DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having application No 18/937,508 filed on 11/05/2024 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Saad et al. (U.S. 20240243862, Jul. 18, 2024) in view of Wentink et al. (U.S. 20160127233, May 5, 2026).
Regarding Claim 1, Saad discloses identifying, from the MAP network frame, a serial null data packet (NDP) transmission method for MAP sounding (page 1, par (0002), line 1-10, apparatuses for multi-AP channel sounding for WLAN systems performed by a station (STA) associated with a first access point (AP), wherein the first AP is part of a multi-AP (MAP) set comprising the first AP and at least a second AP, compromise receiving, from the second AP that the STA is not associated with, a null data packet announcement (NDPA) frame, the NDPA frame including a Special STA Info field including an association identifier (AID) relating to the association between the STA and the first AP; receiving a null data packet (NDP) frame from the second AP that the STA is not associated with; and transmitting, to the first AP, feedback based on the NDP frame);
identifying, from the MAP network frame, a NDP transmission order of the first apparatus within a NDP transmission period(page 14, par (0172), line 1-10, a single NDP for MAP sounding in which AP1 is a leading AP(wherein transmission order is Ap1 is a leading AP), Multi-AP sounding coordinating APs to send the NDPs to their associated STAs, Single NDP sounding protocol is proposed, a single NDP sent from the leading AP during the AP coordinating period (transmission period));
and based on the NDP transmission order, transmitting, to a third apparatus, a first NDP within the NDP transmission period(page 14, par (0172), line 1-10, a single NDP for MAP sounding in which AP1 is a leading AP(wherein transmission order is Ap1 is a leading AP), Multi-AP sounding coordinating APs to send the NDPs to their associated STAs, Single NDP sounding protocol is proposed, a single NDP sent from the leading AP during the AP coordinating period (transmission period), AP1, is the leading AP during this MAP cooperation, and AP2 is the cooperating AP(wherein third apparatus is a AP2), they send the NDPA to the STAs).
Saad discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except a first apparatus in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system, the method comprising receiving, from a second apparatus, a multiple access points (MAP) network frame.
Wentink is the same field of invention teaches a first apparatus in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system, the method comprising receiving, from a second apparatus, a multiple access points (MAP) network frame (page 2, par(0038), line 1-10, a WLAN includes various devices which are the components that access the wireless network, there are two types of devices access points(Multiple access points) ("APs") and clients to as ("access terminals"), an access point serves as a hub for the WLAN and an access terminal serves as a user of the WLAN, access terminals connects to an access points via a Wi-Fi compliant wireless link to obtain general connectivity to the wide area(WLAN) networks(where are access terminal use as access points)).
Saad and Wentink are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify based on the first apparatus in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system, the method comprising receiving, from a second apparatus, a multiple access points (MAP) network frame Saad the teaching of the access terminals connects to an access points via a Wi-Fi compliant wireless link to obtain general connectivity to the wide area(WLAN) networks Wentink because it is providing an access terminal communicate peer-to-peer with another access terminal provides coordination and control for the access points.
Regarding Claim 2, Saad discloses the identifying the serial NDP transmission
method comprises based on an indication of a MAP sounding mode in a MAP mode field of the MAP network frame, identifying an indication of the serial NDP transmission method from a NDP type subfield of a common information field of the MAP network frame (page 10, par (0125), line 1-10, In MAP sounding, the Sharing AP need to trigger the Shared APs to send NDPAs and NDPs to the STAs in the MAP coordinating group, the Sharing AP trigger the MAP sounding procedure by using a MAP Trigger frame or a JOINT NDPA frame, the design of a triggering frame to the MAP sounding procedure).
Regarding Claim 3, Saad discloses the identifying the NDP transmission order
Comprises identifying, from among a plurality of AP information fields of the MAP network frame, an access point (AP) information field assigned to the first apparatus; and identifying the NDP transmission order of the first apparatus based on an arrangement order of the identified AP information field among the plurality of AP information fields(page 14, par (0172), line 1-10, a single NDP for MAP sounding in which AP1 is a leading AP(wherein transmission order is Ap1 is a leading AP), Multi-AP sounding coordinating APs to send the NDPs to their associated STAs, Single NDP sounding protocol is proposed, a single NDP sent from the leading AP during the AP coordinating period (transmission period), AP1, is the leading AP during this MAP cooperation).
Regarding Claim 4, Saad discloses the identifying of the NDP transmission order
Comprises identifying, from among a plurality of AP information fields of the MAP network frame, an access point (AP) information field assigned to the first apparatus; and identifying, from a preset subfield of the identified AP information field, the NDP
transmission order of the first apparatus(page 14, par (0172), line 1-10, a single NDP for MAP sounding in which AP1 is a leading AP(wherein transmission order is Ap1 is a leading AP), Multi-AP sounding coordinating APs to send the NDPs to their associated STAs, Single NDP sounding protocol is proposed, a single NDP sent from the leading AP during the AP coordinating period (transmission period), AP1, is the leading AP during this MAP cooperation, and AP2 is the cooperating AP(wherein third apparatus is a AP2), they send the NDPA to the STAs).
Regarding Claim 5, Saad discloses the identifying the NDP transmission order
comprises identifying, from a preset subfield of a common information field of the MAP
network frame, a number of apparatuses participating in the MAP sounding(page 1, par (0002), line 1-10, apparatuses for multi-AP channel sounding for WLAN systems performed by a station (STA) associated with a first access point (AP), wherein the first AP is part of a multi-AP (MAP) set comprising the first AP and at least a second AP, compromise receiving, from the second AP that the STA is not associated with, a null data packet announcement (NDPA) frame, the NDPA frame including a Special STA Info field including an association identifier (AID) relating to the association between the STA and the first AP; receiving a null data packet (NDP) frame from the second AP).
Regarding Claim 6, Saad discloses transmitting a second NDP from the
second apparatus to the third apparatus, based on the serial NDP transmission method(page 1, par (0002), line 1-10, apparatuses for multi-AP channel sounding for WLAN systems performed by a station (STA) associated with a first access point (AP), wherein the first AP is part of a multi-AP (MAP) set comprising the first AP and at least a second AP, compromise receiving, from the second AP that the STA is not associated with, a null data packet announcement (NDPA) frame, the NDPA frame including a Special STA Info field including an association identifier (AID) relating to the association between the STA and the first AP).
Regarding Claim 7, Saad discloses the second apparatus is a sharing access point (AP) configured to control the MAP sounding, and wherein the first apparatus is a shared AP configured to participate in the MAP sounding(page 1, par (0002), line 1-10, apparatuses for multi-AP channel sounding for WLAN systems performed by a station (STA) associated with a first access point (AP), wherein the first AP is part of a multi-AP (MAP) set comprising the first AP and at least a second AP, compromise receiving, from the second AP).
Regarding Claim 8, Saad discloses transmitting, to the third apparatus, a first MAP trigger frame; and receiving, from the third apparatus, a MAP sounding feedback related to the first MAP trigger frame(page 10, par (0125), line 1-10, In MAP sounding, the Sharing AP need to trigger the Shared APs to send NDPAs and NDPs to the STAs in the MAP coordinating group, the Sharing AP trigger the MAP sounding procedure by using a MAP Trigger frame or a JOINT NDPA frame, the design of a triggering frame to the MAP sounding procedure).
Regarding Claim 9, Saad discloses wherein the plurality of second apparatuses respectively correspond to a plurality of access points (APs) and the plurality of third apparatuses respectively correspond to a plurality of stations(page 14, par (0172), line 1-10, a single NDP for MAP sounding in which AP1 is a leading AP(wherein transmission order is Ap1 is a leading AP), Multi-AP sounding coordinating APs to send the NDPs to their associated STAs);
determining a serial null data packet (NDP) transmission method for the MAP sounding; determining a NDP transmission order of the first apparatus and the plurality of second apparatuses within a NDP transmission period; generating a MAP network frame indicating the serial NDP transmission method and the NDP transmission order (page 1, par (0002), line 1-10, apparatuses for multi-AP channel sounding for WLAN systems performed by a station (STA) associated with a first access point (AP), wherein the first AP is part of a multi-AP (MAP) set comprising the first AP and at least a second AP, compromise receiving, from the second AP that the STA is not associated with, a null data packet announcement (NDPA) frame, the NDPA frame including a Special STA Info field including an association identifier (AID) relating to the association between the STA and the first AP; receiving a null data packet (NDP) frame from the second AP that the STA is not associated with; and transmitting, to the first AP, feedback based on the NDP frame);
and transmitting the MAP network frame to the plurality of second apparatuses and the plurality of third apparatuses(page 14, par (0172), line 1-10, a single NDP for MAP sounding in which AP1 is a leading AP(wherein transmission order is Ap1 is a leading AP), Multi-AP sounding coordinating APs to send the NDPs to their associated STAs, Single NDP sounding protocol is proposed, a single NDP sent from the leading AP during the AP coordinating period (transmission period), AP1, is the leading AP during this MAP cooperation, and AP2 is the cooperating AP(wherein third apparatus is a AP2), they send the NDPA to the STAs).
Saad discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except first apparatus in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system, the method comprising determining a plurality of second apparatuses and a plurality of third apparatuses configured to participate in multiple access points (MAP) sounding.
Wentink is the same field of invention teaches first apparatus in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system, the method comprising determining a plurality of second apparatuses and a plurality of third apparatuses configured to participate in multiple access points (MAP) sounding (page 2, par(0038), line 1-10, a WLAN includes various devices which are the components that access the wireless network, there are two types of devices access points(Multiple access points) ("APs") and clients to as ("access terminals"), an access point serves as a hub for the WLAN and an access terminal serves as a user of the WLAN, access terminals connects to an access points via a Wi-Fi compliant wireless link to obtain general connectivity to the wide area(WLAN) networks(where are access terminal use as access points)).
Saad and Wentink are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify based on the first apparatus in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system, the method comprising receiving, from a second apparatus, a multiple access points (MAP) network frame Saad the teaching of the access terminals connects to an access points via a Wi-Fi compliant wireless link to obtain general connectivity to the wide area(WLAN) networks Wentink because it is providing an access terminal communicate peer-to-peer with another access terminal provides coordination and control for the access points.
Regarding Claim 10, Saad discloses the determining the NDP transmission order comprises randomly determining the NDP transmission order of the first apparatus and the plurality of second apparatuses(page 1, par (0002), line 1-10, apparatuses for multi-AP channel sounding for WLAN systems performed by a station (STA) associated with a first access point (AP), wherein the first AP is part of a multi-AP (MAP) set comprising the first AP and at least a second AP, compromise receiving, from the second AP).
Regarding Claim 11, Saad discloses the determining the NDP transmission order comprises determining a NDP transmission order of the plurality of second apparatuses, based on a fixed NDP transmission order of the first apparatus (page 14, par (0172), line 1-10, a single NDP for MAP sounding in which AP1 is a leading AP (wherein transmission order is Ap1 is a leading AP), Multi-AP sounding coordinating APs to send the NDPs to their associated STAs, Single NDP sounding protocol is proposed).
Regarding Claim 12, Saad discloses the fixed NDP transmission order of the first
apparatus is an earliest order or a latest order within the NDP transmission period (page 14, par (0172), line 1-10, a single NDP for MAP sounding in which AP1 is a leading AP (wherein transmission order is Ap1 is a leading AP), Multi-AP sounding coordinating APs to send the NDPs to their associated STAs, Single NDP sounding protocol is proposed, a single NDP sent from the leading AP during the AP coordinating period (transmission period)).
Regarding Claim 13, Saad discloses within the NDP transmission period,
transmitting a plurality of NDPs from the first apparatus and the plurality of second apparatuses to the plurality of third apparatuses, based on the serial NDP transmission method and the NDP transmission order(page 1, par (0002), line 1-10, apparatuses for multi-AP channel sounding for WLAN systems performed by a station (STA) associated with a first access point (AP), wherein the first AP is part of a multi-AP (MAP) set comprising the first AP and at least a second AP, compromise receiving, from the second AP that the STA is not associated with, a null data packet announcement (NDPA) frame, the NDPA frame including a Special STA Info field including an association identifier (AID) relating to the association between the STA and the first AP; receiving a null data packet (NDP) frame from the second AP that the STA is not associated with; and transmitting, to the first AP, feedback based on the NDP frame).
Regarding Claim 14, Saad discloses the generating the MAP network frame
comprises determining an arrangement order of a plurality of AP information fields, the
arrangement order matching with the determined NDP transmission order, and wherein the MAP network frame comprises the plurality of AP information fields arranged based on the arrangement order(page 14, par (0172), line 1-10, a single NDP for MAP sounding in which AP1 is a leading AP(wherein transmission order is Ap1 is a leading AP), Multi-AP sounding coordinating APs to send the NDPs to their associated STAs, Single NDP sounding protocol is proposed, a single NDP sent from the leading AP during the AP coordinating period (transmission period), AP1, is the leading AP during this MAP cooperation, and AP2 is the cooperating AP(wherein third apparatus is a AP2), they send the NDPA to the STAs).
Regarding Claim 15, Saad discloses the generating the MAP network frame
comprises generating a plurality of AP information fields, wherein each of the plurality of AP information fields comprises a preset subfield indicating the determined NDP transmission order, and wherein the MAP network frame comprises the plurality of AP information fields(page 1, par (0002), line 1-10, apparatuses for multi-AP channel sounding for WLAN systems performed by a station (STA) associated with a first access point (AP), wherein the first AP is part of a multi-AP (MAP) set comprising the first AP and at least a second AP, compromise receiving, from the second AP that the STA is not associated with, a null data packet announcement (NDPA) frame, the NDPA frame including a Special STA Info field including an association identifier (AID) relating to the association between the STA and the first AP; receiving a null data packet (NDP) frame from the second AP).
Regarding Claim 16, Saad discloses the MAP network frame comprises a MAP
mode field indicating one of a plurality of MAP operation modes, a common information field applied in common to the plurality of second apparatuses, a plurality of AP information fields individually applied to the plurality of second apparatuses, and a plurality of STA information fields individually applied to the plurality of third apparatuses(page 14, par (0172), line 1-10, a single NDP for MAP sounding in which AP1 is a leading AP(wherein transmission order is Ap1 is a leading AP), Multi-AP sounding coordinating APs to send the NDPs to their associated STAs, Single NDP sounding protocol is proposed, a single NDP sent from the leading AP during the AP coordinating period (transmission period), AP1, is the leading AP during this MAP cooperation, and AP2 is the cooperating AP(wherein third apparatus is a AP2), they send the NDPA to the STAs).
Regarding Claim 17, Saad discloses a processing circuit configured to identify a null data packet (NDP) transmission order of the first apparatus from the MAP network frame in a serial NDP transmission method for MAP sounding and determine a transmission timing of a first NDP based on the NDP transmission order(page 14, par (0172), line 1-10, a single NDP for MAP sounding in which AP1 is a leading AP(wherein transmission order is Ap1 is a leading AP), Multi-AP sounding coordinating APs to send the NDPs to their associated STAs, Single NDP sounding protocol is proposed, a single NDP sent from the leading AP during the AP coordinating period (transmission period)),
and transmit the first NDP to a third apparatus through the transceiver, based on the determined transmission timing of the first NDP(page 14, par (0172), line 1-10, a single NDP for MAP sounding in which AP1 is a leading AP(wherein transmission order is Ap1 is a leading AP), Multi-AP sounding coordinating APs to send the NDPs to their associated STAs, Single NDP sounding protocol is proposed, a single NDP sent from the leading AP during the AP coordinating period (transmission period), AP1, is the leading AP during this MAP cooperation, and AP2 is the cooperating AP(wherein third apparatus is a AP2), they send the NDPA to the STAs).
Saad discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except a transceiver configured to receive a multiple access points (MAP) network frame from a second apparatus.
Wentink is the same field of invention teaches a transceiver configured to receive a multiple access points (MAP) network frame from a second apparatus (page 2, par(0038), line 1-10, a WLAN includes various devices which are the components that access the wireless network, there are two types of devices access points(Multiple access points) ("APs") and clients to as ("access terminals"), an access point serves as a hub for the WLAN and an access terminal serves as a user of the WLAN, access terminals connects to an access points via a Wi-Fi compliant wireless link to obtain general connectivity to the wide area(WLAN) networks(where are access terminal use as access points)).
Saad and Wentink are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify based on the first apparatus in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system, the method comprising receiving, from a second apparatus, a multiple access points (MAP) network frame Saad the teaching of the access terminals connects to an access points via a Wi-Fi compliant wireless link to obtain general connectivity to the wide area(WLAN) networks Wentink because it is providing an access terminal communicate peer-to-peer with another access terminal provides coordination and control for the access points.
Regarding Claim 18, Saad discloses the processing circuit is further
configured to, based on an arrangement order of an access point (AP) information field
assigned to the first apparatus in the MAP network frame, identify a NDP transmission order of the first apparatus(page 14, par (0172), line 1-10, a single NDP for MAP sounding in which AP1 is a leading AP(wherein transmission order is Ap1 is a leading AP), Multi-AP sounding coordinating APs to send the NDPs to their associated STAs, Single NDP sounding protocol is proposed, a single NDP sent from the leading AP during the AP coordinating period (transmission period), AP1, is the leading AP during this MAP cooperation, and AP2 is the cooperating AP(wherein third apparatus is a AP2), they send the NDPA to the STAs).
Regarding Claim 19, Saad discloses the processing circuit is further
configured to identify, from a preset subfield of an access point (AP) information field assigned to the first apparatus in the MAP network frame, the NDP transmission order of the first apparatus(page 14, par (0172), line 1-10, a single NDP for MAP sounding in which AP1 is a leading AP(wherein transmission order is Ap1 is a leading AP), Multi-AP sounding coordinating APs to send the NDPs to their associated STAs, Single NDP sounding protocol is proposed, a single NDP sent from the leading AP during the AP coordinating period (transmission period)).
Regarding Claim 20, Saad discloses the second apparatus is a sharing access
point (AP) configured to control the MAP sounding, and wherein the first apparatus is a shared AP configured to participate in the MAP sounding(page 10, par (0125), line 1-10, In MAP sounding, the Sharing AP need to trigger the Shared APs to send NDPAs and NDPs to the STAs in the MAP coordinating group, the Sharing AP trigger the MAP sounding procedure by using a MAP Trigger frame or a JOINT NDPA frame, the design of a triggering frame to the MAP sounding procedure).
Examiner Notice
Claim 1 would be allowable if (i) both claims 3 and 4 are incorporated into the independent claim 1.
Claim 9 would be allowable if (i) both claims 15 and 16 are incorporated into the independent claim 9.
Claim 17 would be allowable if (i) both claims 3 and 4 or 15 and 16 are incorporated into the independent claim 17.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure are:
Nabetani et al. (US 20170026162, Jan. 26, 2017) teaches Wireless Communication device.
/IQBAL ZAIDI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464