DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/05/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suzuki (Pub. No.: US 2019/0064349).
Consider claim 1, Suzuki discloses a photoacoustic sensing apparatus (paragraph [0020], Fig. 1, photoacoustic apparatus) comprising:
a light source (Fig. 1, light source 111) that directs an optical signal toward an analyte (paragraph [0041], Fig. 1, light source 111 irradiates the subject 103 with emitted light wherein the subject includes a concentration distribution of substance constituting the tissue (e.g., hemoglobin), see paragraph [0017]);
a photoacoustic sensor (Fig. 1, acoustic wave reception unit 104) that receives an ultrasonic wave generated from the analyte and generates a photoacoustic sensor signal (paragraph [0025], Fig. 1, acoustic wave reception unit 104 receives photoacoustic waves and ultrasonic waves from the subject 103, and converts the photoacoustic waves and the ultrasonic waves into photoacoustic signals); and
a signal processing device (paragraph [0023], Fig. 1, the signal processing unit 102) that controls the directing of the optical signal toward the analyte (paragraph [0064], Fig. 1, 2, control unit 119 transmits instructions for parameters needed for the repetition frequency of the light source 111, the number of times of light irradiation, a light irradiation intensity, the type of wavelength), and removes electromagnetic interference (EMI) noise from the photoacoustic sensor signal to generate a photoacoustic signal (paragraph [0023], Fig. 1, signal processing unit 102 receives the photoacoustic signal data and performs signal processing such as noise elimination).
Consider claim 2, Suzuki discloses wherein: the signal processing device generates a first clock signal and transmits the generated first clock signal to the light source (paragraph [0064], Fig. 1, 2, control unit 119 transmits instructions for parameters needed for the repetition frequency of the light source 111); and
the light source modulates an intensity of the optical signal according to a specific frequency determined by the first clock signal (paragraph [0064], Fig. 1, 2, control unit 119 transmits instructions for parameters needed for the repetition frequency of the light source 111, the number of times of light irradiation, a light irradiation intensity).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki in view of Nakatsuka (Pub. No.: US 2015/0297091).
Consider claims 3, 12, Suzuki discloses an optical switch (Fig. 1., switching circuit 105) that blocks or transmits the optical signal in response to a first control signal output from the signal processing device (paragraph [0028], switching circuit 105 is connected to a synchronization control unit 112, and switches connections between acoustic wave reception units 104 and peripheral circuits correspondingly, in transmitting ultrasonic waves), wherein the signal processing device generates a mixed signal including the photoacoustic signal and first EMI noise when the optical switch transmits the optical signal (paragraph [0048], when light source 111 emits light, mixing of electromagnetic noise from the light source 111 into wireless communication data of photoacoustic signal data and ultrasonic signal data, see paragraph [0023]), and generates second EMI noise (paragraph [0033], random noise in photoacoustic signals).
Suzuki does not specifically disclose generates second EMI noise when the optical switch blocks the optical signal.
Nakatsuka discloses generates second EMI noise when the optical switch blocks the optical signal (paragraph [0115], Fig. 10, when an element deactivation signal E3 is transmitted from a controller to a deactivation switch, noise (electromagnetic waves) can sometimes occur).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the switching circuit as disclosed by Suzuki with the deactivation switch as taught by Nakatsuka to acquire acoustic wave signals that are attributable to noise (Nakatsuka, paragraph [0115]).
Claims 4-11, 14, 15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Suzuki and Nakatsuka in view of Horan et al. (Pub. No.: US 2015/0204822).
Consider claim 4, the combination of Suzuki and Nakatsuka discloses wherein the signal processing device classifies the photoacoustic sensor signal into the mixed signal based on the first control signal (paragraph [0033], data processing circuit 109 can apply filter processing of different passbands at the time of receiving the photoacoustic signals and at the time of receiving the ultrasonic signals, based on the frequencies of the respective signals) and analyzes the mixed signal to estimate information about the photoacoustic signal (paragraph [0033], data processing circuit 109 also converts the ultrasonic signal data into a predetermined format and adds additional information for distinguishing the types of the photoacoustic signal data and the ultrasonic signal data).
The combination of Suzuki and Nakatsuka does not specifically disclose wherein the signal processing device classifies the photoacoustic sensor signal into one of the mixed signal and the second EMI noise based on the first control signal, and analyzes the mixed signal and the second EMI noise to estimate information about the photoacoustic signal.
Horan discloses wherein the signal processing device classifies the photoacoustic sensor signal into one of the mixed signal and the second EMI noise based on the first control signal (paragraph [0071], Figs. 4-7, acoustic signal from the trap volume 105 is a combination of the ambient noise and a photoacoustic signal and an ambient background noise signal of the control channel 205 wherein the acoustic signal of the control channel 205 is subtracted from the acoustic signal of trap volume 105), and analyzes the mixed signal and the second EMI noise to estimate information about the photoacoustic signal (paragraph [0085], amplitude and phase of the photoacoustic signal is determined and the acoustic signal of the control channel 205 is subtracted from the acoustic signal of trap volume 105, see paragraph [0071]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the signal processing device as disclosed by the combination of Suzuki and Nakatsuka with the signal processing device as taught by Horan to substantially eliminate the ambient noise and thereby isolate the photoacoustic signal (Horan, paragraph [0071]).
Consider claim 5, the combination of Suzuki and Nakatsuka discloses wherein the signal processing device includes:
a switch controller (paragraph [0046], Fig. 1, synchronization control unit 112) that generates the first control signal and a second control signal (paragraph [0028], switching circuit 105 is connected to a synchronization control unit 112, and switches connections between acoustic wave reception units 104 and peripheral circuits correspondingly, in transmitting ultrasonic waves), and provides the first control signal to the optical switch to control the directing of the optical signal toward the analyte (paragraph [0064], Fig. 1, 2, control unit 119 transmits instructions for parameters needed for the repetition frequency of the light source 111, the number of times of light irradiation, a light irradiation intensity, the type of wavelength);
an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) that converts the photoacoustic sensor signal into a digital signal (paragraph [0031], Fig. 1, analog-to-digital conversion unit (A/D conversion unit) 107 digitizes the amplified signals);
a selector that classifies the digital signal into the mixed signal based on the second control signal of the switch controller (paragraph [0033], data processing circuit 109 can apply filter processing of different passbands at the time of receiving the photoacoustic signals and at the time of receiving the ultrasonic signals, based on the frequencies of the respective signals); and
a processor that analyzes the mixed signal to estimate information about the photoacoustic signal (paragraph [0033], data processing circuit 109 also converts the ultrasonic signal data into a predetermined format and adds additional information for distinguishing the types of the photoacoustic signal data and the ultrasonic signal data).
The combination of Suzuki and Nakatsuka does not specifically disclose a selector that classifies the digital signal into one of the mixed signal and the second EMI noise based on the second control signal of the switch controller; and a processor that analyzes the mixed signal and the second EMI noise to estimate information about the photoacoustic signal.
Horan discloses a selector that classifies the digital signal into one of the mixed signal and the second EMI noise based on the second control signal of the switch controller (paragraph [0071], Figs. 4-7, acoustic signal from the trap volume 105 is a combination of the ambient noise and a photoacoustic signal and an ambient background noise signal of the control channel 205 wherein the acoustic signal of the control channel 205 is subtracted from the acoustic signal of trap volume 105); and a processor that analyzes the mixed signal and the second EMI noise to estimate information about the photoacoustic signal (paragraph [0085], amplitude and phase of the photoacoustic signal is determined and the acoustic signal of the control channel 205 is subtracted from the acoustic signal of trap volume 105, see paragraph [0071]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the selector as disclosed by the combination of Suzuki and Nakatsuka with the selector as taught by Horan to substantially eliminate the ambient noise and thereby isolate the photoacoustic signal (Horan, paragraph [0071]).
Consider claim 6, the combination of Suzuki, Nakatsuka, and Horan discloses wherein the second control signal is synchronized with the first control signal (paragraph [0049], stopping driving the communication unit 110 so that wireless communication is not performed during the time in which the light source 111 emits light).
Consider claim 7, the combination of Suzuki and Horan discloses wherein the ADC outputs the mixed signal when the first control signal sets the optical switch to an ON state (paragraph [0033], data processing circuit 109 performs data processing on the photoacoustic signal data and ultrasonic signal data digitized by the A/D conversion unit 107 wherein when receiving the photoacoustic signals, random noise is identified in the photoacoustic signal data).
The combination of Suzuki and Horan does not specifically disclose wherein the ADC outputs the second EMI noise when the first control signal sets the optical switch to an OFF state.
Nakatsuka discloses wherein the ADC outputs the second EMI noise when the first control signal sets the optical switch to an OFF state (paragraph [0115], Fig. 10, with the deactivation switch enabled, the reception circuit acquires unnecessary acoustic wave signals that are attributable to noise wherein the reception circuit 33 is connected to the A/D converter 34, and acoustic wave signals are transmitted to the A/D converter 34, see paragraph [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the ADC as disclosed by the combination of Suzuki and Horan with the ADC as taught by Nakatsuka to acquire acoustic wave signals that are attributable to noise (Nakatsuka, paragraph [0115]).
Consider claim 8, the combination of Suzuki, Nakatsuka, and Horan discloses wherein the signal processing device further includes a signal generator that transmits a first clock signal to the light source (paragraph [0064], Fig. 1, 2, control unit 119 transmits instructions for parameters needed for the repetition frequency of the light source 111) such that the light source modulates an intensity of the optical signal according to a specific frequency (paragraph [0064], Fig. 1, 2, control unit 119 transmits instructions for parameters needed for the repetition frequency of the light source 111, the number of times of light irradiation, a light irradiation intensity).
Consider claim 9, the combination of Suzuki and Nakatsuka discloses wherein the signal processing device further includes an amplification unit that receives the photoacoustic sensor signal from the photoacoustic sensor (paragraphs [0028], [0029], amplification unit 106 receives photoacoustic waves from the acoustic wave reception units 104), receives a second clock signal synchronized with the first clock signal from the signal generator (paragraph [0064], the control unit 119 transmits instructions to the communication interface 114 to transmit temporal parameters needed for the acquisition of ultrasonic signals and photoacoustic signals wherein synchronization control unit 112 performs stopping driving the light source 111 so that the light source 111 does not emit light during the time in which the communication unit 110 performs wireless communication, see paragraph [0049]), and detects a signal according to the specific frequency based on the second clock signal from the photoacoustic sensor signal (paragraphs [0028], [0029], amplification unit 106 receives ultrasound waves and photoacoustic waves from the acoustic wave reception units 104), and
wherein the ADC converts the signal according to the specific frequency into the digital signal (paragraph [0031], analog-to-digital conversion unit (A/D conversion unit) 107 digitizes the amplified signals) and then provides the digital signal to the selector (paragraph [0033], data processing circuit 109 performs data processing on the photoacoustic signal data and ultrasonic signal data digitized by the A/D conversion unit 107).
The combination of Suzuki and Nakatsuka does not specifically disclose the amplification unit is a lock-in amplifier.
Horan discloses a lock-in amplifier (paragraphs [0091], [0085], Fig. 19, lock-in amplifier 899).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the amplification unit as disclosed by the combination of Suzuki and Nakatsuka with the lock-in amplifier as taught by Horan in order to easily extract signals (Horan, paragraph [0091]).
Consider claim 10, the combination of Suzuki and Nakatsuka does not specifically disclose wherein the information includes an amplitude and a phase of the photoacoustic signal.
Horan discloses wherein the information includes an amplitude and a phase of the photoacoustic signal (paragraph [0085], amplitude and phase of the photoacoustic signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the signal processing device as disclosed by the combination of Suzuki and Nakatsuka with the signal processing device as taught by Horan to provide a pass/fail response (Horan, paragraph [0085]).
Consider claim 11, the combination of Suzuki and Nakatsuka does not specifically disclose wherein the processor detects the mixed signal and the second EMI noise by dividing each of the mixed signal and the second EMI noise into an x-component and a y-component, and estimates the information about the photoacoustic signal based on a difference between the x-components of the mixed signal and the second EMI noise and a difference between the y-components of the mixed signal and the second EMI noise.
Horan discloses wherein the processor detects the mixed signal and the second EMI noise by dividing each of the mixed signal and the second EMI noise into an x-component and a y-component, and estimates the information about the photoacoustic signal based on a difference between the x-components of the mixed signal and the second EMI noise and a difference between the y-components of the mixed signal and the second EMI noise (paragraph [116], Figs. 45-47, time slicing method may be achieved by binning the amplitude data according to corresponding phase data and averaging over multiple periods).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the processor as disclosed by the combination of Suzuki and Nakatsuka with the processor as taught by Horan to improve signal to noise levels (Horan, paragraph [0116]).
Consider claim 14, the combination of Suzuki and Horan discloses wherein the second control signal is synchronized with the first control signal (paragraph [0049], stopping driving the communication unit 110 so that wireless communication is not performed during the time in which the light source 111 emits light), and
wherein the ADC outputs the mixed signal when the first control signal sets the optical switch to an ON state (paragraph [0033], data processing circuit 109 performs data processing on the photoacoustic signal data and ultrasonic signal data digitized by the A/D conversion unit 107 wherein when receiving the photoacoustic signals, random noise is identified in the photoacoustic signal data).
The combination of Suzuki and Horan does not specifically disclose wherein the ADC outputs the second EMI noise when the first control signal sets the optical switch to an OFF state.
Nakatsuka discloses wherein the ADC outputs the second EMI noise when the first control signal sets the optical switch to an OFF state (paragraph [0115], Fig. 10, with the deactivation switch enabled, the reception circuit acquires unnecessary acoustic wave signals that are attributable to noise wherein the reception circuit 33 is connected to the A/D converter 34, and acoustic wave signals are transmitted to the A/D converter 34, see paragraph [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the ADC as disclosed by the combination of Suzuki and Horan with the ADC as taught by Nakatsuka to acquire acoustic wave signals that are attributable to noise (Nakatsuka, paragraph [0115]).
Consider claim 15, the combination of Suzuki and Nakatsuka discloses a signal generator that transmits a first clock signal to the light source (paragraph [0064], Fig. 1, 2, control unit 119 transmits instructions for parameters needed for the repetition frequency of the light source 111) such that the light source modulates an intensity of the optical signal according to a specific frequency (paragraph [0064], Fig. 1, 2, control unit 119 transmits instructions for parameters needed for the repetition frequency of the light source 111, the number of times of light irradiation, a light irradiation intensity); and
an amplification unit that receives the photoacoustic sensor signal from the photoacoustic sensor (paragraphs [0028], [0029], amplification unit 106 receives photoacoustic waves from the acoustic wave reception units 104), receives a second clock signal synchronized with the first clock signal from the signal generator (paragraph [0064], the control unit 119 transmits instructions to the communication interface 114 to transmit temporal parameters needed for the acquisition of ultrasonic signals and photoacoustic signals wherein synchronization control unit 112 performs stopping driving the light source 111 so that the light source 111 does not emit light during the time in which the communication unit 110 performs wireless communication, see paragraph [0049]), and detects a signal according to the specific frequency based on the second clock signal from the photoacoustic sensor signal (paragraphs [0028], [0029], amplification unit 106 receives ultrasound waves and photoacoustic waves from the acoustic wave reception units 104), and
wherein the ADC converts the signal according to the specific frequency into the digital signal (paragraph [0031], analog-to-digital conversion unit (A/D conversion unit) 107 digitizes the amplified signals) and then provides the digital signal to the selector (paragraph [0033], data processing circuit 109 performs data processing on the photoacoustic signal data and ultrasonic signal data digitized by the A/D conversion unit 107).
The combination of Suzuki and Nakatsuka does not specifically disclose the amplification unit is a lock-in amplifier.
Horan discloses a lock-in amplifier (paragraphs [0091], [0085], Fig. 19, lock-in amplifier 899).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the amplification unit as disclosed by the combination of Suzuki and Nakatsuka with the lock-in amplifier as taught by Horan in order to easily extract signals (Horan, paragraph [0091]).
Consider claim 17, Suzuki discloses a photoacoustic sensing method for removing electromagnetic interference (EMI) noise in a photoacoustic sensor signal (paragraph [0023], Fig. 1, signal processing unit 102 receives the photoacoustic signal data and performs signal processing such as noise elimination), wherein the photoacoustic sensor signal is generated by a photoacoustic sensor (Fig. 1, acoustic wave reception unit 104) based on an ultrasonic wave signal generated from an analyte to which an optical signal is directed (paragraph [0041], Fig. 1, light source 111 irradiates the subject 103 with emitted light wherein the subject includes a concentration distribution of substance constituting the tissue (e.g., hemoglobin), see paragraph [0017] and paragraph [0025], Fig. 1, acoustic wave reception unit 104 receives photoacoustic waves and ultrasonic waves from the subject 103, and converts the photoacoustic waves and the ultrasonic waves into photoacoustic signals), the photoacoustic sensing method comprising:
providing a first control signal to an optical switch connected to a light source to block or transmit the optical signal (paragraph [0064], Fig. 1, 2, control unit 119 transmits instructions for parameters needed for the repetition frequency of the light source 111, the number of times of light irradiation, a light irradiation intensity, the type of wavelength);
generating a mixed signal that includes a photoacoustic signal and first EMI noise when the optical switch transmits the optical signal (paragraph [0048], when light source 111 emits light, mixing of electromagnetic noise from the light source 111 into wireless communication data of photoacoustic signal data and ultrasonic signal data, see paragraph [0023]), and second EMI noise (paragraph [0033], random noise in photoacoustic signals).
removing the EMI noise from the photoacoustic sensor signal (paragraph [0023], Fig. 1, signal processing unit 102 receives the photoacoustic signal data and performs signal processing such as noise elimination).
Suzuki does not specifically disclose generates second EMI noise when the optical switch blocks the optical signal.
Nakatsuka discloses generates second EMI noise when the optical switch blocks the optical signal (paragraph [0115], Fig. 10, when an element deactivation signal E3 is transmitted from a controller to a deactivation switch, noise (electromagnetic waves) can sometimes occur).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the switching circuit as disclosed by Suzuki with the deactivation switch as taught by Nakatsuka to acquire acoustic wave signals that are attributable to noise (Nakatsuka, paragraph [0115]).
The combination of Suzuki and Nakatsuka does not specifically disclose removing the EMI noise from the photoacoustic sensor signal based on the mixed signal and the second EMI noise to generate a photoacoustic signal.
Horan discloses removing the EMI noise from the photoacoustic sensor signal based on the mixed signal and the second EMI noise to generate a photoacoustic signal (paragraph [0071], Figs. 4-7, acoustic signal from the trap volume 105 is a combination of the ambient noise and a photoacoustic signal and an ambient background noise signal of the control channel 205 wherein the acoustic signal of the control channel 205 is subtracted from the acoustic signal of trap volume 105 to isolate the photoacoustic signal of the trap volume 105).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the step of removing the EMI noise as disclosed by the combination of Suzuki and Nakatsuka with the step of removing the EMI noise as taught by Horan to substantially eliminate the ambient noise and thereby isolate the photoacoustic signal (Horan, paragraph [0071]).
Consider claim 18, the combination of Suzuki and Nakatsuka discloses wherein generating the mixed signal and the second EMI noise includes: converting the photoacoustic sensor signal into a first digital signal (paragraph [0031], analog-to-digital conversion unit (A/D conversion unit) 107 digitizes the amplified signals);
receiving a second control signal synchronized with the first control signal (paragraph [0049], stopping driving the communication unit 110 so that wireless communication is not performed during the time in which the light source 111 emits light); and
classifying the digital first signal into the mixed signal based on the second control signal (paragraph [0033], data processing circuit 109 can apply filter processing of different passbands at the time of receiving the photoacoustic signals and at the time of receiving the ultrasonic signals, based on the frequencies of the respective signals)
The combination of Suzuki and Nakatsuka does not specifically disclose classifying the first digital signal into one of the mixed signal and the second EMI noise based on the second control signal.
Horan discloses classifying the first digital signal into one of the mixed signal and the second EMI noise based on the second control signal (paragraph [0071], Figs. 4-7, acoustic signal from the trap volume 105 is a combination of the ambient noise and a photoacoustic signal and an ambient background noise signal of the control channel 205 wherein the acoustic signal of the control channel 205 is subtracted from the acoustic signal of trap volume 105).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the selector as disclosed by the combination of Suzuki and Nakatsuka with the selector as taught by Horan to substantially eliminate the ambient noise and thereby isolate the photoacoustic signal (Horan, paragraph [0071]).
Consider claim 19, the combination of Suzuki and Nakatsuka discloses wherein generating the mixed signal and the second EMI noise further includes: providing a first clock signal to the light source to control the light source (paragraph [0064], Fig. 1, 2, control unit 119 transmits instructions for parameters needed for the repetition frequency of the light source 111) to modulate an intensity of the optical signal according to a specific frequency (paragraph [0064], Fig. 1, 2, control unit 119 transmits instructions for parameters needed for the repetition frequency of the light source 111, the number of times of light irradiation, a light irradiation intensity); and
a second clock signal synchronized with the first clock signal to an amplification unit (paragraph [0064], the control unit 119 transmits instructions to the communication interface 114 to transmit temporal parameters needed for the acquisition of ultrasonic signals and photoacoustic signals (paragraphs [0028], [0029], amplification unit 106 receives photoacoustic waves from the acoustic wave reception units 104) wherein synchronization control unit 112 performs stopping driving the light source 111 so that the light source 111 does not emit light during the time in which the communication unit 110 performs wireless communication, see paragraph [0049]),
receiving, by the amplification unit, the photoacoustic sensor signal from the photoacoustic sensor (paragraphs [0028], [0029], amplification unit 106 receives photoacoustic waves from the acoustic wave reception units 104), and
detecting a signal according to the specific frequency based on the second clock signal from the photoacoustic sensor signal (paragraphs [0028], [0029], amplification unit 106 receives ultrasound waves and photoacoustic waves from the acoustic wave reception units 104), and
converting the signal detected by the amplification unit into the first digital signal (paragraph [0031], analog-to-digital conversion unit (A/D conversion unit) 107 digitizes the amplified signals).
The combination of Suzuki and Nakatsuka does not specifically disclose the amplification unit is a lock-in amplifier.
Horan discloses a lock-in amplifier (paragraphs [0091], [0085], Fig. 19, lock-in amplifier 899).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the amplification unit as disclosed by the combination of Suzuki and Nakatsuka with the lock-in amplifier as taught by Horan in order to easily extract signals (Horan, paragraph [0091]).
Consider claim 20, the combination of Suzuki and Nakatsuka discloses analyzing the mixed signal to estimate information about the photoacoustic signal (paragraph [0033], data processing circuit 109 also converts the ultrasonic signal data into a predetermined format and adds additional information for distinguishing the types of the photoacoustic signal data and the ultrasonic signal data).
The combination of Suzuki and Nakatsuka does not specifically disclose analyzing the mixed signal and the second EMI noise to estimate information about the photoacoustic signal, wherein analyzing the mixed signal and the second EMI noise includes: analyzing the second EMI noise to derive an x-component and a y-component of the second EMI noise; analyzing the mixed signal to derive an x-component and a y-component of the mixed signal; and estimating the information of the photoacoustic signal based on the x-component and the y-component of the second EMI noise and the x-component and the y-component of the mixed signal.
Horan discloses analyzing the mixed signal and the second EMI noise (paragraph [0071], Figs. 4-7, acoustic signal from the trap volume 105 is a combination of the ambient noise and a photoacoustic signal and an ambient background noise signal of the control channel 205 wherein the acoustic signal of the control channel 205 is subtracted from the acoustic signal of trap volume 105) to estimate information about the photoacoustic signal (paragraph [0085], amplitude and phase of the photoacoustic signal is determined and the acoustic signal of the control channel 205 is subtracted from the acoustic signal of trap volume 105, see paragraph [0071]),
wherein analyzing the mixed signal and the second EMI noise includes: analyzing the second EMI noise to derive an x-component and a y-component of the second EMI noise; analyzing the mixed signal to derive an x-component and a y-component of the mixed signal; and estimating the information of the photoacoustic signal based on the x-component and the y-component of the second EMI noise and the x-component and the y-component of the mixed signal (paragraph [116], Figs. 45-47, time slicing method may be achieved by binning the amplitude data according to corresponding phase data and averaging over multiple periods).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the processor as disclosed by the combination of Suzuki and Nakatsuka with the processor as taught by Horan to improve signal to noise levels (Horan, paragraph [0116]).
Claims 13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki and Horan.
Consider claim 13, Suzuki discloses a signal processing device (paragraph [0023], Fig. 1, the signal processing unit 102) for removing electromagnetic interference (EMI) noise in a photoacoustic sensor signal (paragraph [0023], Fig. 1, signal processing unit 102 receives the photoacoustic signal data and performs signal processing such as noise elimination), wherein the photoacoustic sensor signal is generated by a photoacoustic sensor (Fig. 1, acoustic wave reception unit 104) based on an ultrasonic wave signal generated from an analyte to which an optical signal is directed (paragraph [0041], Fig. 1, light source 111 irradiates the subject 103 with emitted light wherein the subject includes a concentration distribution of substance constituting the tissue (e.g., hemoglobin), see paragraph [0017] and paragraph [0025], Fig. 1, acoustic wave reception unit 104 receives photoacoustic waves and ultrasonic waves from the subject 103, and converts the photoacoustic waves and the ultrasonic waves into photoacoustic signals), the signal processing device comprising:
a switch controller (paragraph [0046], Fig. 1, synchronization control unit 112) that generates a first control signal and a second control signal (paragraph [0028], switching circuit 105 is connected to a synchronization control unit 112, and switches connections between acoustic wave reception units 104 and peripheral circuits correspondingly, in transmitting ultrasonic waves), and provides the first control signal to an optical switch to control directing of the optical signal toward the analyte (paragraph [0064], Fig. 1, 2, control unit 119 transmits instructions for parameters needed for the repetition frequency of the light source 111, the number of times of light irradiation, a light irradiation intensity, the type of wavelength);
an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) that converts the photoacoustic sensor signal into a digital signal (paragraph [0031], Fig. 1, analog-to-digital conversion unit (A/D conversion unit) 107 digitizes the amplified signals);
a selector that classifies the digital signal into the mixed signal based on the second control signal of the switch controller (paragraph [0033], data processing circuit 109 can apply filter processing of different passbands at the time of receiving the photoacoustic signals and at the time of receiving the ultrasonic signals, based on the frequencies of the respective signals), the mixed signal including a photoacoustic signal and first EMI noise (paragraph [0048], when light source 111 emits light, mixing of electromagnetic noise from the light source 111 into wireless communication data of photoacoustic signal data and ultrasonic signal data, see paragraph [0023]); and
a processor that analyzes the mixed signal to estimate information about the photoacoustic signal (paragraph [0033], data processing circuit 109 also converts the ultrasonic signal data into a predetermined format and adds additional information for distinguishing the types of the photoacoustic signal data and the ultrasonic signal data).
The combination of Suzuki and Nakatsuka does not specifically disclose a selector that classifies the digital signal into one of the mixed signal and the second EMI noise based on the second control signal of the switch controller; and a processor that analyzes the mixed signal and the second EMI noise to estimate information about the photoacoustic signal.
Horan discloses a selector that classifies the digital signal into one of the mixed signal and the second EMI noise based on the second control signal of the switch controller (paragraph [0071], Figs. 4-7, acoustic signal from the trap volume 105 is a combination of the ambient noise and a photoacoustic signal and an ambient background noise signal of the control channel 205 wherein the acoustic signal of the control channel 205 is subtracted from the acoustic signal of trap volume 105); and a processor that analyzes the mixed signal and the second EMI noise to estimate information about the photoacoustic signal (paragraph [0085], amplitude and phase of the photoacoustic signal is determined and the acoustic signal of the control channel 205 is subtracted from the acoustic signal of trap volume 105, see paragraph [0071]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the selector as disclosed by the combination of Suzuki and Nakatsuka with the selector as taught by Horan to substantially eliminate the ambient noise and thereby isolate the photoacoustic signal (Horan, paragraph [0071]).
Consider claim 16, Suzuki does not specifically disclose wherein the processor detects the mixed signal and the second EMI noise by dividing each of the mixed signal and the second EMI noise into an x-component and a y-component, and estimates the information about the photoacoustic signal based on a difference between the x-components of the mixed signal and the second EMI noise and a difference between the y-components of the mixed signal and the second EMI noise.
Horan discloses wherein the processor detects the mixed signal and the second EMI noise by dividing each of the mixed signal and the second EMI noise into an x-component and a y-component, and estimates the information about the photoacoustic signal based on a difference between the x-components of the mixed signal and the second EMI noise and a difference between the y-components of the mixed signal and the second EMI noise (paragraph [116], Figs. 45-47, time slicing method may be achieved by binning the amplitude data according to corresponding phase data and averaging over multiple periods).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the processor as disclosed by the combination of Suzuki and Nakatsuka with the processor as taught by Horan to improve signal to noise levels (Horan, paragraph [0116]).
Conclusion
/Gerald Johnson/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797