Status of Application
This action is in reply to the application filed November 5, 2024.
Claims 1 – 20 are pending and elected for examination.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 USC §119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in the present application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 5, 2024, has been considered by the examiner.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular paragraphs (or columns and lines) in the references as applied to Applicant’s claims for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the Applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. The prompt development of a clear issue requires that the replies of the Applicant meet the objections to and rejections of the claims. Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure. See MPEP §2163.06. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicant’s definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims. See MPEP §2111.01.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 8 recites when the component the landing gear, and the first position is an extended position of the landing gear and the second position is a stowed position of the landing gear. The sentence is improperly structured with seeming typographical errors omitting a verb and including a conjunction. The apparent intention based upon the second limitation related to the landing gear bay door appears to be revision to: when the component is the landing gear, and the first position is an extended position of the landing gear and the second position is a stowed position of the landing gear. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6 – 8, 11 – 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 115929864 A, hereinafter Kuang.
1. Kuang teaches A landing gear controller for an aircraft, the landing gear controller (see at least Kuang Pn0002: The landing gear retraction electromechanical actuator (EMA) for small aircraft is based on the need for full electronic control) configured to: determine whether a predetermined criterion is met (see at least Kuang nP0021: the residual heat backup means that both channels work simultaneously under normal conditions. When one channel fails, the system automatically disconnects the faulty channel and switches to single-channel operation mode, degrading the operation. In hot backup mode, the system operates both channels of the redundant motor simultaneously in normal mode the examiner interprets normal mode and alternative operation modes based on normal operation or channel failure as examples of predetermined criteria being met); and cause a power supply system of the aircraft to supply power to an actuation system of the aircraft to cause a component of a landing gear system of the aircraft to move from a first position to a second position selectively (see at least Kuang Pn0002: landing gear to retract and extend and to lock the landing gear in the extended position) according to: a first predetermined supplied-power profile, when the landing gear controller determines that the predetermined criterion is not met (see at least Kuang Pn00020: main motor 1 and the auxiliary motor 9 can operate in two modes depending on their normal operating conditions: cold backup single-channel operation and hot backup dual-channel simultaneous operation. In cold backup, only one channel works during normal operation, while the other channel serves as a backup channel. When a working channel fails, it is disconnected from the system and a backup channel is activated the examiner interprets the cold backup single-channel operation as an example of a first profile in which a channel failure indicates the predetermined criteria is not met), and a second predetermined supplied-power profile, according to which a maximum power supplied by the power supply system to the actuation system is greater than a maximum power supplied by the power supply system to the actuation system according to the first predetermined supplied-power profile, to move the component from the first position to the second position quickly, when the landing gear controller determines that the predetermined criterion is met (see at least Kuang Pn0021: In hot backup mode, the system operates both channels of the redundant motor simultaneously in normal mode. If the redundant auxiliary motor 9 fails, the fault channel is cut off according to the fault signal to ensure uninterrupted system operation. In this case, the operating state is the same as that during a cold backup failure. Under normal operating conditions, the hot backup system allows both the main motor 1 and the auxiliary motor 9 to simultaneously provide power to the load the examiner interprets the dual motor hot backup system as an example of a greater power supplied because both motors are powered and of the criterion for the hot backup system being met).
2. Kuang teaches A landing gear controller for an aircraft, the landing gear controller (see at least Kuang Pn0002: The landing gear retraction electromechanical actuator (EMA) for small aircraft is based on the need for full electronic control) configured to: determine whether a predetermined criterion is met (see at least Kuang nP0021: the residual heat backup means that both channels work simultaneously under normal conditions. When one channel fails, the system automatically disconnects the faulty channel and switches to single-channel operation mode, degrading the operation. In hot backup mode, the system operates both channels of the redundant motor simultaneously in normal mode the examiner interprets normal mode and alternative operation modes based on normal operation or channel failure as examples of predetermined criteria being met); and cause movement of a component of a landing gear system of the aircraft from a first position to a second position selectively (see at least Kuang Pn0002: landing gear to retract and extend and to lock the landing gear in the extended position) in: a first predetermined time period, when the landing gear controller determines that the predetermined criterion is not met (see at least Kuang Pn0021: When one channel fails, the system automatically disconnects the faulty channel and switches to single-channel operation mode, degrading the operation), and in a second predetermined time period, less than the first predetermined time period, when the landing gear controller determines that the predetermined criterion is met (see at least Kuang Pn0008: This dual-machine hot backup system, utilizing two identical channels, ensures high system reliability. When the main motor 1 and auxiliary motor 9 operate simultaneously, the piston rod extends and retracts at twice the speed of a single motor the examiner interprets the dual motor hot backup system as an example of the criterion for the hot backup system being met and twice the speed as indicating half the time period).
4. Kuang teaches The landing gear controller according to claim 1, wherein the landing gear controller is configured to cause the power supply system to supply the power to the actuation system from: a main power supply of the power supply system and an auxiliary power supply of the power supply system, when causing the power supply system to supply the power according to the second predetermined supplied-power profile (see at least Kuang Pn0008: This dual-machine hot backup system, utilizing two identical channels, ensures high system reliability. When the main motor 1 and auxiliary motor 9 operate simultaneously the examiner interprets the hot backup system as an example of the second predetermined supplied-power profile), and the main power supply but not the auxiliary power supply, when causing the power supply system to supply the power according to the first predetermined supplied-power profile (see at least Kuang nP0021: the residual heat backup means that both channels work simultaneously under normal conditions. When one channel fails, the system automatically disconnects the faulty channel and switches to single-channel operation mode, degrading the operation. In hot backup mode, the system operates both channels of the redundant motor simultaneously in normal mode the examiner interprets single-channel operation mode as an example of main power but not auxiliary power and both channels as an example of including the auxiliary power).
6. Kuang teaches The landing gear controller according to claim 1, configured to receive one or more input signals, and to determine whether the predetermined criterion is met based on the one or more input signals (see at least Kuang Pn0020: When the operating channel fails, it automatically switches according to the control signal to ensure uninterrupted operation of the system and Pn0021: During operation, the residual heat backup means that both channels work simultaneously under normal conditions. When one channel fails, the system automatically disconnects the faulty channel and switches to single-channel operation mode, degrading the operation the examiner interprets the one channel failure signal as an example of a signal indicating the predetermined criteria has shifted from being me to no longer met).
7. Kuang teaches The landing gear controller according to claim 1, wherein the component is at least one of a landing gear or a landing gear bay door (see at least Kuang Pn0002: The landing gear retraction and extension electromechanical actuator (EMA) control system controls the retraction and extension of the aircraft landing gear by controlling the mechanical transmission part of the landing gear electromechanical actuator (EMA), including the landing gear retraction and extension process, positioning detection, and locking of the landing gear in the retracted and extended positions).
8. Kuang teaches The landing gear controller according to claim 7, wherein, when the component the landing gear, and the first position is an extended position of the landing gear and the second position is a stowed position of the landing gear (see at least Kuang Pn0002: The landing gear retraction and extension electromechanical actuator (EMA) control system controls the retraction and extension of the aircraft landing gear by controlling the mechanical transmission part of the landing gear electromechanical actuator (EMA), including the landing gear retraction and extension process, positioning detection, and locking of the landing gear in the retracted and extended positions the examiner interprets the retracted position as an example of stowed), or wherein, when the component is the landing gear bay door, the first position is an open position of the landing gear bay door, and the second position is a closed position of the landing gear bay door.
11. Kuang teaches A landing gear extension and retraction system, comprising: the landing gear controller of claim 1; the actuation system; and the power supply system (see at least Kuang Pn0002: An electric actuator (EMA) consists of a control circuit and a mechanical transmission and actuation part. The control circuit section mainly consists of the main control module and the motor drive control module the examiner interprets the control circuit as an example of a power supply system).
12. Kuang teaches A landing gear extension and retraction system for an aircraft, the landing gear extension and retraction system configured to provide power to move a component of a landing gear system of the aircraft from a first position to a second position (see at least Kuang Pn0002: The landing gear retraction electromechanical actuator (EMA) for small aircraft is based on the need for full electronic control and Pn0002: landing gear to retract and extend and to lock the landing gear in the extended position), wherein the landing gear extension and retraction system is configured to provide the power selectively according to: a first predetermined supplied-power profile, when a predetermined criterion is not met (see at least Kuang Pn00020: main motor 1 and the auxiliary motor 9 can operate in two modes depending on their normal operating conditions: cold backup single-channel operation and hot backup dual-channel simultaneous operation. In cold backup, only one channel works during normal operation, while the other channel serves as a backup channel. When a working channel fails, it is disconnected from the system and a backup channel is activated the examiner interprets the cold backup single-channel operation as an example of a first profile in which a channel failure indicates the predetermined criteria is not met), and a second predetermined supplied-power profile, according to which a maximum power provided is greater than a maximum power provided according to the first predetermined supplied-power profile, when the predetermined criterion is met (see at least Kuang Pn0021: In hot backup mode, the system operates both channels of the redundant motor simultaneously in normal mode. If the redundant auxiliary motor 9 fails, the fault channel is cut off according to the fault signal to ensure uninterrupted system operation. In this case, the operating state is the same as that during a cold backup failure. Under normal operating conditions, the hot backup system allows both the main motor 1 and the auxiliary motor 9 to simultaneously provide power to the load the examiner interprets the dual motor hot backup system as an example of a greater power supplied because both motors are powered and of the criterion for the hot backup system being met).
13. Kuang teaches The landing gear extension and retraction system according to claim 12, further comprising: an actuation system configured to move the component of the landing gear system from the first position to the second position (see at least Kuang Pn0001: This invention relates to an electric actuator cylinder positioning locking and unlocking mechanism, specifically a dual-redundant emergency unlocking, retraction, and retraction locking structure applied to all-electric actuators); and a power supply system configured to provide the power to the actuation system selectively according to the first predetermined supplied-power profile or the second predetermined supplied-power profile (see at least Kuang Pn0002: An electric actuator (EMA) consists of a control circuit and a mechanical transmission and actuation part. The control circuit section mainly consists of the main control module and the motor drive control module the examiner interprets the control circuit as an example of a power supply system and Pn00020: main motor 1 and the auxiliary motor 9 can operate in two modes depending on their normal operating conditions: cold backup single-channel operation and hot backup dual-channel simultaneous operation).
14. Kuang teaches The landing gear extension and retraction system according to claim 13, further comprising a power control element configured to control a supply of power from the power supply system to the actuation system (see at least Kuang Pn0002: An electric actuator (EMA) consists of a control circuit and a mechanical transmission and actuation part. The control circuit section mainly consists of the main control module and the motor drive control module), wherein: the power control element is changeable between a first configuration, in which a first maximum power is suppliable from the power supply system to the actuation system, and a second configuration, in which a second maximum power, greater than the first maximum power, is suppliable from the power supply system to the actuation system (see at least Kuang Pn00020: main motor 1 and the auxiliary motor 9 can operate in two modes depending on their normal operating conditions: cold backup single-channel operation and hot backup dual-channel simultaneous operation. In cold backup, only one channel works during normal operation, while the other channel serves as a backup channel the examiner interprets one-channel operation as an example of a first maximum power and two-channel as a second maximum power greater than the first), and the landing gear extension and retraction system is configured to place the power control element in the first configuration when the predetermined criterion is not met, and in the second configuration when the predetermined criterion is met (see at least Kuang nP0021: the residual heat backup means that both channels work simultaneously under normal conditions. When one channel fails, the system automatically disconnects the faulty channel and switches to single-channel operation mode, degrading the operation. In hot backup mode, the system operates both channels of the redundant motor simultaneously in normal mode the examiner interprets normal two-channel mode as an example of the second configuration with the predetermined criterial met, and single channel operation as an example of the first configuration for the criteria for normal operation not being met).
15. Kuang teaches The landing gear extension and retraction system according to claim 12, wherein: the power supply system comprises a main power supply and an auxiliary power supply, a maximum power provided by the main power supply is the same according to both the first supplied-power profile and the second supplied-power profile (see at least Kuang nP0021: the residual heat backup means that both channels work simultaneously under normal conditions. When one channel fails, the system automatically disconnects the faulty channel and switches to single-channel operation mode, degrading the operation. In hot backup mode, the system operates both channels of the redundant motor simultaneously in normal mode the examiner interprets single-channel operation mode as an example of main power but not auxiliary power, which is supplied to one channel), and a maximum power provided by the auxiliary power supply is greater according to the second supplied-power profile than according to the first supplied-power profile (see at least Kuang Pn0008: This dual-machine hot backup system, utilizing two identical channels, ensures high system reliability. When the main motor 1 and auxiliary motor 9 operate simultaneously the examiner interprets the hot backup system as an example of the second predetermined supplied-power profile, providing more power than the first).
16. Kuang teaches The landing gear extension and retraction system according to claim 15, wherein the power supply system is configured to provide no power to the actuation system from the auxiliary power supply when supplying power according to the first supplied-power profile (see at least Kuang nP0021: the residual heat backup means that both channels work simultaneously under normal conditions. When one channel fails, the system automatically disconnects the faulty channel and switches to single-channel operation mode, degrading the operation. In hot backup mode, the system operates both channels of the redundant motor simultaneously in normal mode the examiner interprets single-channel operation mode as an example of main power but not auxiliary power).
17. Kuang teaches A method of controlling a landing gear extension and retraction system of an aircraft, the method comprising: determining whether a predetermined criterion is met (see at least Kuang nP0021: the residual heat backup means that both channels work simultaneously under normal conditions. When one channel fails, the system automatically disconnects the faulty channel and switches to single-channel operation mode, degrading the operation. In hot backup mode, the system operates both channels of the redundant motor simultaneously in normal mode the examiner interprets normal mode and alternative operation modes based on normal operation or channel failure as examples of predetermined criteria being met); and causing the landing gear extension and retraction system to provide power to a landing gear system of the aircraft to move a component of the landing gear system from a first position and to a second position selectively (see at least Kuang Pn0002: landing gear to retract and extend and to lock the landing gear in the extended position) according to: a first predetermined supplied-power profile, when it is determined that the predetermined criterion is not met (see at least Kuang Pn00020: main motor 1 and the auxiliary motor 9 can operate in two modes depending on their normal operating conditions: cold backup single-channel operation and hot backup dual-channel simultaneous operation. In cold backup, only one channel works during normal operation, while the other channel serves as a backup channel. When a working channel fails, it is disconnected from the system and a backup channel is activated the examiner interprets the cold backup single-channel operation as an example of a first profile in which a channel failure indicates the predetermined criteria is not met); and a second predetermined supplied-power profile, according to which a maximum power provided from the landing gear extension and retraction system to the landing gear system is greater than a maximum power provided from the landing gear extension and retraction system to the landing gear system according to the first predetermined supplied-power profile, to move the component from the first position to the second position more quickly, when it is determined that the predetermined criterion is met (see at least Kuang Pn0021: In hot backup mode, the system operates both channels of the redundant motor simultaneously in normal mode. If the redundant auxiliary motor 9 fails, the fault channel is cut off according to the fault signal to ensure uninterrupted system operation. In this case, the operating state is the same as that during a cold backup failure. Under normal operating conditions, the hot backup system allows both the main motor 1 and the auxiliary motor 9 to simultaneously provide power to the load the examiner interprets the dual motor hot backup system as an example of a greater power supplied because it both motors are powered and of the criterion for the hot backup system being met).
20. Kuang teaches An aircraft comprising: a landing gear controller according to claim 1 (see at least Kuang Pn0002: The landing gear retraction electromechanical actuator (EMA) for small aircraft is based on the need for full electronic control, and is a fully electronic landing gear retraction device to replace the traditional hydraulic retraction system).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuang in view of US 2018/0244374 A1, hereinafter Pierra.
3. Kuang teaches The landing gear controller according to claim 2, configured to cause a power supply system of the aircraft to supply power to an actuation system of the aircraft to cause the movement of the component selectively in the first predetermined time period or the second predetermined time period (see at least Kuang Pn0008: This dual-machine hot backup system, utilizing two identical channels, ensures high system reliability. When the main motor 1 and auxiliary motor 9 operate simultaneously, the piston rod extends and retracts at twice the speed of a single motor the examiner interprets the dual motor hot backup system as an example of the criterion for the hot backup system being met and twice the speed as indicating half the time period).
Kuang does not explicitly name time period actuation. However, Pierra teaches, configured to cause a power supply system of the aircraft to supply power to an actuation system of the aircraft to cause the movement of the component selectively in the first predetermined time period or the second predetermined time period (see at least Pierra P0058: Each electromechanical actuator is actuated during a predetermined time interval).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kuang to incorporate the method of Lindahl in the same field of invention to use the predetermined actuation time interval of Pierra in the hot backup two-motor second configuration setting or the single-channel first configuration setting to alter the time during which components are moving for the advantage of minimizing the total actuation sequence duration during emergency situations (see at least Pierra P0058).
Claims 3, 5, 10, and 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuang in view of US 7,475,849 B2, hereinafter Lindahl.
5. Although it is well-known that landing gear is used during take-off and landing, and Kuang teaches the landing gear controller according to claim 1, and automating the landing gear system, Kuang does not explicitly name take-off events as causing the gear movement. However, Lindahl teaches cause the power supply system to supply the power to the actuation system to cause the component to move from the first position to the second position, during an aircraft take-off event (see at least Lindahl Abstract: The method can include receiving a first signal during movement of the aircraft down a runway for takeoff. The first signal can correspond to at least a first aspect of motion of the aircraft, such as upward rotation of the aircraft for liftoff. The gear door can be opened in response to receiving the first signal. The method can further include receiving a second signal after the aircraft has lifted off of the runway. The second signal can correspond to a second aspect of motion of the aircraft, such as the aircraft achieving a positive rate of climb. In response to receiving the second signal, the landing gear can be retracted into the gear well).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kuang to incorporate the method of Lindahl in the same field of invention to specifically perform the landing gear movement during a take-off event for the advantage of optimizing aircraft drag (see at least Lindahl C1 Ln48).
10. Kuang does not explicitly teach an obstacle-restricted airport. However, Lindahl teaches The landing gear controller according to claim 1, wherein the predetermined criterion comprises that the aircraft is performing an aircraft take-off event at an obstacle-restricted airport (see at least Lindahl C1 Ln49: Another benefit is the additional clearance that retracting the landing gear can provide between the aircraft and ground obstacles during an obstacle-limited takeoff).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kuang to incorporate the method of Lindahl in the same field of invention to initiate retraction of the landing gear through meeting the criteria or an obstacle-restricted airport for the advantage of increasing the clearance of the aircraft from ground obstacles (see at least Lindahl C1 Ln50).
18. Although it is well-known that landing gear is used during take-off and landing, and Kuang teaches the method according to claim 17 and automating the landing gear system, Kuang does not explicitly name take-off events as causing the gear movement. However, Lindahl teaches determining is performed during an aircraft take-off event (see at least Lindahl Abstract: The method can include receiving a first signal during movement of the aircraft down a runway for takeoff. The first signal can correspond to at least a first aspect of motion of the aircraft, such as upward rotation of the aircraft for liftoff. The gear door can be opened in response to receiving the first signal. The method can further include receiving a second signal after the aircraft has lifted off of the runway. The second signal can correspond to a second aspect of motion of the aircraft, such as the aircraft achieving a positive rate of climb. In response to receiving the second signal, the landing gear can be retracted into the gear well).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kuang to incorporate the method of Lindahl in the same field of invention to specifically perform the landing gear movement during a take-off event for the advantage of optimizing aircraft drag (see at least Lindahl C1 Ln48).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuang in view of US 3739519 A, hereinafter Garabello.
9. Kuang teaches The landing gear controller according to claim 1, wherein the predetermined criterion comprises that the aircraft is in a one-engine-inoperative state (see at least Kuang P0013: In the event of failure of one motor or jamming of the transmission chain in the actuator, the other motor and transmission components can complete the unlocking, retraction of the piston rod and locking action, thereby improving the safety and reliability of the all-motor electric actuator).
Garabello further establishes when airplane, rather than retraction motor, engine failure occurs, the landing gear retraction can be adjusted such that predetermined criterion comprises that the aircraft is in a one-engine-inoperative state (see at least Garabello C6 Ln6: Moreover, if there is engine failure on takeoff during retraction of the landing gear, the landing gear can be rapidly reversed without the reversal of the gear drive means of the prior art which operate slowly).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kuang to incorporate the method of Garabello in the retractable landing gear field of invention to rapidly operate the landing gear extension for the advantage of reducing damage to the aircraft (see at least Garabello C6 Ln3).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuang in view of US 20220135213 A1, hereinafter Garabello.
19. Kuang teaches the limitations of claim 17 but does not explicitly teach a non-transitory storage with instructions for executing the system. However, Kerr teaches A non-transitory storage medium configured to store machine readable instructions which, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the method according to claim 17 (see at least Kerr P0028: a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, if executed by a processor of a landing gear controller of an aircraft, cause the processor to carry out the method according to the second aspect of the present invention).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kuang to incorporate the method of Kerr in the same field of invention to utilize a non-transitory storage medium for the advantage of actualizing the execution of the programmed instructions of the system (see at least Kerr P0028).
Conclusion
Related References
The related art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2022/0024566 A1 by Tofflemire teaches a landing gear system with extension and retraction speeds set relative to each other for speed management for the retraction (see at least P0074)
US 10,160,536 B2 by Necci teaches a retractable landing gear and airplane belly monitoring system to detect potential impact with obstacles (see at least C2 Ln15)
US 9,422,052 B2 by Kondo teaches a hydraulic supply system with hydraulic supply variation depending on operation conditions (see at least C6 Ln25)
European Search Opinion for EP 4552975 A1 is considered relevant to this application
Information
ROSE . RIDDER
Examiner
Art Unit 3664
/R.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/KITO R ROBINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664