DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 12, 15, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shishikura US 6,546,211 B1 (Shishikura).
Regarding claim 1, Shishikura teaches a process cartridge, detachably installed on an image-forming apparatus, comprising:
a main body (cartridge 1), configured to store a developer (C7 L40-50); and
a working element (temperature sensitive sticker 2), disposed on the main body (1) of the process cartridge and configured to detect or obtain a first parameter related to the process cartridge (C7 L40-50), wherein:
when the first parameter or a second parameter obtained based on the first parameter does not meet expectation, the image-forming apparatus controls the process cartridge to stop conveying the developer (at ST9, C8 L04-31).
Regarding claim 2, Shishikura teaches the process cartridge according to claim 1, wherein: the working element (2) is configured at an outer side or an inner side of the main body (FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 12, Shishikura teaches the process cartridge according to claim 1, wherein:
the working element (2) is a working environment sensor configured to detect the first parameter of the process cartridge and enable the image-forming apparatus to obtain the first parameter (temperature, C8 L04-31).
Regarding claim 15, Shishikura teaches the process cartridge according to claim 12, wherein:
when the working element is the working environment sensor, the working environment sensor includes a temperature sensor (C8 L04-31).
Regarding claim 17, Shishikura teaches a detection method, comprising:
obtaining a first parameter (temperature) corresponding to a process cartridge;
determining whether the first parameter (temperature) or a second parameter (color of sticker) obtained based on the first parameter meets expectation (C8 L04-31); and
when the first parameter or the second parameter obtained based on the first parameter does not meet expectation, controlling the process cartridge to stop conveying a developer (ST9),
wherein:
the process cartridge comprises a main body (1) and a working element (2); and
the working element (2) is disposed on the main body of the process cartridge and configured to detect or obtain the first parameter corresponding to the process cartridge (FIG. 3-4).
Regarding claim 18, Shishikura teaches the method according to claim 17, wherein determining whether the first parameter or the second parameter obtained based on the first parameter meets expectation further includes:
comparing the first parameter with a first preset parameter range (¶0064-0071); and
if the first parameter (is the color red or white) is not within the first preset parameter range, determining the first parameter does not meet expectation (st9); and
comparing the second parameter with a second preset parameter range (blue or yellow); and
if the second parameter is not within the second preset parameter range, determining the second parameter does not meet expectation (the fixing device temperature is determined).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shishikura US 6,546,211 B1 (Shishikura), Tanaka US 2012/0134690 (Tanaka).
Regarding claim 3, Shishikura teaches the process cartridge according to claim 2. Shishikura differs from the instant claimed invention by not explicitly disclosing: the working element is at least partially in the installation cavity on the outer side of the main body. However, this is suggested by Tanaka. Tanaka teaches putting the temperature sensor in different positions (¶0046). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device taught by Shishikura to put the temperature sensor in a recess since Tanaka teaches that is known to put this sensor in different positions, and one of ordinary skill would have recognized that applying the technique of moving the sensors around to different locations and in a recess would have yielded the predictable result of the senor being recessed in a cavity.
Regarding claim 4, Shishikura and Tanaka teach the process cartridge according to claim 3. Furthermore Shishikura teaches the main body (46) includes a cartridge body (1) and an end cover (FIG. 4);
the cartridge body (1) is configured to store the developer (toner);
the end cover is installed at an end portion of the cartridge body (FIG. 5);
the end cover and the cartridge body enclose the installation cavity (FIG. 5).
Shishikura differs from the instant claimed invention by not explicitly disclosing: the working element is at least partially in the installation cavity on the outer side of the main body. However, this is suggested by Tanaka. Tanaka teaches putting the temperature sensor in different positions (¶0046). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device taught by Shishikura to put the temperature sensor in a recess since Tanaka teaches that is known to put this sensor in different positions, and one of ordinary skill would have recognized that applying the technique of moving the sensors around to different locations and in a recess would have yielded the predictable result of the senor being recessed in a cavity.
Claim(s) 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shishikura US 6,546,211 B1 (Shishikura), Odani US 2012/0002987 (Odani).
Regarding claim 7, Shishikura teaches the process cartridge according to claim 1. Shishikura differs from the instant claimed invention by not explicitly disclosing: the main body having a CPU with a communication module. However this is well known. Odani teaches an information processing apparatus (28/57), configured at the main body (FIG. 3), wherein the information processing apparatus (28) is configured to communicate with the image-forming apparatus (¶0036-¶0039, ¶0071-¶0073);
the information processing apparatus (28) includes a communication module (59) configured to communicate with the image-forming apparatus (¶0083); and
the communication module (59) and the working element (55) are configured to be electrically connected to a same contact or different contacts of the image-forming apparatus (¶0081-¶0083).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cartridge taught by Shishikura to have the circuit board 28 taught by Odani, since Odani specifically teaches the short comings of using a sticker to determine the temperature that a toner cartridge has been exposed, and how a circuit board with memory gives the user more information (¶0006).
Regarding claim 8, Shishikura and Odani teach the process cartridge according to claim 7. Furthermore Odani teaches when the communication module (59) and the working element (55) are configured to be electrically connected to the same contact of the image-forming apparatus (103), the communication module includes a data terminal (output terminal 102); and
the working element (55) is electrically connected to the information processing apparatus (FIG. 4);
when the process cartridge (20) is installed at a preset position on the image-forming apparatus (FIG. 1), the working element (55) is electrically connected to the image-forming apparatus through the data terminal of the information processing apparatus (¶0070-¶0073);
a side surface (see side of 28, FIG. 3) of the second end of the second conductive part (other terminals between 101 and 102) away from the data terminal of the information processing apparatus is a conductive surface (¶0083);
a side surface (FIG. 3) of the second end of the second conductive part adjacent to the data terminal of the information processing apparatus is an insulating surface (between contacts);
the conductive surface (other terminals) is insulated from the data terminal of the information processing apparatus (see insulated dividers, FIG. 3); and
when the process cartridge is installed at a preset position on the image-forming apparatus, the second end of the second conductive part and the data terminal of the information processing apparatus are electrically connected to a same contact of the image-forming apparatus (FIG. 3).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cartridge taught by Shishikura to have the circuit board 28 taught by Odani, since Odani specifically teaches the short comings of using a sticker to determine the temperature that a toner cartridge has been exposed, and how a circuit board with memory gives the user more information (¶0006).
Regarding claim 9, Shishikura and Odani teach the process cartridge according to claim 8. Furthermore Odani teaches when the working element (55) is electrically connected to the information processing apparatus:
the information processing apparatus (28) is configured with an input portion (102) electrically connected to the data terminal, and the working element (55) is electrically connected to the input portion (via controller 57); and
the working element (55) is electrically connected to the image-forming apparatus through the data terminal (102); or
the working element (55) is configured to be electrically connected to the image-forming apparatus through a third conductive part (see alternative contact terminals, FIG. 3); and
a first end of the third conductive part is electrically connected to the working element, and a second end of the third conductive part is electrically connected to the data terminal (FIG. 4).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cartridge taught by Shishikura to have the circuit board 28 taught by Odani, since Odani specifically teaches the short comings of using a sticker to determine the temperature that a toner cartridge has been exposed, and how a circuit board with memory gives the user more information (¶0006).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Shishikura and Odani teach the process cartridge according to claim 7. Shishikura and Odani differs from the instant claimed invention by not explicitly disclosing: the working element is detachably and electrically connected to the information processing apparatus. However this is an obvious variation, since making the thermistor detachable with a plug and socket allows for it to be easily replaced. Therefore, It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Shishikura and Odani such that the thermistor is detachably and electrically connected, since this aids in replacement of the element and extends the life of the device.
Regarding claim 19, Shishikura teaches the method according to claim 17. Shishikura differs from the instant claimed invention by not explicitly disclosing: when a difference between an internal environment parameter measured by an internal environment sensor in the image-forming apparatus and the first parameter or the second parameter is not within a preset value range, stopping determining whether the first parameter or the second parameter meets expectation. However this technique is known. Odani teaches when a difference between an internal environment parameter measured by an internal environment sensor in the image-forming apparatus and the first parameter or the second parameter is not within a preset value range (FIG. 6), stopping determining whether the first parameter or the second parameter meets expectation (FIG. 6). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the technique taught by Odani to improve the device taught by Shishikura since Odani teaches that by using a circuit board and related techniques instead of a sticker, there’s an improved amount of data that can be gleaned regarding the history of the storage conditions of the cartridge (¶0006).
Regarding claim 20, Shishikura teaches the method according to claim 17. Shishikura differs from the instant claimed invention by not explicitly disclosing: an internal environment parameter measured by an internal environment sensor in the image-forming apparatus in multiple detections gradually increases, if the first parameter or the second parameter measured sequentially in a same time period does not increase accordingly, stopping determining whether the first parameter or the second parameter meets expectation. However this technique is known. Odani teaches an internal environment parameter measured by an internal environment sensor in the image-forming apparatus in multiple detections gradually increases, if the first parameter or the second parameter measured sequentially in a same time period does not increase accordingly, stopping determining whether the first parameter or the second parameter meets expectation (FIG. 6). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the technique taught by Odani to improve the device taught by Shishikura since Odani teaches that by using a circuit board and related techniques instead of a sticker, there’s an improved amount of data that can be gleaned regarding the history of the storage conditions of the cartridge (¶0006).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shishikura US 6,546,211 B1 (Shishikura), Tomono US 2014/0348522 (Tomono).
Regarding claim 13, Shishikura teaches the process cartridge according to claim 12. Shishikura differs from the instant claimed invention by not explicitly disclosing: the working element is an adjustable resistor. However this is a known alternative. Tomono teaches the working element is the adjustable resistor (a thermistor), the adjustable resistor includes a switching element and at least two branch circuits (¶0053-¶0055); and the switching element is configured to receive a command signal and switch to turn on or off different branch circuits to form the adjustable resistor with different resistance values, wherein the adjustable resistor is configured to be electrically connected to the image-forming apparatus (¶0053-¶0055). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the sticker used by Shishikura to be a thermistor as taught by Tomono since this gives a more accurate temperature reading.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shishikura US 6,546,211 B1 (Shishikura), Tomono US 2014/0348522 (Tomono) and List et al. US 2019/0175828 A1 (List).
Regarding claim 14, Shishikura and Tomono teach the process cartridge according to claim 13. Shishikura and Tomono differ from the instant claimed invention by not explicitly disclosing: the at least two branch circuits are arranged in parallel; resistance values of different branch circuits are different; the switching element includes at least two controlled switches;
a controlled switch is configured on a branch circuit; and based on different command signals corresponding to different temperatures, different controlled switches are turned on to make one branch circuit to be in conduction and other branch circuits to be in disconnection. However this is known.
List teaches the known variant to thermistors is the at least two branch circuits are arranged in parallel; resistance values of different branch circuits are different; the switching element includes at least two controlled switches; a controlled switch is configured on a branch circuit; and based on different command signals corresponding to different temperatures, different controlled switches are turned on to make one branch circuit to be in conduction and other branch circuits to be in disconnection (¶0150).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the thermistor taught by Tomono in the variant style taught by List, since List teaches this is a known alternative that could be implemented and yield the predictable result of temperature difference being measured.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shishikura US 6,546,211 B1 (Shishikura), Odani US 2012/0002987 (Odani) and Tanaka US 2012/0134690 (Tanaka).
Regarding claim 16, Shishikura and Odani teach the process cartridge according to claim 7. Shishikura and Odani differs from the instant claimed invention by not explicitly disclosing: another CPU and an environmental sensor on the developing assembly. However this is known. Tanaka teaches the main body includes an image-forming assembly (28) and a developing assembly (1);
the image-forming assembly includes a photosensitive drum (28);
the developing assembly (1) includes a developing roller (5); and
one of the information processing apparatus and the working environment sensor (52) is configured on the image-forming assembly, and another one of the information processing apparatus and the working environment sensor (51) is configured on the developing assembly (1). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the sensors taught by Tanaka, and related information processing apparatus to serve them, as taught by Tanaka teach various locations can be successful (¶0046), thus one of ordinary skill is encouraged to try different placements as such would yield success (¶0046).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim 4, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSICA L ELEY/
Examiner, Art Unit 2852