DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
On page 6, the paragraph numbering starts over, rather than continuing with Paragraph [0025]
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-8, 10-11, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunbar Technology (Microlocs Sizing Tool for Locs — Hair Measuring Tool with Imperial + Metric Ruler, Three Measurement Methods, Finger Grips & Keyring (Purple); https://www.amazon.com/Microlocs-Sizing-Tool-Micro-Measuring/dp/B0C5H8J5HK/ref=sr_1_1?adgrpid=1331511096867697&dib=ey).
Regarding claim 1, Dunbar Technology discloses a tool for forming microparts (refer to “Product Description”, annotated figure below; the sizing tool is used for measuring microlocs and is therefore capable of forming the microparts for microlocs), comprising:
a generally planar body (refer to annotated figure below); and
at least one notched edge bounding a portion of said body (refer to annotated figure below),
said notched edge having a series of notches separated by separators (refer to annotated figure below),
said notches each having a notch width varying in size (refer to “About this item”, annotated figure below; multiple measurement points are provided);
said separators each being substantially square and extending from a baseline that defines one end of each of said notches (refer to annotated figure below).
Dunbar Technology discloses a set of protrusions located opposite the notches, that each match the notch width of one of said notches opposite thereto (refer to “About this item”, annotated figure below; an alternate way to measure the microlocs is provided on the top portion of the tool), but does not disclose said separators each having a separator width that matches the notch width of one of said notches which is adjacent thereto.
Although this limitation is not explicitly disclosed, Dunbar Technology does disclose an advantage of their device as having three different ways to measure the microlocs: the protrusions, the apertures formed in the middle, and the notches. There are only two edges that the protrusions can be placed, on the top edge as shown, or on the bottom edge adjacent the notches. Placing them on the bottom edge, adjacent the notches, allows the user to use two methods simultaneously, without having to rotate or rearrange the tool.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the location of the protrusions to be adjacent to the notches to allow the user to use two methods simultaneously, without having to rotate or rearrange the tool.
Regarding claim 2, Dunbar Technology discloses the tool (refer to annotated figure above) of claim 1 further comprising:
indicia on said body aligned with said notches and providing an indication of the notch widths (refer to annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 4, Dunbar Technology discloses the tool (refer to annotated figure above) of claim 1 further comprising:
a series of sized apertures (refer to annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 5, Dunbar Technology discloses the tool (refer to annotated figure below) of claim 4 further comprising:
aperture indicia on said body aligned with said apertures and providing an indication of the aperture sizes (refer to annotated figure below).
Regarding claims 6-7, Dunbar Technology discloses a measuring tool for hair (refer to “Product Description”, annotated figure below; the sizing tool is used for measuring microlocs), comprising:
a generally planar body bounded by at least one notched edge having a series of notches separated by separators (refer to annotated figure below),
said notches varying in width (refer to “About this item”, annotated figure below; multiple measurement points are provided), and
each notch having a separator (refer to annotated figure below),
said separators each extending from a baseline that defines one end of each of said notches (refer to annotated figure below),
indicia on said body aligned with said notches and providing an indication of the notch widths (refer to annotated figure below).
Dunbar Technology discloses a set of protrusions located opposite the notches, that each vary in width, matching the notch width of one of said notches opposite thereto (refer to “About this item”, annotated figure below; an alternate way to measure the microlocs is provided on the top portion of the tool), but does not disclose wherein, each separator has a matching, varying width adjacent thereto, such that said notches and separators are positioned along one edge of said body.
Although this limitation is not explicitly disclosed, Dunbar Technology does disclose an advantage of their device as having three different ways to measure the microlocs: the protrusions, the apertures formed in the middle, and the notches. There are only two edges that the protrusions can be placed, on the top edge as shown, or on the bottom edge adjacent the notches. Placing them on the bottom edge, adjacent the notches, allows the user to use two methods simultaneously, without having to rotate or rearrange the tool.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the location of the protrusions to be adjacent to the notches to allow the user to use two methods simultaneously, without having to rotate or rearrange the tool.
Regarding claim 8, Dunbar Technology discloses the measuring tool (refer to annotated figure above) of claim 7, wherein said notches and separators increase in width across said one edge (refer to annotated figure above; the scale is shown as increasing in size for the notches and protrusions; based on the modification from claims 6-7, the protrusions are modified to be on one edge with the notches).
Regarding claim 10, Dunbar Technology discloses the measuring tool (refer to annotated figure above) of claim 6 wherein said separators are substantially square (refer to annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 11, Dunbar Technology discloses the measuring tool (refer to annotated figure above) of claim 6 wherein said notch widths are multiples of 1/16” (refer to “About this item”, annotated figure above from claim 6; 1/8, 1/4 , 5/16 , 3/8, and 1/2 are all multiples of 1/16”).
Regarding claim 15, Dunbar Technology discloses the tool of claim 1 (refer to annotated figure above), wherein said notches are set in from a common terminating edge of said body (refer to annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 16, Dunbar Technology discloses the tool of claim 1; modified Dunbar Technology does not explicitly teach a second notched edge bounding a portion of said body, said second notched edge having a series of notches separated by separators (based on the modification from claim 1, the protrusions on the top portion are modified to be on one edge with the notches).
Although this limitation is not explicitly taught, the addition of a second notched edge is merely a duplication of the first notched edge. “The courts have held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960): (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a "web" which lies in the joint, and a plurality of "ribs" projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.)” MPEP § 2144.04-VI-B. In this case, the addition of a second notched edge does not provide a new or unexpected result (refer to Paragraph [0006], page 8 of the specification).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tool of Dunbar Technology with a second notched edge as a mere duplication of parts.
Claim(s) 1 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramet (US 20050028834 A1) in view of Bachrach et al. (US 20100300469 A1), herein Bachrach.
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Ramet discloses a tool (1) for forming microparts (refer to Paragraphs [0033], [0035]; the strands of hair wound onto the comb 1 inside the notches 21 are separated from the others and formed based on the desired width of the lock of hair formed; thus, the tool is capable of forming microparts), comprising:
a generally planar body (3) (refer to Paragraph [0026]; the comb 1 illustrated in FIG. 1 has a generally flat and elongated shape); and
at least one notched edge (20) bounding a portion of said body (3), said notched edge (20) having a series of notches (21) separated by separators (25) (refer to Paragraphs [0027]-[0028]; the body 3 includes on a second side 20, a series of notches 21and portions 25 of the comb extending between the notches 21),
said notches (21) each having a notch width varying in size (refer to Paragraph [0031]; the invention can also be practiced with different notch widths which vary along the lengthwise axis X) and said separators (25) each having a separator width (refer to annotated figure below),
said separators (25) extending from a baseline that defines one end of each of said notches (refer to annotated figures below);
a series of teeth (11) extending from said body (3) and a handle (2) into which said body (3) extends, said tool (1) being configured to serve as a styling comb (refer to Paragraphs [0026]-[0027]; the illustrated arrangement includes a handle 2 and a body 3 with a first series of teeth 11, forming the comb 1).
Ramet does not explicitly teach said separators (25) each having a separator width that matches the notch width of one of said notches (21) which is adjacent thereto. Ramet further teaches that the notch side does not need to extend diametrically opposite the first side (10) to have a concave curvature (refer to Paragraphs [0027], [0040]), but does not explicitly teach said separators (25) each being substantially square.
Ramet can be modified to meet this/these limitation(s) by Hallmark, which discloses a comb (100) in the same field of endeavor (refer to Paragraphs [0002], [0011]) as follows:
Modifying the width of the separators (25) to match the width of the notches (21) in the same manner as the separators (103, 105 excluding the U-shaped notches; refer to annotated Fig. 1 below) and notches (109) of Hallmark (refer to Paragraph [0013], annotated Fig. 1 below; Examiner understands the matching widths consistent with Paragraph [0021] of the specification, which states equal widths for separators and notches are within 80-120% of each other; the base portion of the prong 103 excluding the notch section (shaded portion in annotated Fig. 1 below) is 1.7cm (1.5cm (notch width) + 2mm (width of end of prongs), with notch/gap 109 being 2cm in width; 1.7cm is 85% of 2cm, meeting the required limitation).
A person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make the above modification(s) because:
Ramet teaches that the width of the notches varies along the lengthwise axis based on the desired width of locks formed (refer to Paragraphs [0018], [0031], [0033]). Thus, the notch width is disclosed as a results effective variable. Ramet also teaches the separators (25) and notches (21) function to isolate desired sections of hair by referencing a lock of hair that has already been treated, such that sections of hair to the right or left can also be treated (refer to Paragraphs [0021], [0035], [0037]). By matching the notch width to the adjacent separator width, the stylist can more easily match or reference adjacent sections of hair to the desired width as also demonstrated in Fig. 7 of Hallmark. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the notches (21) to be the same width as the separators (25) as it involves only adjusting a dimension of a component disclosed to require adjustment.
Modifying the shape of the separators (25) of Ramet to be substantially square, in the same fashion of the separators (103, 105 excluding the U-shaped notches; refer to annotated Fig. 1 below) of Hallmark (refer to Paragraph [0013], annotated Fig. 1 below; the separators are 1.7cm in width by 2cm in height (3cm (A3)-1cm (A4) = 2cm, approximately square.
A person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make the above modification(s) because:
Ramet teaches that the shape of the separators (25) can be modified (refer to Paragraphs [0027], [0040]), and further, Hallmark teaches this shape of separator as being known in the art.
Claim(s) 3 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunbar Technology (Microlocs Sizing Tool for Locs — Hair Measuring Tool with Imperial + Metric Ruler, Three Measurement Methods, Finger Grips & Keyring (Purple)) in view of Hey Sis Beauty (Should I Install My Own Microlocks; https://heysisbeauty.com/should-i-install-my-own-microlocks-micro-locs/).
Regarding claims 3 and 9, Dunbar Technology discloses the tool (refer to annotated figure above) of claims 1 and 7.
Dunbar Technology does not explicitly disclose wherein said notched edge is configured such that, for at least a subset of said notches, a notch depth increases with increasing notch width.
Hey Sis Beauty discloses a method of installing microlocks in the same field of endeavor, teaching that microlocs/microlocks require a consistent square pattern. As Dunbar Technology also teaches the tool as ensuring consistent, accurate sizing for microlocs (refer to “Product Description”), it would be obvious to form the notches in the same square pattern for consistency, making the notch depth equal to the notch width.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the notches as taught by Dunbar Technology with a square pattern, such that a notch depth increases with increasing notch width, as Hey Sis Beauty teaches a consistent square parting system as essential to installing microlocs/microlocks (refer to “What grid pattern would you want?”).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunbar Technology (Microlocs Sizing Tool for Locs — Hair Measuring Tool with Imperial + Metric Ruler, Three Measurement Methods, Finger Grips & Keyring (Purple)) in view of Dread Extensions (Dreadlocks Sizes Explained & How to Choose Your Loc Size; https://dreadextensions.com/blogs/dread-blog/dreadlock-size-chart?srsltid=AfmBOor5KDWlK-jiKebRfBf8KS4b-PVqnrZ6wZ98lWSFOFoQO24fsf9F), herein referred to as D.E..
Regarding claim 12, Dunbar Technology discloses the tool (refer to annotated figure above) of claim 6; Dunbar technology discloses wherein said notch widths are in millimeters (refer to “About this item”), but is silent to the notch widths being even multiples of millimeters (Examiner understands “even multiples” as the integer of measurement can be evenly divided by 2).
D.E. discloses the sizing system of locs in the same field of endeavor, where loc sizes vary from micro (0.2cm) to large (1.2cm) in even multiples of millimeters (refer to “Please have a review for loc size chart from our factory”; 0.4cm, 0.6cm, 0.8cm are disclosed, which are equivalent to 4mm, 6mm and 8mm).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the notches as taught by Dunbar Technology with even multiples of millimeters, as D.E. teaches even multiples of millimeters as common sizes for locs (refer to “Please have a review for loc size chart from our factory”).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunbar Technology (Microlocs Sizing Tool for Locs — Hair Measuring Tool with Imperial + Metric Ruler, Three Measurement Methods, Finger Grips & Keyring (Purple)) in view of Sourced by Tiffany (Loc Measuring Tool, Sisterlocks Microlocs Wicks Sizing Tool, Dreadlock Hair Accessories).
Regarding claim 14, Dunbar Technology discloses the tool of claim 4; Dunbar Technology does not disclose wherein said apertures are circular and are sized to measure a diameter of a hair lock.
Sourced by Tiffany discloses a Loc Measuring Tool in the same field of endeavor, wherein said apertures are circular and are sized to measure a diameter of a hair lock, providing a precise measurement (refer to Description, annotated figure below).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apertures of Dunbar Technology with circular apertures as taught by Sourced by Tiffany in order to provide a precise means of measuring locs (refer to Description).
Response to Arguments
The outstanding objections of claims 8, and 10-12 are withdrawn in view of the newly submitted claim amendment.
Applicant's arguments filed 08/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument that Dunbar Technology does not teach the limitations of amended claim 1, Examiner points to the above rejection. The rejection relies on a rearrangement of known parts – separators (also called protrusions), which are equal to the notch width on an opposite edge. Further, Applicant argues against this modification based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). One of ordinary skill in the art is also one of ordinary creativity in the art, and merely rearranging a known part (separators of equal dimension to the notches) is within the level of ordinary skill.
In response to the argument that Dunbar Technology does not disclose the limitations of amended claim 6 and new claims 15 and 16, Examiner points to the above rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Queen Eleem discloses a paper based microloc sizing tool (
NPL- Instagram Video & Product Page - Enhanced Loc Sizing Card 2.0 ).
Hunt (US 4993438 A) discloses a rattail comb for separating hair sections (refer to col. 6, lines 40-50).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADRIENA J WEBB LYTTLE/Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/EDELMIRA BOSQUES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772