DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 8-10, 12, 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 20210257694 A1).
Re Claim 1, Kim et al. disclose:
An outlet duct system for a vehicle air-cooled battery, the outlet duct system (Fig. 1) comprising:
a first duct (Fig. 1: 30) fluidly connected to a battery assembly (as seen annotated in Fig. 1; Para 0030) disposed under a floor (as seen annotated in Fig. 1) of a vehicle, wherein the first duct is mounted on a top surface of the floor (as seen annotated in Fig. 1); and
a second duct (Fig. 1: 40) configured to receive air from the first duct, wherein the second duct comprises an outlet opening (Fig. 8: 42) configured to discharge air to the floor,
wherein the second duct comprises a surface, in which a plurality of holes are formed (as seen annotated in Fig. 8), adjacent to the outlet opening (as seen annotated in Fig. 8), and
wherein each hole has an opening area less than an opening area of the outlet opening (each hole of the plurality of holes as annotated in Fig. 8 has a smaller opening area than the outlet opening 42).
Figure 1 of Kim et al. (US 20210257694 A1)
Figure 8 of Kim et al. (US 20210257694 A1)
Re Claim 2, Kim et al. disclose:
the plurality of holes comprise a plurality of upper holes provided in a first wall (as seen annotated in Fig. 8), of the second duct, facing away from the floor (the upper holes face upward, facing away from the floor).
Re Claim 8, Kim et al. disclose:
the first duct and the second duct extend in a longitudinal direction of the vehicle (as seen in the annotated Fig. 1),
the first duct extends in a direction from a front of the vehicle toward a rear of the vehicle, and the second duct extends from the first duct toward the rear of the vehicle (as seen by the dashed arrow connecting the first duct to the second duct).
Re Claim 9, Kim et al. disclose:
the first duct comprises a front portion (as seen annotated in Fig. 1) towards a front of the vehicle, and a rear portion (as seen annotated in Fig. 1) towards a rear of the vehicle, and
the front portion of the first duct forms an opening configured to communicate via air flow with the battery assembly (as seen annotated in Fig. 1; Para 0008).
Re Claim 10, Kim et al. disclose:
a noise absorbing material attached to the front portion of the first duct (Fig. 4: 32; Para 0044).
Re Claim 12, Kim et al. disclose:
An outlet duct system for a vehicle air-cooled battery, the outlet duct system (Fig. 1) comprising:
a first duct (Fig. 1: 30) configured to, when mounted on a top surface of a floor of a vehicle (as seen in Fig. 1), provide air to a battery assembly disposed under the floor of the vehicle (as seen in Fig. 1); and
a second duct (Fig. 1: 40), configured to receive air from the first duct, comprising:
an outlet (Fig. 8: 42) forming an opening configured to discharge the air, and
one or more walls (as seen in annotated Fig. 8), adjacent to the opening of the outlet, forming a plurality of holes each having an opening area less than an opening area of the opening of the outlet (each hole of the plurality of holes as annotated in Fig. 8 has a smaller opening area than the outlet opening 42).
Re Claim 17, Kim et al. disclose:
the first duct and the second duct are configured to extend in a longitudinal direction of the vehicle (as seen in the annotated Fig. 1), when the outlet duct system is installed in the vehicle, such that the second duct extends from the first duct toward a rear of the vehicle (as seen by the dashed arrow connecting the first duct to the second duct).
Re Claim 18, Kim et al. disclose:
the first duct comprises a front portion (as seen annotated in Fig. 1) towards a front of the vehicle, and a rear portion (as seen annotated in Fig. 1) towards a rear of the vehicle, and the front portion of the first duct forms an opening configured to communicate via air flow with the battery assembly (as seen annotated in Fig. 1; Para 0008).
Re Claim 19, Kim et al. disclose:
A vehicle (Abstract) comprising:
a battery assembly (Abstract; as seen annotated in Fig. 1; Para 0008) disposed under a floor of the vehicle; and
an outlet duct system (Fig. 1) mounted on a top surface of the floor, the outlet duct system comprising:
a first duct (Fig. 1: 30) fluidly connected to the battery assembly; and
a second duct (Fig. 1: 40) configured to receive air from the first duct, wherein the second duct comprises an outlet opening (Fig. 8: 42) configured to discharge the air to the floor,
wherein the second duct comprises a surface, in which a plurality of holes are formed, adjacent to the outlet opening (as seen annotated in Fig. 8), and
wherein each hole has an opening area less than an opening area of the outlet opening (each hole of the plurality of holes as annotated in Fig. 8 has a smaller opening area than the outlet opening 42).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20210257694 A1) further in view of Smith (US 20110165832 A1).
Re Claim 3 and 13, Kim et al. disclose a second duct comprising a plurality of holes, but does not disclose a second wall comprising a plurality of lower holes facing toward the floor.
Smith, however, disclose that a second duct can include a second wall comprising of a plurality of holes facing toward the floor (as seen annotated in Fig. 2 of Smith; Para 0017).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the second duct, as disclosed by Kim et al., such that a plurality of lower holes is placed on the second duct that faces the floor, as taught by Smith, with a reasonable expectation of success, so that the proper mixing of air flow occurs and effectively cools the electric equipment.
Re Claim 4, Kim et al., disclose the plurality of holes further comprise a plurality of rear holes provided in a portion of the second duct towards a rear of the vehicle (as seen in Fig. 8 of Kim et al.; the rear holes are towards the rear of the vehicle).
Figure 2 of Smith (US 20110165832 A1)
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20210257694 A1) and Smith (US 20110165832 A1) and further in view of Nagamine et al. (JP 2007276668 A).
Re Claim 5 and 15, while Kim et al. and Smith disclose a floor, a first duct and a second duct comprising a plurality of holes provided on the walls, neither Kim et al. not Smith disclose a carpet pad.
Nagamine et al., on the other hand, disclose a carpet pad that covers the floor and the ducts (Fig. 1: 170- carpet pad, 204- first duct, 206- second duct; Para 0032).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the outlet duct system, as disclosed by Kim et al., by adding a carpet pad to cover the top surface of the floor and both ducts, as taught by Nagamine et al., such that it would provide a seamless appearance in the interior of the vehicle, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7, 11, 14, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The reason for the indication of allowable subject matter in claims 6-7 and 16 is the inclusion in the claim of the limitations directed to the gaps between the second duct and the carpet pad and the second duct and the floor. Claim 7 also mentions a set of lower holes on the second duct that faces the floor. Such limitations, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claims, are not disclosed or suggested by the prior art of record. The closest prior art of record, Kim et al., do not teach or suggest the lower holes as claimed. While Kim et al. disclose a plurality of holes on the top surfaces of the second duct, the reference is silent on the inclusion of holes on the bottom surface of the second duct.
The primary reason for the indication of allowable subject matter in claim 11 is the inclusion in the claim of the limitations directed to a ridge portion. Such limitations, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claims, are not disclosed or suggested by the prior art of record. The closest prior art of record, Kim et al., do not teach or suggest the ridge portion as claimed. There is no suggestion or motivation in the prior art to make such a modification to the device of Kim et al.
The primary reason for the indication of allowable subject matter in claim 14 is the inclusion in the claim of the limitations directed to rear wall comprising a plurality of holes facing the rear of the vehicle. Such limitations, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claims, are not disclosed or suggested by the prior art of record. The closest prior art of record, Kim et al., do not teach or suggest the rear wall as claimed. While Kim et al. disclose a set of holes towards the rear portion of the second duct, it does not mention that the rear wall has a plurality of holes.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited references all disclose an outlet duct system for air-cooled battery:
Janarthanam et al. (US 20150060169 A1) disclose an inlet portion above a battery module through which the air is directed through a passageway to a rear array.
Koike et al. (US 20080196957 A1) disclose a battery cooling structure that has an intake duct and an exhaust duct.
/JASMINE JAMES THOMAS/Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/JASON S MORROW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612
September 28, 2026