DETAILED ACTION
Claims 21-40 are presented on 11/20/2024 for examination on merits. Claims 21, 27, 31, and 37 are independent base claims. Claims 1-20 are canceled by preliminary amendment on 11/20/2024.
Examiner's Instructions for filing Response to this Office Action
When the Applicant submits amendments regarding to the claims in response the Office Action, the Examiner would appreciate Applicant if a clean copy of the claims is provided to facilitate the prosecution which otherwise requires extra time for editing the marked-up claims from OCR.
Please submit two sets of claims:
Set #1 as in a typical filing which includes indicators for the status of claim and all marked amendments to the claims; and
Set #2 as an appendix to the Arguments/Remarks for a clean version of the claims which has all the markups removed for entry by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-22, 24, 27-28, 31-32, 34, 37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu (US 20130016838 A1) in view of Cheng (US 20240015637 A1), and further in view of Sun (US 20140365768 A1).
As per claim 21, Hu teaches a method, comprising:
obtaining first indication information, wherein the first indication information indicates a multicast key transmission procedure, the multicast key transmission procedure is a communication procedure that is supported by a network side and that is used to transmit a multicast key to a communication apparatus (Hu, par. 0011: the UT receives the multicast notification message, which is the first indication information of the multicast key and a procedure for communication. Hu discloses a multicast key negotiation method and system particularly suitable for a group call system wherein BS sends a multicast key notification message to the UT, wherein the BS notifies the UT of the multicast keys of the service groups to be applied by the UT for communication; par. 0013, 0016-0018, and 0026-0027),
obtaining service data from a core network based on [a support case of the communication apparatus for] the multicast key transmission procedure (Hu, par. 0025-0030: After the BS receives the multicast key confirmation message sent by the UT, registering the identifiers of the service groups by the UT. The successful registration of the UT with the multicast key enables the UT to obtain data from a core network based on the support of the multicast key).
However, Hu does not explicitly disclose the multicast key is a security transmission key of a multicast session. This aspect of the claim is identified as a further difference.
In a related art, Cheng teaches:
the multicast key is a security transmission key of a multicast session between the communication apparatus and a first content delivery network element (Cheng, par. 0136-0138: the UE 115-d may receive a group key that is shared among one or more UEs 115 or a SIB broadcast key (e.g., a SIB broadcast/multicast key), including receiving the security protection key after receiving the E-SIB).
Hu and Cheng are analogous art to the claimed invention in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, or reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, which may be in a different field. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Hu’s system with Cheng’s teachings of the multicast key is a security transmission key of a multicast session. For this combination, the motivation would have been to improve the level of security with the multicast key being also a security key for the communication session.
However, the combination of Hu and Cheng does not explicitly disclose identifying a support case of the communication apparatus of the multicast key transmission for obtaining service data from a core network. This aspect of the claim is identified as a further difference.
In a related art, Sun teaches:
obtaining service data from a core network based on a support case of the communication apparatus of the multicast key transmission (Sun, par. 0025-0028: support the management of multicast keys for a multicast group; mechanisms to support the management of multicast keys for a multicast group comprising one or more OLTs, one or more FCUs, and a plurality of CNUs. The disclosed embodiments may support the management of multicast keys over optical and coaxial networks; par. 0044: the method 600 may support transmission of two separate multicast keys to the FCU 612 and CNU 614 to allow separate management of security in the ODN 602 and EDN 604.).
Sun is analogous art to the claimed invention in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, or reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, which may be in a different field. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the Hu-Cheng system with Sun’s teachings of the mechanisms to support the management of multicast keys for a multicast group. For this combination, the motivation would have been to improve the network communication by identifying a support case of the communication device of the multicast key transmission.as a condition for service data access.
As per claim 22, the references as combined above teach the method according to claim 21, wherein obtaining the service data from the core network based on the support case of the communication apparatus for the multicast key transmission procedure comprises:
determining that the communication apparatus supports the multicast key transmission procedure (Hu, par. 0004: All group call services in the SCDMA network need to be provided in the manner of multicast, and it will not be guaranteed; par. 0025-0027: [determining] that the multicast key negotiation method suitable for the group call system; when confirmed, the process of updating a multicast key of the service group; the new multicast key of the service group is enabled for encrypting and sending of the multicast data frame);
obtaining the multicast key by using the multicast key transmission procedure (Hu, par. 00026-0029: the multicast key negotiation method or the multicast key transmission procedure includes the following steps: enabling the new multicast key when suitable and confirmed, and then sending the multicast key notification message); and
obtaining the service data from the first content delivery network element based on the multicast key (Hu, par. 0025-0030: After the BS receives the multicast key confirmation message sent by the UT, registering the identifiers of the service groups by the UT. The successful registration of the UT with the multicast key enables the UT to obtain data from a core network based on the new or updated multicast key).
As per claim 24, the references as combined above teach the method according to claim 21, wherein obtaining the first indication information comprises:
obtaining the first indication information from a first message that is from a multicast service function network element or an application function network element (Hu, par. 0019-0021: the UT sends to the BS a multicast key confirmation message which is the first indication information. If a multicast key of the service group has been applied in the network, the multicast key of the service group applied in a first application is forwarded by the BS).
As per claim 27, Hu teaches a method, comprising:
determining first indication information, wherein the first indication information indicates a multicast key transmission procedure, the multicast key transmission procedure is a communication procedure that is supported by a network side and that is used to transmit a multicast key to a communication apparatus (Hu, par. 0011: the UT receives the multicast notification message, which is the first indication information of the multicast key and a procedure for communication. Hu discloses a multicast key negotiation method and system particularly suitable for a group call system wherein BS sends a multicast key notification message to the UT, wherein the BS notifies the UT of the multicast keys of the service groups to be applied by the UT for communication; par. 0013, 0016-0018, and 0026-0027), … and
sending the first indication information to the communication apparatus (Hu, par. 0019-0021: the UT sends to the BS a multicast key confirmation message. In Hu, multicast key confirmation message is mapped to the first indication information. If a multicast key of the service group has been applied in the network, the multicast key of the service group applied in a first application is forwarded by the BS. See also par. 0025-0030: After the BS receives the multicast key confirmation message sent by the UT, registering the identifiers of the service groups by the UT. The successful registration of the UT with the multicast key enables the UT to obtain data from a core network based on the support of the multicast key, sending a multicast key confirmation message).
However, Hu does not explicitly disclose the multicast key is a security transmission key of a multicast session. This aspect of the claim is identified as a further difference.
In a related art, Cheng teaches:
the multicast key is a security transmission key of a multicast session between the communication apparatus and a first content delivery network element (Cheng, par. 0136-0138: the UE 115-d may receive a group key that is shared among one or more UEs 115 or a SIB broadcast key (e.g., a SIB broadcast/multicast key), including receiving the security protection key after receiving the E-SIB).
Hu and Cheng are analogous art to the claimed invention in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, or reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, which may be in a different field. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Hu’s system with Cheng’s teachings of the multicast key is a security transmission key of a multicast session. For this combination, the motivation would have been to improve the level of security with the multicast key being also a security key for the communication session.
However, the combination of Hu and Cheng does not explicitly disclose identifying a support case of the communication apparatus of the multicast key transmission for obtaining service data from a core network. This aspect of the claim is identified as a further difference.
In a related art, Sun teaches:
obtaining service data from a core network based on a support case of the communication apparatus of the multicast key transmission (Sun, par. 0025-0028: support the management of multicast keys for a multicast group; mechanisms to support the management of multicast keys for a multicast group comprising one or more OLTs, one or more FCUs, and a plurality of CNUs. The disclosed embodiments may support the management of multicast keys over optical and coaxial networks; par. 0044: the method 600 may support transmission of two separate multicast keys to the FCU 612 and CNU 614 to allow separate management of security in the ODN 602 and EDN 604.).
Sun is analogous art to the claimed invention in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, or reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, which may be in a different field. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the Hu-Cheng system with Sun’s teachings of the mechanisms to support the management of multicast keys for a multicast group. For this combination, the motivation would have been to improve the network communication by identifying a support case of the communication device of the multicast key transmission.as a condition for service data access.
As per claim 28, the references as combined above teach the method according to claim 27, wherein the sending the first indication information to the communication apparatus comprises:
sending, by a network device, a first message to the communication apparatus (Hu, par. 0011: sending a notification message; the UT receives the multicast notification message; par. 0019-0021: the UT sends to the BS a multicast key confirmation message which is the first indication information. If a multicast key of the service group has been applied in the network, the multicast key of the service group applied in a first application is forwarded by the BS), wherein the first message comprises the first indication information, and the network device is a multicast service function network element or an application function network element (Hu, par. 0019-0021: the UT sends to the BS a multicast key confirmation message which is the first indication information. If a multicast key of the service group has been applied in the network, the multicast key of the service group applied in a first application is forwarded by the BS).
As per claim 31, Hu teaches an apparatus, comprising at least one processor coupled to at least one memory storing instructions and configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to perform:
obtaining first indication information, wherein the first indication information indicates a multicast key transmission procedure, the multicast key transmission procedure is a communication procedure that is supported by a network side and that is used to transmit a multicast key to the communication apparatus (Hu, par. 0011: the UT receives the multicast notification message, which is the first indication information of the multicast key and a procedure for communication. Hu discloses a multicast key negotiation method and system particularly suitable for a group call system wherein BS sends a multicast key notification message to the UT, wherein the BS notifies the UT of the multicast keys of the service groups to be applied by the UT for communication; par. 0013, 0016-0018, and 0026-0027),
obtaining service data from a core network based on a support case of the communication apparatus for the multicast key transmission procedure (Hu, par. 0025-0030: After the BS receives the multicast key confirmation message sent by the UT, registering the identifiers of the service groups by the UT. The successful registration of the UT with the multicast key enables the UT to obtain data from a core network based on the support of the multicast key).
However, Hu does not explicitly disclose the multicast key is a security transmission key of a multicast session. This aspect of the claim is identified as a further difference.
In a related art, Cheng teaches:
the multicast key is a security transmission key of a multicast session between the communication apparatus and a first content delivery network element (Cheng, par. 0136-0138: the UE 115-d may receive a group key that is shared among one or more UEs 115 or a SIB broadcast key (e.g., a SIB broadcast/multicast key), including receiving the security protection key after receiving the E-SIB).
Hu and Cheng are analogous art to the claimed invention in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, or reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, which may be in a different field. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Hu’s system with Cheng’s teachings of the multicast key is a security transmission key of a multicast session. For this combination, the motivation would have been to improve the level of security with the multicast key being also a security key for the communication session.
However, the combination of Hu and Cheng does not explicitly disclose identifying a support case of the communication apparatus of the multicast key transmission for obtaining service data from a core network. This aspect of the claim is identified as a further difference.
In a related art, Sun teaches:
obtaining service data from a core network based on a support case of the communication apparatus of the multicast key transmission (Sun, par. 0025-0028: support the management of multicast keys for a multicast group; mechanisms to support the management of multicast keys for a multicast group comprising one or more OLTs, one or more FCUs, and a plurality of CNUs. The disclosed embodiments may support the management of multicast keys over optical and coaxial networks; par. 0044: the method 600 may support transmission of two separate multicast keys to the FCU 612 and CNU 614 to allow separate management of security in the ODN 602 and EDN 604.).
Sun is analogous art to the claimed invention in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, or reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, which may be in a different field. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the Hu-Cheng system with Sun’s teachings of the mechanisms to support the management of multicast keys for a multicast group. For this combination, the motivation would have been to improve the network communication by identifying a support case of the communication device of the multicast key transmission.as a condition for service data access.
As per claim 32, the references as combined above teach the apparatus according to claim 31, wherein the instructions for obtaining the service data from the core network based on the support case of the communication apparatus for the multicast key transmission procedure cause the apparatus to perform:
determining that the communication apparatus supports the multicast key transmission procedure (Hu, par. 0004: All group call services in the SCDMA network need to be provided in the manner of multicast, and it will not be guaranteed; par. 0025-0027: [determining] that the multicast key negotiation method suitable for the group call system; when confirmed, the process of updating a multicast key of the service group; the new multicast key of the service group is enabled for encrypting and sending of the multicast data frame);
obtaining the multicast key by using the multicast key transmission procedure (Hu, par. 00026-0029: the multicast key negotiation method or the multicast key transmission procedure includes the following steps: enabling the new multicast key when suitable and confirmed, and then sending the multicast key notification message); and
obtaining the service data from the first content delivery network element based on the multicast key (Hu, par. 0025-0030: After the BS receives the multicast key confirmation message sent by the UT, registering the identifiers of the service groups by the UT. The successful registration of the UT with the multicast key enables the UT to obtain data from a core network based on the new or updated multicast key).
As per claim 34, the references as combined above teach the apparatus according to claim 31, wherein the instructions for obtaining the first indication information cause the communication apparatus to perform:
obtaining the first indication information from a first message that is from a multicast service function network element or an application function network element (Hu, par. 0019-0021: the UT sends to the BS a multicast key confirmation message which is the first indication information. If a multicast key of the service group has been applied in the network, the multicast key of the service group applied in a first application is forwarded by the BS).
As per claim 37, Hu teaches an apparatus, comprising at least one processor coupled to at least one memory storing instructions and configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to:
determine first indication information, wherein the first indication information indicates a multicast key transmission procedure, the multicast key transmission procedure is a communication procedure that is supported by a network side and that is used to transmit a multicast key to a communication apparatus (Hu, par. 0011: the UT receives the multicast notification message, which is the first indication information of the multicast key and a procedure for communication. Hu discloses a multicast key negotiation method and system particularly suitable for a group call system wherein BS sends a multicast key notification message to the UT, wherein the BS notifies the UT of the multicast keys of the service groups to be applied by the UT for communication; par. 0013, 0016-0018, and 0026-0027); and
send the first indication information to the communication apparatus (Hu, par. 0019-0021: the UT sends to the BS a multicast key confirmation message. In Hu, multicast key confirmation message is mapped to the first indication information. If a multicast key of the service group has been applied in the network, the multicast key of the service group applied in a first application is forwarded by the BS. See also par. 0025-0030: After the BS receives the multicast key confirmation message sent by the UT, registering the identifiers of the service groups by the UT. The successful registration of the UT with the multicast key enables the UT to obtain data from a core network based on the support of the multicast key, sending a multicast key confirmation message).
However, Hu does not explicitly disclose the multicast key is a security transmission key of a multicast session. This aspect of the claim is identified as a further difference.
In a related art, Cheng teaches:
the multicast key is a security transmission key of a multicast session between the communication apparatus and a first content delivery network element (Cheng, par. 0136-0138: the UE 115-d may receive a group key that is shared among one or more UEs 115 or a SIB broadcast key (e.g., a SIB broadcast/multicast key), including receiving the security protection key after receiving the E-SIB).
Hu and Cheng are analogous art to the claimed invention in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, or reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, which may be in a different field. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Hu’s system with Cheng’s teachings of the multicast key is a security transmission key of a multicast session. For this combination, the motivation would have been to improve the level of security with the multicast key being also a security key for the communication session.
However, the combination of Hu and Cheng does not explicitly disclose identifying a support case of the communication apparatus of the multicast key transmission for obtaining service data from a core network. This aspect of the claim is identified as a further difference.
In a related art, Sun teaches:
obtaining service data from a core network based on a support case of the communication apparatus of the multicast key transmission (Sun, par. 0025-0028: support the management of multicast keys for a multicast group; mechanisms to support the management of multicast keys for a multicast group comprising one or more OLTs, one or more FCUs, and a plurality of CNUs. The disclosed embodiments may support the management of multicast keys over optical and coaxial networks; par. 0044: the method 600 may support transmission of two separate multicast keys to the FCU 612 and CNU 614 to allow separate management of security in the ODN 602 and EDN 604.).
Sun is analogous art to the claimed invention in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, or reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, which may be in a different field. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the Hu-Cheng system with Sun’s teachings of the mechanisms to support the management of multicast keys for a multicast group. For this combination, the motivation would have been to improve the network communication by identifying a support case of the communication device of the multicast key transmission.as a condition for service data access.
As per claim 38, the references as combined above teach the apparatus according to claim 37,
wherein the apparatus is a multicast service function network element or an application function network element (Hu, par. 0019-0021: the UT sends to the BS a multicast key confirmation message which is the first indication information. If a multicast key of the service group has been applied in the network, the multicast key of the service group applied in a first application is forwarded by the BS), and
wherein the instructions for sending the first indication information to the communication apparatus cause the apparatus to send a first message to the communication apparatus (Hu, par. 0019-0021: the UT sends to the BS a multicast key confirmation message which is the first indication information), wherein the first message comprises the first indication information (Hu, par. 0024-0025: After the BS receives the multicast key confirmation message sent by the UT, the BS verifies the message integrity check MIC value of the message by using the integrity check key derived by the key corresponding to the unicast key index TEKID, and confirms whether the message integrity check MIC value is correct or not. The multicast key confirmation message comprises the confirmation information to indicate the validity of the multicast key. If the message integrity check MIC value is incorrect, then the message is discarded. If the message integrity check MIC value is correct, the BS decrypts the service group key response list, and confirms whether the service groups are the service groups applied by the UT).
Claims 23 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu, Cheng, and Sun, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Hui (US 20120102328 A1).
As per claim 23, the references as combined above teach the method according to claim 21, wherein obtaining the service data from the core network based on the support case of the communication apparatus for the multicast key transmission procedure comprises:
determining that the communication apparatus does not support the multicast key transmission procedure (Hu, par. 0025-0026: sending and receiving he multicast key confirmation message; If the message integrity check MIC value is incorrect, then the message is discarded, meaning that the communication apparatus does not support the multicast key transmission procedure);
while Hu talks about using a unicast key index TEKID (par. 0028-0029), Hu does not explicitly disclose receiving the service data from a second content delivery network element through a unicast session. This aspect of the claim is identified as a further difference.
In a related art, Hui teaches:
receiving the service data from a second content delivery network element through a unicast session (Hui, par. 0029: the users can receive the charging service data only after re-accessing the real time data service system; par. 0071-0074: obtaining an unicast session key through negotiation in Step 202; par. 0086: the mobile terminal receives the MPDU, and … decrypts the encrypted audio/video data messages in the PDU field by using the session key (multicast session key or unicast session key) obtained through negotiation in Step 202).
Hui is analogous art to the claimed invention in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, or reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, which may be in a different field. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the Hu-Cheng-Sun system with Hui’s teachings of the use of a second content delivery network element through a unicast session. For this combination, the motivation would have been to improve the reliability of network communications with both unicast and multicast sessions being available to the user terminal.
Regarding claim 33, the claim is similar to claim 23 and is therefore rejected using a similar rationale.
Claims 25-26, 29-30, 35-36, and 39-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu, Cheng, and Sun, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Patil (CN 107210913 A).
As per claim 25, the references as combined above teach the method according to claim 24, but do not explicitly disclose the first message is a service announcement message. This aspect of the claim is identified as a further difference.
In a related art, Patil teaches:
wherein the first message is a service announcement message (Patil, page 28 of 53, the 4th paragraph: the first device 402 capable of sending the notification message to the second device 404. For example, in some implementations, the notification message may include a multicast message, such as multicast service announcement message).
Patil is analogous art to the claimed invention in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, or reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, which may be in a different field. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the Hu-Cheng-Sun system with Patil’s teachings of sending the notification message to the second device for a service announcement. For this combination, the motivation would have been to improve the reliability of network communications by sending the first message as a service announcement message.
Regarding claim 29, 35, and 39, the claims are each similar to claim 25 and are therefore rejected using a similar rationale.
As per claim 26, the references as combined above teach the method according to claim 21, but do not explicitly disclose the first indication information comprises first information, the first information indicates that the network side supports transmitting the multicast key through a first communication procedure, the first communication procedure is a signaling-plane communication procedure between a session management network element and the communication apparatus. This aspect of the claim is identified as a further difference.
In a related art, Patil teaches:
wherein
the first indication information comprises first information, the first information indicates that the network side supports transmitting the multicast key through a first communication procedure, the first communication procedure is a signaling-plane communication procedure between a session management network element and the communication apparatus (Patil, page 5 of 53, the last two paragraphs: FIG. 1, which shows a data link group comprising one or more devices … and wireless mesh network such as the wireless network 102. Patil’s wireless network supports transmitting the multicast key through a wireless communication link. For example, Wireless network 102 may include one or more device, e.g., first device 104, second device 106. Patil sends multicast messages and notification messages via one or more wireless channels. See page 6 of 53, the first two paragraphs. For example, wireless network 102 (e.g., NAN) of each device 104 to 110 may be configured via one or more wireless channels corresponding to the NAN, executing the associated operation (e.g., security association operation. In Patil, by sending a multicast message to data link group. the candidate group-key, while supported by the network side, is distributed to the one or more device; see page 34 of 53, the second and third paragraphs. Patil discloses generating a second candidate group key and second key indicator of the second candidate group key. For example, before the wireless network 102 of the other device receives the notification message, as further communication between a session management element and the communication device; see page 45 of 53, the second and third paragraphs);
or (Note: an optional limitation is recited hereinafter)
the first indication information comprises first information and second information, the first information indicates that the network side supports transmitting the multicast key through a second communication procedure, the second communication procedure is a user- plane communication procedure between a multicast service function network element and the communication apparatus, and the second information indicates that the second communication procedure is an authentication and key management for applications-based user-plane communication procedure or a generic bootstrapping architecture-based user-plane communication procedure (Note that this limitation is optional and thus omitted by the Examiner).
Patil is analogous art to the claimed invention in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, or reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, which may be in a different field. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the Hu-Cheng-Sun system with Patil’s teachings of supporting transmitting the multicast key and signaling a communication procedure between a session management network element. For this combination, the motivation would have been to improve the reliability of network communications.
Regarding claims 30, the claim is similar to claim 26 and is therefore rejected using a similar rationale.
As per claim 36, the references as combined above teach the apparatus according to claim 31, but do not explicitly disclose the first indication information comprises first information, the first information indicates that the network side supports transmitting the multicast key through a first communication procedure, the first communication procedure is a signaling-plane communication procedure between a session management network element and the communication apparatus. This aspect of the claim is identified as a further difference.
In a related art, Patil teaches:
wherein
wherein the first indication information comprises first information, the first information indicates that the network side supports transmitting the multicast key through a first communication procedure, the first communication procedure is a signaling-plane communication procedure between a session management network element and the communication apparatus (Patil, page 5 of 53, the last two paragraphs: FIG. 1, which shows a data link group comprising one or more devices … and wireless mesh network such as the wireless network 102. Patil’s wireless network supports transmitting the multicast key through a wireless communication link. For example, Wireless network 102 may include one or more device, e.g., first device 104, second device 106. Patil sends multicast messages and notification messages via one or more wireless channels. See page 6 of 53, the first two paragraphs. For example, wireless network 102 (e.g., NAN) of each device 104 to 110 may be configured via one or more wireless channels corresponding to the NAN, executing the associated operation (e.g., security association operation. In Patil, by sending a multicast message to data link group. the candidate group-key, while supported by the network side, is distributed to the one or more device; see page 34 of 53, the second and third paragraphs. Patil discloses generating a second candidate group key and second key indicator of the second candidate group key. For example, before the wireless network 102 of the other device receives the notification message, as further communication between a session management element and the communication device; see page 45 of 53, the second and third paragraphs);
or (Note: an optional limitation is recited hereinafter)
the first indication information comprises first information and second information, the first information indicates that the network side supports transmitting the multicast key through a second communication procedure, the second communication procedure is a user- plane communication procedure between a multicast service function network element and the communication apparatus, and the second information indicates that the second communication procedure is an authentication and key management for applications-based user-plane communication procedure or a generic bootstrapping architecture-based user-plane communication procedure (Note that this limitation is optional and thus omitted by the Examiner).
Patil is analogous art to the claimed invention in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, or reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, which may be in a different field. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the Hu-Cheng-Sun system with Patil’s teachings of supporting transmitting the multicast key and signaling a communication procedure between a session management network element. For this combination, the motivation would have been to improve the reliability of network communications.
Regarding claim 40, the claim is similar to claim 36 and is therefore rejected using a similar rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as the prior art additionally discloses certain parts of the claim features (See “PTO-892 Notice of Reference Cited”).
/Don G Zhao/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2493 03/28/2026