DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 7-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on June 24, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by USPAP 2014/0208521 (Farnham hereinafter).
With regard to claim 1, Farnham discloses a mattress comprising:
a first foam layer (11); and
a second foam layer (22), wherein a top surface of the second foam layer (22) is in contact with a bottom surface of the first foam layer (11), and wherein the top surface of the second foam layer (22) is formed with a first ridged pattern having a first plurality of ridges (23);
wherein the first ridged pattern has a first dimension between two ridges (23) of the first plurality of ridges and a second dimension at a bottom (25) of between ridges (23) of the first plurality of ridges, wherein a firmness of the mattress is dependent on a ratio of the first dimension and the second dimension.
It is well settled that it is possible for functional language to define structure, but that where no distinguishing structure has been defined, the claim is not patentable and is fully met by the reference. See In re Swinehart, 169 USPQ 226. See also General Electric v. United States, 198 USPQ 73 which further reinforced the concept that functional language which defines no structure cannot distinguish over the prior art.
With regard to claim 2, Farnham discloses the mattress of claim 1, wherein a first instance of the mattress in which the second dimension is greater than the first dimension has a greater firmness than a second instance of the mattress in which the first dimension is greater than the second dimension.
It is well settled that it is possible for functional language to define structure, but that where no distinguishing structure has been defined, the claim is not patentable and is fully met by the reference. See In re Swinehart, 169 USPQ 226. See also General Electric v. United States, 198 USPQ 73 which further reinforced the concept that functional language which defines no structure cannot distinguish over the prior art.
With regard to claim 3, Farnham discloses the mattress of claim 1, wherein ones of the plurality of ridges have a first height from a trough between ones of the plurality of ridges to a top of ones of the plurality of ridges, and a second height between the trough of between ones of the plurality of ridges and a bottom surface of the second foam layer (22), and wherein the firmness of the mattress is further dependent on a ratio of the first height to the second height.
It is well settled that it is possible for functional language to define structure, but that where no distinguishing structure has been defined, the claim is not patentable and is fully met by the reference. See In re Swinehart, 169 USPQ 226. See also General Electric v. United States, 198 USPQ 73 which further reinforced the concept that functional language which defines no structure cannot distinguish over the prior art.
With regard to claim 4, Farnham discloses the mattress of claim 3, wherein a first instance of the mattress in which the second height is greater than the first height has a greater firmness than a second instance of the mattress in which the first height is greater than the second height.
It is well settled that it is possible for functional language to define structure, but that where no distinguishing structure has been defined, the claim is not patentable and is fully met by the reference. See In re Swinehart, 169 USPQ 226. See also General Electric v. United States, 198 USPQ 73 which further reinforced the concept that functional language which defines no structure cannot distinguish over the prior art.
With regard to claim 5, Farnham discloses the mattress of claim 1, wherein the bottom surface of the first foam layer (11) is formed having the first ridged pattern such that the top surface of the second foam layer (22) conforms to and is complementary with the first ridged pattern as formed on the bottom surface of the first foam layer (11) (Fig.’s 3A and 3B).
With regard to claim 6, Farnham discloses the mattress of claim 1, wherein a top portion of ones of the first plurality of ridges is flat, and wherein a bottom portion between the ones of the first plurality of ridges is flat, and wherein a dimension of the top portion is equal to a dimension of the bottom portion (Fig.’s 1-5).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USP’s 3,222,697, 3,197,357, and 4,673,452 as well as USPAP’s 2026/0114635, 2023/0172367, 2017/0027335, 2016/0262561, 2012/0189809, 2008/0060139, and 2005/0193497 each disclose foam mattresses with ridged patterns.
/AARON R EASTMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673