Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 set forth in the amendment submitted 8/20/2026 form the basis of the present examination.
Response to Arguments
The amendment to the Specification filed on 8/20/2026 is accepted.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 10-14, filed 8/20/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by KIM in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20220392869 A1 and the rejection of Claim(s) 2-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM ‘869 A1 in view of HWANG et al. (Hereinafter, “Hwang”) in the US3 Patent Application Publication Number US 20180307067 A1 have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 11-12, of the remarks, filed on 8/20/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by KIM in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20220392869 A1, that “However, Kim does not disclose a driver integrated circuit electrically connected to the plurality of pixels, wherein the driver integrated circuit includes a plurality of pads spaced apart from each other, and a driving chip including a plurality of contact pins, wherein each of the plurality of pads is electrically contacting a corresponding contact pin among the plurality of contact pins, wherein each of the plurality of pads comprises: a first pad area electrically contacting the corresponding contact pin; and a second pad area partitioned from the first pad area and not overlapping the corresponding contact pin in a plan view That is, Kim does not disclose that each individual pad comprises both a first pad area electrically contacting a corresponding contact pin, and a second pad area partitioned from the first pad area and not overlapping the corresponding contact pin in a plan view. Rather, Kim merely discloses an array of physically distinct, individual pads, i.e., the center pads (CPD1) and the edge pads (EPD1) located in different portions of the substrate, while being silent as to structurally partitioning each individual pad into two (Remarks-Page 11) distinct, non-overlapping areas to accommodate both a contact pin and a separate dedicated space (e.g., for a test pin).
Therefore, Kim does not disclose, teach or suggest "a driver integrated circuit electrically connected to the plurality of pixels, wherein the driver integrated circuit includes a plurality of pads spaced apart from each other, and a driving chip including a plurality of contact pins, wherein each of the plurality of pads is electrically contacting a corresponding contact pin among the plurality of contact pins, wherein each of the plurality of pads comprises: a first pad area electrically contacting the corresponding contact pin; and a second pad area partitioned from the first pad area and not overlapping the corresponding contact pin in a plan view" as in independent claim 1, and similarly recited in independent claim 11 discussed below. As a result, Kim does not disclose all of the claimed elements arranged as in claims 1 and 11.
Thus, it is respectfully submitted that claims 1 and 11, including claims depending therefrom, i.e., claims 2-10 and 12-20, define over Kim.
Accordingly, it is respectfully requested that the above rejection to claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) be withdrawn (Remarks-Page 12).”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see page 11-12, of the remarks, filed on 8/20/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by KIM in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20220392869 A1, as applied to the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 6/17/2026 have been fully considered and is persuasive because applicant has amended the claim 1. Therefore, the rejection of Claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by KIM in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20220392869 A1, as applied to the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 6/17/2026 has been withdrawn. However, applicant has amended the claim 1, and added the limitation, “wherein each of the plurality of pads, is electrically contacting a corresponding contact pin among the plurality of contact pins, wherein each of the plurality of pads comprises: a first pad area electrically contacting the corresponding contact pin”, which necessitates a new ground of rejection. Therefore, present amendment changes the scope of the claim. Claim now requires each of the plurality of pads, is electrically contacting a corresponding contact pin among the plurality of contact pins, ……… Kim in Figure 2 shows that each of the plurality of pads, is electrically contacting a corresponding contact pin among the plurality of contact pins and Figure 7 of Kim shows the structure of each pad which comprises organic layer, conductive layer and insulating layer which creates plurality or pad areas and the contact pin is placed and contacted with the organic layer however the lower conductive layer is not contacting with the contact pin and partitioned by the insulating layer. Therefore, claim amendment changes the scope of the claim as claim now requires each contact pin contacts with corresponding pads. Kim in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20220392869 A1is reapplied to meet the amended claim limitation as shown in Figure 17: Modified Figure 17 of Kim below. Therefore, claim 1 is now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by KIM in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20220392869 A1, as set forth below. Applicant’s argument is moot in view of newly reapplied reference Kim. See the rejection set forth below.
Similar amendment for independent claim 11 and therefore Kim is reapplied to meet the amended limitation of claim 11, as set forth below. Applicant’s argument is moot in view of newly applied combination of references. See the rejection set forth below.
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 13-14, of the remarks, filed on 8/20/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 2-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM ‘869 A1 in view of HWANG et al. (Hereinafter, “Hwang”) in the US3 Patent Application Publication Number US 20180307067 A1, that “Furthermore, it is respectfully submitted that Hwang does not cure the deficiencies of Kim noted above with respect to claims 1 and 11. More particularly, Hwang does not disclose that a driver integrated circuit electrically connected to the plurality of pixels, wherein the driver integrated circuit includes a plurality of pads spaced apart from each other, and a driving chip including a plurality of contact pins, wherein each of the plurality of pads is electrically contacting a corresponding contact pin among the plurality of contact pins, wherein each of the plurality of pads comprises: a first pad area electrically contacting the corresponding contact pin; and a second pad area partitioned from the first pad area and not overlapping the corresponding contact pin in a plan view. Rather, Hwang merely discloses testing a display device by contacting test pins to pads, while being silent as to structurally partitioning each individual pad into two distinct, non-overlapping areas to accommodate both a contact pin and a separate dedicated space (e.g., for a test pin).
As a result, neither Kim nor Hwang, either alone or in any combination thereof, disclose, teach or suggest "a driver integrated circuit electrically connected to the plurality of pixels, wherein the driver integrated circuit includes a plurality of pads spaced apart from each other, and a driving chip including a plurality of contact pins, wherein each of the plurality of pads is electrically contacting a corresponding contact pin among the plurality of contact pins, wherein each of the plurality of pads comprises: a first pad area electrically contacting the corresponding contact pin; and a second pad area partitioned from the first pad area and not overlapping the corresponding contact pin in a plan view," as recited in independent claim 1, and similarly recited in independent claim 11 (Remarks-Page 13).
Thus, it is respectfully submitted that claims 1 and 11, including claims depending therefrom, i.e., claims 2-10 and 12-20, define over the cited references.
Accordingly, it is respectfully requested that the rejection of claims 2-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 be withdrawn (Remarks-Page 14)”.
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see page 13-14, of the remarks, filed on 8/20/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 2-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM ‘869 A1 in view of HWANG et al. (Hereinafter, “Hwang”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20180307067 A1, as applied to the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 6/17/2026 have been fully considered and is not persuasive because Hwang is never applied in the rejection to reject the limitation of independent claim 11, “a driver integrated circuit electrically connected to the plurality of pixels, wherein the driver integrated circuit includes a plurality of pads spaced apart from each other, and a driving chip including a plurality of contact pins, wherein each of the plurality of pads is electrically contacting a corresponding contact pin among the plurality of contact pins, wherein each of the plurality of pads comprises: a first pad area electrically contacting the corresponding contact pin; and a second pad area partitioned from the first pad area and not overlapping the corresponding contact pin in a plan view”. Kim discloses all the limitat5ion of independent claim 11 and Hwang is applied only to show the method steps of contacting a plurality of test pins of a test device to the plurality of pads, respectively. However, applicant has amended claim 11 similar to independent claim 1 as explained above. And therefore, Kim is reapplied to meet at least the amended limitation of independent claim 11. Claim 11 is now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM ‘869 A1 in view of HWANG et al. (Hereinafter, “Hwang”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20180307067 A1, as set forth below. Applicant’s argument is moot in view of newly reapplied combination of references. See the rejection set forth below. Therefore, dependent claims 2-10 and 12-20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM ‘869 A1 in view of HWANG et al. (Hereinafter, “Hwang”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20180307067 A1, as set forth below. See the rejection set forth below.
For expedite prosecution Applicant is invited to call to discuss the present rejection also if any further clarification needed and to discuss any possible amendment to overcome the references to make the claims allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by KIM in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20220392869 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a display device [1000] (a display panel, a display device including the display panel, and a method of manufacturing the display device; Paragraph [0002] Line 1-3; FIG. 1 is a plan view illustrating a display device according to an embodiment; Paragraph [0033] Line 1-2) comprising:
a display panel [DP] in Figure 1 (Referring to FIGS. 1 to 4, an embodiment of a display device 1000 may include a display panel DP; Paragraph [0056] Line 1-2) including a plurality of pixels disposed in a display area [DA] (A plurality of pixels may be disposed in the display area DA. Each of the pixels may emit light. The display area DA may display an image; Paragraph [0059] Line 1-3); and
a driver integrated circuit [DIC] (Referring to FIGS. 1 to 4, an embodiment of a display device 1000 may include a display panel DP, a driving chip DIC; Paragraph [0056] Line 1-3) electrically connected to the plurality of pixels (The driving chip DIC may be disposed on the display panel DP. The driving chip DIC may be disposed in the first pad area PA1. The driving chip DIC may overlap the first pads PD1. The driving chip DIC may provide a driving signal to the display panel DP. In one embodiment, for example, the driving chip DIC may provide a data signal to the display panel DP; Paragraph [0063] Line 1-7; the driver integrated circuit electrically connected to the plurality of pixels as the driving chip DIC may provide a data signal to the display panel DP),
wherein the driver integrated circuit [DIC] includes a plurality of pads [PD1, PD2, CPD1, EPD1…..] (The display panel DP may include a substrate SUB, a plurality of first pads PD1, and a plurality of second pads PD2; Paragraph [0058] Line 1-3; The driving chip DIC may be disposed in the first pad area PA1. The driving chip DIC may overlap the first pads PD1; Paragraph [0063] Line 2-4; The first pads PD1 may include a plurality of center pads CPD1 disposed on a central portion of the first pad area PA1 and a plurality of edge pads EPD1 disposed on a side portion of the first pad area PA1; Paragraph [0058] Line 6-10) spaced apart from each other (Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Kim below shows that a plurality of pads [PD1]- plurality of edge pads EPD1, center pads CPD1 spaced apart from each other), and
Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Kim
a driving chip [DC] in Figure 2 (The driving chip DIC may include a driving integrated circuit DC; Paragraph [0064] Line 1-2) including a plurality of contact pins [BP1] (bump BP1 is considered as the contact pint as it contacts with the pad) (In an embodiment, as shown in FIG. 2, the first bump BP1 may be disposed under the driving integrated circuit DC. The first bump BP1 may be provided in plural; Paragraph [0064] Line 4-7),
wherein each of the plurality of pads [EPD1, CPD1…], is electrically contacting a corresponding contact pin [BP1] among the plurality of contact pins [BP1] (Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Kim above shows each of the plurality of pads [EPD1, CPD1…], is electrically contacting a corresponding contact pin [BP1] among the plurality of contact pins (In one embodiment, for example, the number of the first bumps BP1 may correspond to the number of first pads PD1; Paragraph [0064] Line 7-8; In the first pad area PA1, the first pads PD1 of the display panel DP and the first bump BP1 of the driving chip DIC may be bonded to each other. As the first pads PD1 and the first bump BP1 are bonded to each other, the first pads PD1 and the first bump BP1 may be electrically connected to each other; Paragraph [0073] Line 1-6; Figure 2 shows only pad PD1 (EPD1, CPD1) with contact pins BP1 and similarly Figure 3 shows pad PD2 (EPD2, CPD2) with contact pins BP2),
wherein each of the plurality of pads [PD1, EPD1, CPD1…..] comprises:
a first pad area [OL1+PE2] (a second conductive layer PE2, and the first organic layer OL1 as the first pad area) (the first center pad CPD11 may include a third conductive layer PE3, a first conductive layer PE1, a second conductive layer PE2, and the first organic layer OL1; Paragraph [0088] Line 2-4) electrically contacting the corresponding contact pin [BP1] among the plurality of contact pins [BP1] (The first pads PD1 may include a plurality of center pads CPD1 disposed on a central portion of the first pad area PA1 and a plurality of edge pads EPD1 disposed on a side portion of the first pad area PA1; Paragraph [0058] Line 6-10; Referring to FIG. 5, the first pad area PA1 may be divided into a central portion CTP and a side portion EGP. The display panel DP may include a plurality of center pads CPD1 disposed on the central portion CTP of the first pad area PA1 and a plurality of edge pads EPD1 disposed on the side portion EGP of the first pad area PA1. The first pads PD1 of the display panel DP may include the center pads CPD1 and the edge pads EPD1. The first pads PD1 may be arranged in a matrix form; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-9; Figure 17: Modified Figure 17 of Kim below shows a first pad area electrically contacting the corresponding contact pin [BP1] among the plurality of contact pins); and
Figure 17: Modified Figure 17 of Kim
a second pad area [PE3] [PE3] (a third conductive layer PE3 as the second pad area) (the first center pad CPD11 may include a third conductive layer PE3, a first conductive layer PE1, a second conductive layer PE2, and the first organic layer OL1; Paragraph [0088] Line 2-4) partitioned (a first conductive layer PE1 and the insulating layer functions as to portioned between first pad area and the second pad area) from the first pad area [OL1+PE2] and not overlapping the corresponding contact pin [BP1] in a plan view (Figure 17: Modified Figure 17 of Kim above shows a second pad area [PE3] partitioned from the first pad area [OL1+PE2] and not overlapping the corresponding contact pin in a plan view).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM ‘869 A1 in view of HWANG et al. (Hereinafter, “Hwang”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20180307067 A1.
Regarding claim 2, Kim fails to teach a display device, wherein in the plan view, a width of the corresponding contact pin in a first direction is less than a width of the second pad area in the first direction, and the first direction is a direction perpendicular to a second direction, which is an extension direction of the corresponding contact pin.
Hwang teaches a display module and a method of testing the same. More particularly, exemplary embodiments of the invention relate to a display module including visual inspection (“VI”) pads and a method of testing the display module using the VI pads (Paragraph [0002] Line 2-6),
wherein in the plan view, a width of the corresponding contact pin [PB1] in a first direction is less than a width of the second pad area in the first direction (Figure 8B: Modified Figure 8B of Hwang below shows in the plan view, a width of the corresponding contact pin [PB1] in a first direction is less than a width of the second pad area in the first direction), and the first direction is a direction perpendicular to a second direction, which is an extension direction of the corresponding contact pin [PB1] (FIG. 8A is a view showing the first test pad area VI1 shown in FIG. 3. FIG. 8B is a view showing probe pins PB of a test equipment, which contact the first test pad area VI1 shown in FIG. 8A; Paragraph [0105] Line 1-4; The probe pins PB of the test equipment may include test pins PB1 to PBn and a dummy pin PBd. The test pins PB1 to PBn respectively correspond to the test pads PDT1 to PDTn, and the dummy pin PBd corresponds to the dummy pad PDd; Paragraph [0108] Line 1-5; Figure 8B: Modified Figure 8B of Hwang below shows the first direction is a direction perpendicular to a second direction, which is an extension direction of the corresponding contact pin [PB1]). The
.
Figure 8B: Modified Figure 8B of Hwang
purpose of doing so is to provide a simple and convenient usage, and does not desire special equipment, to prevent from being damaged while the display panel or the display module is tested.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kim in view of Hwang, because Hwang teaches to have a width of the corresponding contact pin in a first direction is less than a width of the second pad area in the first direction provides a simple and convenient usage, and does not desire special equipment (Paragraph [0004]), prevents from being damaged while the display panel or the display module is tested (Paragraph [0025]).
Regarding claim 3, Kim fails to teach a display device, wherein in the plan view, a
width of the second pad area in the second direction is greater than the width of the corresponding contact pin in the first direction.
Hwang teaches a display module and a method of testing the same. More particularly, exemplary embodiments of the invention relate to a display module including visual inspection (“VI”) pads and a method of testing the display module using the VI pads (Paragraph [0002] Line 2-6),
wherein in the plan view, a width of the second pad area in the second direction is greater than the width of the corresponding contact pin in the first direction (The probe pins PB of the test equipment may include test pins PB1 to PBn and a dummy pin PBd. The test pins PB1 to PBn respectively correspond to the test pads PDT1 to PDTn, and the dummy pin PBd corresponds to the dummy pad PDd; Paragraph [0108] Line 1-5; Figure 8B: Modified Figure 8B of Hwang above shows in the plan view, a width of the second pad area in the second direction is greater than the width of the corresponding contact pin in the first direction). The purpose of doing so is to provide a simple and convenient usage, and does not desire special equipment, to prevent from being damaged while the display panel or the display module is tested.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kim in view of Hwang, because Hwang teaches to have a width of the second pad area in the second direction is greater than the width of the corresponding contact pin in the first direction provides a simple and convenient usage, and does not desire special equipment (Paragraph [0004]), prevents from being damaged while the display panel or the display module is tested (Paragraph [0025]).
Regarding claim 4, Kim fails to teach a display device, wherein second pad areas of
the plurality of pads are arranged along the first direction.
Hwang teaches a display module and a method of testing the same. More particularly, exemplary embodiments of the invention relate to a display module including visual inspection (“VI”) pads and a method of testing the display module using the VI pads (Paragraph [0002] Line 2-6),
wherein second pad areas of the plurality of pads are arranged along the first direction (Figure 8a: Modified Figure 8A of Hwang below shows second pad areas of the plurality of pads are arranged along the first direction). The purpose of doing so is to provide a simple and convenient usage, and does not desire special equipment, to prevent from being damaged while the display panel or the display module is tested.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kim in view of Hwang, because Hwang teaches to arrange second pad areas of the plurality of pads along the first direction provides a simple and convenient usage, and does not desire special equipment (Paragraph [0004]), prevents from being damaged while the display panel or the display module is tested (Paragraph [0025]).
Figure 8a: Modified Figure 8A of Hwang
Regarding claim 5, Kim fails to teach a display device, wherein a separation distance
between adjacent second pad areas among the second pad areas is constant.
Hwang teaches a display module and a method of testing the same. More particularly, exemplary embodiments of the invention relate to a display module including visual inspection (“VI”) pads and a method of testing the display module using the VI pads (Paragraph [0002] Line 2-6),
wherein a separation distance between adjacent second pad areas among the second pad areas is constant (Figure 8a: Modified Figure 8A of Hwang above shows a separation distance between adjacent second pad areas among the second pad areas is constant). ow shows second pad areas of the plurality of pads are arranged along the first direction). The purpose of doing so is to provide a simple and convenient usage, and does not desire special equipment, to prevent from being damaged while the display panel or the display module is tested.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kim in view of Hwang, because Hwang teaches to have a separation distance between adjacent second pad areas among the second pad areas constant provides a simple and convenient usage, and does not desire special equipment (Paragraph [0004]), prevents from being damaged while the display panel or the display module is tested (Paragraph [0025]).
Regarding claim 6, Kim fails to teach a display device, wherein in the plan view, an
area of the second pad area is less than an area of the first pad area.
Hwang teaches a display module and a method of testing the same. More particularly, exemplary embodiments of the invention relate to a display module including visual inspection (“VI”) pads and a method of testing the display module using the VI pads (Paragraph [0002] Line 2-6),
wherein in the plan view, an area of the second pad area is less than an area of the first pad area (Figure 6: Modified Figure 6 of Hwang below shows in the plan view, an area of the second pad area is less than an area of the first pad area). The purpose of doing so is to provide a simple and convenient usage, and does not desire special equipment, to prevent from being damaged while the display panel or the display module is tested.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kim in view of Hwang, because Hwang teaches to have an area of the second pad area less than an area of the first pad area provides a simple and convenient usage, and does not desire special equipment (Paragraph [0004]), prevents from being damaged while the display panel or the display module is tested (Paragraph [0025]).
Figure 6: Modified Figure 6 of Hwang
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches a display device,
wherein the driver integrated circuit further includes:
a first layer [DA] (display area of the substrate as the first layer) disposed under the plurality of pads [PD1, EPD1, CPD1…] (The display panel DP may include a substrate SUB, a plurality of first pads PD1, and a plurality of second pads PD2. The substrate SUB may include a display area DA and a non-display area NDA. The non-display area NDA may include a first pad area PA1 and a second pad area PA2. The first pads PD1 may be disposed on the substrate SUB; Paragraph [0058] Line 1-6); and
a second layer [NDA] (non-display area as the second layer) disposed on the first layer [DA], covering an edge of each of the plurality of pads [PD1, PD2 ….] (The non-display area NDA may include a first pad area PA1 and a second pad area PA2; Paragraph [0058] Line 3-6; Figure 1 shows a second layer [NDA] (non-display area as the second layer) disposed on the first layer [DA], covering an edge of each of the plurality of pads), and defining an opening exposing an upper surface of each of the plurality of pads (The non-display area NDA may include a first pad area PA1 and a second pad area PA2; Paragraph [0058] Line 3-6; Figure 1 shows a second layer [NDA] (non-display area as the second layer) disposed on the first layer [DA], covering an edge of each of the plurality of pads [PD1, PD2 ….] defining an opening exposing an upper surface of each of the plurality of pads).
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches a display device,
wherein the driver integrated circuit further includes a dam structure [OL1, OL2, OL3] in Figure 6 as the dam structure disposed between the first pad area and the second pad area in the opening (Claim 8. The display panel of claim 1, wherein the uneven pad further includes a second organic layer, and is the second organic layer is disposed on the first conductive layer, has an upper surface having an uneven shape, and is spaced apart from the first organic layer in a first direction; Claim 4. The display panel of claim 1, wherein the uneven pad includes a stepped area in which the first organic layer is disposed and a connection area surrounding the stepped area, and the first conductive layer is spaced apart from the second conductive layer in the stepped area).
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches a display device,
wherein the dam structure partitions the opening into a first opening and a second opening, the first opening exposes the first pad area, and the second opening exposes the second pad area (Claim 8. The display panel of claim 1, wherein the uneven pad further includes a second organic layer, and is the second organic layer is disposed on the first conductive layer, has an upper surface having an uneven shape, and is spaced apart from the first organic layer in a first direction; Claim 4. The display panel of claim 1, wherein the uneven pad includes a stepped area in which the first organic layer is disposed and a connection area surrounding the stepped area, and the first conductive layer is spaced apart from the second conductive layer in the stepped area; Figure 6 shows the dam structure partitions the opening into a first opening and a second opening, the first opening exposes the first pad area, and the second opening exposes the second pad area).
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches a display device,
wherein the driver integrated circuit further includes a solder member disposed in the first pad area of each of the plurality of pads, wherein each of the plurality of pads is bonded to the corresponding contact pin by the solder member (In such a display device, for example, when bonding the display panel and the driving chip, an anisotropic conductive film disposed between a pad included in the display panel and a bump included in the driving chip has been used. The anisotropic conductive film may electrically connect and fix the pad and the bump; Paragraph [0005] Line 1-6; Recently, ultrasonic bonding may be used to electrically connect and fix the pad and the bump; Paragraph [0006] Line 1-2; an anisotropic conductive film as the solder member which is disposed in the first pad area of each of the plurality of pads, wherein each of the plurality of pads is bonded to the corresponding contact pin by the solder member).
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches a method of testing a display device [1000],
wherein the display device [1000] (a display panel, a display device including the display panel, and a method of manufacturing the display device; Paragraph [0002] Line 1-3; FIG. 1 is a plan view illustrating a display device according to an embodiment; Paragraph [0033] Line 1-2) comprising:
a display panel [DP] in Figure 1 (Referring to FIGS. 1 to 4, an embodiment of a display device 1000 may include a display panel DP; Paragraph [0056] Line 1-2) including a plurality of pixels disposed in a display area [DA] (A plurality of pixels may be disposed in the display area DA. Each of the pixels may emit light. The display area DA may display an image; Paragraph [0059] Line 1-3); and
a driver integrated circuit [DIC] (Referring to FIGS. 1 to 4, an embodiment of a display device 1000 may include a display panel DP, a driving chip DIC; Paragraph [0056] Line 1-3) electrically connected to the plurality of pixels (The driving chip DIC may be disposed on the display panel DP. The driving chip DIC may be disposed in the first pad area PA1. The driving chip DIC may overlap the first pads PD1. The driving chip DIC may provide a driving signal to the display panel DP. In one embodiment, for example, the driving chip DIC may provide a data signal to the display panel DP; Paragraph [0063] Line 1-7; the driver integrated circuit electrically connected to the plurality of pixels as the driving chip DIC may provide a data signal to the display panel DP),
wherein the driver integrated circuit [DIC] includes a plurality of pads [PD1, PD2, CPD1, EPD1…..] (The display panel DP may include a substrate SUB, a plurality of first pads PD1, and a plurality of second pads PD2; Paragraph [0058] Line 1-3; The driving chip DIC may be disposed in the first pad area PA1. The driving chip DIC may overlap the first pads PD1; Paragraph [0063] Line 2-4; The first pads PD1 may include a plurality of center pads CPD1 disposed on a central portion of the first pad area PA1 and a plurality of edge pads EPD1 disposed on a side portion of the first pad area PA1; Paragraph [0058] Line 6-10) spaced apart from each other (Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Kim above shows that a plurality of pads [PD1]- plurality of edge pads EPD1, center pads CPD1 spaced apart from each other), and
a driving chip [DC] in Figure 2 (The driving chip DIC may include a driving integrated circuit DC; Paragraph [0064] Line 1-2) including a plurality of contact pins [BP1] (bump BP1 is considered as the contact pint as it contacts with the pad) (In an embodiment, as shown in FIG. 2, the first bump BP1 may be disposed under the driving integrated circuit DC. The first bump BP1 may be provided in plural; Paragraph [0064] Line 4-7),
wherein each of the plurality of pads [EPD1, CPD1…], is electrically contacting a corresponding contact pin [BP1] among the plurality of contact pins [BP1] (Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Kim above shows each of the plurality of pads [EPD1, CPD1…], is electrically contacting a corresponding contact pin [BP1] among the plurality of contact pins (In one embodiment, for example, the number of the first bumps BP1 may correspond to the number of first pads PD1; Paragraph [0064] Line 7-8; In the first pad area PA1, the first pads PD1 of the display panel DP and the first bump BP1 of the driving chip DIC may be bonded to each other. As the first pads PD1 and the first bump BP1 are bonded to each other, the first pads PD1 and the first bump BP1 may be electrically connected to each other; Paragraph [0073] Line 1-6; Figure 2 shows only pad PD1 (EPD1, CPD1) with contact pins BP1 and similarly Figure 3 shows pad PD2 (EPD2, CPD2) with contact pins BP2),
wherein each of the plurality of pads [PD1, EPD1, CPD1…..] comprises:
a first pad area [OL1+PE2] (a second conductive layer PE2, and the first organic layer OL1 as the first pad area) (the first center pad CPD11 may include a third conductive layer PE3, a first conductive layer PE1, a second conductive layer PE2, and the first organic layer OL1; Paragraph [0088] Line 2-4) electrically contacting the corresponding contact pin [BP1] among the plurality of contact pins [BP1] (The first pads PD1 may include a plurality of center pads CPD1 disposed on a central portion of the first pad area PA1 and a plurality of edge pads EPD1 disposed on a side portion of the first pad area PA1; Paragraph [0058] Line 6-10; Referring to FIG. 5, the first pad area PA1 may be divided into a central portion CTP and a side portion EGP. The display panel DP may include a plurality of center pads CPD1 disposed on the central portion CTP of the first pad area PA1 and a plurality of edge pads EPD1 disposed on the side portion EGP of the first pad area PA1. The first pads PD1 of the display panel DP may include the center pads CPD1 and the edge pads EPD1. The first pads PD1 may be arranged in a matrix form; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-9; Figure 17: Modified Figure 17 of Kim above shows a first pad area electrically contacting the corresponding contact pin [BP1] among the plurality of contact pins); and
a second pad area [PE3] (a third conductive layer PE3 as the second pad area) (the first center pad CPD11 may include a third conductive layer PE3, a first conductive layer PE1, a second conductive layer PE2, and the first organic layer OL1; Paragraph [0088] Line 2-4) partitioned (a first conductive layer PE1 and the insulating layer functions as to portioned between first pad area and the second pad area) from the first pad area [OL1+PE2] and not overlapping the corresponding contact pin [BP1] in a plan view (Figure 17: Modified Figure 17 of Kim above shows a second pad area [PE3] partitioned from the first pad area [OL1+PE2] and not overlapping the corresponding contact pin in a plan view).
Kim fails to teach that the method comprises contacting a plurality of test pins of a test device to the plurality of pads, respectively.
Hwang teaches a display module and a method of testing the same. More particularly, exemplary embodiments of the invention relate to a display module including visual inspection (“VI”) pads and a method of testing the display module using the VI pads (Paragraph [0002] Line 2-6),
wherein the method [S10] Figure 8C comprising contacting a plurality of test pins of a test device to the plurality of pads, respectively (The testing method of the display module S10 includes an aligning operation S100, a first testing operation S200, a determining operation S300, and a second testing operation S400; Paragraph [0109] Line 1-4; Referring to FIGS. 8A to 8C, in the aligning operation S100, the second pads PD2 of the display module DM are aligned with the probe pins PB of the test equipment. The second pads PD2 are aligned to respectively correspond to the probe pins PB through the aligning operation S100; Paragraph [0110] Line 1-7). The purpose of doing so is to measure the first electrical signal applied thereto.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kim in view of Hwang, because Hwang teaches to contact a plurality of test pins of a test device to the plurality of pads, respectively measure the first electrical signal applied thereto (Paragraph [0110]).
Regarding claim 12, Kim teaches a method,
wherein each of the plurality of test pins [BP] contacts the second pad area [EDP1] (The driving chip DIC may include a driving integrated circuit DC and a first bump BP1. The driving integrated circuit DC may provide the driving signal to the display panel DP. In an embodiment, as shown in FIG. 2, the first bump BP1 may be disposed under the driving integrated circuit DC. The first bump BP1 may be provided in plural. In one embodiment, for example, the number of the first bumps BP1 may correspond to the number of first pads PD1; Paragraph [0064] Line 1-8; Figure 2 shows each of the plurality of test pins [BP] contacts the portion of the second pad area).
Regarding claim 13, Kim teaches a method,
wherein the plurality of test pins corresponds to the plurality of pads with a one-to-one correspondence (The driving chip DIC may include a driving integrated circuit DC and a first bump BP1. The driving integrated circuit DC may provide the driving signal to the display panel DP. In an embodiment, as shown in FIG. 2, the first bump BP1 may be disposed under the driving integrated circuit DC. The first bump BP1 may be provided in plural. In one embodiment, for example, the number of the first bumps BP1 may correspond to the number of first pads PD1; Paragraph [0064] Line 1-8).
Regarding claim 14, Kim fails to teach a method, wherein in the plan view, a width of the corresponding contact pin in a first direction is less than a width of the second pad area in the first direction, and the first direction is a direction perpendicular to a second direction, which is an extension direction of the corresponding contact pin.
Hwang teaches a display module and a method of testing the same. More particularly, exemplary embodiments of the invention relate to a display module including visual inspection (“VI”) pads and a method of testing the display module using the VI pads (Paragraph [0002] Line 2-6),
wherein in the plan view, a width of the corresponding contact pin [PB1] in a first direction is less than a width of the second pad area in the first direction (Figure 8B: Modified Figure 8B of Hwang below shows in the plan view, a width of the corresponding contact pin [PB1] in a first direction is less than a width of the second pad area in the first direction), and the first direction is a direction perpendicular to a second direction, which is an extension direction of the corresponding contact pin [PB1] (FIG. 8A is a view showing the first test pad area VI1 shown in FIG. 3. FIG. 8B is a view showing probe pins PB of a test equipment, which contact the first test pad area VI1 shown in FIG. 8A; Paragraph [0105] Line 1-4; The probe pins PB of the test equipment may include test pins PB1 to PBn and a dummy pin PBd. The test pins PB1 to PBn respectively correspond to the test pads PDT1 to PDTn, and the dummy pin PBd corresponds to the dummy pad PDd; Paragraph [0108] Line 1-5; Figure 8B: Modified Figure 8B of Hwang above shows the first direction is a direction perpendicular to a second direction, which is an extension direction of the corresponding contact pin [PB1]). The
purpose of doing so is to provide a simple and convenient usage, and does not desire special equipment, to prevent from being damaged while the display panel or the display module is tested.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kim in view of Hwang, because Hwang teaches to have a width of the corresponding contact pin in a first direction is less than a width of the second pad area in the first direction provides a simple and convenient usage, and does not desire special equipment (Paragraph [0004]), prevents from being damaged while the display panel or the display module is tested (Paragraph [0025]).
Regarding claim 15, Kim fails to teach a method, wherein in the plan view, a width of the second pad area in the second direction is greater than the width of the corresponding contact pin in the first direction.
Hwang teaches a display module and a method of testing the same. More particularly, exemplary embodiments of the invention relate to a display module including visual inspection (“VI”) pads and a method of testing the display module using the VI pads (Paragraph [0002] Line 2-6),
wherein in the plan view, a width of the second pad area in the second direction is greater than the width of the corresponding contact pin in the first direction (The probe pins PB of the test equipment may include test pins PB1 to PBn and a dummy pin PBd. The test pins PB1 to PBn respectively correspond to the test pads PDT1 to PDTn, and the dummy pin PBd corresponds to the dummy pad PDd; Paragraph [0108] Line 1-5; Figure 8B: Modified Figure 8B of Hwang above shows in the plan view, a width of the second pad area in the second direction is greater than the width of the corresponding contact pin in the first direction). The purpose of doing so is to provide a simple and convenient usage, and does not desire special equipment, to prevent from being damaged while the display panel or the display module is tested.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kim in view of Hwang, because Hwang teaches to have a width of the second pad area in the second direction is greater than the width of the corresponding contact pin in the first direction provides a simple and convenient usage, and does not desire special equipment (Paragraph [0004]), prevents from being damaged while the display panel or the display module is tested (Paragraph [0025]).
Regarding claim 16, Kim teaches a method,
wherein the driver integrated circuit further includes:
a first layer [DA] (display area of the substrate as the first layer) disposed under the plurality of pads [PD1, EPD1, CPD1…] (The display panel DP may include a substrate SUB, a plurality of first pads PD1, and a plurality of second pads PD2. The substrate SUB may include a display area DA and a non-display area NDA. The non-display area NDA may include a first pad area PA1 and a second pad area PA2. The first pads PD1 may be disposed on the substrate SUB; Paragraph [0058] Line 1-6); and
a second layer [NDA] (non-display area as the second layer) disposed on the first layer [DA], covering an edge of each of the plurality of pads [PD1, PD2 ….] (The non-display area NDA may include a first pad area PA1 and a second pad area PA2; Paragraph [0058] Line 3-6; Figure 1 shows a second layer [NDA] (non-display area as the second layer) disposed on the first layer [DA], covering an edge of each of the plurality of pads), and defining an opening exposing an upper surface of each of the plurality of pads (The non-display area NDA may include a first pad area PA1 and a second pad area PA2; Paragraph [0058] Line 3-6; Figure 1 shows a second layer [NDA] (non-display area as the second layer) disposed on the first layer [DA], covering an edge of each of the plurality of pads [PD1, PD2 ….] defining an opening exposing an upper surface of each of the plurality of pads).
Regarding claim 17, Kim teaches a method,
wherein the driver integrated circuit further includes a dam structure [OL1, OL2, OL3] in Figure 6 as the dam structure disposed between the first pad area and the second pad area in the opening (Claim 8. The display panel of claim 1, wherein the uneven pad further includes a second organic layer, and is the second organic layer is disposed on the first conductive layer, has an upper surface having an uneven shape, and is spaced apart from the first organic layer in a first direction; Claim 4. The display panel of claim 1, wherein the uneven pad includes a stepped area in which the first organic layer is disposed and a connection area surrounding the stepped area, and the first conductive layer is spaced apart from the second conductive layer in the stepped area).
Regarding claim 18, Kim teaches a method,
wherein the dam structure partitions the opening into a first opening and a second opening, the first opening exposes the first pad area, and the second opening exposes the second pad area (Claim 8. The display panel of claim 1, wherein the uneven pad further includes a second organic layer, and is the second organic layer is disposed on the first conductive layer, has an upper surface having an uneven shape, and is spaced apart from the first organic layer in a first direction; Claim 4. The display panel of claim 1, wherein the uneven pad includes a stepped area in which the first organic layer is disposed and a connection area surrounding the stepped area, and the first conductive layer is spaced apart from the second conductive layer in the stepped area; Figure 6 shows the dam structure partitions the opening into a first opening and a second opening, the first opening exposes the first pad area, and the second opening exposes the second pad area).
Regarding claim 19, Kim teaches a method,
wherein the driver integrated circuit further includes a solder member disposed in the first pad area of each of the plurality of pads, wherein each of the plurality of pads is bonded to the corresponding contact pin by the solder member (In such a display device, for example, when bonding the display panel and the driving chip, an anisotropic conductive film disposed between a pad included in the display panel and a bump included in the driving chip has been used. The anisotropic conductive film may electrically connect and fix the pad and the bump; Paragraph [0005] Line 1-6; Recently, ultrasonic bonding may be used to electrically connect and fix the pad and the bump; Paragraph [0006] Line 1-2; an anisotropic conductive film as the solder member which is disposed in the first pad area of each of the plurality of pads, wherein each of the plurality of pads is bonded to the corresponding contact pin by the solder member).
Regarding claim 20, Kim fails to teach a method, further comprising: displaying a test image in the display area based on a test image signal provided from the plurality of test pins; and determining a connection defect of the driving chip based on the test image.
Kim fails to teach that the method comprises contacting a plurality of test pins of a test device to the plurality of pads, respectively.
Hwang teaches a display module and a method of testing the same. More particularly, exemplary embodiments of the invention relate to a display module including visual inspection (“VI”) pads and a method of testing the display module using the VI pads (Paragraph [0002] Line 2-6),
wherein the method [S10] Figure 8C further comprising: displaying a test image in the display area based on a test image signal provided from the plurality of test pins; and determining a connection defect of the driving chip based on the test image (In the first testing operation S200, the test equipment applies a first electrical signal to the n-th test pad PDTn through an n-th probe pin PBn. The test equipment measures the first electrical signal applied thereto using the dummy pad PDd and the dummy pin PBd; Paragraph [0111] Line 1-5; In the determining operation S300, it is determined whether the second pads PD2 are aligned with and contact the probe pins PB of the test equipment. When the first electrical signal applied through the dummy pad PDd and the dummy pin PBd is normally measured, it is determined that the second pads PD2 are normally aligned with and contact the probe pins PB in the aligning operation S100, and then the second testing operation S400 proceeds. However, when the first electrical signal applied through the dummy pad PDd and the dummy pin PBd is not normally measured, it is determined that the second pads PD2 are not normally aligned with and do not normally contact the probe pins PB in the aligning operation S100, and then the aligning operation S100 proceeds again; Paragraph [0112] Line 1-13). The purpose of doing so is to measure the first electrical signal applied thereto.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kim in view of Hwang, because Hwang teaches to displaying a test image in the display area based on a test image signal provided from the plurality of test pins measure the first electrical signal applied thereto (Paragraph [0110]), to prevent the pixel from being damaged while the display panel or the display module is tested (Paragraph [0025]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
JANG et al. (US 20220328724 A1) discloses, “DISPLAY DEVICE, METHOD OF PROVIDING THE SAME, AND TILED DISPLAY DEVICE INCLUDING DISPLAY DEVICE- [0002] The present disclosure relates to a display device, a method of providing or manufacturing the same, and a tiled display device including the display device. [0072] Referring to FIGS. 3 through 5, the display area DA of the display device 10 may include the first through third light emitting areas LA1 through LA3. Each of the first through third light emitting areas LA1 through LA3 may be a planar area or an area where light generated by a light emitting element ED of the display device 10 is emitted to the outside of the display device 10. [0073] The display device 10 may include a first substrate SUB1, a first barrier insulating layer BIL1 a pad part PD, a second barrier insulating layer BIL2, a bump connection electrode SCM, a second substrate SUB2, a display layer DPL, an encapsulation layer TFE, an antireflection layer ARF, a flexible film FPCB, a data driver DIC, and a bump electrode SDB. [0074] The first substrate SUB1 may support the display device 10. The first substrate SUB1 may be a base substrate or a base member. The first substrate SUB1 may be a flexible substrate that is bendable, foldable, rollable (e.g., can be bent, folded, rolled, etc.). In an embodiment, for example, the first substrate SUB1 may include, but is not limited to, an insulating material such as polymer resin (e.g., polyimide (PI)). In an embodiment, for another example, the first substrate SUB1 may be a rigid substrate including a glass material. [0075] The first substrate SUB1 may include or provide a first contact hole CNT1. A sidewall of the first substrate SUB1 may define the first contact hole CNT1. The first contact hole CNT1 may be provided by etching the first substrate SUB1 in a direction from a lower surface of the first substrate SUB1 to an upper surface of the first substrate SUB1 which is opposite to the lower surface-However JANG does not disclose wherein each of the plurality of pads comprises: a first pad area electrically contacting the corresponding contact pin; and a second pad area partitioned from the first pad area and not overlapping the corresponding contact pin in a plan view.”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858