DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: “movie” should be “moving”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaehler et al., U.S. Patent Number 11,150,777 B2, in view of Berkebile, U.S. Patent Publication Number 2021/0304509 A1, further in view of Jackson et al., U.S. Patent Publication Number 2013/0055125 A1
Regarding claim 1, Kaehler discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium including instructions (col. 44, lines 12-14) that, when executed by a device, cause the device to perform or cause performance of operations for: presenting artificial-reality (AR) content comprising a plurality of user-interface (UI) elements on a head-mounted display configured to be worn by a user of the device (col. 5, lines 7-8, present AR/VR/MR content to a user; col. 20, lines 49-50, wearable system may identify that a particular UI need to be populated; 55-56, generate data for the virtual UI); an interaction tool that extends from a region associated with a hand-held controller towards the plurality of UI elements (col. 20, lines 8-9, user’s interaction with the totem is mapped; col. 20 lines 29-33, can include casting thin, pencil rays with substantially little transverse width or casting rays with substantial transverse width); determining whether a first end of the interaction tool is within a predefined region associated with a first UI element of the plurality of UI elements (col. 31, lines 15-20, virtual button can include an active volume; detects that the user’s finger has entered into this volume of space; col. 31, lines 35-37, volume of space associated with the active volume may be a portion of the active volume associated with the virtual button, i.e. which Examiner interprets as a predefined region; col. 30, line 66 – col. 31, line 1, wearable system can be configured to detect actuation of a virtual element based on the user’s hand or finger movement or the movement of a stylus or wand); in response to determining that the first end of the interaction tool is within the predefined region associated with the first UI element, moving the first end of the interaction tool to a first position relative to the first UI element (col. 31, lines 38-41, active volume can include a trigger surface and a release surface; col. 32, lines 16-18, as the finger continues moving toward the distal surface, the active surface may reach the trigger surface); after a movement of the hand-held controller, determining whether the first end of the interaction tool remains within the predefined region associated with the first UI element (col. 4, lines 3-7, when the active surface reaches a certain threshold position, the wearable system can initiate an interaction event; col. 4, lines 7-9, determine that the user has pressed a virtual button when the displacement of the active surface has passed a threshold condition);
defining the predefined region associated with the first UI element, maintaining the first end of the interaction tool at the first position relative to the first UI element (col. 32, lines 22-25, upon determining that the active surface has reached the position of the trigger surface, the wearable system may initiate an interaction event associated with the trigger surface; col. 33, lines 64-65, may set one or more threshold positions where an interaction event may be triggered).
However, it is noted that Kaehler discloses col. 20, lines 8-9, user’s interaction with the totem is mapped; col. 20 lines 29-33, can include casting thin, pencil rays with substantially little transverse width or casting rays with substantial transverse width, but fails to specifically disclose displaying, on the head-mounted display, an interaction tool that extends from a region associated with a hand-held controller towards the plurality of UI elements.
Berkebile discloses (FIG. 9A; paragraph 0182, several virtual cube-like object are shown; pertaining to operation of the user interface); displaying, on the head-mounted display, an interaction tool that extends from a region associated with a hand-held controller towards the plurality of UI elements (FIG. 9C; paragraph 0182, a virtual pointer may be utilized to move, size, and otherwise manipulate virtual objects; produce a simulated bending of the pointer); determining whether a first end of the interaction tool is within a predefined region associated with a first UI element of the plurality of UI elements (paragraph 0195, “snapping-to”; may be configured to assume that the user is attempting to select); in response to determining that the first end of the interaction tool is within the predefined region associated with the first UI element, moving the first end of the interaction tool to a first position relative to the first UI element (paragraph 0182, user selects, moves, drags, and/or modifies various virtual objects).
However, it is noted that while Kaehler discloses col. 32, lines 22-25, upon determining that the active surface has reached the position of the trigger surface, the wearable system may initiate an interaction event associated with the trigger surface; col. 33, lines 64-65, may set one or more threshold positions where an interaction event may be triggered, and Berkebile discloses a snap-to. Kaehler in view of Berkebile fail to disclose after a movement of the hand-held controller, determining whether the first end of the interaction tool remains within the predefined region associated with the first UI element; and in response to determining that the first end of the interaction tool remains within the predefined region associated with the first UI element, maintaining the first end of the interaction tool at the first position relative to the first UI element.
Jackson discloses paragraph 0006, a user selects the object and then selected the proper tool for the desired manipulation of the object, or vice versa; in response to determining that the first end of the interaction tool is within the predefined region associated with the first UI element, moving the first end of the interaction tool to a first position relative to the first UI element (paragraph 0007, moving the object so that the snap point of the object snaps to at least one of another point; paragraph 0049, moves the cursor over the center of operation grip associated with the selected object);
after a movement of the hand-held controller, determining whether the first end of the interaction tool remains within the predefined region associated with the first UI element (paragraph 0051, user has released the mouse button, releasing the center of operation grip; once the user navigates away from the selected object, so that it is no longer selected, the snap point may be erased or lost); and in response to determining that the first end of the interaction tool remains within the predefined region associated with the first UI element, maintaining the first end of the interaction tool at the first position relative to the first UI element (paragraph 0051, the snap point associated with the selected object may remain at the desired location so long as the selected object remains selected).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the virtual button interaction and ray cast as disclosed by Kaehler, projected the ray cast for display as disclosed by Berkebile FIG. 9C, to allow user to view the space that object occupy and interaction position. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the snap point as disclosed by Berkebile, moving the point to the center of the selected element and maintain the point of the selected interaction as disclosed by Jackson, to allow the user to view an association of the selection to remain at a desired location so long as the object remains selected.
Regarding claim 3, Kaehler discloses wherein: the first UI element is a button (col. 31, lines 5-7, virtual element may be a virtual button).
Regarding claim 4, Kaehler discloses wherein: the first position is a center position of the button (col. 32, lines 22-30, upon determining that the active surface has reached the position of the trigger surface, the wearable system may generate a signal indicating that the user has pressed the button; the wearable system may prevent another interaction event from being generated, at least temporarily; FIG. 17, Examiner interprets finger as center position of the button).
Regarding claim 5, Kaehler discloses further including instructions that cause the device to perform or cause the performance of operations for: after another movement of the hand-held controller, determining whether the first end of the interaction tool is within the predefined region associated with the first UI element (FIG. 18, col. 33, lines 28-35, virtual button may include an active surface; active surface may be initially located at the position; col. 18, lines 45-52, wearable system may further detect that a portion of the finger intersects with the active surface; can detect that the finger moves from the position 1722 to the position 1724); and in response to determining that the first end of the interaction tool is not within the predefined region associated with the first UI element after the other movement of the hand-held controller, moving the first end of the interaction tool to a second position that is distinct from the first position (col. 18, lines 45-52, can detect that the finger moves from the position 1722 to the position 1724; parallel to the active surface; col. 33, lines 60-67, determine that the active surface may be displaced for the distance; may move the active surface upward from the position; may set one or more threshold positions, where an interaction event may be triggered).
Regarding claim 6, Kaehler discloses wherein the second position is within a second UI element and the other movement of the hand-held controller also causes a manipulation to the second UI element (col. 33, lines 29-30, a user can also interact with a virtual button by sliding the virtual button).
Regarding claim 7, Kaehler discloses wherein: the second UI element is a scrollbar and the manipulation includes scrolling within the second UI element (col. 27, lines 3-6, user can interact with the virtual element by touching, pressing, releasing, sliding up/down or left/right, moving along a trajectory, or other types of movements in the 3D space; col. 31, lines 5-7, virtual element may be a virtual button, toggle, slider, or a virtual touch surface, or elements with other types of user interface appearances).
Regarding claim 8, Kaehler discloses wherein: the second UI element is a UI window and the manipulation includes moving the UI window (col. 27, lines 3-6, user can interact with the virtual element by touching, pressing, releasing, sliding up/down or left/right, moving along a trajectory, or other types of movements in the 3D space; col. 28, lines 23-25, move the virtual remote outside of the user’s FOV or to an edge of the user’s FOV, which Examiner interprets as a window).
Regarding claim 9, Kaehler discloses wherein the manipulation includes adjusting a distance between the hand-held controller and the second UI element (col. 25, lines 38-40, wearable device may present the virtual remote at a certain distance from the user regardless of the user’s current position in his environment).
Regarding claim 10, Kaehler discloses wherein: the interaction tool has a first visual appearance during the movement of the hand-held controller, and the interaction tool has a second visual appearance, distinct from the first visual appearance during the other movement of the hand-held controller (col. 26, lines 20-26, focus indicator; focus indicator can comprise a halo, a color, a perceived size or depth change; change in the shape of the cursor graphic; or other audible, tactile, or visual effects which draw the user’s attention).
Regarding claims 11-19, they are rejected based upon similar rational as above claims 1-10. Kaehler further discloses a method comprising: presenting artificial-reality (AR) content comprising a plurality of user-interface (UI) elements on a head-mounted display configured to be worn by a user (col. 37, lines 58-67).
Regarding claims 20 and 21, they are rejected based upon similar rational as above claims 2 and 5. Kaehler further discloses a head-mounted device, comprising: one or more processors (FIG. 2); and one or more computer-readable non-transitory storage media coupled to one or more processors (FIG. 2) and comprising instructions operable when executed by one or more processors to cause the head-mounted device to: present artificial-reality (AR) content comprising a plurality of user-interface (UI) elements on a head-mounted display configured to be worn by a user of the head-mounted device (FIG. 11).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen et al., U.S. Patent Publication Number 2019/0340821 A1
Chen discloses paragraph 0023, during execution of the AR/VR application, the projection optics are used to project virtual content into the field-of-view of the user; paragraph 0024, user inputs are provide to the AR/VR application via a user interface (UI) content interaction tool; paragraph 0038, projection optics of the system allow the user to see a virtual projection beam extending from the controller; FIG. 2A-2G; paragraph 0064, virtual content surface re-mapper further determines an interaction area including a first zone.
MOTILEWA . GOOD JOHNSON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2616
/MOTILEWA GOOD-JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2619