DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-8, 13-15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim Seongho et al. (KR 10-2650875) in view of Oizumi et al. (US 2017/0127247).
Regarding claim 1, Kim Seongho et al. (KR 10-2650875) teaches a method comprising: determining a time zone to use in a venue/vehicle (i.e., When a user carries an electronic device and moves to another time zone, it is necessary to set a time suitable for the changed location [0005]); setting a time zone field indicating the time zone (i.e., In order to obtain a time zone of a current location, an electronic device in the related art uses a scheme in which a user directly sets a time zone using a graphic user interface [0007]-[0009]); and sending one or more elements comprising the time zone field and the venue mobility field to a Station (STA), wherein the STA is operable to use the time zone according to the time zone field and based on the venue mobility field indicating the venue is mobile (i.e., The time zone service server 290 may receive location information (e.g., latitude and longitude information or address information) from the electronic device 200, and may provide time zone information corresponding to the location information. The time zone information may be information on a time zone actually used at a current location. The time zone service server 290 may construct a database of map data of the world and time zone information for each location, and may provide the time zone information corresponding to the location information to the electronic device 200 requesting a service [corresponding to a device automatically updates its clock (time zone) when user travels to a new place] [0049], [0053]-[0055], [0079]-[0080]).
Kim teaches the time zone is changed by the movement of the electronic device [0008]). Kim does not show what device in the venue that communicates with electronic device. More specifically, Kim fails to teach setting a venue mobility field indicating the venue is mobile.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Oizumi teaches a base station, which is installed in an aircraft and is capable of communicating with a terminal, comprises a wireless communication component that can be connected to the terminal, and a controller that controls the wireless communication component. The controller acquires regional information indicating at least the destination of the aircraft, determines time zone information corresponding to regional information, produces a time correction instruction according to the time zone information, and transmits the time correction instruction through the wireless communication component to the terminal ([abstr.], [0008]-[0011]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the aircraft-based station taught by Oizumi within the system of Kim in order to automatically update a passenger's terminal device (like a smartphone or smartwatch) to the correct destination time zone while in flight.
Regarding claim 6, Kim Seongho in view of Oizumi teaches all the limitations above. Oizumi further teaches the venue mobility field is a single bit (i.e., Thus, few bits of information need to be sent from base station 100 to the terminal 200 [0063]); setting the venue mobility field to a first value indicates the venue is mobile (i.e., the cruising altitude of the aircraft 1 is raised along with a cruising speed. At the same time, the aircraft moves away from the departure region [0109]); and setting the venue mobility field to a second value indicates the venue is not mobile (i.e., the aircraft considers its speed as condition for correcting the terminal time zone [0111]-[0116]).
Regarding claim 7, Kim Seongho in view of Oizumi teaches all the limitations above. Oizumi further teaches setting a time advertisement element in the one or more elements to a null value (i.e., the base station 100 individually instructs terminal 200 to correct the time set on the terminal. More specifically, the base station 100 sends each terminal 200 connected to the base station 100 an IE (information element) defined by the NITZ (network identify and time zone) [0036]).
Regarding claim 8, Kim Seongho et al. (KR 10-2650875) teaches system comprising: a memory storage (typical in communication devices); and a processing unit coupled to the memory storage (typical in communication devices), wherein the processing unit is operative to: determine a time zone to use in a venue/vehicle (i.e., When a user carries an electronic device and moves to another time zone, it is necessary to set a time suitable for the changed location [0005]); set a time zone field indicating the time zone (i.e., In order to obtain a time zone of a current location, an electronic device in the related art uses a scheme in which a user directly sets a time zone using a graphic user interface [0007]-[0009]); and send one or more elements comprising the time zone field and the venue mobility field to a Station (STA), wherein the STA is operable to use the time zone according to the time zone field and based on the venue mobility field indicating the venue is mobile (i.e., The time zone service server 290 may receive location information (e.g., latitude and longitude information or address information) from the electronic device 200, and may provide time zone information corresponding to the location information. The time zone information may be information on a time zone actually used at a current location. The time zone service server 290 may construct a database of map data of the world and time zone information for each location, and may provide the time zone information corresponding to the location information to the electronic device 200 requesting a service [corresponding to a device automatically updates its clock (time zone) when user travels to a new place] [0049], [0053]-[0055], [0079]-[0080]).
Kim teaches the time zone is changed by the movement of the electronic device [0008]). Kim does not show what device in the venue that communicates with electronic device. More specifically, Kim fails to teach set a venue mobility field indicating the venue is mobile.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Oizumi teaches a base station, which is installed in an aircraft and is capable of communicating with a terminal, comprises a wireless communication component that can be connected to the terminal, and a controller that controls the wireless communication component. The controller acquires regional information indicating at least the destination of the aircraft, determines time zone information corresponding to regional information, produces a time correction instruction according to the time zone information, and transmits the time correction instruction through the wireless communication component to the terminal ([abstr.], [0008]-[0011]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the aircraft-based station taught by Oizumi within the system of Kim in order to automatically update a passenger's terminal device (like a smartphone or smartwatch) to the correct destination time zone while in flight.
Regarding claim 13, Kim Seongho in view of Oizumi teaches all the limitations above. Oizumi further teaches the venue mobility field is a single bit (i.e., Thus, few bits of information need to be sent from base station 100 to the terminal 200 [0063]); setting the venue mobility field to a first value indicates the venue is mobile (i.e., the cruising altitude of the aircraft 1 is raised along with a cruising speed. At the same time, the aircraft moves away from the departure region [0109]); and setting the venue mobility field to a second value indicates the venue is not mobile (i.e., the aircraft considers its speed as condition for correcting the terminal time zone [0111]-[0116]).
Regarding claim 14, Kim Seongho in view of Oizumi teaches all the limitations above. Oizumi further teaches setting a time advertisement element in the one or more elements to a null value (i.e., the base station 100 individually instructs terminal 200 to correct the time set on the terminal. More specifically, the base station 100 sends each terminal 200 connected to the base station 100 an IE (information element) defined by the NITZ (network identify and time zone) [0036]).
Regarding claim 15, Kim Seongho et al. (KR 10-2650875) teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium that stores a set of instructions which when executed perform a method executed by the set of instructions (typical features in communication devices) comprising: determining a time zone to use in a venue/vehicle (i.e., When a user carries an electronic device and moves to another time zone, it is necessary to set a time suitable for the changed location [0005]); setting a time zone field indicating the time zone (i.e., In order to obtain a time zone of a current location, an electronic device in the related art uses a scheme in which a user directly sets a time zone using a graphic user interface [0007]-[0009]); and sending one or more elements comprising the time zone field and the venue mobility field to a Station (STA), wherein the STA is operable to use the time zone according to the time zone field and based on the venue mobility field indicating the venue is mobile (i.e., The time zone service server 290 may receive location information (e.g., latitude and longitude information or address information) from the electronic device 200, and may provide time zone information corresponding to the location information. The time zone information may be information on a time zone actually used at a current location. The time zone service server 290 may construct a database of map data of the world and time zone information for each location, and may provide the time zone information corresponding to the location information to the electronic device 200 requesting a service [corresponding to a device automatically updates its clock (time zone) when user travels to a new place] [0049], [0053]-[0055], [0079]-[0080]).
Kim teaches the time zone is changed by the movement of the electronic device [0008]). Kim does not show what device in the venue that communicates with electronic device. More specifically, Kim fails to teach setting a venue mobility field indicating the venue is mobile.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Oizumi teaches a base station, which is installed in an aircraft and is capable of communicating with a terminal, comprises a wireless communication component that can be connected to the terminal, and a controller that controls the wireless communication component. The controller acquires regional information indicating at least the destination of the aircraft, determines time zone information corresponding to regional information, produces a time correction instruction according to the time zone information, and transmits the time correction instruction through the wireless communication component to the terminal ([abstr.], [0008]-[0011]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the aircraft-based station taught by Oizumi within the system of Kim in order to automatically update a passenger's terminal device (like a smartphone or smartwatch) to the correct destination time zone while in flight.
Regarding claim 20, Kim Seongho in view of Oizumi teaches all the limitations above. Oizumi further teaches the venue mobility field is a single bit (i.e., Thus, few bits of information need to be sent from base station 100 to the terminal 200 [0063]); setting the venue mobility field to a first value indicates the venue is mobile (i.e., the cruising altitude of the aircraft 1 is raised along with a cruising speed. At the same time, the aircraft moves away from the departure region [0109]); and setting the venue mobility field to a second value indicates the venue is not mobile (i.e., the aircraft considers its speed as condition for correcting the terminal time zone [0111]-[0116]).
Claims 2-5, 9-12, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim Seongho et al. (KR 10-2650875) in view of Oizumi et al. (US 2017/0127247) further in view of Salinpa et al. (CN101009930A).
Regarding claim 2, Kim Seongho in view of Oizumi teaches all the limitations above except setting a service provider privacy field to indicate service providers cannot collect information, wherein the one or more elements further comprise the service provider privacy field.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Salinpa teaches a method of controlling information provided to a user from at least one information provider in a telecommunications network, the network having identification information defining at least one type of information that can be provided to the user, the method comprising the steps of: determining a type of information that an information provider plans to provide to the user; and if the information provided by the plan can be provided to the user, using the identification information and the determined information type for control ([0019]). The GMLC uses the client identifier to mask unwanted service providers, thereby blocking location requests from service providers that are not authenticated by the GMLC operator ([0046]-[0047]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Salinpa within the system of Seonghi and Oizumi in order to block malicious content or phishing sites before the reach the user’s device.
Regarding claim 3, Kim Seongho in view of Oizumi further in view of Salinpa teaches all the limitations above. Kim further teaches a time zone element, the time zone element comprising the time zone field, the venue mobility field, and the service provider privacy field ([0082]-[0085]).
Regarding claim 4, Kim Seongho in view of Oizumi further in view of Salinpa teaches all the limitations above. Kim further teaches a time zone element, the time zone element comprising the time zone field; and a mobility and privacy element, the mobility and privacy element comprising the venue mobility field and the service provider privacy field ([0082]-[0085]).
Regarding claim 5, Kim Seongho in view of Oizumi further in view of Salinpa teaches all the limitations above. Oizumi further teaches the service provider privacy field is a single bit (i.e., few bits of information need to be sent from the base station 100 to the terminal 200 [0063]); setting the service provider privacy field to a first value indicates service providers cannot collect information (i.e., few bits of information need to be sent from the base station 100 to the terminal 200 [0063]); and setting the service provider privacy field to a second value indicates service providers can collect information (i.e., the base station 100 sends to the terminal 200 is the time zone of the destination (including the Daylight Saving Time adjustment). Specifically, base station 100 does not need to send the terminal 200 detailed time information, such as information about the hours, minutes, and seconds of world standard time. Thus, few bits of information need to be sent from base station 100 to the terminal 200 [0063], [0076]).
Regarding claim 9, Kim Seongho in view of Oizumi teaches all the limitations above except setting a service provider privacy field to indicate service providers cannot collect information, wherein the one or more elements further comprise the service provider privacy field.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Salinpa teaches a method of controlling information provided to a user from at least one information provider in a telecommunications network, the network having identification information defining at least one type of information that can be provided to the user, the method comprising the steps of: determining a type of information that an information provider plans to provide to the user; and if the information provided by the plan can be provided to the user, using the identification information and the determined information type for control ([0019]). The GMLC uses the client identifier to mask unwanted service providers, thereby blocking location requests from service providers that are not authenticated by the GMLC operator ([0046]-[0047]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Salinpa within the system of Seonghi and Oizumi in order to block malicious content or phishing sites before the reach the user’s device.
Regarding claim 10, Kim Seongho in view of Oizumi further in view of Salinpa teaches all the limitations above. Kim further teaches a time zone element, the time zone element comprising the time zone field, the venue mobility field, and the service provider privacy field ([0082]-[0085]).
Regarding claim 11, Kim Seongho in view of Oizumi further in view of Salinpa teaches all the limitations above. Kim further teaches a time zone element, the time zone element comprising the time zone field; and a mobility and privacy element, the mobility and privacy element comprising the venue mobility field and the service provider privacy field ([0082]-[0085]).
Regarding claim 12, Kim Seongho in view of Oizumi further in view of Salinpa teaches all the limitations above. Oizumi further teaches the service provider privacy field is a single bit (i.e., few bits of information need to be sent from the base station 100 to the terminal 200 [0063]); set the service provider privacy field to a first value indicates service providers cannot collect information (i.e., few bits of information need to be sent from the base station 100 to the terminal 200 [0063]); and set the service provider privacy field to a second value indicates service providers can collect information (i.e., the base station 100 sends to the terminal 200 is the time zone of the destination (including the Daylight Saving Time adjustment). Specifically, base station 100 does not need to send the terminal 200 detailed time information, such as information about the hours, minutes, and seconds of world standard time. Thus, few bits of information need to be sent from base station 100 to the terminal 200 [0063], [0076]).
Regarding claim 16, Kim Seongho in view of Oizumi teaches all the limitations above except setting a service provider privacy field to indicate service providers cannot collect information, wherein the one or more elements further comprise the service provider privacy field.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Salinpa teaches a method of controlling information provided to a user from at least one information provider in a telecommunications network, the network having identification information defining at least one type of information that can be provided to the user, the method comprising the steps of: determining a type of information that an information provider plans to provide to the user; and if the information provided by the plan can be provided to the user, using the identification information and the determined information type for control ([0019]). The GMLC uses the client identifier to mask unwanted service providers, thereby blocking location requests from service providers that are not authenticated by the GMLC operator ([0046]-[0047]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Salinpa within the system of Seonghi and Oizumi in order to block malicious content or phishing sites before the reach the user’s device.
Regarding claim 17, Kim Seongho in view of Oizumi further in view of Salinpa teaches all the limitations above. Kim further teaches a time zone element, the time zone element comprising the time zone field, the venue mobility field, and the service provider privacy field ([0082]-[0085]).
Regarding claim 18, Kim Seongho in view of Oizumi further in view of Salinpa teaches all the limitations above. Kim further teaches a time zone element, the time zone element comprising the time zone field; and a mobility and privacy element, the mobility and privacy element comprising the venue mobility field and the service provider privacy field ([0082]-[0085]).
Regarding claim 19, Kim Seongho in view of Oizumi further in view of Salinpa teaches all the limitations above. Oizumi further teaches the service provider privacy field is a single bit (i.e., few bits of information need to be sent from the base station 100 to the terminal 200 [0063]); setting the service provider privacy field to a first value indicates service providers cannot collect information (i.e., few bits of information need to be sent from the base station 100 to the terminal 200 [0063]); and setting the service provider privacy field to a second value indicates service providers can collect information (i.e., the base station 100 sends to the terminal 200 is the time zone of the destination (including the Daylight Saving Time adjustment). Specifically, base station 100 does not need to send the terminal 200 detailed time information, such as information about the hours, minutes, and seconds of world standard time. Thus, few bits of information need to be sent from base station 100 to the terminal 200 [0063], [0076]).
Conclusion
/JEAN A GELIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643