DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species A in the reply filed on 20 January 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the species only differ in shape with no difference in form and function. This argument was found persuasive by the examiner and the species is hereby withdrawn.
The election of invention I including claims 1-16 is hereby acknowledged.
Accordingly, claims 1-16 are currently pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 05 November 2024 and 10 February 2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by U.S. Patent 2,328,247 issued to Alexander (Alexander).
Regarding claim 1, Alexander discloses an apparatus for use in a downhole process (See Figures, clearly illustrated), comprising: a body (15) configured to be removably received in a corresponding recess (11) of a perforation gun system (See Figures, clearly illustrated); a propellant chamber (25) defined in the body (See Figures, clearly illustrated); a projectile chamber (Element 24, contains element 34 as shown in Figure 1) defined in the body and positioned in the body above, and in communication with, the propellant chamber (See Figures, clearly illustrated); a barrel (24) defined in the body and positioned in the body above, and in communication with, the projectile chamber (See Figures, clearly illustrated); and a muzzle defined in the body and positioned in the body above, and in communication with, the barrel (24 at element 51, See Figures, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 2, Alexander further discloses wherein the body defines an ignition jack (37) that communicates with the projectile chamber (See Figures, clearly illustrate).
Regarding claim 3, Alexander further discloses wherein an inside diameter of the projectile chamber corresponds to a caliber of an associated projectile (See Figures, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 4, Alexander further discloses wherein the body has a generally cylindrical configuration (See Figures, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 5, Alexander further discloses wherein the body is made of a single piece of metal (See Figures, clearly illustrated and at least Page 2 Left Column Lines 46-58).
Regarding claim 6, Alexander further discloses wherein the propellant chamber comprises a nozzle that opens into the projectile chamber (Generally indicated by reference numerals 27, 29, and 30, See Figures, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 8, Alexander further discloses wherein an inside diameter of the barrel is smaller than an inside diameter of the propellant chamber (See Figures, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 9, Alexander further discloses wherein structural integrity of the body is retained after a projectile has been fired from the apparatus (See entire disclosure, noted throughout “increased durability”).
Regarding claim 10, Alexander further discloses wherein the projectile chamber is configured to accommodate projectiles of different respective calibers (Understood, sabot projectiles can be used).
Regarding claim 11, Alexander further discloses wherein the apparatus is configured to accommodate a projectile and an ignition conductor that interfaces with the projectile from outside the body (See Figures, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 12, Alexander further discloses wherein the body is configured to withstand internal pressures up to 100,000 psi when firing a projectile, while retaining its structural integrity during and after the firing (See entire disclosure, noted throughout “increased strength and durability”).
Regarding claim 13, Alexander further discloses wherein a length of the body is in a range of 1.5" to 4" (See at least Page 2 Left Column Lines 7-45).
Regarding claim 14, Alexander further discloses wherein after a projectile has been fired from the apparatus, the apparatus is reusable to fire another projectile (Understood).
Regarding claim 15, Alexander further discloses wherein the body defines a nozzle that is positioned between, and communicates with, the propellant chamber and the projectile chamber (Around elements 27-32, See Figures, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 16, Alexander further discloses wherein the nozzle has a first end (27) and a second end (30), and the first end has a larger diameter than a diameter of the second end (See Figures, clearly illustrated), and the first end is adjacent to the propellant chamber, and the second end is adjacent to the projectile chamber (See Figures, clearly illustrated).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alexander in view of U.S. Patent 2,212,044 issued to Ridley (Ridley).
Regarding claim 7, Alexander does not disclose that the barrel is rifled.
Ridley, a related prior art reference, discloses wherein the barrel is rifled (“rifled bores 25”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the noted teachings of Alexander with the noted teachings of Ridley. The suggestion/ motivation for doing so would have been to impart spin and increase accuracy of the projectiles as is known in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892 Form for a listing of applicable prior art references.
/Jonathan C Weber/Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 3641
JONATHAN C. WEBER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3641