DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities: “radio” should be amended to “ratio”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "a first sole transition point” twice, and “a first sole transition point” twice. This duplicative language creates doubt as to the scope of the claim. Applicant should amend to ensure a person ordinary skill in the art can properly ascertain the metes and bounds of the claim. For examining purposes, and as best understood, the scope will be construed in reference to applicant’s Fig. 10. Specifically, the sole transition profile will be interpreted as having first sole transition point (i.e., point 412) and a second sole transition point (i.e., point 422). Claims 12-20 are rejected based on their dependency to 11.
Claim 19 recites the limitations "the sole transition profile” and “the first sole transition point”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Claim 20 is rejected based on its dependency to 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper “functional approach” to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham. Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) “ Obvious to try ” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
4. Claims 1, 3-4, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chao et al. (US Pub. No. 2014/0256464).
With respect to claims 1, 3-4, 8, Chao teaches a golf club head comprising: a strike face 26 having a top edge, a bottom edge, and a geometric center (inherent), the strike face 26 defining a loft plane positioned tangent to the strike face 26 extending through the geometric center (inherent); and a body 10 including: a front end, a back end opposite the front end; a heel, a toe opposite the heel; a crown 16 including an apex and a crown transition profile (best seen in Fig. 8), the crown transition profile having a first crown radius of curvature (face wrap zone 26b extending in the “transition areas” from face to crown, including “crown-face plate interface” – paragraph [0065]; examiner further notes the reference to “face wrap zone” in paragraph [0065] used to describe the embodiment in Fig.’s 1-6, 8, which explicitly recites a “crown transition radius” at paragraph [0054]) extending from the top edge of the strike face 26 to a first crown transition point; a sole including a lowest point (paragraph [0065]) and a sole transition profile, the sole transition profile having a first sole radius of curvature extending from the bottom edge of the strike face 26 to a first sole transition point, a rear transition profile positioned between a first rear transition point, and a second rear transition point, the rear transition profile having a rear radius of curvature extending between the first rear transition point and the second rear transition point (Fig. 8).
Per MPEP 2131.03, prior art that teaches a range with sufficient specificity overlapping the claimed range anticipates the claim. Here, Chao discloses wherein the first crown radius of curvature is between 0.18 inch and 0.30 inch (paragraph [0054], and wherein the first sole radius of curvature is between 0.3 inch and 0.5 inch (paragraph [0065]). Examiner notes the ranges for the first crown radius of curvature and first sole radius of curvature in paragraphs [0054], [0065] are considered sufficiently specific since the ranges are closed and not excessively broad. Chao et al. also teaches wherein a ratio of the first crown radius of curvature to the first sole radius of curvature falls within 0.4 to 1. For example, Chao et al. teaches a first crown radius of curvature of .29 inches, and a first sole radius of curvature of .4 inches (paragraph [0065]): (.29 inches) / (.4inches) = .725.
Chao et al. inherently comprises a rear transition profile between first and second transition points comprising a rear radius of curvature therebetween (Fig. 6), but fails to expressly disclose the numeric value for this inherent dimension. However, per MPEP 2144.05, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). In the instant case, the golf club of Chao et al. would not operate different with a rear radius of curvature as claimed. Within the golf club art, a rear radius of curvature is known to be a result effective variable for swing stability (See Katayama (US Pat. No. 5,398,935), cited as extrinsic evidence, at column 4, lines 62-67 teaching a rounded rear radius to make it “easy to execute a stable swing”) and “preventing the club head from getting caught on the ground during the back swing (See Burnett et al. (US Pub. No. 2007/0149315), cited as extrinsic evidence, at paragraph [0011]). At time of applicant’s effective filing, one ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select a rear radius of curvature, including within the claimed range of 0.10 inch and 0.25 inch, via routine experimentation. The motivation to make this modification is to improve swing stability and make it easy to move the club rearward during a back swing. Further, the applicant does not place criticality to the claimed range, indicating simply that the rear radius “may” be within the claimed range (See paragraph [0083]). No specific purpose for operability has been established in relation to the claimed range. The proposed modification has a reasonable expectation of success as it involves only adjusting a dimension of a component that is very conveniently adjusted using common manufacturing techniques.
Using the values for the first crown radius of curvature, and first sole radius of curvature set forth above in paragraphs [0054], [0065], and the optimally derived value for the rear radius of curvature, the resulting golf club of Chao et al, as modified above, thus teaches a second ratio of the first crown radius of curvature to the rear radius of curvature is 1.0-3.5, a third ratio of the first sole radius of curvature to the rear radius of curvature is 1.0-5.0; and wherein the first crown radius of curvature is greater than the rear radius of curvature.
With respect to claim 10, Chao et al. teaches wherein the first crown radius of curvature is substantially constant from the heel to toe of the golf club head (paragraph [0065] describing the radius of curvature of “transition zones” including face to crown, which extends from heel to toe).
5. Claims 5-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chao et al. (US Pub. No. 2014/0256464) in view of Burnett et al. (US Pub. No. 2014/0235368).
With respect to claim 5, Chao et al. teaches wherein the apex is offset from the loft plane by an apex distance measured in a direction perpendicular to the loft plane (Fig. 2), but does not expressly disclose the numeric value of this distance. Analogous art reference Burnett et al. teaches the following to be known in the art: apex distance between 0.8 inches to 1.4 inches (paragraph [0057]). At time of applicant’s effective filing, one ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select an apex offset distance within the range taught by Burnett et al. to provide a desired Ra-f and to reduce airflow separation Id.
With respect to claim 6, Chao teaches wherein the crown transition profile further comprises a second crown radius of curvature extending from the first crown transition point to a second crown transition point (Fig.’s 2, 8). Chao et al., as set forth above, discusses the first crown radius of curvature at the face-crown interface, but does not expressly disclose a second crown radius of curvature as claimed. Examiner cites to analogous art reference Burnett et al. for its teaching of a second crown radius of curvature Ra-f along the crown from the crown apex to the front portion of the crown (paragraph [0042]; Fig. 9). Regarding the limitation that said second crown radius of curvature having a greater radius of curvature than a first crown radius of curvature, examiner notes the combination of Chao et al, which teaches a first crown radius of between .18 inches and .30 inches (paragraph [0065]) and Burnett et al, which teaches a second sole radius of curvature Ra-f of greater than .30 inches (paragraph [0041]). At time of applicant’s effective filing, one ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious incorporate a second sole radius of curvature within the claimed range set forth by Burnett et al. The motivation to combine is to facilitate airflow attachment in a region close to the face, “resulting in reduced aerodynamic drag forces and facilitating higher club head speeds” (paragraph [0045]). The proposed modification is considered to have a reasonable expectation of success. Chao et al. discusses a weight port 22 that “may” be incorporated, however, its position near the face is not set forth as being critical and therefore can easily be moved rearward to allow for detailed curvature of the sole near the face.
With respect to claim 9, Chao et al., as set forth above, discusses the first sole radius of curvature at the sole-crown interface, but does not expressly disclose a second sole radius of curvature as claimed. Examiner cites to analogous art reference Burnett et al. for its teaching of a second sole radius of curvature Ra-f along the sole from the sole apex to the front portion of the sole (See paragraph [0060] applying Ra-f to sole; annotated Fig. 9)
Regarding the limitation that said second sole radius of curvature having a greater radius of curvature than a first sole radius of curvature, examiner notes the combination of Chao et al, which teaches a first sole radius of between .30 inches and .50 inches (paragraph [0065]) and Burnett et al, which teaches a second sole radius of curvature Ra-f of greater than .5 inches (paragraph [0041]), meet the claim element. At time of applicant’s effective filing, one ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious incorporate a second sole radius of curvature within the claimed range set forth by Burnett et al. The motivation to combine is to facilitate airflow attachment in a region close to the face, “resulting in reduced aerodynamic drag forces and facilitating higher club head speeds” (paragraph [0045]). The proposed modification is considered to have a reasonable expectation of success. Chao et al. discusses a weight port 22 that “may” be incorporated, however, its position near the face is not set forth as being critical and therefore can easily be moved rearward to allow for detailed curvature of the sole near the face.
With respect to claim 9, Chao teaches wherein the crown transition profile further comprises a second crown radius of curvature extending from the first crown transition point to a second crown transition point (Fig.’s 2, 8). Chao et al., as set forth above, discusses the first crown radius of curvature at the face-crown interface, but does not expressly disclose a second crown radius of curvature as claimed. Examiner cites to analogous art reference Burnett et al. for its teaching of a second crown radius of curvature Ra-f along the crown from the crown apex to the front portion of the crown (paragraph [0042]; Fig. 9). Regarding the limitation that said second crown radius of curvature having a greater radius of curvature than a first crown radius of curvature, examiner notes the combination of Chao et al, which teaches a first crown radius of between .18 inches and .30 inches (paragraph [0065]) and Burnett et al, which teaches a second sole radius of curvature Ra-f of greater than .30 inches (paragraph [0041]). At time of applicant’s effective filing, one ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious incorporate a second sole radius of curvature within the claimed range set forth by Burnett et al. The motivation to combine is to facilitate airflow attachment in a region close to the face, “resulting in reduced aerodynamic drag forces and facilitating higher club head speeds” (paragraph [0045]). The proposed modification is considered to have a reasonable expectation of success. Chao et al. discusses a weight port 22 that “may” be incorporated, however, its position near the face is not set forth as being critical and therefore can easily be moved rearward to allow for detailed curvature of the sole near the face.
6. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chao et al. (US Pub. No. 2014/0256464) in view of Imamoto et al. (US Pub. No. 2006/0084525).
With respect to claim 7, Chao et al. teaches wherein the crown transition region includes a heel to toe radius of curvature extending from near the heel to near the toe of the club head (Fig.’s 1-7), but does not expressly disclose this numeri value. However, Imamoto et al., directed to the analogous art of golf club heads, teaches wherein such features as the heel to toe radius of curvature of a crown transition region being greater than or equal to approximately 4.9 inches is known in the golf club art (paragraphs [0040] – [0045]; crown 5, crown transition region 15). Hence, at the time of invention, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to set the crown transition region radius of curvature of Chao et al. in an amount as taught by Imamoto et al, to provide exterior surface that is “smoothly curved from the toe side toward the heel side so as to be upwardly convex” (See paragraph [0045] of Imamoto et al. explaining the benefits the curvature dimensions). Examiner notes the similarities in convexity of the transition regions in both Chao et al. (Fig. 7) and Imamoto (Fig. 1) as evidence that the proposed modification can be made with a reasonable expectation of success.
7. Claims 11, 13-14, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chao et al. (US Pub. No. 2014/0256464) in view of Horacek et al. (US Pub. No. 2009/0075754).
With respect to claims 11, 13-14, 18, Chao teaches a golf club head comprising: a strike face 26 having a top edge, a bottom edge, and a geometric center (inherent), the strike face 26 defining a loft plane positioned tangent to the strike face 26 extending through the geometric center (inherent); and a body 10 including: a front end, a back end opposite the front end; a heel, a toe opposite the heel; a crown 16 including an apex and a crown transition profile (best seen in Fig. 8), the crown transition profile having a first crown radius of curvature (face wrap zone 26b extending in the “transition areas” from face to crown, including “crown-face plate interface” – paragraph [0065]; examiner further notes the reference to “face wrap zone” in paragraph [0065] used to describe the embodiment in Fig.’s 1-6, 8, which explicitly recites a “crown transition radius” at paragraph [0054]) extending from the top edge of the strike face 26 to a first crown transition point; a sole including a lowest point (paragraph [0065]) and a sole transition profile, the sole transition profile having a first sole radius of curvature extending from the bottom edge of the strike face 26 to a first sole transition point, a rear transition profile positioned between a first rear transition point, and a second rear transition point, the rear transition profile having a rear radius of curvature extending between the first rear transition point and the second rear transition point (Fig. 8).
Per MPEP 2131.03, prior art that teaches a range with sufficient specificity overlapping the claimed range anticipates the claim. Here, Chao discloses wherein the first crown radius of curvature is between 0.18 inch and 0.30 inch (paragraph [0054], and wherein the first sole radius of curvature is between 0.3 inch and 0.5 inch (paragraph [0065]). Examiner notes the ranges for the first crown radius of curvature and first sole radius of curvature in paragraphs [0054], [0065] are considered sufficiently specific since the ranges are closed and not excessively broad. Chao et al. also teaches wherein a ratio of the first crown radius of curvature to the first sole radius of curvature falls within 0.4 to 1. For example, Chao et al. teaches a first crown radius of curvature of .29 inches, and a first sole radius of curvature of .4 inches (paragraph [0065]): (.29 inches) / (.4inches) = .725.
Chao et al. inherently comprises a rear transition profile between first and second transition points comprising a rear radius of curvature therebetween (Fig. 6), but fails to expressly disclose the numeric value for this inherent dimension. However, per MPEP 2144.05, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). In the instant case, the golf club of Chao et al. would not operate different with a rear radius of curvature as claimed. Within the golf club art, a rear radius of curvature is known to be a result effective variable for swing stability (See Katayama (US Pat. No. 5,398,935), cited as extrinsic evidence, at column 4, lines 62-67 teaching a rounded rear radius to make it “easy to execute a stable swing”) and “preventing the club head from getting caught on the ground during the back swing (See Burnett et al. (US Pub. No. 2007/0149315), cited as extrinsic evidence, at paragraph [0011]). At time of applicant’s effective filing, one ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select a rear radius of curvature, including within the claimed range of 0.10 inch and 0.25 inch, via routine experimentation. The motivation to make this modification is to improve swing stability and make it easy to move the club rearward during a back swing. Further, the applicant does not place criticality to the claimed range, indicating simply that the rear radius “may” be within the claimed range (See paragraph [0083]). No specific purpose for operability has been established in relation to the claimed range. The proposed modification has a reasonable expectation of success as it involves only adjusting a dimension of a component that is very conveniently adjusted using common manufacturing techniques.
Using the values for the first crown radius of curvature, and first sole radius of curvature set forth above in paragraphs [0054], [0065], and the optimally derived value for the rear radius of curvature, the resulting golf club of Chao et al, as modified above, thus teaches a second ratio of the first crown radius of curvature to the rear radius of curvature is 1.0-3.5, a third ratio of the first sole radius of curvature to the rear radius of curvature is 1.0-5.0; and wherein the first crown radius of curvature is greater than the rear radius of curvature.
Chao et al. further teaches a sole including a lowest point, a sole transition profile, a first axis extending through the first sole transition point and a second sole transition point, and forming a first angle with the loft plane (Fig. 6). Chao et al. does not expressly teach the claimed first angle. However, analogous art reference Horacek et al. (US Pub. No. 2009/0075754) teaches the following to be known in the art: a sole including a lowest point, a sole transition profile, a first axis 132 extending through the first sole transition point 130a and second sole transition point (positioned reaward of point 130a, but before the lowest point of the sole), and forming a first angle with the loft plane, the first angle ranging from 80 degrees to 120 (Fig. 1E showing the first angle to be 90 degrees). At time of applicant’s effective filing, a person ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to position the sole transition profile to have a first angle as taught by Horacek et al. The motivation to combine is to improve energy transfer at impact (See paragraphs [0048]-[0049] of Horacek et al. extolling the benefits of sole transition profile). The proposed modification is considered to have a reasonable expectation of success as the intended features of Chao et al. will not be frustrated.
With respect to claim 19, Chao et al. teaches the lowest point of the sole to be rearward of the first sole transition point (Fig. 6) and therefore inherently teaches wherein the sole transition profile further comprises a second axis extending through the first sole transition point and the lowest point of the sole and forming a second angle with the loft Plane.
With respect to claim 20, examiner concedes Chao et al. does not disclose that this second angle ranges from 70 to 120 degrees. However, Fig. 1E of Horacek et al. shows wherein the second angle is a few degrees less than the 90 degreed first axis. See annotated Fig 1E below. As such, Horacek et al. is construed as teaching a second axis extending through the first sole transition point and the lowest point of the sole and forms a second angle with the loft plane, wherein the second angle ranges from 70 degrees to 120 degrees. The motivation to combine is the same as stated above.
8. Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chao et al. (US Pub. No. 2014/0256464) in view of Horacek et al. (US Pub. No. 2009/0075754) in further view of Burnett et al. (US Pub. No. 2014/0235368).
With respect to claim 15, Chao et al. teaches wherein the apex is offset from the loft plane by an apex distance measured in a direction perpendicular to the loft plane (Fig. 2), but does not expressly disclose the numeric value of this distance. Tertiary reference Burnett et al. teaches the following to be known in the art: apex distance between 0.8 inches to 1.4 inches (paragraph [0057]). At time of applicant’s effective filing, one ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select an apex offset distance within the range taught by Burnett et al. to provide a desired Ra-f and to reduce airflow separation Id.
With respect to claim 16, Chao teaches wherein the crown transition profile further comprises a second crown radius of curvature extending from the first crown transition point to a second crown transition point (Fig.’s 2, 8). Chao et al., as set forth above, discusses the first crown radius of curvature at the face-crown interface, but does not expressly disclose a second crown radius of curvature as claimed. Examiner cites to analogous art reference Burnett et al. for its teaching of a second crown radius of curvature Ra-f along the crown from the crown apex to the front portion of the crown (paragraph [0042]; Fig. 9). Regarding the limitation that said second crown radius of curvature having a greater radius of curvature than a first crown radius of curvature, examiner notes the combination of Chao et al, which teaches a first crown radius of between .18 inches and .30 inches (paragraph [0065]) and Burnett et al, which teaches a second sole radius of curvature Ra-f of greater than .30 inches (paragraph [0041]). At time of applicant’s effective filing, one ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious incorporate a second sole radius of curvature within the claimed range set forth by Burnett et al. The motivation to combine is to facilitate airflow attachment in a region close to the face, “resulting in reduced aerodynamic drag forces and facilitating higher club head speeds” (paragraph [0045]). The proposed modification is considered to have a reasonable expectation of success. Chao et al. discusses a weight port 22 that “may” be incorporated, however, its position near the face is not set forth as being critical and therefore can easily be moved rearward to allow for detailed curvature of the sole near the face.
9. Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chao et al. (US Pub. No. 2014/0256464) in view of Horacek et al. (US Pub. No. 2009/0075754) and further in view of Imamoto et al. (US Pub. No. 2006/0084525).
With respect to claim 17, Chao et al. teaches wherein the crown transition region includes a heel to toe radius of curvature extending from near the heel to near the toe of the club head (Fig.’s 1-7), but does not expressly disclose this numeri value. However, Imamoto et al., directed to the analogous art of golf club heads, teaches wherein such features as the heel to toe radius of curvature of a crown transition region being greater than or equal to approximately 4.9 inches is known in the golf club art (paragraphs [0040] – [0045]; crown 5, crown transition region 15). Hence, at the time of invention, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to set the crown transition region radius of curvature of Chao et al. in an amount as taught by Imamoto et al, to provide exterior surface that is “smoothly curved from the toe side toward the heel side so as to be upwardly convex” (See paragraph [0045] of Imamoto et al. explaining the benefits the curvature dimensions). Examiner notes the similarities in convexity of the transition regions in both Chao et al. (Fig. 7) and Imamoto (Fig. 1) as evidence that the proposed modification can be made with a reasonable expectation of success.
Double Patenting
11. Claims 1, 3-6, 8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,708,821.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the differences are considered phrasing differences not affecting claim scope.
12. Claims 1-14, 18-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,134,014.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the differences are considered phrasing differences not affecting claim scope.
13. Claims 1, 3-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 10,035,048.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the differences are considered phrasing differences not affecting claim scope.
14. Claims 1, 3-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 10,828,539.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the differences are considered phrasing differences not affecting claim scope.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL D DENNIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711