Detailed Action
This is a first action on the merits (FAOM) to this instant application in which claims 1-13 are pending. Claims 1 and 12 are independent and claims 2-11 and 13 are dependent.
A thorough search is performed by the Examiner and Examiner’s search revealed a reference, Biber (US-10,761,161-B2). Reference Biber covers area of invention identical to the claimed invention. Hence all claims 1-13 are rendered unpatentable by Biber.
Claim Objection
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase, “notify of the determined actual state of the magnet”, is not quite clear because it does not mention exactly who is being notified. In English grammar, “notify” is understood to be a transitive verb and therefore, it must have a direct object. For comprehending a scope of the claim and for applying prior art, it will be assumed that a user or an operator is the direct object who is being notified.
Appropriate correction is required.
Rejection under 35 USC §102
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Biber (US-10,761,161-B2).
Claim No.
Claim feature
Prior art
Biber (US-10,761,161-B2)
1
An operation terminal for a magnetic resonance imaging apparatus, the operation terminal comprising:
Biber discloses an operation terminal (operating computer console 24)1 for a magnetic resonance imaging apparatus2.
a processor; and
Biber meets this claim feature because the computer 18 or main terminal 21 has a processor as claimed.
a non-transitory tangible recording medium in which values of parameters related to a magnet provided in the magnetic resonance imaging apparatus and states of the magnet corresponding to the values of the parameters are recorded in association with each other,
Biber meets this claim feature because the computer 18 or the main terminal 21 in Biber includes a non-transitory tangible recording medium.
MRI apparatus in Biber has a magnet (4) and Biber discusses the magnet (4) can have different states such as “ramp-up” state, “ramp-down” state, “cooling” state, “emergency” state, etc.
Since Biber deals with the different states of the magnet (4), it identifies different states by values of parameters such as values of current flowing through the magnet coil, or the temperature of the magnet coils, etc.
wherein the processor is configured to:
(acquire the values of the parameters from the magnetic resonance imaging apparatus)3;
(determine which of a plurality of states that the magnet is capable of being in an actual state of the magnet is on the basis of the acquired values with reference to the recording medium)4; and
(notify of the determined actual state of the magnet)5.
Biber meets this claim feature, see Examiner comment in the foot notes how the examiner believes Biber meets this claim feature.
In Biber, the processor (24) is understood to carry out the functions of acquisition, determination and notification as claimed.
2
The operation terminal according to claim 1, wherein the parameters include at least one of a temperature of the magnet, a current flowing through the magnet, or a voltage between lead terminals of the magnet.
Claim 2 is met by Biber as it discloses “constantly” or “continuously” monitoring or checking a state of the magnet and state of the magnet includes current, temperature etc. of the magnet.
3
The operation terminal according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of states that the magnet is capable of being in are a demagnetized state, a cooling state, a cooling-completed state, an exciting state, and an excitation-completed state.
Claim 3 is met by Biber as it discloses ramping up and ramping down of the magnet, because ramping up and ramping down of the magnet include states such as demagnetized state, cooling state, etc. Further, since the whole process of ramping up the magnet is for placing the magnet in a state suitable for imaging, and excitation is a part of imaging operation and the state of the magnet being “constantly” checked or monitored, Biber cover the state of excitation and a state after completion of the excitation.
4
The operation terminal according to claim 1, wherein the magnet is a superconducting magnet for generating a static magnetic field that is provided in the magnetic resonance imaging apparatus.
Biber meets claim 4 as it discloses the magnet it ramps up and ramps down is to be used for magnetic resonance imaging.
5
The operation terminal according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to perform the notification using at least one of a display device or a voice output device.
Biber meets claim 5 as it discloses an operator control console 24 which is described to be computer and the computer can be understood to have a display and speaker to communicate with an operator including the claimed notification.
6
The operation terminal according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to acquire the values of the parameters at a determined time interval to perform the determination and to perform the notification in a case where the actual state of the magnet has been changed.
Biber meets claim 6 as it discloses “constantly” monitoring or checking a state of the magnet to notify the operator if any emergency criterion is met.
7
The operation terminal according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to receive an operation corresponding to the actual state of the magnet and to transmit an instruction corresponding to the received operation to the magnetic resonance imaging apparatus.
Biber meets claim 7 as it discloses the operator control console 24, of the MRI system, which performs all claimed functions stated in the claim (claim 7).
8
The operation terminal according to claim 7, wherein the processor is configured to prompt a user of the operation terminal to execute an action corresponding to the actual state of the magnet for at least some of the plurality of states that the magnet is capable of being in and to receive the operation in a case where the action has been executed.
Claim 8 is met by Biber as it discloses operator control console 24 that is designed to allow an operator to control the states of magnet and operation of the MRI system.
9
The operation terminal according to claim 8, wherein the processor is configured to prompt the user to perform a safety check as the action in a case where the actual state of the magnet is a cooling-completed state and to instruct the magnetic resonance imaging apparatus to start exciting the magnet in a case where the safety check has been executed.
Claim 9 is met by Biber as it discloses operator control console 24 that is designed to allow an operator to control and monitor states of magnet and operation of the MRI system.
10
The operation terminal according to claim 9, wherein the processor is configured to prompt the user to perform, as the safety check, a first safety check for ensuring that there is no magnetic material in a vicinity of the magnetic resonance imaging apparatus and that there is no person in a vicinity of the magnetic resonance imaging apparatus and a second safety check for the start of the excitation.
Biber meets claim 10 as such things as to ensure no magnetic material and no person is in the vicinity of the MRI apparatus are typically performed by a safety check and Biber should not be held as an exception.
11
The operation terminal according to claim 8, wherein the actual state of the magnet and information indicating the action are recorded in the recording medium in association with each other, and the processor is configured to determine the action according to the determined actual state of the magnet with reference to the recording medium.
Biber meets claim 11.
12
A method for operating an operation terminal for a magnetic resonance imaging apparatus, the operation terminal including a processor and a non-transitory tangible recording medium in which values of parameters related to a magnet provided in the magnetic resonance imaging apparatus and states that the magnet is capable of being in are recorded in association with each other, the method comprising: causing the processor to: acquire the values of the parameters from the magnetic resonance imaging apparatus; determine which of a plurality of states that the magnet is capable of being in an actual state of the magnet is on the basis of the acquired values with reference to the recording medium; and notify of the determined actual state of the magnet.
Biber meets claim 12.
13
A magnetic resonance imaging system comprising: the operation terminal according to claim 1; and the magnetic resonance imaging apparatus.
Biber meets claim 13 as it discloses a magnetic resonance system including the operator control console and the magnetic resonance imaging apparatus.
Contact Information
G.M. HYDER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2852
/G.M. A HYDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852
1 Examiner comment: In Biber, operating computer console 24 meets the term operation terminal claimed in the instant claim 1. The operating computer console is used by an operator to control and monitor “ramp-up”, “ramp-down”, temperature, “cooling state, “emergency” state, etc. of the magnet.
2 Examiner Comment: Biber uses many different terms such as magnetic resonance apparatus, magnetic resonance system, magnetic resonance scanner etc. to indicate a magnetic resonance imaging apparatus claimed in the preamble of claim 1. Biber further mentions, the magnetic resonance apparatus, etc., can be used for medical imaging.
3 Examiner Comment: The processor (operating computer console 24 has a processor) acquires the values of the parameters, i.e., value of current or temperature of the magnet, to determine a state of the magnet.
4 Examiner Comment: The processor (24) acquires the values of the parameters, i.e., value of current or temperature of the magnet, to determine a state of the magnet.
5 Examiner Comment: The processor (24) in Biber notifies the user/operator of the actual state of the magnet as it shows to the use/operator whether or not the magnet is in “ramp-up” state or “ramp-down” state, or operational state, etc. Without this critical piece of information user/operator cannot use the MRI apparatus.