Drawings
The drawings filed on 11/5/2024 are accepted by the examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/5/2024 and 8/21/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-17 and 19-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 and 11-16 of USPAT 12166345.
Claims of instant application
Claims of USPAT 12166345
1. A system comprising:
a first controller configured to adjust a first parameter of electrical power output by a genset to a load associated with a local power grid, based on (i) a magnitude of current electrical power output of the genset, and (ii) a relationship between the magnitude of current electrical power output of the genset and a total power capacity of the genset; and
a second controller configured to:
determine a second parameter of the electrical power on the local power grid; and
control a magnitude of electrical power output by a power source based on the second parameter.
1. A system comprising:
a genset configured to output electrical power to a load associated with a local power grid, the genset comprising:
a controller configured to adjust a first parameter of the electrical power output by the genset based on a magnitude of current electrical power output of the genset, wherein the controller is configured to adjust the first parameter of the electrical power output based on a relationship between the magnitude of current electrical power output of the genset and a total power capacity of the genset; and
a power source configured to output electrical power to the load, the power source comprising:
an inverter configured to:
detect a second parameter of the electrical power on the local power grid; and
control a magnitude of the electrical power output by the power source via the inverter based on the second parameter.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the first controller is configured to adjust the first parameter by adjusting a first frequency of the electrical power output by the genset.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the first parameter of the electrical power output by the genset comprises a frequency of the electrical power output by the genset, and the second parameter of the electrical power on the local power grid comprises a frequency of the electrical power on the local power grid.
3. The system of claim 2, wherein the first controller is configured to set the first frequency of the electrical power output by the genset based on a function of the magnitude of the current electrical power output of the genset.
3. The system of claim 2, wherein to control the first parameter, the controller is configured to set the frequency of the electrical power output by the genset based on a function of the magnitude of the electrical power output of the genset.
4. The system of claim 2, wherein the first controller is configured to increase the first frequency as the magnitude of the current electrical power output of the genset falls below a threshold.
4. The system of claim 3, wherein the controller is configured to increase the frequency as the magnitude of the electrical power output of the genset falls below a threshold.
5. The system of claim 1, wherein the second controller is configured to determine a second frequency of the electrical power on the local power grid.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the first parameter of the electrical power output by the genset comprises a frequency of the electrical power output by the genset, and the second parameter of the electrical power on the local power grid comprises a frequency of the electrical power on the local power grid.
6. The system of claim 5, wherein the second controller is configured to adjust an amount of the electrical power output from the power source to the load based on the second frequency.
6. The system of claim 5, wherein the inverter is configured to output a maximum amount of the electrical power output from the power source to the load when the frequency is at a first set point.
7. The system of claim 5, wherein the second controller is configured to output a maximum amount of the electrical power output from the power source to the load when the second frequency is at a first set point.
6. The system of claim 5, wherein the inverter is configured to output a maximum amount of the electrical power output from the power source to the load when the frequency is at a first set point.
9. The system of claim 1, wherein the second controller is configured to control the magnitude of the electrical power output from the power source based on a linear function of the first parameter.
8. The system of claim 1, wherein the inverter is configured to control the magnitude of the electrical power output from the power source via the inverter based on a linear function of the first parameter.
8. The system of claim 5, wherein the second controller is configured to reduce an amount of the electrical power output from the power source to the load when the second frequency increases from a first set point.
7. The system of claim 5, wherein the inverter is configured to reduce the amount of the electrical power output from the power source to the load when the frequency increases from a first set point.
10. The system of claim 1, wherein the first controller is configured to adjust the first parameter of the electrical power based on a hysteresis curve relating the first parameter to a percentage of the magnitude of the current electrical power output relative to the total power capacity of the genset.
9. The system of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to adjust the first parameter of the electrical power based on a hysteresis curve relating the first parameter to a percentage of the magnitude of the current electrical power output relative to the total power capacity of the genset.
11. A generator configured to output electrical power to a load associated with a local power grid, the generator comprising:
a controller configured to:
determine a magnitude of current electrical power output of the generator; and
adjust a frequency of electrical power output by the generator based on a portion of the magnitude of the current electrical power output of the generator relative to a total power capacity of the generator, wherein the controller is configured to adjust a parameter of the electrical power output based on a relationship between the magnitude of the current electrical power output of the generator to the total power capacity of the generator.
11. A generator configured to output electrical power to a load associated with a local power grid, the generator comprising:
a controller configured to:
determine a magnitude of current electrical power output of the generator; and
adjust a frequency of electrical power output by the generator based on a portion of the magnitude of the current electrical power output of the generator relative to a total power capacity of the generator, wherein the controller is configured to adjust a parameter of the electrical power output based on a relationship between the magnitude of the current electrical power output of the generator to the total power capacity of the generator.
12. The generator of claim 11, wherein to adjust the frequency of the electrical power output, the controller is further configured to increase the frequency beyond a nominal set point in response to determining that the magnitude of the current electrical power output of the generator is below a threshold.
12. The generator of claim 11, wherein to adjust the frequency of the electrical power output, the controller is further configured to increase the frequency beyond a nominal set point in response to determining that the magnitude of the current electrical power output of the generator is below a threshold.
13. The generator of claim 12, wherein adjusting the frequency of the electrical power output by the generator is configured to signal to other devices connected to the load to adjust respective magnitudes of current electrical power output.
13. The generator of claim 12, wherein adjusting the frequency of the electrical power output by the generator is configured to signal to other devices connected to the load to adjust respective magnitudes of current electrical power output.
14. The generator of claim 12, wherein an increase in frequency of the electrical power output by the generator is configured to signal to one or more inverters to lower respective magnitudes of current electrical power output.
14. The generator of claim 12, wherein an increase in frequency of the electrical power output by the generator is configured to signal to one or more inverters to lower respective magnitudes of current electrical power output.
15. The generator of claim 14, wherein the increase in frequency to a maximum frequency of the electrical power output by the generator is configured to signal to the one or more inverters to stop outputting electrical power.
15. The generator of claim 14, wherein the increase in frequency to a maximum frequency of the electrical power output by the generator is configured to signal to the one or more inverters to stop outputting electrical power.
16. The generator of claim 11, wherein the controller adjusts the frequency based on a hysteresis curve.
16. The generator of claim 11, wherein the controller adjusts the frequency based on a hysteresis curve.
17. A system comprising:
a controller configured to adjust a first parameter of electrical power output by a genset to a load associated with a local power grid,
based on (i) a magnitude of current electrical power output of the genset, and (ii) a relationship between the magnitude of the current electrical power output and a total power capacity of the genset; and
an inverter configured to:
determine a second parameter of the electrical power on the local power grid; and
control a magnitude of electrical power output by a power source based on the second parameter.
1. A system comprising:
a genset configured to output electrical power to a load associated with a local power grid, the genset comprising:
a controller configured to adjust a first parameter of the electrical power output by the genset
based on a magnitude of current electrical power output of the genset, wherein the controller is configured to adjust the first parameter of the electrical power output based on a relationship between the magnitude of current electrical power output of the genset and a total power capacity of the genset; and
a power source configured to output electrical power to the load, the power source comprising:
an inverter configured to:
detect a second parameter of the electrical power on the local power grid; and
control a magnitude of the electrical power output by the power source via the inverter based on the second parameter.
19. The system of claim 17, wherein the inverter is configured to output a maximum amount of the electrical power output from the power source to the load when the second parameter is at a first set point.
6. The system of claim 5, wherein the inverter is configured to output a maximum amount of the electrical power output from the power source to the load when the frequency is at a first set point.
20. The system of claim 17, wherein the second controller is configured to control the magnitude of the electrical power output from the power source based on a function of the first parameter or a change in the second parameter.
8. The system of claim 1, wherein the inverter is configured to control the magnitude of the electrical power output from the power source via the inverter based on a linear function of the first parameter.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scopes of both claim sets are extremely similar (adjust a first parameter of electrical power output by a genset to a load associated with a local power grid, based on (i) a magnitude of current electrical power output of the genset, and (ii) a relationship between the magnitude of current electrical power output of the genset and a total power capacity of the genset is basically a paraphrase of “adjust a first parameter of the electrical power output by the genset based on a magnitude of current electrical power output of the genset, wherein the controller is configured to adjust the first parameter of the electrical power output based on a relationship between the magnitude of current electrical power output of the genset and a total power capacity of the genset”), the difference in the independent claim 1 of the instant application and the independent claim 1 of USPAT 12166345 is that the independent claim 1 of the instant application recites less limitation than the independent claim 1 of USPAT 12166345, for example, the independent claim 1 of the instant application does not require “a genset configured to output electrical power to a load associated with a local power grid, the genset” as part of system and claims 1 of USPAT 12166345 does require “ a genset configured to output electrical power to a load associated with a local power grid, the genset” as part of the system. Omission of an element and its function in a combination is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before. In re KARLSON (CCPA) 136 USPQ 184 (1963).
For similar reasons, claims 2-17 and 19-20 of the instant application are patentably indistinct from claims 1-9 and 11-16 of USPAT 12166345.
Claim 18 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of USPAT 12166345, in view of “Grid-forming control for power converters based on matching of synchronous machines” to Arghir et al. (hereinafter “Arghir”).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scopes of both claim sets are extremely similar, the difference in the independent claim 18 of the instant application and the independent claim 1 of USPAT 12166345 is that claim 18 recites “the inverter is configured to adjust a frequency of the electrical power output by the power source”. Arghir in an analogous art discloses the inverter is configured to adjust a frequency of the electrical power output by the power source (Arghir, see abstract “oscillator whose frequency is driven by the DC-side voltage measurement” and see page 277 for the DC-side being the DC-side of the inverter).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Arghir into the teaching of USPAT 12166345. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to provide strict incremental passivity, droop, and power-sharing properties which are compatible with conventional power system operation requirements (Arghir, see abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-13 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US20210111651 to Manson et al. (hereinafter “Manson”).
As for claim 11, Manson discloses a controller configured to control electrical power output by a generator to a load associated with a local power grid (Manson, see Fig. 1 and [0027]-[0036]) the controller configured to:
determine a magnitude of current electrical power output of the generator (Manson, see [0039] for measuring power output of genset machine); and
adjust a frequency of electrical power output by the generator based on (i) the magnitude of the current electrical power output by the generator, and (ii) a relationship between the magnitude of the current electrical power output and a total power capacity of the generator (Manson, see Fig. 1, see [0046]-[0049] for droop scaling operation that ties frequency setpoint adjustment based on the power measurement, and see [0053]-[0055] for the outer deadband threshold that are expressly set as a percentage of rated power of a genset).
As per claim 12, the rejection of claim 11 is incorporated, Manson further discloses wherein the controller is configured to increase the frequency beyond a nominal set point in response to determining that the magnitude of the current electrical power output of the generator is below a threshold (Manson, see [0040]-[0043] for droop equation that indicates frequency inversely tracks power).
As per claim 13, the rejection of claim 11 is incorporated, Manson further discloses wherein the controller is configured to signal other devices connected to the load to adjust respective magnitudes of current electrical power output, in response to adjusting the frequency of the electrical power output by the generator (Manson, see [0038] for the controller adhere to grid interconnection requirements for large scale generators and allows parallel engines to operate while connected to a bulk electric grid).
As per claim 16, the rejection of claim 11 is incorporated, Manson further discloses wherein the controller is configured to adjust the frequency from a first set point toward a second set point when the magnitude of the current electrical power output falls below a minimum threshold (Manson, see [0049]-[0056] for double-deadband set point-to-set point ramping).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manson, in view of US20200409404 to Knobloch.
As for claim 1, Manson substantially discloses a system (Manson, see Fig. 1 and [0027]-[0036]) comprising:
a first controller configured to adjust a first parameter of electrical power output by a genset to a load associated with a local power grid, based on (i) a magnitude of current electrical power output of the genset, and (ii) a relationship between the magnitude of current electrical power output of the genset and a total power capacity of the genset (Manson, see Fig. 1, see [0046]-[0049] for droop scaling operation that ties frequency setpoint adjustment based on the power measurement, and see [0053]-[0055] for the outer deadband threshold that are expressly set as a percentage of rated power of a genset);
Manson does not explicitly disclose a second controller configured to:
determine a second parameter of the electrical power on the local power grid; and
control a magnitude of electrical power output by a power source based on the second parameter.
However, Knobloch in an analogous art discloses a second controller configured to: determine a second parameter of the electrical power on the local power grid; and
control a magnitude of electrical power output by a power source based on the second parameter (Knobloch, see Fig. 5 and [0049]-[0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Knobloch into the system of Manson. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to operate an energy generation system that is able to optimally contribute to stabilizing an AC voltage grid (Knobloch, see [0007]).
As per claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Manson further discloses wherein the first controller is configured to adjust the first parameter by adjusting a first frequency of the electrical power output by the genset (Manson, see Fig. 1 and [0046]-[0049]).
As per claim 3, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated, Manson further discloses wherein the first controller is configured to set the first frequency of the electrical power output by the genset based on a function of the magnitude of the current electrical power output of the genset (Manson, see [0053]-[0055]).
As per claim 4, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated, Manson further discloses wherein the first controller is configured to increase the first frequency as the magnitude of the current electrical power output of the genset falls below a threshold (Manson, see [0050]-[0055]).
As per claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Knobloch further discloses wherein the second controller is configured to determine a second frequency of the electrical power on the local power grid (Knobloch, see [0049]-[0055] “control loop”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Knobloch into the system of Manson. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to operate an energy generation system that is able to optimally contribute to stabilizing an AC voltage grid (Knobloch, see [0007]).
As per claim 6, the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated, Knobloch further discloses wherein the second controller is configured to adjust an amount of the electrical power output from the power source to the load based on the second frequency (Knobloch, see Fig. 5 and [0049]-[0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Knobloch into the system of Manson. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to operate an energy generation system that is able to optimally contribute to stabilizing an AC voltage grid (Knobloch, see [0007]).
As per claim 7, the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated, Knobloch further discloses wherein the second controller is configured to output a maximum amount of the electrical power output from the power source to the load when the second frequency is at a first set point (Knobloch, see [0043]-[0044] and [0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Knobloch into the system of Manson. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to operate an energy generation system that is able to optimally contribute to stabilizing an AC voltage grid (Knobloch, see [0007]).
As per claim 8, the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated, Knobloch further discloses wherein the second controller is configured to reduce an amount of the electrical power output from the power source to the load when the second frequency increases from a first set point (Knobloch, see Fig. 4 and [0046]-[0055]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Knobloch into the system of Manson. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to operate an energy generation system that is able to optimally contribute to stabilizing an AC voltage grid (Knobloch, see [0007]).
As per claim 9, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Knobloch further discloses wherein the second controller is configured to control the magnitude of the electrical power output from the power source based on a linear function of the first parameter (Knobloch, see Fig. 4 and [0046]-[0055]).
As per claim 10, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Manson further discloses wherein the first controller is configured to adjust the first parameter of the electrical power based on a hysteresis curve relating the first parameter to a percentage of the magnitude of the current electrical power output relative to the total power capacity of the genset (Manson, see [0014] and [0048]-[0055]).
As for claim 17, Manson substantially discloses a system (Manson, see Fig. 1 and [0027]-[0036]) comprising:
a controller configured to adjust a first parameter of electrical power output by a genset to a load associated with a local power grid, based on (i) a magnitude of current electrical power output of the genset, and (ii) a relationship between the magnitude of the current electrical power output and a total power capacity of the genset (Manson, see Fig. 1, see [0046]-[0049] for droop scaling operation that ties frequency setpoint adjustment based on the power measurement, and see [0053]-[0055] for the outer deadband threshold that are expressly set as a percentage of rated power of a genset);
Manson does not explicitly disclose an inverter configured to: determine a second parameter of the electrical power on the local power grid; and
control a magnitude of electrical power output by a power source based on the second parameter.
However, Knobloch in an analogous art discloses an inverter configured to: determine a second parameter of the electrical power on the local power grid; and
control a magnitude of electrical power output by a power source based on the second parameter (Knobloch, see Fig. 5 and [0049]-[0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Knobloch into the system of Manson. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to operate an energy generation system that is able to optimally contribute to stabilizing an AC voltage grid (Knobloch, see [0007]).
As per claim 19, the rejection of claim 17 is incorporated, Knobloch further discloses wherein the inverter is configured to output a maximum amount of the electrical power output from the power source to the load when the second parameter is at a first set point (Knobloch, see [0043]-[0044] and [0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Knobloch into the system of Manson. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to operate an energy generation system that is able to optimally contribute to stabilizing an AC voltage grid (Knobloch, see [0007]).
As per claim 20, the rejection of claim 17 is incorporated, Knobloch further discloses the second controller is configured to control the magnitude of the electrical power output from the power source based on a function of the first parameter or a change in the second parameter (Knobloch, see [0043]-[0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Knobloch into the system of Manson. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to operate an energy generation system that is able to optimally contribute to stabilizing an AC voltage grid (Knobloch, see [0007]).
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manson, in view of US20210075252 to Caamano et al. (hereinafter “Caamano”).
As per claim 14, the rejection of claim 11 is incorporated, Manson does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller is configured to signal one or more inverters to lower respective magnitudes of current electrical power output, in response to causing an increase in frequency of the electrical power output by the generator. However, Caamano in an analogous art discloses wherein the controller is configured to signal one or more inverters to lower respective magnitudes of current electrical power output, in response to causing an increase in frequency of the electrical power output by the generator (Caamano, see [0042]-[0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Caamano into the apparatus of Manson. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to provide high efficiency and/or self-sufficiency from the power grid (Caamano, see abstract).
As per claim 15, the rejection of claim 14 is incorporated, Caamano further discloses wherein the controller is configured to adjust the frequency from a first set point toward a second set point when the magnitude of the current electrical power output falls below a minimum threshold (Caamano, see [0042]-[0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Caamano into the apparatus of Manson. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to provide high efficiency and/or self-sufficiency from the power grid (Caamano, see abstract).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manson, in view of Knobloch, further in view of Arghir.
As per claim 18, the rejection of claim 17 is incorporated, the combination of Manson and Knobloch does not explicitly disclose the inverter is configured to adjust a frequency of the electrical power output by the power source. However, Arghir in an analogous art discloses the inverter is configured to adjust a frequency of the electrical power output by the power source (Arghir, see abstract “oscillator whose frequency is driven by the DC-side voltage measurement” and see page 277 for the DC-side being the DC-side of the inverter).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Arghir into the combination of Manson and Knobloch. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to provide strict incremental passivity, droop, and power-sharing properties which are compatible with conventional power system operation requirements (Arghir, see abstract).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US10879727 discloses a method and apparatus for controlling the load presented to one or more power sources such as a power grid, backup power generator or solar panel is described. By selectively connecting, disconnecting, limiting and controlling various loads which are powered, the power grid service connection and power sources may be economically sized and operated while allowing reliability and convenience in selecting and powering loads. The control of the loads connected to the power sources is prioritized by various parameters including the power source operation parameters including load handling capability, type of load, load size, environmental factors, load usage during and subsequent to load connection, load priority and operator wishes. The control may also operate to facilitate transfer of power from one power source or load to another power source or load.
US10840708 discloses a method controls a microgrid having at least one renewable plant of distributed renewable energy resources and at least one generator plant of distributed non-renewable energy resources, and each plant has a local controller. The method includes providing type and power size of each plant to each local controller. At each local controller, measuring the frequency and estimating the total power load demanded based on the measured frequency. At the local renewable controller, decreasing the frequency at which power is supplied when the supplied power falls below the estimated power load and increasing the frequency when the supplied power exceeds the estimated power load. And at the local generator controller, increasing power supply in response to detecting a decrease in frequency, and decreasing power supply in response to detecting an increase in frequency.
US20170194792 discloses a method and apparatus for autonomously operating a microgrid power generator. In one embodiment, the method comprises obtaining a first measurement of at least one grid parameter of a microgrid transmission line coupled to a power generator in a microgrid; comparing the first measurement to a turn-on threshold; initiating, when the first measurement is less than the turn-on threshold, power generation by the power generator; obtaining, after initiation of the energy generation, a second measurement of the at least one grid parameter of the microgrid transmission line; comparing the second measurement to a shut-down threshold that is greater than the turn-on threshold; and stopping, when the second measurement exceeds the shut-down threshold, the power generation by the power generator.
/JASON LIN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2117