DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Specifically, in claim 16, the phrase “the self-cleaning apparatus” lacks antecedent basis in the claims; claim 16 depends from claim 15, which claims a ‘cleaning apparatus’ rather than a ‘self-cleaning apparatus’; the claim will be treated assuming that claim 16 requires a ‘cleaning apparatus’; appropriate correction is required.
Specifically, in claim 20, the phrase “the curved cleaning apparatus” lacks antecedent basis in the claims; claim 20 depends from claim 15, which claims a ‘cleaning apparatus’ rather than a ‘curved cleaning apparatus’; the claim will be treated assuming that claim 20 requires a ‘cleaning apparatus’; appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-13, 15-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Waddell (US 2016/0175852).
Regarding claim 1, Waddell discloses a self-cleaning ion generator device, comprising: a housing defining a volume therein (12 & 14; Paragraph [0036]); at least one ion terminal assembly having a first portion and a second portion (42 & 52; Paragraph [0047]); and a cleaning apparatus (58 & 66; Paragraph [0048-0049]).
Regarding claim 2, Waddell further discloses wherein the cleaning apparatus contains a rib (58; Paragraph [0048-0049]).
Regarding claim 3, Waddell further discloses at least one bore disposed within the housing (50; Paragraph [0044]).
Regarding claim 4, Waddell further discloses two bores disposed within the housing and two ion terminal assemblies (50; Paragraph [0044]).
Regarding claim 6, Waddell further discloses wherein the self-cleaning ion generator device is configured to initiate an internal check for determining that various components of the self-cleaning ion generator device are operational (Paragraph [0053]).
Regarding claim 7, Waddell further discloses wherein the ion terminal assembly includes an ion terminal, an ion terminal securing device, and an attachment device (52 & 54 & 36; Paragraph [0047]).
Regarding claim 8, Waddell further discloses wherein the ion terminal assembly is selectively secured to the housing (Paragraph [0047]).
Regarding claim 9, Waddell further discloses wherein the cleaning apparatus is t-shaped (58; Paragraph [0049]).
Regarding claim 10, Waddell further discloses wherein a motor positioned within the housing and engaged to the cleaning apparatus (56; Paragraph [0048]).
Regarding claim 11, Waddell discloses a self-cleaning ion generator device, comprising: a housing defining a volume therein (12 & 14; Paragraph [0036]); two bores disposed within the housing (50; Paragraph [0044]); and two ion terminal assemblies having a first portion and a second portion (42 & 52; Paragraph [0047]); and a cleaning apparatus (58 & 66; Paragraph [0048-0049]).
Regarding claim 12, Waddell further discloses wherein the ion terminal assemblies comprise an ion terminal, an ion terminal securing device, and an attachment device (52 & 54 & 36; Paragraph [0047]), wherein the ion terminal includes a high voltage wire engaged to a brush with electrically conductive bristles for emitting ions (Paragraph [0044]).
Regarding claim 13, Waddell further discloses wherein the ion terminal assemblies comprise an ion terminal, an ion terminal securing device, and an attachment device (52 & 54 & 36; Paragraph [0047]), wherein the ion terminal includes an electrode for emitting ions (Paragraph [0044]).
Regarding claim 15, Waddell discloses a self-cleaning ion generator device, comprising: a housing defining a volume therein (12 & 14; Paragraph [0036]); two ion terminal assemblies that include an ion terminal, an ion terminal securing device, and an attachment device (52 & 54 & 36; Paragraph [0047]), wherein the ion terminal assemblies emit ions (Paragraph [0044]); and a cleaning apparatus (58 & 66; Paragraph [0048-0049]).
Regarding claim 16, Waddell further discloses wherein the cleaning apparatus contains a rib (58; Paragraph [0048-0049]).
Regarding claim 17, Waddell further discloses at least one retention flange (42; Paragraph [0052]).
Regarding claim 19, Waddell further discloses wherein the self-cleaning ion generator device is configured to initiate an internal check for determining that various components of the self-cleaning ion generator device are operational (Paragraph [0053]).
Regarding claim 20, Waddell further discloses a motor positioned within the housing and engaged to the cleaning apparatus and a timing circuit for activating the cleaning apparatus at a predetermined interval (56; Paragraph [0040, 0048]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 14, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Specifically, in claims 5, 14, and 18, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest the requirement wherein the cleaning apparatus includes a horizontal portion and a vertical portion containing a hollow shaft.
/Anne M Hines/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2879