DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, 8-9, 13-17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moriyama et al. (US 20230108074)
Regarding claims 1, 13, and 16-17, Moriyama discloses a vehicle panel arrangement comprising: an inner panel (11) having an outer surface (outer surface of 11, fig 5A) and an inner surface (inner surface of 11, fig 5B) forming a portion of a vehicle closure panel (1) (figs 1-5); a plurality of load point areas (area around 110, fig 4, figs 5A) formed on the outer surface of the inner panel (fig 4 , 5A); a plurality of local reinforcements (110) connected to the outer surface of the inner panel (figs 4, 5A), each one of the plurality of local reinforcements covers a respective one of the plurality of load point areas such that when a force is applied to said plurality of load point areas, the force is distributed through the plurality of local reinforcements to the inner panel (figs 4, A); a continuous reinforcement (111a) in contact with the inner panel (figs 5a-b) and in contact with at least two locations on a vehicle body structure (12) ([0056], fig 7), wherein loads applied to said inner panel or to the continuous reinforcement are transferred across the continuous reinforcement to the vehicle body structure (figs 1-5, [0022]); an exterior panel (10) with an inside surface connected to the inner panel and at least partially covering the plurality of local reinforcements (figs 1-8), and a plurality of molded bulkheads (112) formed on and extending from the outer surface of the inner panel (fig 7), where in each of the plurality of molded bulkheads has a shelf portion (112a) at a distal end that is in contact with and bonded to the inside surface of the exterior panel ([0059], fig 7).
Regarding claim 4, Moriyama further discloses that at least one of the plurality of molded bulkheads extends between two peripheral edges (left and right edge of 110, fig ) of the inner panel (figs 1-7).
Regarding claim 5, Moriyama further discloses a plurality of ribs (111b) formed on and extending from the outer surface of the inner panel (figs 1-7), wherein one or more of the plurality of ribs are in contact with a respective one of the plurality of load point areas (figs1-7).
Regarding claim 6, Moriyama further discloses that at least one of the plurality of molded bulkheads has an edge that contacts one of the plurality of groups of ribs (fig 7).
Regarding claims 8 and 14, Moriyama further discloses that the vehicle panel arrangement is a horizontal or vertical panel for a vehicle (fig 1 ,abstract, [0001]-[0002]).
Regarding claims 9, 15, and 20 Moriyama further discloses that the vehicle panel arrangement is one selected from a group consisting of a frunk, a sliding side door, a trunk closure, a hood, a side door and a portion of a vehicle roof (fig 1 ,abstract, [0001]-[0002]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moriyama et al. (US 20230108074) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tichy et al. (US 20200009949).
Regarding claim 7, Moriyama is silent regarding the fact that each shelf of the plurality of molded bulkheads is connected to the exterior panel by an infrared welding.
Tichy teaches the use of infrared welding to connect components of a door (abstract)
Before the effective filling date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Moriyama and Tichy before him or her, to modify the apparatus/method disclosed by Moriyama to include connecting components using infrared welding as taught by Tichy in order to create vehicle part that provide sufficient strength, yet maintains or presents a desirable “Class-A” finish ([0006])
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 10-12, 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DANY E AKAKPO/Examiner, Art Unit 3672
10/02/2026