DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the ‘a flange attached to each wall”, “hinge” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: it is unclear what the applicant intends in the recitation of ”impenetrable stainless steel” as nothing is impenetrable as evidenced by the necessity to form and cut materials of which the invention is made. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 1-12 are objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “characterized in that” serves to confuse rather than clarify that the applicant requires.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 (claims 2-12 by dependency) is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “safety device”. There is no antecedent basis for the independent claim. A claim listing should begin with “A safety device” and each subsequent occurrence clear that there is only one invention per application as required 35 USC
Claim 1 recites the limitation "walls" in line 2, "the edge" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 1, it is unclear how “a flange attached to the top of each wall”. As best understood there are three walls but two flanges. It is unclear what the applicant requires concerning walls and flanges each wall.
Regarding claim 9, “ a hinge” is claimed, however no structure of a hinge is shown or claimed by the applicant. It is unclear what the applicant requires to satisfy the recitation of hinge without some structure that accomplishes a hinge. For purposes of examination the recitation will be broadly interpreted until otherwise clarified by the applicant.
Regarding claim 12, "can be" is indefinite, because it is susceptible to more than one plausible construction. It is unclear whether the limitation refers to a capability that is required to be present in the invention or whether it refers to a system capability that is a mere possibility that is not required.
In view of the rejections above under 35 USC § 112, the claims referred to in any and all rejections below are rejected as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Womacks (US 8,403,022) in view of Singleton (US 2014/0182795).
Regarding claim 1, Womacks discloses safety device for garage doors of the type comprising a housing (300) with a base and walls (304,308) to protect an emergency trigger from an opening mechanism, where the base of the housing includes an opening, characterized by also comprising at least: a flange attached to the top edge of each wall, where the joint is flexible allowing the flange to rotate around the joint and adjust its opening with respect to the housing.
Womacks does not disclose: a magnetic element attached to each flange.
Singleton teaches and a magnetic element attached to each flange for the purpose of using permanent magnets and/or hook and loop strips are used to removably affix the cover.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Womacks with a magnetic element attached to a flange as taught by Singleton for the expected benefit of using permanent magnets and/or hook and loop strips are used to removably affix the cover.
Regarding claim 2, Womacks as modified by Singleton discloses safety device for garage doors according to claim 1, characterized in that its shape is a hollow parallelepiped with two side walls (310,314; Womacks) joined by means of the base (306; Womacks) and a front wall (308; Womacks), where each side wall has a flange (326; Womacks) with a magnetic element (18; Singleton).
Regarding claim 3, Womacks as modified by Singleton discloses safety device for garage doors according to claim 1, characterized in that the flexible connection between each flange and each wall is a longitudinal joint (Fig.3B; Womacks).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Womacks, Singleton, and Shepard discloses Safety device for garage doors according to claim 1, characterized in that the flanges (326, 3A and 3B; Womacks) include protruding extensions at perpendicular angles that form claw-shaped edges (Fig. 3A; Womacks).
Regarding claim 10, Womacks as modified by Singleton discloses safety device for garage doors according to claim 1, characterized in that the magnetic element (18; Singleton) of each flange is located on the flange.
Womacks as modified by Singleton discloses the claimed invention except for the magnetic element of each flange is located in the center of each flange.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to specify the magnetic element of each flange is located in the center of each flange, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 11, Womacks as modified by Singleton safety device for garage doors according to claim 1, characterized by a plurality of magnetic elements (18; Singleton) being distributed along each flange (Fig.4 and 5; Singleton).
Regarding claim 12, Womacks as modified by Singleton safety device for garage doors according to claim 1, characterized in that the position of each magnetic element is adjustable and can be slid to change position (Abstract, removable fixed).
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Womacks (US 8,403,022) in view of Singleton (US 2014/0182795) further inview of Mello, II (US 2017/0096852).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Womacks, Singleton and Mello II discloses safety device for garage doors according to claim 1, characterized in that the housing.
Womacks as modified by Singleton does not disclose: of rigid and impenetrable stainless steel.
Mello II teaches stainless steel for the purpose of providing a material readily be formed into shaped objects provided that the components selected are consistent with the intended operation of a garage door security plate assembly.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Womacks as modified by Singleton with stainless steel as taught by Mello II for the expected benefit of providing a material readily be formed into shaped objects provided that the components selected are consistent with the intended operation of a garage door security plate assembly.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Womacks, Singleton and Mello II discloses safety device for garage doors according to claim 1, characterized in that the housing is made of flexible plastic.
Womacks as modified by Singleton does not disclose: flexible plastic.
Mello II teaches flexible plastic for the purpose of providing a material readily be formed into shaped objects provided that the components selected are consistent with the intended operation of a garage door security plate assembly.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Womacks as modified by Singleton with flexible plastic as taught by Mello II for the expected benefit of providing a material readily be formed into shaped objects provided that the components selected are consistent with the intended operation of a garage door security plate assembly.
Claims 6, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Womacks (US 8,403,022) in view of Singleton (US 2014/0182795) further inview of Shepard (US 2012/0043030).
Regarding claim 6, Womacks as modified by Singleton discloses safety device for garage doors according to claim 1, characterized in that the housing has a shape with a base and walls.
Womacks as modified by Singleton does not disclose: a rounded shape with a base and rounded walls convex outwards.
Shepard teaches: a rounded shape with a base and rounded walls convex outwards for the purpose of providing a secure nestingly fitted to house door opening structure.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Womacks as modified by Singleton with a rounded shape with a base and rounded walls convex outwards as taught by Shepard for the expected benefit of a rounded shape with a base and rounded walls convex outwards for the purpose of providing a secure nestingly fitted to house door opening structure.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Womacks, Singleton, and Shepard safety device for garage doors according to claim 1, characterized in that the joints between each flange and each wall are elastic joints that allow each flange to be opened beyond the design opening (Fig. 3C before install Fig. 4 A installed) and returned to the original opening (Fig. 3C).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Womacks, Singleton, and Shepard safety device for garage doors according to claim 1, characterized in that the joints (326, 310, 308) between each flange and each wall are made by means of a hinge (structure capable of moment and returning as the transition between walls of the housing shown by Womacks).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as it may affect the patentability of applicant’s claimed invention is listed on the attached PTO-892.
/T. L. N./
Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/KRISTINA R FULTON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675