DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06 November 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takahashi et al. (JP 2019-161750).
Regarding claim 1, Takahashi teaches a rotor 10 of a rotary electric machine, the rotor including a hollow shaft 20 and an annular rotor core 30 fixed to the shaft through interference fitting, and the rotor comprising:
a plurality of refrigerant holes 22 provided in the shaft at intervals in a circumferential direction so as to communicate with a shaft center hole of the shaft;
a plurality of refrigerant passages 33 provided in the rotor core at intervals in the circumferential direction so as to extend in an axial direction on a radially outer side of a core center hole 31 of the rotor core;
a plurality of communication passages 82 provided in the rotor core at intervals in the circumferential direction so as to communicate with the corresponding refrigerant holes 22 and communicate with the corresponding refrigerant passages 33 at two different locations in the axial direction (i.e., coolant distribution plate 80 interposed between two different communication passages 82; Fig.5); and
a plurality of stress relaxation slots 32 provided in the rotor core at intervals in the circumferential direction so as to surround the core center hole on a radially inner side of the refrigerant passages 33 without interfering with the communication passages (Fig.4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikemoto et al. (US 12,500,464) in view of Watanabe (US 11,837,920).
Regarding claim 1, Ikemoto teaches a rotor of a rotary electric machine, the rotor including a hollow shaft 3 and an annular rotor core 4 fixed to the shaft through interference fitting, and the rotor comprising:
a plurality of refrigerant holes 3b provided in the shaft at intervals in a circumferential direction so as to communicate with a shaft center hole of the shaft (c.5:14-24);
a plurality of refrigerant passages 42 provided in the rotor core at intervals in the circumferential direction so as to extend in an axial direction on a radially outer side of a core center hole 4c of the rotor core;
a plurality of communication passages 41 provided in the rotor core at intervals in the circumferential direction so as to communicate with the corresponding refrigerant holes 42 and communicate with the corresponding refrigerant passages at two different locations in the axial direction (Figs.1-2).
Ikemoto does not teach “a plurality of stress relaxation slots provided in the rotor core at intervals in the circumferential direction so as to surround the core center hole [4c] on a radially inner side of the refrigerant passages [42] without interfering with the communication passages [41].”
But, Watanabe teaches a rotor of a rotary electric machine, the rotor including a plurality of refrigerant passages 16 provided in the rotor core 10 at intervals in the circumferential direction so as to extend in an axial direction on a radially outer side of a core center hole 15 of the rotor core (c.5:64-c.6:5) and a plurality of stress relaxation slots (slits) 21/22 provided in the rotor core at intervals in the circumferential direction so as to surround the core center hole 15 on a radially inner side of the refrigerant passages 16. Deformation of inter-slit portions 25 formed by the slits 21/22 allows the shaft 4 to be easily inserted into the center hole to improve productivity (c.5:57-61; c.8:1-6).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to provide Ikemoto with a plurality of stress relaxation slots provided in the rotor core at intervals in the circumferential direction so as to surround the core center hole on a radially inner side of the refrigerant passages since Watanabe teaches they would have allowed the shaft to be easily inserted into the center hole to improve productivity. Further, regarding the feature of providing Watanabe’s stress relaxation slots in the rotor core at intervals in the circumferential direction without interfering with the communication passages of Ikemoto, this would follow as a consequence of the combination since Watanabe’s stress relaxation slots are not used for oil/refrigerant flow as are Ikemoto’s communication passages 41 and therefore would not be in communication.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record does not teach the claimed rotor including, inter alia, “…the stress relaxation slots include a plurality of first slots provided on a radially outer side of the inner communication portion of the communication passages, a plurality of second slots provided between the intermediate communication portions of the communication passages in the circumferential direction, a plurality of third slots provided on a radially inner side of the outer communication portion of the communication passages, and a plurality of fourth slots provided so as to be aligned in the circumferential direction along the core center hole in a region other than the central region of the rotor core” (claim 2).
This determination is based on keyword and citation searches performed in a limited number of subclasses. Artificial intelligence search tools were employed. Nomenclature in the art is inconsistent. Keyword searches in the foreign art was limited to the text of the abstract. For these reasons, the scope of the search was necessarily truncated and relevant art classified outside the subclasses searched and/or using different terminology or keywords may not have been reviewed. See the Search Notes for details.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BURTON S MULLINS whose telephone number is (571)272-2029. The examiner can normally be reached 9-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/BURTON S MULLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834