CTNF 18/937,789 CTNF 82253 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shimizu (USPGPUB 2018/0072084) . Regarding claim 1, Shimizu discloses a sheet processing apparatus comprising: a binder (26) to bind a sheet bundle of multiple sheet media including a sheet medium conveyed to the binder in a conveyance direction (see paragraph [0110]); a mover to move the binder in an orthogonal direction orthogonal to the conveyance direction (see paragraph [0105]); and a posture changer (42,42x,43,43x) to change a posture of the binder that faces the sheet bundle, according to a change in a relative position between the posture changer and the binder in the orthogonal direction by a movement of the binder in the orthogonal direction (see Figure 8). Regarding claim 2, Shimizu discloses the sheet processing apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising multiple binders including the binder, wherein the mover moves each of the multiple binders (26,27) including a first binder (26 or 27 or Mp(26)) and a second binder (27 or 26 or Mp(26)), and the posture changer is disposed between the first binder and the second binder in the orthogonal direction by the movement of the first binder and the second binder (see Figure 5). Regarding claim 3, Shimizu discloses the sheet processing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the posture changer moves with the first binder in the orthogonal direction to change the relative position between the first binder and the second binder to change the posture of each of the multiple binders (see paragraph [0168] and Figure 5). Regarding claim 4, Shimizu discloses the sheet processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the posture changer is configured to adjust a degree of change of the posture according to a contact position of the posture changer contacting with the second binder (see Figures 5 and 8). Regarding claim 6, Shimizu discloses the sheet processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the posture changer is configured to: change the posture from a first posture to a second posture when a direction of a movement of the posture changer relative to the binder is a first direction (see paragraph [0168] and Figure 8); and change the posture from the second posture to the first posture when the direction of the movement of the posture changer relative to the binder is a second direction that is opposite to the first direction (see paragraph [0168] and Figure 8). Regarding claim 7, Shimizu discloses the sheet processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the posture changer is configured to change a position at which the binder starts changing the posture (see Figure 8). Regarding claim 8, Shimizu discloses the sheet processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the posture changer changes the relative position between the posture changer and the binder in an area outside a binding area of the binder to bind the sheet bundle to change the posture of the binder (see Figure 5). Regarding claim 9, Shimizu discloses the sheet processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the posture changer includes a cam mechanism (43,43x) to rotate the binder. Regarding claim 10, Shimizu discloses an image forming apparatus comprising: a housing (see Figure 1); an image forming device (A) included in the housing to form an image on a sheet medium; and the sheet processing apparatus according to claim 1, detachably attached to the housing to bind a sheet bundle including sheet media, on each sheet medium of which the image is formed by the image forming device (see paragraph [0072]). Regarding claim 11, Shimizu discloses an image forming system comprising: an image forming apparatus (A) to form an image on a sheet medium; and the sheet processing apparatus according to claim 1 coupled to the image forming apparatus (see Figure 1) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: dependent claim 5 discloses: “multiple binders including the binder; and a posture adjuster to adjust a position of the posture changer in the sheet processing apparatus in the orthogonal direction, wherein the mover moves each of the multiple binders, and the posture changer changes a posture of one of the multiple binders according to a relative position between the posture changer, the position of which is adjusted by the posture changer, and one of the multiple binders” which, in combination with the rest of the claim language, teaches an apparatus that is novel over the prior art of record . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MICHAEL COLLINS whose telephone number is (571)272-8970. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jacob Scott can be reached at (571) 270-3415. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. M.K.C. 5/19/2026 /MICHAEL COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655 Application/Control Number: 18/937,789 Page 2 Art Unit: 3655 Application/Control Number: 18/937,789 Page 3 Art Unit: 3655 Application/Control Number: 18/937,789 Page 4 Art Unit: 3655 Application/Control Number: 18/937,789 Page 5 Art Unit: 3655