DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A, Figs 1-4, Claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 10/07/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “160A” and “160B” in paragraph [0037]. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “42” in Figure 2. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: in the specification, [0028], line 12, “102” should be changed to --108--; and [0032], line 2, “106B” should be changed to --106A--. Also, in paragraph [0037], reference numeral “164” is described as a rib being disposed on the interior surface of the bushing body 160 which has a bushing opening 162. However, Figure 1 shows element “164” which is more like a recess or a groove disposed on an exterior surface of the bushing body 160, no rib disposed in the bushing opening 162.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bawa et al. (5321205).
Bawa et al. discloses a cable gland assembly (10) comprising: a hub body (12) having a first end (30) configured to threadedly couple to a structure and a second end (28) opposite the first end, wherein an exterior portion of the second end of the hub body includes a multistart threaded portion (Fig. 2, col. 2 line 51) the hub body defining an internal passage; an intermediate body (16) extending along an axis, the intermediate body having a first end (42) and a second end (44), the intermediate body defining an internal passage that is configured to receive a cable, the first end of the intermediate body is disposed within the internal passage of the hub body, the second end extending axially past the second end of the hub body (Fig. 4), the second end further having an annular projection (17) disposed around a first exterior portion of the second end of the intermediate body proximate to the second end of the hub body, the second end further having external threads (Fig. 2) extending axially past the annular projection along a second exterior portion of the intermediate body; a union nut (18) having a first end and a second end opposite the first end, the union nut defining an internal passage that receives the intermediate body and the second end of the hub body, the first end of the union nut threadedly engages the multistart threaded portion of the hub body (Fig. 4), the second end of the union nut having a shoulder (18a) that abuts against the annular projection of the intermediate body (Fig. 4), wherein tightening the union nut along the multistart threaded portion of the hub body secures the intermediate body in the internal passage of the hub body; and a gland nut (26) having a first end and a second end opposite the first end, the gland nut defining an internal passage configured to receive the cable, the first end of the gland nut threadedly engages the external threads of the second end of the intimidate body (Fig. 4), the second end of the gland nut having a shoulder (26a, col. 3 lines 15-16) (re-claim 1).
Bawa et al. also discloses that the multistart threaded portions of the hub body (12) and union nut (18) tighten or loosen in one or fewer turns (Fig. 4) (re-claim 2); a bushing (22) disposed within the gland nut, the bushing having a first end and a second end opposite the first end, wherein the second end of the bushing abuts the gland nut shoulder (re-claim 3); and a washer (24) disposed within the gland nut, the washer having a first side and a second side opposite the first side, wherein the second side of the washer (24) abuts the second end of the bushing (22) (Fig. 4) (re-claim 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bawa et al.
Bawa et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for the trade size, sealing range, and corner width. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose suitable trade size, sealing range, and corner width for the cable gland assembly of Bawa et al. to meet the end use thereof since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bawa et al. in view of Bawa et al. (4549037, Bawa ‘037).
Bawa et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed including a sealing compound (69) in the assembly, and the intermediate body (16) including a chamber in the first end. Bawa et al., however, does not disclose the sealing compound (69) being received in the intermediate body chamber. Bawa ‘037 discloses a cable gland assembly comprising an intermediate body (22) having a chamber therein for receiving a sealing compound (15, Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Bawa et al. to have the compound (69) received in the chamber of the intermediate body (i.e., remove tape 59 and allow sealing compound 69 to be receiving in the intermediate body chamber, as taught by Bawa’037 to improve the sealing thereof, not only sealing the conductors, but also sealing the cable sheath (64).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact Information
/CHAU N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841