DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claims 15-22 are withdrawn.
Claims 6-7 are canceled.
Claims 1, 11 and 23 are amended; support for the amendment can be found in original claims 6 and 7.
Claims 1-5, 8-14 and 23 have been examined on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Xue is now relied on to teach an electrically conductive layer comprising three layers with different main components.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 8-14 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite because it is unclear if the recitation “every other one” in line 9 refers back to the previous recitation of “every other one” in line 7 or not. For examination the former interpretation is used. Claims 2-5, 8-10 and 23 are rejected based on dependence on claim 1.
Claim 1 is indefinite because it is unclear if the recitation of “an integrated region of the plurality of sheet materials” in line 17-18 refers back to the previous recitation of “an integrated region” of each of the plurality of sheet materials in line 10 or to another region. For examination, the latter interpretation is used. Claims 2-5, 8-10 and 23 are rejected based on dependence on claim 1. The examiner notes that if applicant intends to claim two different integrated regions, “a first integrated region” and a “second integrated region” would bring clarity to the claim set.
Claim 1 is indefinite because it is unclear if the recitation “each sheet material” means “each sheet material of the plurality of sheet materials” or refers to other sheet materials. For examination, the former interpretation is used. Claims 2-5, 8-10 and 23 are rejected based on dependence on claim 1.
Claim 1 is indefinite because it is unclear if the recitation “at least a part” in line 31-32 refers back to the previously recited “at least a part” of line 30 or not. For examination, the former interpretation is used. Claims 2-5, 8-10 and 23 are rejected based on dependence on claim
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the plurality of first metal layers". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the plurality of second metal layers". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 is indefinite because it is unclear if the recitation “at least part of the plurality of through-holes” refers back to the previous recitations of “at least part of the plurality of through-holes” in claim 1, line 30 and claim 1, lines 31-32, or not. For examination, the former interpretation is used.
Claim 9 is indefinite because it is unclear if the recitation of “thermoplastic resin material” in line 6 refers back to the previously recited “thermoplastic resin material” of claim 1 or not. For examination, the former interpretation is used. Claim 10 is rejected for dependence on claim 9.
Claim 11 is indefinite because it is unclear if the recitation of “at least part of the plurality of through-holes” in line 40-41 refers back to the recitation of “at least part of the plurality of through-holes” in line 39 or not. For examination, the former interpretation is used. Claims 12-14 are rejected based on dependence on claim 11.
Claim 12 is indefinite because it is unclear if the recitations “the integrated region of the current collector” in lines 2-3 and 3-4, refers to the integrated region of the current collector of the first electrode, the integrated region of the current collector of the second electrode, both or none of the above. For examination, the third interpretation is used. Claims 13 and 14 are rejected based on dependence on claim 12.
Claim 12 is indefinite because it is unclear if the recitation “metal” of line 5 refers to the previously recited “metal” of claim 11 or to another metal. For examination, the former interpretation is used. Claims 13-14 are rejected for dependence on claim 12.
Claim 12 is indefinite because it is unclear if the recitation “a thermoplastic resin material” in line 5 refers to the previously recited “thermoplastic resin material” of claim 11 or to another material. For examination, the former interpretation is used. Claims 13-14 are rejected for dependence on claim 12.
Claim 12 is indefinite because it is unclear whether the recitations “the integrated region of the current collector” in line 2-3 and 3-4, refer to the integrated region of the current collector of the first electrode, the integrated region of the current collector of the second electrode, the integrated region in which the first metal layer and the second metal layer of the current collector of the first electrode and the first metal layer and the second metal layer of the current collector of the second electrode are all electrically connected together or a combination of the above. For examination, these recitations are interpreted as referring to the integrated region of the current collector of the first electrode and the integrated region of the current collector of the second electrode. Claims 13-14 are rejected for dependence on claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN-108767262-A, machine translation used for rejection below) in view of Liang (US 20200106104 A1, cited in IDS of 12/01/2024) and Xue (US 20220037672 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a stack (“battery”; [0052]; example shown in Fig. 1) comprising a plurality (Fig. 1; current collector of each of 1 and 2; [0051]) of sheet materials (“current collector”; [0051]; Fig. 2; 4) that are stacked (Fig. 1),
wherein each of the plurality of sheet materials (4) has:
a support layer (“plastic film”; [0017]; Fig. 3; 6) including a thermoplastic resin material (the “plastic film” of [0017] may be PET per [0072]), PI per ([0077]), or PP per ([0079]);
a first metal layer (“conductor layer”; [0017]; Fig. 3; 701) formed on a first face (annotated Fig. 3; 1F) of the support layer (6); and
a second metal layer (“conductor layer”; [0017]; Fig. 3; 702) formed on a second face (annotated Fig. 3; 2F) of the support layer (6),
wherein the first metal layer (701) in each (Fig. 1; one of the current collectors of 1 and 2) of the plurality of sheet materials (4) is identical ([0020] allows for identical metal layers) to the first metal layer (701) in every other one (Fig. 1; another of the current collectors of 1 and 2) of the plurality of sheet materials (4),
wherein the second metal layer (702) in each (Fig. 1; one of the current collectors of 1 and 2) of the plurality of sheet materials (4) is identical ([0020] allows for identical metal layers) to the second metal layer (702) in every other one (Fig. 1; another of the current collectors of 1 and 2) of the plurality of sheet materials (4).
wherein each of the plurality of sheet materials (4) has an integrated region (at least a portion of the “tab region” of [0051]; Fig. 4; at least a portion of 8), the first metal layer (701) and the second metal layer (702) of each of the plurality of sheet materials (4) come into contact (Fig. 2; [0070]) and are welded together ([0070]; [0076]) in the integrated region (portion of 8) of each of the plurality of sheet materials ([0051]; 4),
wherein at least one of the first metal layer (701) and the second metal layer (702) of each of the plurality of sheet materials (4), in the integrated region (portion of 8) thereof, is welded ([0070]; [0076]) to one or more of the first metal layer (701) and the second metal layer (702) in the integrated region (portion 8) of at least one other of the plurality of sheet materials (4) to form an integrated region (welded region of all positive collectors or all negative collectors; [0076]) of the plurality of sheet materials (4), such that the first metal layer (701) and the second metal layer (702) of each of the plurality of sheet materials (4) are electrically connected together ([0039]; [0076]) and to the first metal layer (701) and the second metal layer (702) of every other one (Fig. 1; another of the current collectors of 1 and 2) of the plurality of sheet materials (4),
each of the plurality of sheet materials (4) has a region (Fig. 4; 8) in which a plurality of through-holes (Fig. 4; 10) extending through each sheet material (4) are formed in a vicinity of the integrated region (portion of 8) of each of the plurality of sheet materials (4),
a circular (Fig. 4; 10) equivalent diameter (Fig. 4; diameter of 10) of the plurality of through-holes (10) is from 15 um to 150 um (0.01-0.5
m
m
2
cross-sectional area taught in [0015] corresponds to a diameter range of 110 microns to 800 microns by the examiner’s calculations),
an interval (Fig. 4; distance between two directly adjacent elements 10) of two adjacent through-holes (Fig. 4; two adjacent elements 10) among the plurality of through-holes (10),
wherein each of the plurality of through-holes (10) has an inner wall ([0037]) such that the plurality of through-holes (10) have inner walls ([0037]), further comprising an electrically conductive layer ([0037]) arranged on the inner walls ([0037]) of at least a part (Fig. 4; entirety of inner wall of 10) of the plurality of through-holes (10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have employed a circular equivalent diameter of the plurality of through holes from 110 to 150 microns because Wang discloses these values in [0015].
Wang fails to disclose wherein the electrically conductive layer arranged on the inner walls of at least a part of the plurality of through-holes has three or more layers with different main components and an interval of two adjacent through-holes among the plurality of through-holes is from 30 um to 250 um.
Liang discloses wherein an interval of two adjacent through-holes among the plurality of through-holes is from 30 um to 250 um ([0049] teaches 0.2 mm-5 mm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Wang by substituting the interval of Wang for the interval of Liang such that an interval of two adjacent through-holes among the plurality of through-holes is from 200 um to 250 um as taught by Liang in order to reduce the weight of the current collector and increase the weight energy density of the battery ([0013]).
Wang in view of Liang still fails to disclose wherein the electrically conductive layer arranged on the inner walls of at least a part of the plurality of through-holes has three or more layers with different main components
Xue discloses an electrically conductive layer (“upper protective layer”; [0014]; “conductive layer” [0113]; “lower protective layer”; [0113]) having three layers (“upper protective layer”; [0014]; “conductive layer” [0113]; “lower protective layer”; [0113]) with different (materials of the protective layers on the two surfaces of the conductive layer may be different per [0121]; aluminum or copper material, see [0082], of the “conductive layer” of [0113] is different than materials, see [0115], of the protective layers) main components (“nickel, chromium, nickel-based alloy, and copper-based alloy, more specifically nickel or nickel-based alloy” for the protective layers per [0115] and copper or aluminum per [0082]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the first and second metal layers and the electrically conductive layer of Wang in view of Liang for the electrically conductive layer of Liang such that the electrically conductive layer arranged on the inner walls of at least a part of the plurality of through-holes has three or more layers with different main components in order to prevent the current collector from being damaged by chemical corrosion or mechanical damage, and enhance the mechanical strength of the current collector as taught by Xue ([0112]).
Regarding claim 2, Wang in view of Liang and Xue discloses wherein a ratio of a volume of resin (Fig. 3; volume of 6 included in at least a portion of 8 in Fig. 4) included in the integrated region (portion of 8) of the plurality of sheet materials (4) to a volume of metal (Fig. 3; volume of metal in Xue’s conductive layers which have replaced 701 and 702, in at least a portion of 8 in Fig. 4) included in the integrated region (portion of 8) of the plurality of sheet materials (4) is from 5% to 50% (length and width of resin layer, 6, and metal layers, 701 and 702, are the same per Fig. 2-4; [0041] and [0045] teaches a range of heights of the resin and metal layers, which in combination with consistent lengths and widths, results in a ratio of about 16.7% to 50% by the examiner’s calculation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have employed a ratio of a volume of resin included in the integrated region of the plurality of sheet materials to a volume of metal included in the integrated region of the plurality of sheet materials of 16.7% to 50% in Wang in view of Liang and Xue because doing so is consistent with the dimensions of the resin and conductive layers disclosed in Fig. 2-4, [0041] and [0045] of Wang.
Regarding claim 3, Wang in view of Liang and Xue discloses wherein the plurality of sheet materials (4) has:
a first sheet material (annotated Fig. 1; 1SM indicates current collector 4 of topmost positive electrode 1 in Fig. 1) arranged at an outermost part (annotated Fig. 1; OP) on one side (annotated Fig. 1; 1S) of the plurality of sheet materials (4),
the stack (Fig. 1) further includes:
a first support member (annotated Fig. 1; 1SuM indicates active material layer 5 (see Fig. 2; 5) of topmost positive electrode 1 in Fig. 1) with electrical conductivity (“active material layer”; [0065]) supporting (Fig. 1, 2) the first sheet material (1SM),
a main component (“active material”; [0065]) of the first support member (1SuM) is different from a main component (copper or aluminum; per [0082] of Xue) of the plurality of first metal layers (701 replaced by Xue’s layers) and a main component (copper or aluminum; per [0082] of Xue) of the plurality of second metal layers (702 replaced by Xue’s layers).
in the integrated region (portion of 8) of the plurality of sheet materials (4),
a ratio of a volume (Fig. 3; volume of 6 included in at least a portion of 8 in Fig. 4) of the thermoplastic resin material ([0017, 0072, 0077, 0079]) to a total of a volume (Fig. 3; volume of metal in Xue’s conductive layer which has replaced 701, in at least a portion of 8 in Fig. 4) of a metal (metal of conductive layer of Xue) of a same type (type of metal in Xue’s conductive layer) as the main component (metal of Xue’s conductive layer) of the plurality of first metal layers (Fig. 3; 701 replaced with Xue’s conductive layer) and a volume (Fig. 3; volume of metal in Xue’s conductive layer which has replaced 702, in at least a portion of 8 in Fig. 4) of a metal (metal of conductive layer of Xue) of a same type (type of metal in Xue’s conductive layer) as the main component (metal of Xue’s conductive layer) of the plurality of second metal layers (Fig. 3; 701 replaced with Xue’s conductive layer) is from 5% to 50% (length and width of resin layer, 6, and metal layers, 701 and 702, are the same per Fig. 2-4; [0041] and [0045] teaches a range of heights of the resin and metal layers, which in combination with consistent lengths and widths, includes a ratio of about 16.7% to 50% by the examiner’s calculation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have employed a ratio of a volume of the thermoplastic resin material to a total of a volume of a metal of a same type as the main component of the plurality of first metal layers and a volume of a metal of a same type as the main component of the plurality of second metal layers of 16.7% to 50% in Wang in view of Liang and Xue because doing so is consistent with the dimensions of the resin and conductive layers disclosed in Fig. 2-4, [0041] and [0045] of Wang.
Regarding claim 4, Wang in view of Liang and Xue discloses a ratio (Fig. 4; ratio of volume of 10 to volume of metal in at least a portion of 8) of a volume (Fig. 4; volume of 10) of voids (Fig. 4; 10) in the integrated region (portion of 8) of the plurality of sheet materials (4) to a volume (Fig. 4; volume of metal in at least portion of 8) of metal (Xue teaches “nickel, chromium, nickel-based alloy, and copper-based alloy, more specifically nickel or nickel-based alloy” for the protective layers per [0115] and copper or aluminum per [0082]) in the integrated region (at least a portion of 8).
The examiner notes that the limitation “an integrated region of the plurality of sheet materials” requires only a portion of a total area where the integrated region of one sheet material is welded to the integrated region of another sheet material. Further, the limitation “an integrated region of the plurality of sheet materials” does not prohibit inclusion therein of a region outside of where the integrated regions of two sheet materials are welded, as long as at least a portion of the welded region of the two integrated regions exists therein. Therefore, it is the examiner’s position that the integrated region of the plurality of sheet materials can be set to have any number of dimensions as long as at least a portion of a welded region of two integrated regions of different sheet materials exists therein.
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art could arbitrarily set the dimensions of the integrated region of the plurality of sheet materials to dimensions wherein a ratio of a volume of voids included in the integrated region of the plurality of sheet materials to a volume of metal included in the integrated region of the plurality of sheet materials is from 0.1 to 8% because the integrated region of the plurality of sheets is not particularly limited and voids and metal are included in the integrated region of the plurality of sheet materials as set forth above.
Regarding claim 5, Wang in view of Liang and Xue discloses wherein the plurality of sheet materials (4) has:
a first sheet material (annotated Fig. 1; 1SM indicates current collector 4 of topmost positive electrode 1 in Fig. 1) arranged at an outermost part (annotated Fig. 1; 1OP) on one side (annotated Fig. 1; 1S) of the plurality of sheet materials (4), and
a second sheet material (annotated Fig. 1; 2SM indicates current collector 4 of topmost negative electrode 2 in Fig. 1) arranged at an outermost part (annotated Fig. 1; 2OP) on another side (annotated Fig. 1; 2S) of the plurality of sheet materials (4), and
the stack (Fig. 1) further includes:
a first support member (annotated Fig. 1; 1SuM; 1SuM indicates element 5 (see Fig. 2) of the topmost positive electrode 1 in Fig. 1) with electrical conductivity (“active material”; [0065]) supporting the first sheet material (1SM); and
a second support member (annotated Fig. 1; 2SuM; 2SuM indicates element 5 of topmost negative electrode 2 in Fig. 1) with electrical conductivity (“active material”; [0065]) supporting the second sheet material (2SM).
Regarding claim 9, Wang in view of Liang and Xue discloses wherein, in each of the plurality of sheet materials (4),
(a) a first ratio that is a ratio of a volume (Fig. 3; volume of 6 included in at least a portion of 8 in Fig. 4) of the thermoplastic resin material ([0017, 0072, 0077, 0079]) included in the integrated region (portion of 8) of each of the plurality of sheet materials (4) to a volume (Fig. 3; volume of metal in Xue’s conductive layers which have replaced 701 and 702, in at least a portion of 8 in Fig. 4) of metal (Xue “nickel, chromium, nickel-based alloy, and copper-based alloy, more specifically nickel or nickel-based alloy” [0115] and copper or aluminum per [0082]) included in the integrated region (portion of 8) of each of the plurality of sheet materials (4) is lower (relative to the thermoplastic resin, there is more metal in the integrated region than outside of it due to the electrically conductive layer present on the inner wall of the through holes) than
(b) a second ratio that is a ratio of a volume (Fig. 3; volume of 6 included in at least a portion of 8 in Fig. 4) of the thermoplastic resin material ([0017, 0072, 0077, 0079]) to a volume of metal (Fig. 3; volume of metal in Xue’s conductive layers which have replaced 701 and 702, in at least a portion of 8 in Fig. 4) of metal (Xue “nickel, chromium, nickel-based alloy, and copper-based alloy, more specifically nickel or nickel-based alloy” [0115] and copper or aluminum per [0082]) at a position (Fig. 4; positioned in 9 and at least 5 mm away from 8) 5 mm or more away from an end (Fig. 4; boundary between 8 and 9) of the integrated region (portion of 8) of each of the plurality of sheet materials (4), and
wherein the plurality of sheet materials (4) includes at least a first sheet material (annotated Fig. 1; 1SM), a second sheet material (annotated Fig. 1; 2SM), and a third sheet material (annotated Fig. 1; 3SM), the third sheet material (3SM) is a sheet material (annotated Fig. 1; 3SM) where the second ratio is highest ([0014] allows a PHOSITA to adjust the thickness, and ergo the volume, of the resin layer) among the plurality of sheet materials (4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Wang in view of Liang and Xue by choosing to make the thickness (and consequently the volume) of the resin layer of the current collector of the positive electrodes greater than the thickness (and consequently the volume) of the resin layer of the current collector of the negative electrodes such that the third sheet material (i.e. sheet material of one of the positive electrodes) is a sheet material where the second ratio is highest among the plurality of sheet materials, because Wang in view of Liang and Xue gives a PHOSITA freedom to select the relative thicknesses of the sheet materials and doing so would not have affected the performance of Wang in view of Liang and Xue’s device. Further, it has been held that the relative dimensions of an invention do not patentably distinguish the invention from the prior art if a device having the claimed relative dimensions would
not perform differently than the prior art device.
Regarding claim 10, Wang in view of Liang and Xue discloses wherein a value of the first ratio is 0.1 to 0.7 times a value of the second ratio (see [0019] and [0021] which allow a PHOSITA to adjust the thickness of the metal layers and the resin layer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have made a value of the first ratio 0.1 to 0.7 times a value of the second ratio in Wang in view of Liang and Xue because Wang in view of Liang and Xue grants a PHOSITA the ability to choose from a range of thicknesses, and ergo volumes, of the metal and resin layers per [0019] and [0021] and doing so would not have changed the performance of Wang in view of Liang and Xue’s device. Further, it has been held that the relative dimensions of an invention do not patentably distinguish the invention from the prior art if a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device.
Regarding claim 11, Wang discloses an electrode structure (Fig. 1) comprising:
a first electrode (annotated Fig. 1; 1E) and a second electrode (annotated Fig. 1; 2E);
a third electrode (annotated Fig. 1; 3E) and a fourth electrode (annotated Fig. 1; 4E); and
a first separator (annotated Fig. 1; 1S), a second separator (annotated Fig. 1; 2S), and a third separator (annotated Fig. 1; 3S),
wherein the first electrode (1E), the first separator (1S), the third electrode (3E), the second separator (2S), the second electrode (2E), the third separator (3S), and the fourth electrode (4E) are stacked in this sequence (Fig. 1),
each of the first electrode (1E) and the second electrode (2E) has:
a current collector (Fig. 2; element 4); and
an active material layer (Fig. 2; element 5) arranged on at least one face (Fig. 2; top and bottom faces of 4) of the current collector (4),
the current collector (4) includes:
a support layer (“plastic film”; [0017]; Fig. 3; 6) including a thermoplastic resin material (the “plastic film” of [0017] may be PET per [0072], PI per [0077], or PP per [0079]);
a first metal layer (“conductor layer”; [0017]; Fig. 3; 701) formed on a first face (annotated Fig. 3; 1F) of the support layer (6); and
a second metal layer (“conductor layer”; [0017]; Fig. 3; 702) formed on a second face (annotated Fig. 3; 2F) of the support layer (6),
in a vicinity (annotated Fig. 1; area around 1E and 2E) of an end (annotated Fig. 1; E) of the first electrode (1E) and the second electrode (2E), the first metal layer (701) and the second metal layer (702) of the current collector (4) of the first electrode (1E) are welded together ([0070]; [0076]) in an integrated region (at least a portion of the “tab region” [0051]; Fig. 4; at least a portion of 8) of the current collector (4) of the first electrode (1E), the first metal layer (701) and the second metal layer (702) of the current collector (4) of the second electrode (2E) are welded together ([0070]; [0076]) in an integrated region (at least a portion of the “tab region”; [0051]; Fig. 4; at least a portion of 8) of the current collector (4) of the second electrode (2E), and one or both of the first metal layer (701) and the second metal layer (702) of the current collector (4) of the first electrode (1E), in the integrated region (portion of 8) of the current collector (4) of the first electrode (1E), is welded ([0070]; [0076]) to one or both of the first metal layer (701) and the second metal layer (702) of the current collector (4) of the second electrode (2E) in the integrated region (portion of 8) of the current collector (4) of the second electrode (2E) such that the current collector (4) of the first electrode (1E) and the current collector (4) of the second electrode (1) together have an integrated region (at least a portion of the welded region of all the positive current collectors; [0070]; [0076]) in which the first metal layer (701) and the second metal layer (702) of the current collector (4) of the first electrode (1E) and the first metal layer (701) and the second metal layer (702) of the current collector (4) of the second electrode (2E) are all electrically connected together ([0039]; [0076]),
the current collector (4) of each of the first electrode (1E) and the second electrode (2E) has a region (Fig. 4; 8) in which a plurality of through-holes (Fig. 4; 10) extending through the current collector (4) are formed in a vicinity (Fig. 4 area around and including 8) of the integrated region (portion of 8) of the current collector (4) of each of the first (1E) and second (2E) electrode,
a circular (Fig. 4; 10) equivalent diameter (Fig. 4; diameter of 10) of the plurality of through-holes (10) is from 15 um to 150 um (0.01-0.5
m
m
2
cross-sectional area taught in [0015] corresponds to a diameter range of 110 microns to 800 microns by the examiner’s calculations),
an interval (Fig. 4; distance between two directly adjacent elements 10) of two adjacent through-holes (Fig. 4; two adjacent elements 10) among the plurality of through-holes (10),
wherein each of the plurality of through-holes (10) has an inner wall ([0037]) such that the plurality of through-holes (10) have inner walls ([0037]), further comprising an electrically conductive layer ([0037]) arranged on the inner walls ([0037]) of at least a part (Fig. 4; entirety of inner wall of 10) of the plurality of through-holes (10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have employed a circular equivalent diameter of the plurality of through holes from 110 to 150 microns because Wang discloses these values in [0015].
Wang fails to disclose wherein the electrically conductive layer arranged on the inner walls of at least a part of the plurality of through-holes has three or more layers with different main components and an interval of two adjacent through-holes among the plurality of through-holes is from 30 um to 250 um.
Liang discloses wherein an interval of two adjacent through-holes among a plurality of through-holes is from 30 um to 250 um ([0049] teaches 0.2 mm-5 mm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Wang by substituting the interval of Wang for the interval of Liang such that an interval of two adjacent through-holes among the plurality of through-holes is from 200 um to 250 um as taught by Liang in order to reduce the weight of the current collector and increase the weight energy density of the battery ([0013]).
Wang in view of Liang still fails to disclose wherein the electrically conductive layer arranged on the inner walls of at least a part of the plurality of through-holes has three or more layers with different main components
Xue discloses an electrically conductive layer (“upper protective layer”; [0014]; “conductive layer” [0113]; “lower protective layer”; [0113]) having three layers (“upper protective layer”; [0014]; “conductive layer” [0113]; “lower protective layer”; [0113]) with different (materials of the protective layers on the two surfaces of the conductive layer may be different per [0121]; aluminum or copper material, see [0082], of the “conductive layer” of [0113] is different than materials, see [0115], of the protective layers) main components (“nickel, chromium, nickel-based alloy, and copper-based alloy, more specifically nickel or nickel-based alloy” for the protective layers per [0115] and copper or aluminum per [0082]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the first and second metal layers and the electrically conductive layer of Wang in view of Liang for the electrically conductive layer of Liang such that the electrically conductive layer arranged on the inner walls of at least a part of the plurality of through-holes has three or more layers with different main components in order to prevent the current collector from being damaged by chemical corrosion or mechanical damage, and enhance the mechanical strength of the current collector as taught by Xue ([0112]).
Regarding claim 12, Wang in view of Liang and Xue discloses wherein a first ratio, which is a ratio of a volume (Fig. 3; volume of 6 included in at least a portion of 8 in Fig. 4) of the thermoplastic resin material ([0017, 0072, 0077, 0079]) included in the integrated region (portion of 8) of the current collector (4) to a volume (Fig. 3; volume of metal in Xue’s conductive layers which have replaced 701 and 702, in at least a portion of 8 in Fig. 4) of metal (Xue “nickel, chromium, nickel-based alloy, and copper-based alloy, more specifically nickel or nickel-based alloy” [0115] and copper or aluminum per [0082]) included in the integrated region (portion of 8) of the current collector (4) is lower (relative to the thermoplastic resin, there is more metal in the integrated region than outside of it due to the electrically conductive layer present on the inner wall of the through holes) than a second ratio, which is a ratio of a volume (Fig. 3; volume of 6 at least 5mm away from 8 in Fig. 4) of a thermoplastic resin material ([0017, 0072, 0077, 0079]) to a volume of metal (Fig. 3; volume of metal in Xue’s conductive layers which have replaced 701 and 702, at least 5mm away from 8 in Fig. 4) of metal (Xue “nickel, chromium, nickel-based alloy, and copper-based alloy, more specifically nickel or nickel-based alloy” [0115] and copper or aluminum per [0082]) included in the current collector (4) at a position (Fig. 4; position in 9 and at least 5 mm away from 8) 5 mm or more away from an end (Fig. 4; boundary between 8 and 9) of the integrated region (portion of 8) of the current collector (4), for the current collector (4) of each of the first electrode (1E) and the second electrode (2E).
Regarding claim 13, Wang in view of Liang and Xue discloses a battery ([0070]) comprising:
the electrode structure (Fig. 1) according to claim 12; and
a housing (“casing”; [0070]) that accommodates the electrode structure (Fig. 1).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN-108767262-A, machine translation used for rejection below) in view of Liang (US 20200106104 A1, cited in IDS of 12/01/2024) and Xue (US 20220037672 A1) as applied to claim 13 and further in view of Matsumoto (US 20230307730 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Wang in view of Liang and Xue fails to disclose a flight vehicle comprising:
the battery according to claim 13; and
a propulsive force generator that generates propulsive force using electrical energy accumulated in the battery.
Matsumoto teaches a flight vehicle (“aircraft 100”; [0012]) comprising: a propulsive force generator (“VTOL rotor 20 and the cruise rotor 29”; [0050]) that generates propulsive force ([0012]) using electrical energy ([0050]) accumulated in a battery ([0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Matsumoto by substituting the battery of Matsumoto for the battery of Wang in view of Liang and Xue, such that the flight vehicle comprised: the battery according to claim 13 taught by Wang in view of Liang and Xue; and a propulsive force generator that generates propulsive force uses electrical energy accumulated in the battery, to predictably obtain a propulsive force generator that generates propulsive force using electrical energy accumulated in the battery as taught by Matsumoto.
Claims 8 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN-108767262-A, machine translation used for rejection below) in view of Liang (US 20200106104 A1, cited in IDS of 12/01/2024) and Xue (US 20220037672 A1) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Das (Das, Abhishek, et al. "Joining technologies for automotive battery systems manufacturing." World Electric Vehicle Journal 9.2 (2018): 22).
Regarding claim 8, Wang in view of Liang and Xue discloses wherein the thermoplastic resin material ([0017, 0072, 0077, 0079]) is arranged inside (the thermoplastic material is subject to ultrasonic welding per [0070] and [0076]) at least part of the plurality of through-holes (10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that the thermoplastic resin material is arranged inside at least part of the plurality of through-holes in Wang in view of Liang and Xue because Das teaches that ultrasonic welding involves subjecting substrate materials to clamping pressure and ultrasonic vibration to create plastic deformation and flow of the substrate materials (pg., 3, section 2.1). This would naturally result in the thermoplastic resin in the support layer, when subjected to the welding process taught by Wang softening around the plurality of through holes and flowing into at least part of the plurality of through holes because of the heat generated during the welding process and the nature of a thermoplastic resin.
Regarding claim 23, Wang in view of Liang and Xue discloses that the integrated region (at least a portion of 8) of each of the plurality of sheet materials (4) has a thickness (Fig. 4; thickness, in a direction into the page, of at least a portion of 8), a surrounding region (Fig. 4; 9) of each of the plurality of sheet materials (4), which excludes the integrated region (portion of 8) of each of the plurality of sheet materials (4), has a thickness (Fig. 4; thickness of 9, in a direction into the page), and wherein in each of the plurality of sheet materials (4), an average value (Fig. 4; average value of the thickness of 8) of the thickness (thickness of 8) of the integrated region (at least a portion of 8) of each of the plurality of sheet materials (4) is less than ([0076] teaches that the plurality of sheet materials are subject to ultrasonic welding at the integrated region) an average value (Fig. 4; average value of the thickness, in a direction into the page, of 9) of the thickness (thickness of 9) of the surrounding region (Fig. 4; 9) of each of the plurality of sheet materials (4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that an average value of the thickness of the integrated region of each of the plurality of sheet materials is less than an average value of the thickness of the surrounding region of each of the plurality of sheet materials because Das teaches that ultrasonic welding involves subjecting substrate materials to clamping pressure and ultrasonic vibration to create plastic deformation and flow of the substrate materials (pg., 3, section 2.1). This would naturally result in the integrated region of each of the plurality of sheet materials having a smaller thickness relative to that of the surrounding region because the compression and plastic deformation that the integrated region is subjected to, would cause the flow of the material in the compressed area (i.e. the integrated region) to an adjacent area (i.e. the surrounding region) not subject to compression.
This conclusion of obviousness is supported by the instant disclosure which teaches that as a result of welding ([0205]) a sheet material having the same structure (Fig. 11) as Wang in view of Liang and Xue’s sheet material, a part of the thermoplastic resin existing in the integrated region before welding moves to the adjacent area during welding resulting in the swelling (i.e. increase in thickness) of the adjacent area ([0334]).
Conclusion
/G.A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723