DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/05/2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 4, 8-9 and 11 are objected to because of the following informality:
In claims 2 and 4, "wherein determining, by the first terminal” should read "wherein the determining, by the first terminal”.
In claim 8, “wherein determining the first transmission resource based on the first reference value of each of the N carriers comprises” should read “wherein the determining the first transmission resource based on the first reference value of each of the N carriers comprises”.
In claim 9, “wherein determining, by the first terminal from the K first available carriers” should read “wherein the determining, by the first terminal from the K first available carriers”.
In claim 11, “wherein determining, by the first terminal” should read “wherein the determining, by the first terminal”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mok et al. (US20220167314A1, hereinafter Mok) in view of Belleschiet al. (US20200229194A1, hereinafter Belleschiet).
For claim 1, Mok teaches a transmission resource selection method ([Para. 0009], the present disclosure provides a method for effectively selecting a transmission carrier in a wireless communication system), comprising: determining, by a first terminal, a first transmission resource based on values of first parameters respectively corresponding to one or more resource pools on each of N carriers ([Para. 0113], In the case where the plurality of resource pools are mapped with a single component carrier, the resource pools mapped with the single component carrier may be defined as a resource pool group. [Para. 0166], the channel busy ratios (CBR) value of the candidate resource pool group may be an average CBR value of the resource pools belonging to the corresponding group. The CBR value of the candidate resource pool group may be the lowest CBR value, among the resource pools belonging to the corresponding group [Examiner’s Note: CBR value for a resource pool is the first parameter value. Average CBR and lowest CBR of a pool group mapped with a carrier are based on the CBR of each pool in the pool group]. [Para. 0169], In the case where the CBR result of the candidate resource pool group is smaller than CBR_Threshold_B, if the CBR value of the candidate resource pool group is the average CBR value or the lowest CBR value, the candidate resource pool is more likely to be included in the transmission resource candidates. [Para. 0177], the terminal may select a resource pool group having the lowest CBR from among the candidate resource pool groups. [Para. 0178], the terminal may use the following Event V3_T2 condition to select one resource pool from the selected resource group. [Para. 0188], The CBR value of the candidate resource pool group may be an average CBR value or the lowest CBR value. [Para. 0401], The method comprises measuring a first CBR for a first carrier and a plurality of second CBRs for a plurality of second carriers configured by upper layer [Examiner’s Note: CBRs for a plurality of second carriers are average CBR values or the lowest CBR values. A plurality of second carriers constitute N carriers]; and determining at least one transmission carrier from among the first carrier and the plurality of second [carriers] based on the first CBR and the plurality of second CBRs. If the first CBR is higher than the first threshold value and the plurality of second CBRs are lower than the second threshold value, determining the at least one transmission carrier as at least one second carrier with at least one lowest CBR from among the plurality of second carriers [Examiner’s Note: Measuring a plurality of second CBRs for a plurality of second carriers and determining the lowest CBR from among the plurality of second carriers indicates that each of the plurality of second carriers is considered]), the first transmission resource is used for data transmission ([Para. 0401], determining at least one transmission carrier from among the first carrier and the plurality of second CBRs based on the first CBR and the plurality of second CBRs. Transmitting a request for resource allocation using the at least one transmission carrier; and receiving a resource allocation message for available resources for the at least one transmission carrier. Transmitting data based on the available resources), and N is an integer greater than 1 ([Para. 0401], measuring a first CBR for a first carrier and a plurality of second CBRs for a plurality of second carriers configured by upper layer; and determining at least one transmission carrier from among the first carrier and the plurality of second [carriers] based on the first threshold value, the second threshold value, the first CBR and the plurality of second CBRs).
Although teaching determining resource pool based on the CBR of each resource pool in a resource pool group of a carrier, Mok does not explicitly disclose wherein a first parameter is used for indicating a resource usage state.
Belleschiet is directed to providing methods to Enable Sidelink Multicarrier Transmissions. More specifically, Belleschiet teaches wherein a first parameter is used for indicating a resource usage state ([Para. 0096], thresholds on the level of interference/congestion of the sidelink carrier are used as a criterion for selecting particular carriers. The CBR measurements can be used as a metric to evaluate the level of congestion/interference of the sidelink carrier [Examiner’s Note: The level of congestion/interference of the sidelink carrier indicates the usage state of the carrier]. In case multiple transmitting resource pools are available for transmission in the sidelink carrier, the UE may compute the average CBR measured across all the pools available in the carrier and compared it with a CBR threshold. [Examiner’s Note: The average CBR measured across all the pools available in the carrier is based on the CBR of each pool in the carrier])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Mok, so that average CBR is used to indicate the usage state of a carrier, as taught by Belleschiet. The modification would have ensured fair usage of the available spectrum and limited UE battery consumption (Belleschiet [Para. 0034]).
For claim 2, Mok and Belleschiet teach the method of according to claim 1. The references further teach wherein determining, by the first terminal, the first transmission resource based on the values of the first parameters respectively corresponding to the one or more resource pools on each of the N carriers comprises: determining, by the first terminal, a first reference value of an i-th carrier based on values of first parameters respectively corresponding to at least part of one or more resource pools on the i-th carrier (Mok [Para. 0113], In the case where the plurality of resource pools is mapped with a single component carrier, the resource pools mapped with the single component carrier may be defined as a resource pool group. Mok [Para. 0166], the channel busy ratios (CBR) value of the candidate resource pool group may be an average CBR value of the resource pools belonging to the corresponding group [Examiner’s Note: CBR value for a resource pool is the first parameter value. Average CBR and lowest CBR of a pool group mapped with a carrier are based on the CBR of each pool in the pool group mapped with carrier]. Mok [Para. 0241], the terminal may calculate CBR values of the currently used resource pool and the candidate resource pool group. Mok [Para. 0242], the CBR value of the candidate resource pool group may be an average CBR value of the resource pools belonging to the corresponding group. The CBR value of the candidate resource pool group may be the lowest CBR value among the resource pools belonging to the corresponding group [Examiner’s Note: Average CBR or lowest CBR of a pool group is the first reference value of the carrier. Calculation of average CBR or lowest CBR determines the first reference value based on the CBRs of each pool]), wherein the i-th carrier is one of the N carriers (Mok [Para. 0401], The method comprises measuring a first CBR for a first carrier and a plurality of second CBRs for a plurality of second carriers configured by upper layer [Examiner’s Note: The first carrier corresponds to the currently used carrier and a plurality of second carriers correspond to the candidate carriers. A plurality of second carriers constitute the N carriers]); i is a positive integer less than or equal to N, or i is an integer less than N and greater than or equal to 0 (Mok [Para. 0186], The following is a condition in which the candidate resource pool group is included in the transmission resource candidates. Mok [Para. 0187], CBR_servingPool>CBR_Threshold__A and CBR_neighboring<CBR_Threshold_B. Mok [Para. 0188], The CBR value of the candidate resource pool group (CBR_neighboring) may be an average CBR value or the lowest CBR value. Mok [Para. 0191], the terminal may select a resource pool group having the lowest average CBR value from among the candidate resource pool groups. Mok [Para. 0401], measuring a first CBR for a first carrier and a plurality of second CBRs for a plurality of second carriers configured by upper layer, determining at least one transmission carrier from among the first carrier and the plurality of second [carriers] based on the first threshold value, the second threshold value, the first CBR and the plurality of second CBRs. If the first CBR is higher than the first threshold value and the plurality of second CBRs are lower than the second threshold value, determining the at least one transmission carrier as at least one second carrier with at least one lowest CBR from among the plurality of second carriers [Examiner’s Note: The transmission resource is determined among the first carrier and plurality of the second carriers. Specifically, the transmission resource is determined as the carrier in the plurality of the second carriers with the lowest CBR. i is from 1 to N. N is the number of carriers including the first carrier and the plurality of second carriers]); and determining the first transmission resource based on the first reference value of each of the N carriers (Mok [Para. 0187], CBR_servingPool>CBR_Threshold__A and CBR_neighboring<CBR_Threshold_B. Mok [Para. 0188], The CBR value of the candidate resource pool group (CBR_neighboring) may be an average CBR value or the lowest CBR value. Mok [Para. 0191], the terminal may select a resource pool group having the lowest average CBR value from among the candidate resource pool groups. Mok [Para. 0192], the terminal may use the following Event V3_T2 condition to select one resource pool from the selected resource group. Mok [Para. 0401], The method comprises measuring a first CBR for a first carrier and a plurality of second CBRs for a plurality of second carriers configured by upper layer. Determining at least one transmission carrier from among the first carrier and the plurality of second [carriers] based on the first threshold value, the second threshold value, the first CBR and the plurality of second CBRs. If the first CBR is higher than the first threshold value and the plurality of second CBRs are lower than the second threshold value, determining the at least one transmission carrier as at least one second carrier with at least one lowest CBR from among the plurality of second carriers [Examiner’s Note: The average CBR or lowest CBR of a carrier is the first reference value of the carrier. The lowest CBR from among the plurality of the second carriers indicates that each of the plurality of second carriers is considered]).
For claim 3, Mok and Belleschiet teach the method of according to claim 2. The references further teach wherein the at least part of one or more resource pools on the i-th carrier comprises one of: all resource pools of the one or more resource pools on the i-th carrier (Mok [Para. 0113], In the case where the plurality of resource pools are mapped with a single component carrier, the resource pools mapped with the single component carrier may be defined as a resource pool group. Mok [Para. 0166], the channel busy ratios (CBR) value of the candidate resource pool group may be an average CBR value of the resource pools belonging to the corresponding group. The CBR value of the candidate resource pool group may be the lowest CBR value, among the resource pools belonging to the corresponding group [Examiner’s Note: Average CBR and lowest CBR of a pool group mapped with a carrier are based on the CBRs of all pools in the pool group].); and one or more specified resource pools of the one or more resource pools on the i-th carrier.
For claim 4, Mok and Belleschiet teach the method of according to claim 2. The references further teach wherein determining, by the first terminal, the first reference value of the i-th carrier based on the values of the first parameters respectively corresponding to the at least part of one or more resource pools on the i-th carrier comprises: in a case where a number of the at least part of one or more resource pools on the i-th carrier is 1, taking a value of a first parameter corresponding to the at least part of one or more resource pools on the i-th carrier as the first reference value of the i-th carrier; or in a case where a number of the at least part of one or more resource pools on the i-th carrier is greater than 1 (Mok [Para. 0113], In the case where the plurality of resource pools are mapped with a single component carrier, the resource pools mapped with the single component carrier may be defined as a resource pool group), performing, by the first terminal based on a target mode, processing on the values of the first parameters respectively corresponding to the at least part of one or more resource pools on the i-th carrier (Mok [Para. 0164], the terminal compares the CBR of a currently used resource pool group with the CBR result of a candidate resource pool group. Mok [Para. 0166], the CBR value of the candidate resource pool group may be an average CBR value of the resource pools belonging to the corresponding group. The CBR value of the candidate resource pool group may be the lowest CBR value, among the resource pools belonging to the corresponding group. Mok [0177], the terminal may select a resource pool group having the lowest CBR from among the candidate resource pool groups. The terminal may select a resource pool group having the lowest average CBR value from among the candidate resource pool groups [Examiner’s Note: Target modes include averaging CBR values and taking the lowest CBR value]. [Para. 0169], In the case where the CBR result of the candidate resource pool group is smaller than CBR_Threshold_B, if the CBR value of the candidate resource pool group is the average CBR value, the candidate resource pool is more likely to be included in the transmission resource candidates [Examiner’s Note: Processing the CBR values of the pools in a carrier is based on the target mode of averaging]. Mok [Para. 0170], CBR_candidatedPool<CBR_Threshold_B), to obtain the first reference value of the i-th carrier (Mok [Para. 0164], the terminal compares the CBR of a currently used resource pool group with the CBR result of a candidate resource pool group. Mok [Para. 0166], the CBR value of the candidate resource pool group may be an average CBR value of the resource pools belonging to the corresponding group. The CBR value of the candidate resource pool group may be the lowest CBR value, among the resource pools belonging to the corresponding group [Examiner’s Note: Average CBR and lowest CBR are the first reference value. Comparison between the CBRs indicates obtaining the Average CBR or lowest CBR for comparison]), wherein the target mode is configured by a network device (Mok [Para. 0164], the terminal compares the CBR of a currently used resource pool group with the CBR result of a candidate resource pool group. Mok [Para. 0165], the terminal identifies whether or not an Event V2_T1 condition is satisfied for each resource pool group. Mok [Para. 0169], In the case where the CBR result of the candidate resource pool group is smaller than CBR_Threshold_B, if the CBR value of the candidate resource pool group is the average CBR value or the lowest CBR value, the candidate resource pool is more likely to be included in the transmission resource candidates. Mok [Para. 0170], CBR_candidatedPool<CBR_Threshold_B. Mok [Para. 0176-0177], Event V2_T1 is shown in Table 16 below. It may be set in a dedicated RRC message or system information. TABLE 16 : TxCarrierSelectionConfig_V2X ::= SEQUENCE {eventV2_T1 SEQUENCE {CBR_Threshold_B_avg-r15, CBR_Threshold_B_minr15}[Examiner’s Note: That thresholds for average CBR and lowest CBR are configured by the network indicates that the target modes for average CBR and lowest CBR are configured by the network]), or determined by the first terminal (Mok [0177], the terminal may select a resource pool group having the lowest CBR from among the candidate resource pool groups. The terminal may select a resource pool group having the lowest average CBR value from among the candidate resource pool groups. Mok [Para. 0169], In the case where the CBR result of the candidate resource pool group is smaller than CBR_Threshold_B, if the CBR value of the candidate resource pool group is the average CBR value or the lowest CBR value, the candidate resource pool is more likely to be included in the transmission resource candidates [Examiner’s Note: That the terminal uses average CBR or lowest CBR indicates that the terminal determines the target mode to use]), or configured by a second terminal, or specified by a protocol.
For claim 5, Mok and Belleschiet teach the method of according to claim 4. The references further teach wherein the target mode comprises one of: taking one of the values of the first parameters respectively corresponding to the at least part of one or more resource pools on the i-th carrier as the first reference value of the i-th carrier (Mok [Para. 0113], In the case where the plurality of resource pools are mapped with a single component carrier, the resource pools mapped with the single component carrier may be defined as a resource pool group. Mok [Para. 0166], The CBR value of the candidate resource pool group may be the lowest CBR value, among the resource pools belonging to the corresponding group. [Para. 0169], In the case where the CBR result of the candidate resource pool group is smaller than CBR_Threshold_B, if the CBR value of the candidate resource pool group is the lowest CBR value, the candidate resource pool is more likely to be included in the transmission resource candidates); and performing calculation on the values of the first parameters respectively corresponding to the at least part of one or more resource pools on the i-th carrier (Mok [Para. 0166], the CBR value of the candidate resource pool group may be an average CBR value of the resource pools belonging to the corresponding group [Examiner’s Note: Average CBR value of the resource pools is the result of averaging CBR of each resource pool of the resource pools of the carrier]. [Para. 0169], In the case where the CBR result of the candidate resource pool group is smaller than CBR_Threshold_B, if the CBR value of the candidate resource pool group is the average CBR value, the candidate resource pool is more likely to be included in the transmission resource candidates), to obtain the first reference value of the i-th carrier (Mok [Para. 0164], the terminal compares the CBR of a currently used resource pool group with the CBR result of a candidate resource pool group. Mok [Para. 0169], In the case where the CBR result of the candidate resource pool group is smaller than CBR_Threshold_B, if the CBR value of the candidate resource pool group is the average CBR value or the lowest CBR value, the candidate resource pool is more likely to be included in the transmission resource candidates [Examiner’s Note: Average CBR value and lowest CBR value are the first reference value]).
For claim 6, Mok and Belleschiet teach the method of according to claim 2. The references further teach wherein a value of a first parameter corresponding to each of the one or more resource pools on the i-th carrier is measured by the first terminal (Mok [Para. 0113], In the case where the plurality of resource pools are mapped with a single component carrier, the resource pools mapped with the single component carrier may be defined as a resource pool group. Mok [Para. 0163], FIG. 11 illustrates a process in which a terminal uses Event V2_T1 in scenario 3 in FIG. 7. Mok [Para. 0165], Event V2_T1 may be defined as CBR value of a candidate resource pool group. Mok [Para. 0166], the CBR value of the candidate resource pool group may be an average CBR value of the resource pools belonging to the corresponding group. The CBR value of the candidate resource pool group may be the lowest CBR value, among the resource pools belonging to the corresponding group. Mok [Para. 0197], FIG. 13 illustrates a process of selecting a resource pool inside a terminal. Mok [Para. 0199-0200] and [FIG. 13], the PHY layer measures the CBR of the resource pool and transmits the measurement result to the RRC layer. Mok [Para. 0201] and [FIG.13], the RRC layer determines whether or not an event is satisfied using the measurement result and determines a carrier and a resource pool of the corresponding carrier. The event may correspond Event V1_T2 or Event V2_T2. Mok [Para. 0204] and [FIG. 13], the MAC layer transmits, to the PHY layer, data to be transmitted using the selected resource [Examiner’s Note: The terminal in FIG. 13 is the first terminal that measures the CBRs of resource pools of the carriers, selects resource pool and transmits data using the selected resource pool]), or a default value.
For claim 8, Mok and Belleschiet teach the method of according to claim 2. The references further teach wherein determining the first transmission resource based on the first reference value of each of the N carriers comprises: selecting, by the first terminal based on the first reference value of each of the N carriers, K first available carriers whose first reference values are less than a first preset threshold (Belleschiet [Para. 0124-0125], the UE selects a second set of carriers that are allowed to transmit traffic. Belleschiet [Para. 0125], The UE can select a second set of carriers included in the first set. Belleschiet [Para. 0127], The UE can select a third set of carriers, which can be included in the second set, on the basis of channel conditions of the second set. The third set of carriers can comprise only carriers whose channel conditions are good enough, e.g. having a CBR below a configured threshold. [Examiner’s Note: The first reference is average CBR. The size of the second set of carriers is N. The size of the third set is K]), wherein K is a positive integer less than or equal to N (Belleschiet [Para. 0127], The UE can select a third set of carriers, which can be included in the second set, on the basis of channel conditions of the second set. The third set of carriers can comprise only carriers having a CBR below a configured threshold [Examiner’s Note: The size of the second set of carriers is N. The size of the third set of carriers is K. The third set is a subset of the second set. Therefore, K is less than or equal to N]); and determining, by the first terminal from the K first available carriers, a first carrier as the first transmission resource (Belleschiet [Para. 0128], The UE can select a fourth set of carriers, which can be included in the third set. The fourth set may also comprise carriers in which the UE can transmit with the minimum amount of transmitting chains and that allow to transmit the maximum amount of data (e.g. less congested carriers). Belleschiet [Para. 0147], The UE may choose to transmit only on carriers with a minimum number of resources and/or with minimum experienced CBR. As such, the UE may restrict the selection of carriers to one carrier).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Mok, so that a third set of carriers are selected based one average CBRs of the carriers in a second set and a carrier is further selected for transmission, as taught by Belleschiet. The modification would have ensured fair usage of the available spectrum and limited UE battery consumption (Belleschiet [Para. 0034]).
For claim 9, Mok and Belleschiet teach the method of according to claim 8. The references further teach wherein determining, by the first terminal from the K first available carriers, the first carrier as the first transmission resource comprises: selecting, by the first terminal from the K first available carriers, a first available carrier with a minimum first reference value as the first carrier (Belleschiet [Para. 0096], the UE may compute the average CBR measured across all the pools available in the carrier and compared it with a CBR threshold. Belleschiet [Para. 0127], The UE can select a third set of carriers, which can be included in the second set, on the basis of channel conditions of the second set. The third set of carriers can comprise only carriers having a CBR below a configured threshold [Examiner’s Note: The third set comprises K carriers]. Belleschiet [Para. 0147], The UE may choose to transmit only on carriers with minimum experienced CBR. As such, the UE may restrict the selection of carriers to one carrier), and taking the first carrier as the first transmission resource (Belleschiet [Para. 0153], transmitting data using the one selected sidelink carrier).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Mok, so that carrier of the lowest average CBR is selected as the transmission resource, as taught by Belleschiet. The modification would have ensured fair usage of the available spectrum and limited UE battery consumption (Belleschiet [Para. 0034]).
For claim 10, Mok and Belleschiet teach the method of according to claim 3. The references further teach further comprising: determining, by the first terminal, a reselected first transmission resource based on a first reference value of a second carrier and/or values of first parameters respectively corresponding to one or more resource pools on the second carrier (Belleschiet [Para. 0119], the number of carriers and the specific carrier(s) to use are determined at the beginning of the resource selection procedure (e.g. when resource reselection counter is 0) [Examiner’s Note: Reselection is triggered when reselection counter reaches 0]. Belleschiet [Para. 0096], the UE may compute the average CBR measured across all the pools available in the carrier and compared it with a CBR threshold. Belleschiet [Para. 0123], This embodiment is concerned with the determination of which carriers to select (for performing sidelink transmissions) or to remove (from the carriers already in use) in the methods of the previous embodiments [Examiner’s Note: Reselection includes the currently used carrier]. Belleschiet [Para. 0127], The UE can select a third set of carriers, which can be included in the second set, on the basis of channel conditions of the second set. The third set of carriers can comprise only carriers having a CBR below a configured threshold [Examiner’s Note: Reselection for the third set is based on the average CBR of a carrier being below a threshold. The average CBR of the carrier is the first reference. Since the currently used carrier is included in the reselection procedure, when the average CBR of currently used the carrier is below the threshold, the carrier is reselected]. Belleschiet [Para. 0153], transmitting data using the one or more selected sidelink carriers), wherein the second carrier is a carrier currently used by the first terminal for data transmission (Belleschiet [Para. 0090], if the amount of data transmitted on a currently used carrier is less than a certain threshold, the UE shall stop using that carrier [Examiner’s Note: Currently used carrier transmits amount of data not less than a threshold]), and the second carrier is one of the N carriers (Belleschiet [Para. 0123], This embodiment is concerned with the determination of which carriers to select (for performing sidelink transmissions) or to remove (from the carriers already in use) in the methods of the previous embodiments. Belleschiet [Para. 0125], The UE can select a second set of carriers included in the first set [Examiner’s Note: The second set comprises the N carriers. The carrier currently used is in the second set]), and wherein the first reference value of the second carrier is determined based on values of first parameters respectively corresponding to the at least part of one or more resource pools on the second carrier (Belleschiet [Para. 0096], In case multiple transmitting resource pools are available for transmission in the sidelink carrier, the UE may compute the average CBR measured across all the pools available in the carrier and compared it with a CBR threshold [Examiner’s Note: The average CBR across pools in the currently used carrier is the first reference value. The average CBR of the currently used carrier is determined based on the CBRs of the resource pools of the carrier]. Belleschiet [Para. 0127], The third set of carriers can comprise only carriers having a CBR below a configured threshold [Examiner’s Note: Selection of the third set from the second set includes the currently used carrier]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Mok, so that transmission resource is reselected based on the average CBRs of the carriers already in use, as taught by Belleschiet. The modification would have ensured fair usage of the available spectrum and limited UE battery consumption (Belleschiet [Para. 0034]).
For claim 11, Mok and Belleschiet teach the method of according to claim 10. The references further teach wherein determining, by the first terminal, the reselected first transmission resource based on the first reference value of the second carrier and/or the values of the first parameters respectively corresponding to the one or more resource pools on the second carrier comprises: in a case where the first reference value of the second carrier is less than a second preset threshold value and/or a value of a first parameter of a first resource pool on the second carrier is less than a third preset threshold value, taking, by the first terminal, the second carrier as the reselected first transmission resource (Belleschiet [Para. 0119], the number of carriers and the specific carrier(s) to use are determined at the beginning of the resource selection procedure (e.g. when resource reselection counter is 0) [Examiner’s Note: Reselection is triggered when reselection counter reaches 0]. Belleschiet [Para. 0096], the UE may compute the average CBR measured across all the pools available in the carrier and compared it with a CBR threshold. Belleschiet [Para. 0123], This embodiment is concerned with the determination of which carriers to select (for performing sidelink transmissions) or to remove (from the carriers already in use) in the methods of the previous embodiments [Examiner’s Note: Reselection includes the currently used carrier]. Belleschiet [Para. 0127], The UE can select a third set of carriers, which can be included in the second set, on the basis of channel conditions (e.g. congestion measurement or interference situation, etc.) of the second set. The third set of carriers can comprise only carriers whose channel conditions are good enough, e.g. having a CBR below a configured threshold [Examiner’s Note: Reselection for the third set is based on the average CBR of a carrier being below a threshold. The average CBR of the carrier is the first reference. Since the carrier currently used is included in the reselection procedure, when the average CBR of the currently used carrier is below the threshold, the carrier is reselected]. Belleschiet [Para. 0153], transmitting data using the one or more selected sidelink carriers).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Mok, so that transmission resource is reselected based on the average CBRs of the carriers already in use, as taught by Belleschiet. The modification would have ensured fair usage of the available spectrum and limited UE battery consumption (Belleschiet [Para. 0034]).
For claim 12, Mok and Belleschiet teach the method of according to claim 1. The references further teach wherein the first parameter is a channel busy rate (CBR) (Mok [Para. 0113], In the case where the plurality of resource pools are mapped with a single component carrier, the resource pools mapped with the single component carrier may be defined as a resource pool group. Mok [Para. 0166], the channel busy ratios (CBR) value of the candidate resource pool group may be an average CBR value of the resource pools belonging to the corresponding group. The CBR value of the candidate resource pool group may be the lowest CBR value, among the resource pools belonging to the corresponding group).
For claim 13, Mok teaches a first terminal ([Para. 0011], a terminal in a wireless communication system is provided), comprising: a processor and a memory ([Para. 0011], The terminal comprises a processor configured to determine at least one transmission carrier. [Para. 0405], When the methods are implemented by software, a computer-readable storage medium for storing one or more programs may be provided), wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program ([Para. 0405], a computer-readable storage medium for storing one or more programs may be provided), and the processer is configured to call and run the computer program stored in the memory ([Para. 0405], The one or more programs stored in the computer-readable storage medium may be configured for execution by processors within the electronic device. The program may include instructions that cause the electronic device to perform various embodiments of the present disclosure) to cause the first terminal to perform: determining a first transmission resource based on values of first parameters respectively corresponding to one or more resource pools on each of N carriers ([Para. 0113], In the case where the plurality of resource pools are mapped with a single component carrier, the resource pools mapped with the single component carrier may be defined as a resource pool group. [Para. 0166], the channel busy ratios (CBR) value of the candidate resource pool group may be an average CBR value of the resource pools belonging to the corresponding group. The CBR value of the candidate resource pool group may be the lowest CBR value, among the resource pools belonging to the corresponding group [Examiner’s Note: CBR value for a resource pool is the first parameter value. Average CBR and lowest CBR of a pool group mapped with a carrier are based on the CBR of each pool in the pool group]. [Para. 0169], In the case where the CBR result of the candidate resource pool group is smaller than CBR_Threshold_B, if the CBR value of the candidate resource pool group is the average CBR value or the lowest CBR value, the candidate resource pool is more likely to be included in the transmission resource candidates. [Para. 0177], the terminal may select a resource pool group having the lowest CBR from among the candidate resource pool groups. [Para. 0178], the terminal may use the following Event V3_T2 condition to select one resource pool from the selected resource group. [Para. 0188], The CBR value of the candidate resource pool group may be an average CBR value or the lowest CBR value. [Para. 0401], The method comprises measuring a first CBR for a first carrier and a plurality of second CBRs for a plurality of second carriers configured by upper layer [Examiner’s Note: CBRs for a plurality of second carriers are average CBR values or the lowest CBR values. A plurality of second carriers constitute N carriers]; and determining at least one transmission carrier from among the first carrier and the plurality of second [carriers] based on the first CBR and the plurality of second CBRs. If the first CBR is higher than the first threshold value and the plurality of second CBRs are lower than the second threshold value, determining the at least one transmission carrier as at least one second carrier with at least one lowest CBR from among the plurality of second carriers [Examiner’s Note: Measuring a plurality of second CBRs for a plurality of second carriers and determining the lowest CBR from among the plurality of second carriers indicates that each of the plurality of second carriers is considered]), the first transmission resource is used for data transmission ([Para. 0401], determining at least one transmission carrier from among the first carrier and the plurality of second CBRs based on the first CBR and the plurality of second CBRs. Transmitting a request for resource allocation using the at least one transmission carrier; and receiving a resource allocation message for available resources for the at least one transmission carrier. Transmitting data based on the available resources), and N is an integer greater than 1 ([Para. 0401], measuring a first CBR for a first carrier and a plurality of second CBRs for a plurality of second carriers configured by upper layer; and determining at least one transmission carrier from among the first carrier and the plurality of second [carriers] based on the first threshold value, the second threshold value, the first CBR and the plurality of second CBRs).
Although teaching determining resource pool based on the CBR of each resource pool in a resource pool group of a carrier, Mok does not explicitly disclose wherein a first parameter is used for indicating a resource usage state.
Belleschiet is directed to providing methods to Enable Sidelink Multicarrier Transmissions. More specifically, Belleschiet teaches wherein a first parameter is used for indicating a resource usage state ([Para. 0096], thresholds on the level of interference/congestion of the sidelink carrier are used as a criterion for selecting particular carriers. The CBR measurements can be used as a metric to evaluate the level of congestion/interference of the sidelink carrier [Examiner’s Note: The level of congestion/interference of the sidelink carrier indicates the usage state of the carrier]. In case multiple transmitting resource pools are available for transmission in the sidelink carrier, the UE may compute the average CBR measured across all the pools available in the carrier and compared it with a CBR threshold. [Examiner’s Note: The average CBR measured across all the pools available in the carrier is based on the CBR of each pool in the carrier])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Mok, so that average CBR is used to indicate the usage state of a carrier, as taught by Belleschiet. The modification would have ensured fair usage of the available spectrum and limited UE battery consumption (Belleschiet [Para. 0034]).
For claim 14, Mok and Belleschiet teach the first terminal according to claim 13. The references further teach wherein the processer is configured to call and run the computer program stored in the memory, to cause the first terminal further to perform: determining a first reference value of an i-th carrier based on values of first parameters respectively corresponding to at least part of one or more resource pools on the i-th carrier (Mok [Para. 0113], In the case where the plurality of resource pools is mapped with a single component carrier, the resource pools mapped with the single component carrier may be defined as a resource pool group. Mok [Para. 0166], the channel busy ratios (CBR) value of the candidate resource pool group may be an average CBR value of the resource pools belonging to the corresponding group [Examiner’s Note: CBR value for a resource pool is the first parameter value. Average CBR and lowest CBR of a pool group mapped with a carrier are based on the CBR of each pool in the pool group mapped with carrier]. Mok [Para. 0241], the terminal may calculate CBR values of the currently used resource pool and the candidate resource pool group. Mok [Para. 0242], the CBR value of the candidate resource pool group may be an average CBR value of the resource pools belonging to the corresponding group. The CBR value of the candidate resource pool group may be the lowest CBR value among the resource pools belonging to the corresponding group [Examiner’s Note: Average CBR or lowest CBR of a pool group is the first reference value of the carrier. Calculation of average CBR or lowest CBR determines the first reference value based on the CBRs of each pool]), wherein the i-th carrier is one of the N carriers (Mok [Para. 0401], The method comprises measuring a first CBR for a first carrier and a plurality of second CBRs for a plurality of second carriers configured by upper layer [Examiner’s Note: The first carrier corresponds to the currently used carrier and a plurality of second carriers correspond to the candidate carriers. A plurality of second carriers constitute the N carriers]); i is a positive integer less than or equal to N, or i is an integer less than N and greater than or equal to 0 (Mok [Para. 0186], The following is a condition in which the candidate resource pool group is included in the transmission resource candidates. Mok [Para. 0187], CBR_servingPool>CBR_Threshold__A and CBR_neighboring<CBR_Threshold_B. Mok [Para. 0188], The CBR value of the candidate resource pool group (CBR_neighboring) may be an average CBR value or the lowest CBR value. Mok [Para. 0191], the terminal may select a resource pool group having the lowest average CBR value from among the candidate resource pool groups. Mok [Para. 0401], measuring a first CBR for a first carrier and a plurality of second CBRs for a plurality of second carriers configured by upper layer, determining at least one transmission carrier from among the first carrier and the plurality of second [carriers] based on the first threshold value, the second threshold value, the first CBR and the plurality of second CBRs. If the first CBR is higher than the first threshold value and the plurality of second CBRs are lower than the second threshold value, determining the at least one transmission carrier as at least one second carrier with at least one lowest CBR from among the plurality of second carriers [Examiner’s Note: The transmission resource is determined among the first carrier and plurality of the second carriers. Specifically, the transmission resource is determined as the carrier in the plurality of the second carriers with the lowest CBR. i is from 1 to N. N is the number of carriers including the first carrier and the plurality of second carriers]); and determining the first transmission resource based on the first reference value of each of the N carriers (Mok [Para. 0187], CBR_servingPool>CBR_Threshold__A and CBR_neighboring<CBR_Threshold_B. Mok [Para. 0188], The CBR value of the candidate resource pool group (CBR_neighboring) may be an average CBR value or the lowest CBR value. Mok [Para. 0191], the terminal may select a resource pool group having the lowest average CBR value from among the candidate resource pool groups. Mok [Para. 0192], the terminal may use the following Event V3_T2 condition to select one resource pool from the selected resource group. Mok [Para. 0401], The method comprises measuring a first CBR for a first carrier and a plurality of second CBRs for a plurality of second carriers configured by upper layer. Determining at least one transmission carrier from among the first carrier and the plurality of second [carriers] based on the first threshold value, the second threshold value, the first CBR and the plurality of second CBRs. If the first CBR is higher than the first threshold value and the plurality of second CBRs are lower than the second threshold value, determining the at least one transmission carrier as at least one second carrier with at least one lowest CBR from among the plurality of second carriers [Examiner’s Note: The average CBR or lowest CBR of a carrier is the first reference value of the carrier. The lowest CBR from among the plurality of the second carriers indicates that each of the plurality of second carriers is considered]).
Claim 15 is apparatus claim and it does not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim 3. Therefore, claim 15 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 3.
For claim 16, Mok and Belleschiet teach the first terminal according to claim 14. The references further teach wherein the processer is configured to call and run the computer program stored in the memory, to cause the first terminal further to perform: in a case where a number of the at least part of one or more resource pools on the i-th carrier is 1, taking a value of a first parameter corresponding to the at least part of one or more resource pools on the i-th carrier as the first reference value of the i-th carrier; or in a case where a number of the at least part of one or more resource pools on the i-th carrier is greater than 1 (Mok [Para. 0113], In the case where the plurality of resource pools are mapped with a single component carrier, the resource pools mapped with the single component carrier may be defined as a resource pool group), performing, based on a target mode, processing on the values of the first parameters respectively corresponding to the at least part of one or more resource pools on the i-th carrier (Mok [Para. 0164], the terminal compares the CBR of a currently used resource pool group with the CBR result of a candidate resource pool group. Mok [Para. 0166], the CBR value of the candidate resource pool group may be an average CBR value of the resource pools belonging to the corresponding group. The CBR value of the candidate resource pool group may be the lowest CBR value, among the resource pools belonging to the corresponding group. Mok [0177], the terminal may select a resource pool group having the lowest CBR from among the candidate resource pool groups. The terminal may select a resource pool group having the lowest average CBR value from among the candidate resource pool groups [Examiner’s Note: Target modes include averaging CBR values and taking the lowest CBR value]. [Para. 0169], In the case where the CBR result of the candidate resource pool group is smaller than CBR_Threshold_B, if the CBR value of the candidate resource pool group is the average CBR value, the candidate resource pool is more likely to be included in the transmission resource candidates [Examiner’s Note: Processing the CBR values of the pools in a carrier is based on the target mode of averaging]. Mok [Para. 0170], CBR_candidatedPool<CBR_Threshold_B), to obtain the first reference value of the i-th carrier (Mok [Para. 0164], the terminal compares the CBR of a currently used resource pool group with the CBR result of a candidate resource pool group. Mok [Para. 0166], the CBR value of the candidate resource pool group may be an average CBR value of the resource pools belonging to the corresponding group. The CBR value of the candidate resource pool group may be the lowest CBR value, among the resource pools belonging to the corresponding group [Examiner’s Note: Average CBR and lowest CBR are the first reference value. Comparison between the CBRs indicates obtaining the Average CBR or lowest CBR for comparison]), wherein the target mode is configured by a network device (Mok [Para. 0164], the terminal compares the CBR of a currently used resource pool group with the CBR result of a candidate resource pool group. Mok [Para. 0165], the terminal identifies whether or not an Event V2_T1 condition is satisfied for each resource pool group. Mok [Para. 0169], In the case where the CBR result of the candidate resource pool group is smaller than CBR_Threshold_B, if the CBR value of the candidate resource pool group is the average CBR value or the lowest CBR value, the candidate resource pool is more likely to be included in the transmission resource candidates. Mok [Para. 0170], CBR_candidatedPool<CBR_Threshold_B. Mok [Para. 0176-0177], Event V2_T1 is shown in Table 16 below. It may be set in a dedicated RRC message or system information. TABLE 16 : TxCarrierSelectionConfig_V2X ::= SEQUENCE {eventV2_T1 SEQUENCE {CBR_Threshold_B_avg-r15, CBR_Threshold_B_minr15}[Examiner’s Note: That thresholds for average CBR and lowest CBR are configured by the network indicates that the target modes for average CBR and lowest CBR are configured by the network]), or determined by the first terminal (Mok [0177], the terminal may select a resource pool group having the lowest CBR from among the candidate resource pool groups. The terminal may select a resource pool group having the lowest average CBR value from among the candidate resource pool groups. Mok [Para. 0169], In the case where the CBR result of the candidate resource pool group is smaller than CBR_Threshold_B, if the CBR value of the candidate resource pool group is the average CBR value or the lowest CBR value, the candidate resource pool is more likely to be included in the transmission resource candidates [Examiner’s Note: That the terminal uses average CBR or lowest CBR indicates that the terminal determines the target mode to use]), or configured by a second terminal, or specified by a protocol.
For claim 17, Mok and Belleschiet teach the first terminal according to claim 14. The references further teach wherein the processer is configured to call and run the computer program stored in the memory, to cause the first terminal further to perform: selecting, based on the first reference value of each of the N carriers, K first available carriers whose first reference values are less than a first preset threshold (Belleschiet [Para. 0124-0125], the UE selects a second set of carriers that are allowed to transmit traffic. Belleschiet [Para. 0125], The UE can select a second set of carriers included in the first set. Belleschiet [Para. 0127], The UE can select a third set of carriers, which can be included in the second set, on the basis of channel conditions of the second set. The third set of carriers can comprise only carriers whose channel conditions are good enough, e.g. having a CBR below a configured threshold. [Examiner’s Note: The first reference is average CBR. The size of the second set of carriers is N. The size of the third set is K]), wherein K is a positive integer less than or equal to N (Belleschiet [Para. 0127], The UE can select a third set of carriers, which can be included in the second set, on the basis of channel conditions of the second set. The third set of carriers can comprise only carriers having a CBR below a configured threshold [Examiner’s Note: The size of the second set of carriers is N. The size of the third set of carriers is K. The third set is a subset of the second set. Therefore, K is less than or equal to N]); and determining, from the K first available carriers, a first carrier as the first transmission resource (Belleschiet [Para. 0128], The UE can select a fourth set of carriers, which can be included in the third set. The fourth set may also comprise carriers in which the UE can transmit with the minimum amount of transmitting chains and that allow to transmit the maximum amount of data (e.g. less congested carriers). Belleschiet [Para. 0147], The UE may choose to transmit only on carriers with a minimum number of resources and/or with minimum experienced CBR. As such, the UE may restrict the selection of carriers to one carrier).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Mok, so that a third set of carriers are selected based one average CBRs of the carriers in a second set and a carrier is further selected for transmission, as taught by Belleschiet. The modification would have ensured fair usage of the available spectrum and limited UE battery consumption (Belleschiet [Para. 0034]).
For claim 18, Mok and Belleschiet teach the first terminal according to claim 17. The references further teach wherein the processer is configured to call and run the computer program stored in the memory, to cause the first terminal further to perform: selecting, from the K first available carriers, a first available carrier with a minimum first reference value as the first carrier (Belleschiet [Para. 0096], the UE may compute the average CBR measured across all the pools available in the carrier and compared it with a CBR threshold. Belleschiet [Para. 0127], The UE can select a third set of carriers, which can be included in the second set, on the basis of channel conditions of the second set. The third set of carriers can comprise only carriers having a CBR below a configured threshold [Examiner’s Note: The third set comprises K carriers]. Belleschiet [Para. 0147], The UE may choose to transmit only on carriers with minimum experienced CBR. As such, the UE may restrict the selection of carriers to one carrier), and taking the first carrier as the first transmission resource (Belleschiet [Para. 0153], transmitting data using the one selected sidelink carrier).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Mok, so that carrier of the lowest average CBR is selected as the transmission resource, as taught by Belleschiet. The modification would have ensured fair usage of the available spectrum and limited UE battery consumption (Belleschiet [Para. 0034]).
For claim 19, Mok and Belleschiet teach the first terminal according to claim 15. The references further teach wherein the processer is configured to call and run the computer program stored in the memory, to cause the first terminal further to perform: determining a reselected first transmission resource based on a first reference value of a second carrier and/or values of first parameters respectively corresponding to one or more resource pools on the second carrier (Belleschiet [Para. 0119], the number of carriers and the specific carrier(s) to use are determined at the beginning of the resource selection procedure (e.g. when resource reselection counter is 0) [Examiner’s Note: Reselection is triggered when reselection counter reaches 0]. Belleschiet [Para. 0096], the UE may compute the average CBR measured across all the pools available in the carrier and compared it with a CBR threshold. Belleschiet [Para. 0123], This embodiment is concerned with the determination of which carriers to select (for performing sidelink transmissions) or to remove (from the carriers already in use) in the methods of the previous embodiments [Examiner’s Note: Reselection includes the currently used carrier]. Belleschiet [Para. 0127], The UE can select a third set of carriers, which can be included in the second set, on the basis of channel conditions of the second set. The third set of carriers can comprise only carriers having a CBR below a configured threshold [Examiner’s Note: Reselection for the third set is based on the average CBR of a carrier being below a threshold. The average CBR of the carrier is the first reference. Since the currently used carrier is included in the reselection procedure, when the average CBR of currently used the carrier is below the threshold, the carrier is reselected]. Belleschiet [Para. 0153], transmitting data using the one or more selected sidelink carriers), wherein the second carrier is a carrier currently used by the first terminal for data transmission (Belleschiet [Para. 0090], if the amount of data transmitted on a currently used carrier is less than a certain threshold, the UE shall stop using that carrier [Examiner’s Note: Currently used carrier transmits amount of data not less than a threshold]), and the second carrier is one of the N carriers (Belleschiet [Para. 0123], This embodiment is concerned with the determination of which carriers to select (for performing sidelink transmissions) or to remove (from the carriers already in use) in the methods of the previous embodiments. Belleschiet [Para. 0125], The UE can select a second set of carriers included in the first set [Examiner’s Note: The second set comprises the N carriers. The carrier currently used is in the second set]), and wherein the first reference value of the second carrier is determined based on values of first parameters respectively corresponding to the at least part of one or more resource pools on the second carrier (Belleschiet [Para. 0096], In case multiple transmitting resource pools are available for transmission in the sidelink carrier, the UE may compute the average CBR measured across all the pools available in the carrier and compared it with a CBR threshold [Examiner’s Note: The average CBR across pools in the currently used carrier is the first reference value. The average CBR of the currently used carrier is determined based on the CBRs of the resource pools of the carrier]. Belleschiet [Para. 0127], The third set of carriers can comprise only carriers having a CBR below a configured threshold [Examiner’s Note: Selection of the third set from the second set includes the currently used carrier]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Mok, so that transmission resource is reselected based on the average CBRs of the carriers already in use, as taught by Belleschiet. The modification would have ensured fair usage of the available spectrum and limited UE battery consumption (Belleschiet [Para. 0034]).
For claim 20, Mok teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium ([Para. 0016], various functions described below is formed from computer readable program code and embodied in a computer readable medium. The phrase “computer readable medium” includes any type of medium capable of being accessed by a computer, such as read only memory (ROM). A non-transitory computer readable medium includes media where data can be permanently stored), configured to store a computer program ([Para. 0405], When the methods are implemented by software, a computer-readable storage medium for storing one or more programs may be provided), wherein the computer program, when being executed by a device, causes the device to perform ([Para. 0405], The one or more programs stored in the computer-readable storage medium may be configured for execution by processors within the electronic device. The program may include instructions that cause the electronic device to perform various embodiments of the present disclosure): determining a first transmission resource based on values of first parameters respectively corresponding to one or more resource pools on each of N carriers ([Para. 0113], In the case where the plurality of resource pools are mapped with a single component carrier, the resource pools mapped with the single component carrier may be defined as a resource pool group. [Para. 0166], the channel busy ratios (CBR) value of the candidate resource pool group may be an average CBR value of the resource pools belonging to the corresponding group. The CBR value of the candidate resource pool group may be the lowest CBR value, among the resource pools belonging to the corresponding group [Examiner’s Note: CBR value for a resource pool is the first parameter value. Average CBR and lowest CBR of a pool group mapped with a carrier are based on the CBR of each pool in the pool group]. [Para. 0169], In the case where the CBR result of the candidate resource pool group is smaller than CBR_Threshold_B, if the CBR value of the candidate resource pool group is the average CBR value or the lowest CBR value, the candidate resource pool is more likely to be included in the transmission resource candidates. [Para. 0177], the terminal may select a resource pool group having the lowest CBR from among the candidate resource pool groups. [Para. 0178], the terminal may use the following Event V3_T2 condition to select one resource pool from the selected resource group. [Para. 0188], The CBR value of the candidate resource pool group may be an average CBR value or the lowest CBR value. [Para. 0401], The method comprises measuring a first CBR for a first carrier and a plurality of second CBRs for a plurality of second carriers configured by upper layer [Examiner’s Note: CBRs for a plurality of second carriers are average CBR values or the lowest CBR values. A plurality of second carriers constitute N carriers]; and determining at least one transmission carrier from among the first carrier and the plurality of second [carriers] based on the first CBR and the plurality of second CBRs. If the first CBR is higher than the first threshold value and the plurality of second CBRs are lower than the second threshold value, determining the at least one transmission carrier as at least one second carrier with at least one lowest CBR from among the plurality of second carriers [Examiner’s Note: Measuring a plurality of second CBRs for a plurality of second carriers and determining the lowest CBR from among the plurality of second carriers indicates that each of the plurality of second carriers is considered]), the first transmission resource is used for data transmission ([Para. 0401], determining at least one transmission carrier from among the first carrier and the plurality of second CBRs based on the first CBR and the plurality of second CBRs. Transmitting a request for resource allocation using the at least one transmission carrier; and receiving a resource allocation message for available resources for the at least one transmission carrier. Transmitting data based on the available resources), and N is an integer greater than 1 ([Para. 0401], measuring a first CBR for a first carrier and a plurality of second CBRs for a plurality of second carriers configured by upper layer; and determining at least one transmission carrier from among the first carrier and the plurality of second [carriers] based on the first threshold value, the second threshold value, the first CBR and the plurality of second CBRs).
Although teaching determining resource pool based on the CBR of each resource pool in a resource pool group of a carrier, Mok does not explicitly disclose wherein a first parameter is used for indicating a resource usage state.
Belleschiet is directed to providing methods to Enable Sidelink Multicarrier Transmissions. More specifically, Belleschiet teaches wherein a first parameter is used for indicating a resource usage state ([Para. 0096], thresholds on the level of interference/congestion of the sidelink carrier are used as a criterion for selecting particular carriers. The CBR measurements can be used as a metric to evaluate the level of congestion/interference of the sidelink carrier [Examiner’s Note: The level of congestion/interference of the sidelink carrier indicates the usage state of the carrier]. In case multiple transmitting resource pools are available for transmission in the sidelink carrier, the UE may compute the average CBR measured across all the pools available in the carrier and compared it with a CBR threshold. [Examiner’s Note: The average CBR measured across all the pools available in the carrier is based on the CBR of each pool in the carrier])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Mok, so that average CBR is used to indicate the usage state of a carrier, as taught by Belleschiet. The modification would have ensured fair usage of the available spectrum and limited UE battery consumption (Belleschiet [Para. 0034]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mok et al. (US20220167314A1, hereinafter Mok) in view of Belleschiet al. (US20200229194A1, hereinafter Belleschiet), and further in view of Hwang et al. (US20240276463A1, hereinafter Hwang).
For claim 7, Mok and Belleschiet teach the method of according to claim 3. The references further teach wherein the all resource pools of the one or more resource pools on the i-th carrier are configured by a network device, or determined by the first terminal, or configured by a second terminal; or the one or more specified resource pools of the one or more resource pools on the i-th carrier are configured by a network device (Mok [Para. 0113], In the case where the plurality of resource pools are mapped with a single component carrier, the resource pools mapped with the single component carrier may be defined as a resource pool group. Mok [Para. 0311], An example of the configuration information for TX carrier selection, which is transmitted from the base station to the terminal, is as follows. (2) a resource pool ID, (3) resource pool information, (4) transmission (TX) carrier information [Examiner’s Note: Resource pools and carriers are in the configuration are mapped. A resource pool with ID in the configuration is a specified resource pool in the resource pools of the mapped carrier in the configuration]), or determined by the first terminal, or configured by a second terminal, or specified by a protocol, or default.
Although teaching specified resource pools of the resource pools of a carrier is configured by the network, Mok and Belleschiet do not explicitly disclose wherein the all resource pools of the one or more resource pools on the i-th carrier are configured by a network device, or determined by the first terminal, or configured by a second terminal.
Hwang is directed to providing method and apparatus for coexistence of SL communications based on different RATs in NR V2X. More specifically, Hwang teaches wherein the all resource pools of the one or more resource pools on the i-th carrier are configured by a network device, or determined by the first terminal, or configured by a second terminal ([Para. 0138], A resource pool may be a set of time-frequency resources that can be used for SL transmission and/or SL reception. A plurality of resource pools may be (pre-) configured for the UE within a single carrier. [Para. 0137],the term “configuration/configured or definition/defined” may be interpreted as being (pre-)configured from the base station or the network through predefined signaling).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Mok and Belleschiet, so that all resource pools of a carrier are configured by the network, as taught by Hwang. The modification would have supported efficient coexistence of SL communication based on different RATs (Hwang [Para. 0011]).
Conclusion
/S.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417