DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grosjean (US 3,595,441).
1: Grosjean teaches a container (container 20, generally shown in Figures 1-9), comprising: a main body (main body shown between 22 and 24, inclusive, Figure 1) having a front wall (see Figure 1 below), a back wall (see Figure 1 below), a top wall (top wall 22), a pair of side walls (see Figure 1 below) and an interior space (interior space within 20); an opening (see opening in Figure 1 below) positioned along the top wall for providing access to the interior space (access to within 20); a cap (see cap in Figure 1 below) that is removably secured about the opening; wherein the main body is configured to transition between an expanded position (expanded position in Figure 1) and a collapsed position (collapsed position in Figure 3).
2: Grosjean teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 1 and Grosjean further teaches that in the expanded position, the main body includes a rectangular shape (see Figure 1 where the body is a rectangular shape).
3: Grosjean teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 1 and Grosjean further teaches that at least a portion of the main body is constructed from a malleable nonporous material (plastic material, Abstract).
4: Grosjean teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 1 and Grosjean further teaches a first plurality of folding sections that are positioned along the front wall (folding sections 3 of which are formed by lines comprising 34 and 36).
5: Grosjean teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 4 and Grosjean further teaches a second plurality of folding sections that are positioned along one of the pair of side walls (sections along the sidewall formed by lines 40, 48, 42, 44, 54).
6: Grosjean teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 5 and Grosjean further teaches a third plurality of folding sections that are positioned along the other one of the pair of side walls (lines/sections on the opposite sidewall from Claim 5, see Figure 1).
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tobler (US 5,255,808).
1: Tobler teaches a container (containers shown in Figures 1-8), comprising: a main body (main body generally shown as 1, Figures 1-8) having a front wall, a back wall, a top wall, a pair of side walls (see the front, back, top, and sidewalls in Figure 6 below) and an interior space (interior space within 1, Figure 6); an opening (opening in Figure 1 below) positioned along the top wall for providing access to the interior space; a cap (see cap in Figure 6 below) that is removably secured about the opening; wherein the main body is configured to transition between an expanded position and a collapsed position (expanded position in Figure 6 collapsed position in Figures 7-8).
2: Tobler teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 1 and Tobler further teaches that in the expanded position, the main body includes a rectangular shape (see Figures 1-8, where the body, has a generally rectangular shape, see Figure 6).
3: Tobler teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 1 and Tobler further teaches that at least a portion of the main body is constructed from a malleable nonporous material (col. 6, ll. 15-19, plastics).
4: Tobler teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 1 and Tobler further teaches that a first plurality of folding sections that are positioned along the front wall (see Figure 6 above).
5: Tobler teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 4 and Tobler further teaches that a second plurality of folding sections that are positioned along one of the pair of side walls (see Figure 6 above).
6: Tobler teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 5 and Tobler further teaches that a third plurality of folding sections that are positioned along the other one of the pair of side walls (sections on opposite sidewall in Figure 6, which has similar fold/sections of the sidewall sections shown in Figure 6 above).
7: Tobler teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 1 and Tobler further teaches that a threaded spout that is positioned about the opening on the top wall (see Figure 2 above).
8: Tobler teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 7 and Tobler further teaches that the cap includes a central body section and an upper body section (see Figure 6 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tobler (US 5,255,808) in view of Anderson (US 5,076,493).
9: Tobler teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 8 except that the central body section includes a threaded opening that is configured to engage the threaded spout via a twisting motion.
Anderson teaches a cap (114) threadedly (126) engageable with the base at (122) to close the container but to permit selective opening thereof (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tobler such that the teaching of the cap having threads to engage with a threaded spout of a container were applied to Tobler in order to permit selective opening thereof, of the spout, as taught by Anderson (Abstract).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Haines (US 0,393,899) shows a collapsible carton with various fold lines.
Dickie (US 2010/0133329) teaches a collapsible milk carbon/paper board container (10) with various fold lines to go from an expanded state to a collapsed state.
/King M Chu/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3735