DETAILED ACTION
In a communication received on 8 July 2026, the applicants requested reconsideration of the rejection.
Claims 1-29 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to claim 1, the applicants allege, "the resulting UE of this combination would access IMS signaling functions of an IMS core network and receive media data from the IMS core network" (page 11) with respect to the claimed limitation(s), "executing, by a tethering user equipment (UE) device, a Web Real-time Communication Protocol (WebRTC) Endpoint Support Function to access WebRTC signaling functions of a WebRTC operator network and to receive media data of a WebRTC communication session from the WebRTC operator network". The examiner respectfully traverses. The arguments/remarks pertain to whether the cited prior art does not disclose or suggest tethering UE receiving WebRTC session media from operator network using IMS. The examiner concludes that the cited prior art clearly discloses or suggests enabling WebRTC endpoint to use oerator IMS services based on applying interworking with relaying
"The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference.... Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of those references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art." In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 425, 208 USPQ 871, 881 (CCPA 1981)
As best understood by the examiner, under the broadest reasonable interpretation the claimed limitations do not require every interface to be WebRTC native or excludes an IMS core behind said interfaces. Russell supplies a tethered relay UE and operator network connection that terminates network media and relays it onward while its IMS connection signals and receives data to the access network (¶0133, ¶0136). Additionally, Shan provides WebRTC-specific media plane interworking and a WebRTC-to-IMS signaling translation path (¶0034-0036). Thus, the combined arrangement is an operator arrangement with interworking and relays suggesting the IMS operator network with WebRTC media being relayed.
In conclusion, the applicants argue(s) that the cited prior art does not disclose or suggest tethering UE receiving WebRTC session media from operator network using IMS. The examiner traverses because the cited prior art clearly discloses or suggests enabling WebRTC endpoint to use oerator IMS services based on applying interworking with relaying.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8, 10-13, 15, 17, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 27 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Russell et al. (US 2019/0037518 A1) in view of Shan et al. (US 2014/0325078 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Russell discloses: a method of exchanging media data, the method comprising:
executing, by a tethering user equipment (UE) device (i.e., devices including processor, communication interfaces, memory and executable program logic in Russell, ¶00433-0435),
a Web Real-time Communication Protocol (WebRTC) Endpoint Support Function to access WebRTC signaling functions of a WebRTC operator network (i.e., relay UE providing IMS connection and acting as a media gateway acting as relay to remote UE in Russell, ¶0133, ¶0136)
and to receive media data of a WebRTC communication session from the WebRTC operator network (i.e., routing media session/streams or calls to the remote UE from the relay UE in Russell, ¶0133, ¶0406),
wherein the tethering UE device is tethered to a tethered device that executes a WebRTC Endpoint Application; and (i.e., local connection being wired, wireless, bluetooth, 892.11; UE and relay coupled by the local connection in Russell, ¶0033, Table 1, ¶0140)
sending, by the tethering UE device, the received media data of the WebRTC communication session to the tethered device (i.e., relay UE as a media gateway that converts media streams and relays to the remote UE in Russell, ¶0133)
to cause the tethered device to present the media data (i.e., call routed to remote UE; corresponding display and characteristics like screen resolution and framerate in Russell, ¶0325, ¶0402).
Russell discloses relay UE providing IMS connection and acting as a media gateway acting as relay to remote UE (¶0133, ¶0136). Russell do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Shan, in order to improve accessibility by allowing network facing webRTC capabilities to be adapted to IMS core for a webRTC UE (¶0035), discloses: WebRTC support, sessions, and endpoints (i.e., WebRTC protocol for establishing media sessions between clients, WebRTC client, access gateway on the signaling path between the WebRTC client and the network core in Shan, ¶0003, ¶0034-0036).
Based on Russell in view of Shan, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Shan to improve upon those of Russell in order to improve accessibility by allowing network facing webRTC capabilities to be adapted to IMS core for a webRTC UE.
With respect to claim 3, Russell discloses: the method of claim 1, further comprising:
establishing, by the tethering UE device, a tethering link with the tethered device (i.e., establishing a local connection between the relay and remote UE in Russell, ¶0033, ¶0140);
establishing, by the tethering UE device, a communication channel with the tethered device (i.e., remote UE coupled to relay UE; relay UE relay UE providing SIP sessions to remote UE in Russell, ¶0107, ¶0112);
retrieving, by the tethering UE device, configuration information from one or more Interactive Connectivity Establishment (ICE) servers (i.e., application servers act as STUN, TURN servers; ip address of STUN TURN servers provided in response to request from relay UE in Russell, ¶0086, ¶0266-0267, ¶0271); and
sending, by the tethering UE device, the configuration information to the tethered device (i.e., relay UE sends message including response to STUN binding response to the remote UE in Russell, ¶0413-0414).
With respect to claim 4, Russell discloses: the method of claim 3, wherein establishing the WebRTC communication session comprises establishing the WebRTC communication session using Session Description Protocol (SDP) (i.e., session description protocol conveying information on media streams and sessions helping participants join sessions in Russell, ¶0075-0076).
With respect to claim 5, Russell discloses: the method of claim 1, further comprising establishing, by the tethering UE device, a communication channel with the tethered device via an Rt-u interface (i.e., the local connection for media relaying between the remote UE and the relay UE in Russell, ¶0033, ¶0140).
With respect to claim 6, Russell discloses: the method of claim 1, further comprising establishing, by the tethering UE device, a Wi-Fi communication connection with the tethered device. (i.e., the local connection includes a wireless connection including 802.11 in Russell, ¶0033, ¶0140, Table 1).
With respect to claim 8, the limitation(s) of claim 8 are similar to those of claim(s) 1. Therefore, claim 8 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 1.
With respect to claim 10, the limitation(s) of claim 10 are similar to those of claim(s) 3. Therefore, claim 10 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 3.
With respect to claim 11, the limitation(s) of claim 11 are similar to those of claim(s) 4. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 4.
With respect to claim 12, the limitation(s) of claim 12 are similar to those of claim(s) 5. Therefore, claim 12 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 5.
With respect to claim 13, the limitation(s) of claim 13 are similar to those of claim(s) 6. Therefore, claim 13 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 6.
With respect to claim 15, the limitation(s) of claim 15 are similar to those of claim(s) 1+. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 1.
With respect to claim 17, the limitation(s) of claim 17 are similar to those of claim(s) 3+. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 3.
Russell further discloses: the method of claim 15, further comprising:
receiving, by the tethered device, a list of pre-configured ICE functions; (i.e., provisioning STUN and TURN server addresses in Russell, ¶0411, ¶0417)
discovering, by the tethered device, ICE candidates from the list of pre-configured ICE functions (i.e., discover candidate pair of IP addresses for media exchange, remote UE knows the TURN ip addresses and ports in Russell, ¶0086, ¶0420);
establishing, by the tethered device, the WebRTC communication session with a remote UE using the ICE candidates (i.e., remote UE provides SIP invite corresponding to the TURN server in Russell, ¶0086, ¶0422-0424).
Russell discloses relay UE providing IMS connection and acting as a media gateway acting as relay to remote UE (¶0133, ¶0136). Russell do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Shan, in order to improve accessibility by allowing network facing webRTC capabilities to be adapted to IMS core for a webRTC UE (¶0035), discloses:
executing, by the tethered device, the WebRTC Endpoint Application to participate in the WebRTC communication session. (i.e., a WebRTC client on an application, registering and participating in session setup in Shan, ¶0016, ¶0037-0038).
Based on Russell in view of Shan, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Shan to improve upon those of Russell in order to improve accessibility by allowing network facing webRTC capabilities to be adapted to IMS core for a webRTC UE.
With respect to claim 19, the limitation(s) of claim 19 are similar to those of claim(s) 5. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 5.
With respect to claim 20, the limitation(s) of claim 20 are similar to those of claim(s) 6. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 6.
With respect to claim 22, the limitation(s) of claim 22 are similar to those of claim(s) 15. Therefore, claim 22 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 15.
With respect to claim 24, the limitation(s) of claim 24 are similar to those of claim(s) 17. Therefore, claim 24 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 17.
With respect to claim 26, the limitation(s) of claim 26 are similar to those of claim(s) 19. Therefore, claim 26 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 19.
With respect to claim 27, the limitation(s) of claim 27 are similar to those of claim(s) 20. Therefore, claim 27 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 20.
With respect to claim 29, the limitation(s) of claim 29 are similar to those of claim(s) 8 and 22. Therefore, claim 29 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 8 and 22.
Claim(s) 2, 9, 16, 18, 23, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Russell et al. (US 2019/0037518 A1) in view of Shan et al. (US 2014/0325078 A1), and further in view of Shi et al. (US 2020/0162766 A1).
With respect to claim 2, Russell discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein the tethering UE device comprises a cellular phone (i.e., relay UE and remote UE architecture; electronic devices contemplated include cellular telephones and mobile user equipment in Russell, ¶0133, ¶0432).
Russell discloses relay UE providing IMS connection and acting as a media gateway acting as relay to remote UE (¶0133, ¶0136). Russell and Shan do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Shi, in order to improve immersion by changing viewpoint of a panorama image based on user's viewpoint (¶0002), discloses: and the tethered device comprises augmented reality (AR) glasses (i.e., wearable devices, virtual reality headsets to detect head movement and viewpoint in Shi, ¶0025-0026, ¶0030).
Based on Russell in view of Shan, and further in view of Shi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Shi to improve upon those of Russell in order to improve immersion by changing viewpoint of a panorama image based on user's viewpoint.
With respect to claim 9, the limitation(s) of claim 9 are similar to those of claim(s) 2. Therefore, claim 9 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 2.
With respect to claim 16, the limitation(s) of claim 16 are similar to those of claim(s) 2. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 2.
With respect to claim 18, Russell discloses relay UE providing IMS connection and acting as a media gateway acting as relay to remote UE (¶0133, ¶0136). Russell and Shan do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Shi, in order to improve immersion by changing viewpoint of a panorama image based on user's viewpoint (¶0002), discloses: the method of claim 17, wherein executing the WebRTC Endpoint Application to participate in the WebRTC communication session comprises executing the WebRTC Endpoint Application to collect user movement data and to send the user movement data to the tethering UE device to cause the tethering UE device to send the user movement data as part of the WebRTC communication session (i.e., WebRTC and modifying protocol to include user head movement viewpoint data and corresponding video frame data in the streaming protocol in Shi, ¶0025-0026, ¶0030).
Based on Russell in view of Shan, and further in view of Shi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Shi to improve upon those of Russell in order to improve immersion by changing viewpoint of a panorama image based on user's viewpoint.
With respect to claim 23, the limitation(s) of claim 23 are similar to those of claim(s) 16. Therefore, claim 23 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 16.
With respect to claim 25, the limitation(s) of claim 25 are similar to those of claim(s) 18. Therefore, claim 25 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 18.
Claim(s) 7, 14, 21, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Russell et al. (US 2019/0037518 A1) in view of Shan et al. (US 2014/0325078 A1), and further in view of Sodagar (US 2022/0182435 A1).
With respect to claim 7, Russell discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein executing the WebRTC Endpoint Support Function (i.e., relay UE provides visibility to IMS data allowing quality of service/experience to be applied; relay services sessions; relay provides indications of capability to remote UE for remote UE to decide where to terminate media received in Russell, ¶0136, ¶0277)
Russell discloses relay UE providing IMS connection and acting as a media gateway acting as relay to remote UE (¶0133, ¶0136). Russell and Shan do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Sodagar, in order to improve adaptability by providing streaming delivery assistant functions (¶0089), discloses: comprises
executing the WebRTC Endpoint Support Function to collect quality of experience (QoE) metrics (i.e., collecting QoE metrics in Sodagar, ¶0087-0089)
and providing a media configuration recommendation to the WebRTC Endpoint Application of the tethered device (i.e., bit rate recommendation/throughput estimates in Sodagar, ¶0087-0089).
Based on Russell in view of Shan, and further in view of Sodagar, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Sodagar to improve upon those of Russell in order to improve adaptability by providing streaming delivery assistant functions.
With respect to claim 14, the limitation(s) of claim 14 are similar to those of claim(s) 7. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 7.
With respect to claim 21, Russell discloses relay UE providing IMS connection and acting as a media gateway acting as relay to remote UE (¶0133, ¶0136). Russell and Shan do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Sodagar, in order to improve adaptability by providing streaming delivery assistant functions (¶0089), discloses: the method of claim 15, wherein executing the WebRTC Endpoint Application comprises executing the WebRTC Endpoint Application to encode and decode media data of the WebRTC communication session (i.e., input formats and transcoding formats capabilities for media session in Sodagar, ¶0118-0119),
perform bitrate control (i.e., bit rate recommendations and adjustments in Sodagar, ¶0089), and
perform network congestion control. (i.e., media handling for predictable media quality and flexibility in service offerings including packet-loss handling, packet loss rate and delay in Sodagar, ¶0089, ¶0107, ¶0108).
Based on Russell in view of Shan, and further in view of Sodagar, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Sodagar to improve upon those of Russell in order to improve adaptability by providing streaming delivery assistant functions.
With respect to claim 28, the limitation(s) of claim 28 are similar to those of claim(s) 21. Therefore, claim 28 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 21.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Sherman Lin
9/19/2026
/S. L./Examiner, Art Unit 2447
/JOON H HWANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2447