DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Komatsuzaki et al. (JP 2022047108 A).
Regarding claim 1, Komatsuzaki et al. discloses “A vehicle front structure (10; Komatsuzaki et al. Fig 2) comprising: a front side frame (2; Komatsuzaki et al. Fig 2) disposed on a front side portion of a vehicle and extending in a vehicle longitudinal direction; a bumper reinforcement (3; Komatsuzaki et al. Fig 2) fastened to a front end of the front side frame and extending in a vehicle width direction; a fastening plate (32; Komatsuzaki et al. Fig 2) sandwiched between the front end of the front side frame and a fastening portion of the bumper reinforcement (As seen in Komatsuzaki et al. Fig 2) and fastened to the front end of the front side frame and the fastening portion of the bumper reinforcement (Komatsuzaki et al. ¶0013), wherein the bumper reinforcement and the fastening plate extend outward in the vehicle width direction beyond the front side frame (Komatsuzaki et al. ¶0015), and a tip end of the fastening plate is fastened to an outer end, in the vehicle width direction, of the bumper reinforcement; and an SOL brace attached to a rearward surface of the fastening plate, the SOL brace (4; Komatsuzaki et al. Fig 2) extending from the fastening plate obliquely rearward in the vehicle toward the front side frame (As seen in Komatsuzaki et al. Fig 2).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komatsuzaki et al. (JP 2022047108 A) and Nakayama et al. (US 20170320455 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Komatsuzaki et al. teaches “The vehicle front structure according to claim 1, wherein the fastening plate (32; Komatsuzaki et al. Fig 2) includes an outer part extending outward in the vehicle width direction beyond the front side frame (As seen in Komatsuzaki et al. Fig 2)…’
Komatsuzaki et al. does not teach a bent fastening plate.
However, Nakayama et al. teaches a bent fastening plate (26; Nakayama et al. Fig 1).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the bent fastening plate as taught by Nakayama et al. with the front vehicle structure of Komatsuzaki et al. with a reasonable expectation of success for increasing the amount of energy absorbed by the structure before the energy reaches the cabin.
With respect to claim 3, the combination of Komatsuzaki et al. and Nakayama et al., as applied to claim 2, teaches “The vehicle front structure according to claim 2, wherein the fastening plate (32; Komatsuzaki et al. Fig 2) has a ridge line raised rearwardly in the vehicle (26; Nakayama et al. Fig 1); and the SOL brace (4; Komatsuzaki et al. Fig 2) is welded (Nakayama et al. ¶0023) in a region outside the ridge line in the vehicle width direction to the surface of the fastening plate located rearward in the vehicle (As seen in Nakayama et al. Fig 1).”
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ramoutar et al. teaches a front structure with a SOL brace.
Hara et al. teaches a front structure with a SOL brace.
Asai teaches a front structure with a SOL brace.
Yoshida teaches a front structure with a SOL brace.
/D.R.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612