DETAILED ACTION
1. Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: “blade” should be amended to “blade length”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The recitation in independent claims 1 and 11 of a “first cutter … diameter” is indefinite in view of the specification. Specifically, paragraph [0094] states “disclosed cutter diameters as expressed herein are intended to provide implied disclosure of micro-grooves, being formed therefrom, having radii of curvature on a 1:1 basis with such cutter diameters as measured in the plane of the substrate surface, i.e. the virtual striking face plane”. In view of this context, it is unclear if the claimed “diameter” is referencing the diameter of the mill cutter itself or the implied diameter of the micro-grooves formed by the cutter. Applicant should provide clarity. For examining purposes, the scope will be construed such that the cutter diameter is the implied diameter of the micro-grooves as this appears to comport with paragraph [0094].
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The recitation therein of “the spatial attribute comprising” (open ended) creates an indefinite scope when read with the claim element of claim 1 reciting “the spatial attribute is selected from the group consisting of” (close ended).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 18 recites the limitation "the spatial attribute". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Moreover, the scope of claim 18 is indeterminable as currently written. It is recommended to amend its dependency to claim 13. However, the 112b rejection of claim 8 would then apply. Applicant should amend accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 8 and 18, due to the use of “comprising”, broaden the scope of claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper “functional approach” to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham. Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) “ Obvious to try ” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
5. Claims 1-2, 4-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ripp et al. (US Pub. No. 2014/0206473) in view of Zimmerman et al. (US Pub. No. 2015/0217364)
With respect to claims 1 and 8, Ripp et al. teaches a method of manufacturing a golf club head, the method comprising: (a) providing an intermediate golf club head body that, when oriented in a reference position, comprises a heel portion, a toe portion, a top portion, a sole portion, a rear portion, and a striking face defining a virtual striking face plane; (b) prescribing, for the intermediate golf club head body, a scoreline length value LS based on a spatial attribute of the intermediate golf club head body (inherent to providing scorelines 18 that are USGA compliant and limited to the club’s impact area – paragraph [0079]); (c) texturing a first region 78 of the striking face by surface milling the first region in a first pass using a first cutter, thereby forming a plurality of arcuate micro-grooves 20, the first cutter having a diameter at least .1mm greater than LS (See annotated Fig. 13 below showing a diameter of the microgroove to be substantially larger than the score lines, and thus meeting the limitation of being .1mm greater than LS); (d) texturing a second region of the striking face, subsequent to step (c), by surface milling the second region (i.e. central area) in a second pass using a second cutter (i.e. second pass forms grooves 220 formed by “a similarly shaped milling bit”); and (e) forming a plurality of scorelines 18 in the striking face, the plurality of scorelines defining a scoreline length substantially equal to the prescribed scoreline length value LS (paragraph [0079]).
Regarding the limitation that the spatial attribute is selected from the group consisting of blade length, height of the striking face, striking face surface area, loft, arguably, the club’s impact area is based at least in part on the striking face surface area and blade length since the surface area of the face and blade length contribute to determining the impact area of the club. Notwithstanding, analogous art reference Zimmerman expressly teaches that it is known to adjust scoreline length based on loft (paragraph [0058]). At time of applicant’s effective filing, a person ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select a scoreline length based on loft for the purposes of providing a desired scoreline to toe width. This section of the club can be used for chipping and alignment. Examiner notes claim 8 does not narrow the claim scope and is rejected based on the disclosure set forth above in the rejection of claim 1.
Lastly, after the second pass is made to form second micro grooves 220, there will inherently be an average surface roughness in the second region. Admittedly, this value is not expressly disclosed. However, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), MPEP 2144.05. Here, the golf club of Ripp would perform as intended with the second average surface roughness within the claimed range. Within the art, the surface roughness “allows the golfer to apply more friction to the ball during use, allowing the golfer to put more spin on the ball and have greater control of the ball” – See Golden et al. (US Pub. No. 2009/0318243) at paragraph [0038] cited as an extrinsic reference. Texture of the face can be selected to “enhance playability” Id at paragraph [0039]. There are also limits set forth by regulating bodies as it relates to surface roughness “where impact is intended” Id at paragraph [0039]. At the time of applicant’s filing, one ordinary skilled in the art would have found it obvious to optimally select the surface roughness in the second region, including within the claimed range. The rationale is for the expected purpose of providing optimal playability and desired control for a variety of shots played with a wedge. For shots around the green that don't require much carry or loft, players are known to close the face and hit the ball on the toe of the club – see paragraph [0039] of Golden et al. One ordinary skill in the art recognizes that increased roughness values provide the golfer with more control of the ball for these types of shots due to increased backspin on the ball at impact. Players can control the amount of roll out distance or ‘check’. Surface roughness is desirable for increased control, however, too much roughness will be detrimental in that it will cut up balls due to higher swing speeds of full wedge shots, and run the risk of roughness levels that exceed thresholds allowed by the USGA.
With respect to claim 2, examine considers the drawings of Ripp to show wherein the diameter of the first cutter is at least 1.25mm greater than LS. See annotated Fig. 13D above. Morever, the mere scaling of a prior art invention capable of being scaled up does not establish patentability. See MPEP 2144.04 - In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 1053 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976). In reviewing applicant’s specification, the specification does not provide criticality to the claimed range. Moreover, increasing the diameter of the first cutter would not adversely affect the functionality of the club. A person ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to scale up the first cutter diameter to be at least 1.25 mm greater than LS in view of MPEP 2144.04 - In re Rinehart. The rationale is to provide a desired visual aesthetic of the face of the club and a desired surface roughness profile.
With respect to claim 4, Ripp teaches wherein: the intermediate golf club head body further comprises a striking face vertical peak; and in step (c), the arcuate micro-grooves comprise vertical groove peaks that substantially align laterally with the striking face vertical peak. See annotated Fig. 13.
With respect to claims 5-6, Ripp teaches wherein the first region 78 of the striking face extends peripherally of the second region, wherein the first region of the striking face extends toe-ward of the second region (paragraph [0086]).
With respect to claim 7, Ripp teaches wherein the step (e) of forming a plurality of scorelines occurs subsequent to both step (c) and step (d) (Fig. 13-13A; paragraph [0079]).
With respect to claim 10, in an alternative embodiment, Ripp teaches that it is known to laser-etch a striking face (paragraph [0100]). At time of applicant’s effective filing, a person ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to apply a laser etch to the face of the cited embodiment above (i.e. Fig.’s 13-13D). The rationale to combine is to provide a desired aesthetic to the face (See paragraph [0100]).
6. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ripp et al. (US Pub. No. 2014/0206473) in view of Zimmerman et al. (US Pub. No. 2015/0217364) in view of Sherwood (US Pat. No. 5,388,826).
With respect to claim 9, Ripp teaches wherein: the intermediate golf club head body further comprises a striking face vertical peak; and the plurality of scorelines comprise a heel-most extent and a toe-most extent (Fig.’s 13-13D). Ripp does not expressly disclose wherein the toe-most extent of the plurality of scorelines is laterally spaced no greater than 5mm from the striking face vertical peak. However, analogous art reference Sherwood teaches this feature to be known in the art – Fig. 1 showing 62 (to-end vertical terminus location to which score lines extend to) aligned with plane defining “Dimension “D” … the highest-most elevation of the club head” (column 4, line 67; column 5, lines 1-2, 28-30). At time of applicant’s effective filing, a person ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to combine these features of Sherwood into the iron golf club head of Ripp. The rationale to combine is to utilize a known arrangement for the expected purpose of providing high MOI in the heel toe direction and improved spin control for the impact area.
Double Patenting
8. Claims 1-8, 10-18 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,344,776 in view of Ripp et al. (US Pub. No. 2014/0206473).
With respect to claims 1-3 and 8, patented claims 1 and 4 substantially teach the claim elements. The feature not taught is surface milling first and second regions with arcuate microgrooves using first and second cutters, and the average surface roughness of the second region is no greater than 180 micro inches. However, analogous art reference Ripp teaches this feature to be known in the art (paragraph [0081]). A person ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to combine this teaching of Ripp with the patented golf for the expected purpose of providing a prescribed surface roughness using a known groove forming means. Regarding the surface roughness of the second region, the application of In re Aller - MPEP 2144.05 is applied in the same manner as set forth above in the prior art rejection as the golf club of the patented invention would perform as intended with the second average surface roughness within the claimed range.
As set forth above in the rejection, the features of claims 4-7 and 10 are taught by Ripp. A person ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious in the art to include these features to the patented golf club manufacturing process. The rationale to combine is to texturize the toe region to allow a golfer to hit greenside shots with the toe portion, while also providing “check” to the ball. Laser etching will expectantly provide a desired visual aesthetic. The rationale to form the score lines last is to ensure the scorelines are USGA compliant.
With respect to claims 11, 13 and 18, patented claims 1 and 4 substantially teach the claim elements. The feature not taught is surface milling first and second regions with arcuate microgrooves using first and second cutters. However, analogous art reference Ripp teaches this feature to be known in the art (paragraph [0081]). A person ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to combine this teaching of Ripp with the patented golf for the expected purpose of providing a prescribed surface roughness using a known groove forming means.
With respect to claim 12, and regarding the surface roughness of the second region, the application of In re Aller - MPEP 2144.05 is applied in the same manner as set forth above in the prior art rejection as the golf club of the patented invention would perform as intended with the second average surface roughness within the claimed range.
As set forth above in the rejection, the features of claims 14-17 and 20 are taught by Ripp. A person ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious in the art to include these features to the patented golf club manufacturing process. The rationale to combine is to texturize the toe region to allow a golfer to hit greenside shots with the toe portion, while also providing “check” to the ball. Laser etching will expectantly provide a desired visual aesthetic. The rationale to form the score lines last is to ensure the scorelines are USGA compliant.
9. Claims 9 and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,344,776 in view of Ripp et al. (US Pub. No. 2014/0206473) in view of Sherwood (US Pat. No. 5,388,826).
With respect to claims 9 and 19, The patented golf club teaches wherein: the intermediate golf club head body further comprises a striking face vertical peak; and the plurality of scorelines comprise a heel-most extent and a toe-most extent, but does not expressly disclose wherein the toe-most extent of the plurality of scorelines is laterally spaced no greater than 5mm from the striking face vertical peak. However, analogous art reference Sherwood teaches this feature to be known in the art – Fig. 1 showing 62 (to-end vertical terminus location to which score lines extend to) aligned with plane defining “Dimension “D” … the highest-most elevation of the club head” (column 4, line 67; column 5, lines 1-2, 28-30). At time of applicant’s effective filing, a person ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to combine these features of Sherwood into the iron golf club head of the patented golf club. The rationale to combine is to utilize a known arrangement for the expected purpose of providing high MOI in the heel toe direction and improved spin control for the impact area.
.
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claims 11-20 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action, and upon acceptance of a Terminal Disclaimer obviating the above Double Patenting rejections.
Claim 3 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and upon acceptance of a Terminal Disclaimer obviating the above Double Patenting rejections.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL D DENNIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711