus, has been interpreted since there is no inband communication between base station 400 and mobile device 450, therefore as deactivating one or more communications components of the electronic device during at least a portion the silent period,
in addition, while features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (The absence of a disclosure in a prior art reference relating to function did not defeat the Board's finding of anticipation of claimed apparatus because the limitations at issue were found to be inherent in the prior art reference); see also In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 212-13, 169 USPQ 226, 228-29 (CCPA 1971); In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959). "Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). (see MPEP 2114).
Furthermore, it has been held that a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Exparte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). (See MPEP 2114)).
Regarding Claim 16, Park et al discloses the power transmitting device of claim 15, further comprising:
a data transmitter (communication unit in 120) coupled to the wireless power transfer coil (primary coil connected to power conversion 110), wherein the control circuitry (control unit 120) is further configured to deactivate the data transmitter during at least a portion of the communications silence period (see Fig 4A; par. [0092]-[0106], [0379]).
Regarding Claim 19, Park et al discloses a control circuitry (120) coupled to a wireless power transfer coil (coil connected to converter 110 and 120) of a power transmitting device (400), the control circuitry (120) being configured to:
initiate communications with a power receiving device (450) during which the wireless power transfer coil (coil connected to converter 110 and 120) transmits wireless power to a power receiving device (450) (see Fig 4A,17; [0092]-[0106]);
process a packet received from the power receiving device (450) during the communications (see Fig 4A, 17; par. [0379]-[0397]);
determine whether the packet has an associated silent period (see Fig 4A, 17; par. [0379]-[0397]); and
deactivate one or more communications component of power transmitting device (400) during at least a portion of the silent period in response to determining that the packet has an associated silent period ((see Fig 17 and par. [0379]:
“ [0379] Referring to FIG. 17, the wireless power reception apparatus transmits a received power (RP or RP8) packet, indicative of power received from the wireless power transmission apparatus, at a transmission period (T_received) interval of the received power packet. In this case, the received power packet is generated based on received power calculated during a window (t_window) from timing before a next received power period is reached. That is, the wireless power reception apparatus calculates power received from the wireless power transmission apparatus during the window (t_window), generates the received power packet based on a corresponding value, and transmits the generated received power packet to the wireless power transmission apparatus at timing (or timing at which a next received power period is reached) after an offset (t_offset) from timing at which the window (t_window) is ended. In this case, the window (t_window) may be defined as a silent period in which inband communication does not occur between the wireless power transmission apparatus and the wireless power reception apparatus.”,
Park et al clearly discloses the t_window, defined as a silent period, in which inband communication does not occur between the wireless power transmission apparatus and the wireless power reception apparatus, has been interpreted since there is no inband communication between base station 400 and mobile device 450, therefore as deactivating one or more communications components of the electronic device during at least a portion the silent period,
in addition, while features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (The absence of a disclosure in a prior art reference relating to function did not defeat the Board's finding of anticipation of claimed apparatus because the limitations at issue were found to be inherent in the prior art reference); see also In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 212-13, 169 USPQ 226, 228-29 (CCPA 1971); In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959). "Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). (see MPEP 2114).
Furthermore, it has been held that a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Exparte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). (See MPEP 2114)).
Regarding Claim 20, Park et al discloses the control circuitry of claim 19, wherein the one or more communications component (communication unit 120) being deactivated comprise a data receiver or a data transmitter coupled to the wireless power transfer coil (coil connected to converter 110 and 120) (see Fig 4A,17; [0092]-[0106]).
7. Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by He, US Patent Application Publication (US 2023/0018665 A1).
Regarding Claim 17, Park et al discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (see Figs 1-8, par. [0007],[0010],[0028]; claim 87) storing one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of a power transmitting device (100) configured to transmit wireless power to a power receiving device (200), the power transmitting device (100) comprising a wireless power transfer coil (110) and a data receiver (120) coupled to the wireless power transfer coil (see Fig 3, par. [0002]), and the one or more programs comprising instructions (see Figs 1-8, par. [0007],[0010],[0028]; claim 87) for:
processing a packet at the data receiver (120) (see Figs 1-8; par. [0024]-[0028], [0035]);
determining whether the packet has an associated silent period (see Figs 1-8; par. [0024]-[0028], [0035]); and in response to determining that the packet has an associated silent period, deactivating the data receiver during at least a portion of the silent period (see Figs 1-8; par. [0024]-[0028], [0035]).
Regarding Claim 18, Park et al discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 17, the one or more programs further comprising instructions for:
deactivating a data transmitter that is coupled to the wireless power transfer coil during at least a portion of the silent period (see Figs 1-8, par. [0007],[0010],[0028], [0035]; claim 87).
Examiner Note
8. The examiner cites particular columns and lines numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the cited prior art in the PTO-892 form attached.
USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ALFONSO PEREZ BORROTO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836