DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 15-22 are withdrawn.
Claims 6-7 are canceled.
Claims 1-4, 8, 9, 11 and 12 are amended; support for the amendment can be found in original claims 1-4, 8, 9, 11 and 12.
Claims 24 and 25 are newly added; support for these claims can be found in [0207, 0202, 0216] of the specification.
Claims 1-5, 8-14 and 23-25 have been examined on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Xue does not disclose providing three layers inside of a through hole that extends through the current collector (pg. 19, para. 2). This argument is not found persuasive because Wang is relied on to teach an electrically conductive layer arranged on the inner walls ([0037]) on the at least a part of the inner wall (inner wall of 10) of the plurality of through-holes (10) and Xue is relied on to teach an electrically conductive layer having three layers ([0113-0114]) with different main components ([0082], [0115]) as set forth in the rejection of record. Further, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant argues that Wang’s holes are provided in an area not covered by active material while Liang’s holes are provided in an area covered with active material (pg. 19, para. 1). This argument is not found persuasive because Liang’s holes and three layers are not relied on in the rejection of record.
Applicant argues that a PHOSITA would have no reason to apply an electrically conductive layer to Wang’s holes because Wang teaches that the purpose of the protective layers is to prevent short circuits between the current collector and active layer and the holes have no active layer (pg. 19, para. 1). This argument is not found persuasive because Wang teaches that the holes have a conductive layer in [0037] and the combination of Wang in view of Liang and Xue substitutes Wang’s conductive layer for Xue’s conductive layer.
Applicant argues that a PHOSITA would not risk contaminating the weld between the tab regions of Wang (pg. 19, para. 1). The examiner notes that the arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record, and absent evidence supporting this argument, this argument is found unpersuasive.
Applicant argues that the enhancement of strength taught by Xue is achieved by the protective layers being spread over the entire of the polymer support layer and not by being placed in a limited area of the support plate as with the holes 10 of Wang, and that the applied art provides no reason for a PHOSITA to apply the protective layers of Xue to the holes of Wang (pg. 20, para. 1).
This argument is not found persuasive because Xue recognizes that a conductive layer on a current collector in a battery is capable of being damaged ([0112]) which directly relates to the conductive layer taught by Wang which is located on a current collector in a battery. Thus, a PHOSITA would be motivated to provide protection to Wang’s conductive layer which is found inside a battery and subject to the same conditions (ex. corrosive electrolyte, the shock of an impact on the battery etc.) as Xue’s conductive layer. Further, the examiner notes that Xue teaches an embodiment where a portion of the current collector is free of active material (Fig. 17; 512). Xue does not teach that the current collector in this area is any different than the current collector in areas (Fig. 17; 513-515) covered by active material. Thus, a PHOSITA would recognize that the protective layer ([0111]) taught by Xue can be located on areas covered by active material and not covered by active material.
Applicant argues that the examiner’s allegation of a PHOSITA’s freedom to select the claimed volume ratios is improper (pg. 20, para. 3). This argument is not found persuasive because the courts have held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
The claimed ratios of relative volumes amounts to a claiming of relative dimensions as the dimensions of the integrated regions and the positions 5 mm away determine the relative volumes. Further, Wang in view of Liang and Xue gives a PHOSITA freedom to select the relative thicknesses ([0014]), and ergo the volume, of the sheet materials and doing so would not have affected the performance of Wang in view of Liang and Xue’s device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9-13 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN-108767262-A, machine translation used for rejection below) in view of Liang (US 20200106104 A1, cited in IDS of 12/01/2024) and Xue (US 20220037672 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a stack (“battery”; [0052]; example shown in Fig. 1) comprising a plurality (Fig. 1; current collector of each of 1 and 2; [0051]) of sheet materials (“current collector”; [0051]; Fig. 2; 4) that are stacked (Fig. 1),
wherein each of the plurality of sheet materials (4) has:
a support layer (“plastic film”; [0017]; Fig. 3; 6) including a thermoplastic resin material (the “plastic film” of [0017] may be PET per [0072]), PI per ([0077]), or PP per ([0079]);
a first metal layer (“conductor layer”; [0017]; Fig. 3; 701) formed on a first face (annotated Fig. 3; 1F) of the support layer (6); and
a second metal layer (“conductor layer”; [0017]; Fig. 3; 702) formed on a second face (annotated Fig. 3; 2F) of the support layer (6),
wherein the first metal layer (701) is structurally identical (Fig. 3; 701) in all (Fig. 1) of the plurality of sheet materials (4),
wherein the second metal layer (702) is structurally identical (Fig. 3; 702) in all (Fig. 1) of the plurality of sheet materials (4),
wherein each of the plurality of sheet materials (4) has an integrated region (at least a portion of the “tab region” of [0051] of each sheet material; Fig. 4; at least a portion of 8 of each sheet material), the first metal layer (701) and the second metal layer (702) of each of the plurality of sheet materials (4) come into contact (Fig. 2; [0070]) and are welded together ([0070]; [0076]) in the integrated region (portion of 8) of each of the plurality of sheet materials ([0051]; 4),
wherein at least one of the first metal layer (701) and the second metal layer (702) of each of the plurality of sheet materials (4), in the integrated region (portion of 8) thereof, is welded ([0070]; [0076]) to one or more of the first metal layer (701) and the second metal layer (702) in the integrated region (portion 8) of at least one other of the plurality of sheet materials (4) to form a collective integrated region (welded region of all positive collectors or all negative collectors; [0076]; “CR”) of the plurality of sheet materials (4), such that the first metal layer (701) and the second metal layer (702) of each of the plurality of sheet materials (4) are electrically connected together ([0039]; [0076]) and to the first metal layer (701) and the second metal layer (702) of every other one (Fig. 1; another of the current collectors of 1 and 2) of the plurality of sheet materials (4),
each of the plurality of sheet materials (4) has a region (Fig. 4; 8) in which a plurality of through-holes (Fig. 4; 10) extending through each sheet material (4) of the plurality of sheet materials (4) are formed in a vicinity of the integrated region (portion of 8) of each of the plurality of sheet materials (4),
a circular (Fig. 4; 10) equivalent diameter (Fig. 4; diameter of 10) of the plurality of through-holes (10) is from 15 um to 150 um (0.01-0.5
m
m
2
cross-sectional area taught in [0015] corresponds to a diameter range of 110 microns to 800 microns by the examiner’s calculations),
an interval (Fig. 4; distance between two directly adjacent elements 10) of two adjacent through-holes (Fig. 4; two adjacent elements 10) among the plurality of through-holes (10),
wherein each of the plurality of through-holes (10) has an inner wall ([0037]) such that the plurality of through-holes (10) have inner walls ([0037]), further comprising an electrically conductive layer ([0037]) arranged on the inner walls ([0037]) of the at least a part (Fig. 4; entirety of inner wall of 10) of the plurality of through-holes (10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have employed a circular equivalent diameter of the plurality of through holes from 110 to 150 microns because Wang discloses these values in [0015].
Wang fails to disclose wherein the electrically conductive layer arranged on the inner walls of at least a part of the plurality of through-holes has three or more layers with different main components and an interval of two adjacent through-holes among the plurality of through-holes is from 30 um to 250 um.
Liang discloses wherein an interval of two adjacent through-holes among the plurality of through-holes is from 30 um to 250 um ([0049] teaches 0.2 mm-5 mm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Wang by substituting the interval of Wang for the interval of Liang such that an interval of two adjacent through-holes among the plurality of through-holes is from 200 um to 250 um as taught by Liang in order to reduce the weight of the current collector and increase the weight energy density of the battery ([0013]).
Wang in view of Liang still fails to disclose wherein the electrically conductive layer arranged on the inner walls of at least a part of the plurality of through-holes has three or more layers with different main components
Xue discloses an electrically conductive layer (“upper protective layer”; [0014]; “conductive layer” [0113]; “lower protective layer”; [0113]) having three layers (“upper protective layer”; [0014]; “conductive layer” [0113]; “lower protective layer”; [0113]) with different (materials of the protective layers on the two surfaces of the conductive layer may be different per [0121]; aluminum or copper material, see [0082], of the “conductive layer” of [0113] is different than materials, see [0115], of the protective layers) main components (“nickel, chromium, nickel-based alloy, and copper-based alloy, more specifically nickel or nickel-based alloy” for the protective layers per [0115] and copper or aluminum per [0082]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the first and second metal layers and the electrically conductive layer of Wang in view of Liang for the electrically conductive layer of Liang such that the electrically conductive layer arranged on the inner walls of at least a part of the plurality of through-holes has three or more layers with different main components in order to prevent the current collector from being damaged by chemical corrosion or mechanical damage, and enhance the mechanical strength of the current collector as taught by Xue ([0112]).
Regarding claim 2, Wang in view of Liang and Xue discloses wherein a ratio of a volume of resin (Fig. 3; volume of 6 included in at least a portion of 8 in Fig. 4) included in the collective integrated region (CR) of the plurality of sheet materials (4) to a volume of metal (Fig. 3; volume of metal in Xue’s conductive layers which have replaced 701 and 702, in at least a portion of 8 in Fig. 4) included in the collective integrated region (CR) of the plurality of sheet materials (4) is from 5% to 50% (length and width of resin layer, 6, and metal layers, 701 and 702, are the same per Fig. 2-4; [0041] and [0045] teaches a range of heights of the resin and metal layers, which in combination with consistent lengths and widths, results in a ratio of about 16.7% to 50% by the examiner’s calculation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have employed a ratio of a volume of resin included in the integrated region of the plurality of sheet materials to a volume of metal included in the integrated region of the plurality of sheet materials of 16.7% to 50% in Wang in view of Liang and Xue because doing so is consistent with the dimensions of the resin and conductive layers disclosed in Fig. 2-4, [0041] and [0045] of Wang.
Regarding claim 3, Wang in view of Liang and Xue discloses wherein the first metal layer (701 replaced by Xue’s layers) of each of the plurality of sheet materials taken together for all of the plurality of sheet materials (4) is referred to as a plurality of first metal layers (Fig. 1; every element 701, shown in Fig. 3, of 1 and 2), wherein the second metal layer (702 replaced by Xue’s layers) of each of the plurality of sheet materials (4) taken together for all of the plurality of sheet materials (4) is referred to as a plurality of second metal layers (Fig. 1; every element 702, shown in Fig. 3, of 1 and 2),
wherein the plurality of sheet materials (4) has:
a first sheet material (annotated Fig. 1; 1SM indicates current collector 4 of topmost positive electrode 1 in Fig. 1) arranged at an outermost part (annotated Fig. 1; OP) on one side (annotated Fig. 1; 1S) of the plurality of sheet materials (4),
the stack (Fig. 1) further includes:
a first support member (annotated Fig. 1; 1SuM indicates active material layer 5 (see Fig. 2; 5) of topmost positive electrode 1 in Fig. 1) with electrical conductivity (“active material layer”; [0065]) supporting (Fig. 1, 2) the first sheet material (1SM),
a main component (“active material”; [0065]) of the first support member (1SuM) is different from a main component (copper or aluminum; per [0082] of Xue) of the plurality of first metal layers (701 replaced by Xue’s layers) and a main component (copper or aluminum; per [0082] of Xue) of the plurality of second metal layers (702 replaced by Xue’s layers).
in the collective integrated region (CR) of the plurality of sheet materials (4),
a ratio of a volume (Fig. 3; volume of 6 included in at least a portion of 8 of all sheet materials 4 in Fig. 4) of the thermoplastic resin material ([0017, 0072, 0077, 0079]) to a total of a volume (Fig. 3; volume of metal in Xue’s conductive layer which has replaced 701, in at least a portion of 8 in Fig. 4 of all sheet materials 4) of a metal (metal of conductive layer of Xue) of a same type (type of metal in Xue’s conductive layer) as the main component (metal of Xue’s conductive layer) of the plurality of first metal layers (Fig. 3; 701 replaced with Xue’s conductive layer) and a volume (Fig. 3; volume of metal in Xue’s conductive layer which has replaced 702, in at least a portion of 8 in Fig. 4, of all sheet materials 4) of a metal (metal of conductive layer of Xue) of a same type (type of metal in Xue’s conductive layer) as the main component (metal of Xue’s conductive layer) of the plurality of second metal layers (Fig. 3; 701 replaced with Xue’s conductive layer) is from 5% to 50% (length and width of resin layer, 6, and metal layers, 701 and 702, are the same per Fig. 2-4; [0041] and [0045] teaches a range of heights of the resin and metal layers, which in combination with consistent lengths and widths, includes a ratio of about 16.7% to 50% by the examiner’s calculation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have employed a ratio of a volume of the thermoplastic resin material to a total of a volume of a metal of a same type as the main component of the plurality of first metal layers and a volume of a metal of a same type as the main component of the plurality of second metal layers of 16.7% to 50% in Wang in view of Liang and Xue because doing so is consistent with the dimensions of the resin and conductive layers disclosed in Fig. 2-4, [0041] and [0045] of Wang.
Regarding claim 4, Wang in view of Liang and Xue discloses a ratio (Fig. 4; ratio of volume of 10 to volume of metal in at least a portion of 8) of a volume (Fig. 4; volume of 10) of voids (Fig. 4; 10) in the collective integrated region (CR) of the plurality of sheet materials (4) to a volume (Fig. 4; volume of metal in at least portion of 8) of metal (Xue teaches “nickel, chromium, nickel-based alloy, and copper-based alloy, more specifically nickel or nickel-based alloy” for the protective layers per [0115] and copper or aluminum per [0082]) in the collective integrated region (CR).
The examiner notes that the limitation “an integrated region of the plurality of sheet materials” requires only a portion of a total area where the integrated region of one sheet material is welded to the integrated region of another sheet material. Further, the limitation “an integrated region of the plurality of sheet materials” does not prohibit inclusion therein of a region outside of where the integrated regions of two sheet materials are welded, as long as at least a portion of the welded region of the two integrated regions exists therein. Therefore, it is the examiner’s position that the integrated region of the plurality of sheet materials can be set to have any number of dimensions as long as at least a portion of a welded region of two integrated regions of different sheet materials exists therein.
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art could arbitrarily set the dimensions of the integrated region of the plurality of sheet materials to dimensions wherein a ratio of a volume of voids included in the integrated region of the plurality of sheet materials to a volume of metal included in the integrated region of the plurality of sheet materials is from 0.1 to 8% because the integrated region of the plurality of sheets is not particularly limited and voids and metal are included in the integrated region of the plurality of sheet materials as set forth above.
Regarding claim 5, Wang in view of Liang and Xue discloses wherein the plurality of sheet materials (4) has:
a first sheet material (annotated Fig. 1; 1SM indicates current collector 4 of topmost positive electrode 1 in Fig. 1) arranged at an outermost part (annotated Fig. 1; 1OP) on one side (annotated Fig. 1; 1S) of the plurality of sheet materials (4), and
a second sheet material (annotated Fig. 1; 2SM indicates current collector 4 of topmost negative electrode 2 in Fig. 1) arranged at an outermost part (annotated Fig. 1; 2OP) on another side (annotated Fig. 1; 2S) of the plurality of sheet materials (4), and
the stack (Fig. 1) further includes:
a first support member (annotated Fig. 1; 1SuM; 1SuM indicates element 5 (see Fig. 2) of the topmost positive electrode 1 in Fig. 1) with electrical conductivity (“active material”; [0065]) supporting the first sheet material (1SM); and
a second support member (annotated Fig. 1; 2SuM; 2SuM indicates element 5 of topmost negative electrode 2 in Fig. 1) with electrical conductivity (“active material”; [0065]) supporting the second sheet material (2SM).
Regarding claim 9, Wang in view of Liang and Xue discloses wherein, in each of the plurality of sheet materials (4),
(a) a first ratio that is a ratio of a volume (Fig. 3; volume of 6 included in at least a portion of 8 in Fig. 4) of the thermoplastic resin material ([0017, 0072, 0077, 0079]) included in the integrated region (portion of 8) of each of the plurality of sheet materials (4) to a volume (Fig. 3; volume of metal in Xue’s conductive layers which have replaced 701 and 702, in at least a portion of 8 in Fig. 4) of metal (Xue “nickel, chromium, nickel-based alloy, and copper-based alloy, more specifically nickel or nickel-based alloy” [0115] and copper or aluminum per [0082]) included in the integrated region (portion of 8) of each of the plurality of sheet materials (4) is lower (relative to the thermoplastic resin, there is more metal in the integrated region than outside of it due to the electrically conductive layer present on the inner wall of the through holes) than
(b) a second ratio that is a ratio of a volume (Fig. 3; volume of 6 included in at least a portion of 8 in Fig. 4) of the thermoplastic resin material ([0017, 0072, 0077, 0079]) to a volume of metal (Fig. 3; volume of metal in Xue’s conductive layers which have replaced 701 and 702, in at least a portion of 8 in Fig. 4) of metal (Xue “nickel, chromium, nickel-based alloy, and copper-based alloy, more specifically nickel or nickel-based alloy” [0115] and copper or aluminum per [0082]) at a position (Fig. 4; positioned in 9 and at least 5 mm away from 8) 5 mm or more away from an end (Fig. 4; boundary between 8 and 9) of the integrated region (portion of 8) of each of the plurality of sheet materials (4), and
wherein the plurality of sheet materials (4) includes at least a first sheet material (annotated Fig. 1; 1SM), a second sheet material (annotated Fig. 1; 2SM), and a third sheet material (annotated Fig. 1; 3SM), the third sheet material (3SM) is a sheet material (annotated Fig. 1; 3SM) where the second ratio is highest ([0014] allows a PHOSITA to adjust the thickness, and ergo the volume, of the resin layer) among the plurality of sheet materials (4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Wang in view of Liang and Xue by choosing to make the thickness (and consequently the volume) of the resin layer of the current collector of the positive electrodes greater than the thickness (and consequently the volume) of the resin layer of the current collector of the negative electrodes such that the third sheet material (i.e. sheet material of one of the positive electrodes) is a sheet material where the second ratio is highest among the plurality of sheet materials, because Wang in view of Liang and Xue gives a PHOSITA freedom to select the relative thicknesses of the sheet materials and doing so would not have affected the performance of Wang in view of Liang and Xue’s device. Further, it has been held that the relative dimensions of an invention do not patentably distinguish the invention from the prior art if a device having the claimed relative dimensions would
not perform differently than the prior art device.
Regarding claim 10, Wang in view of Liang and Xue discloses wherein a value of the first ratio is 0.1 to 0.7 times a value of the second ratio (see [0019] and [0021] which allow a PHOSITA to adjust the thickness of the metal layers and the resin layer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have made a value of the first ratio 0.1 to 0.7 times a value of the second ratio in Wang in view of Liang and Xue because Wang in view of Liang and Xue grants a PHOSITA the ability to choose from a range of thicknesses, and ergo volumes, of the metal and resin layers per [0019] and [0021] and doing so would not have changed the performance of Wang in view of Liang and Xue’s device. Further, it has been held that the relative dimensions of an invention do not patentably distinguish the invention from the prior art if a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device.
Regarding claim 11, Wang discloses an electrode structure (Fig. 1) comprising:
a first electrode (annotated Fig. 1; 1E) and a second electrode (annotated Fig. 1; 2E);
a third electrode (annotated Fig. 1; 3E) and a fourth electrode (annotated Fig. 1; 4E); and
a first separator (annotated Fig. 1; 1S), a second separator (annotated Fig. 1; 2S), and a third separator (annotated Fig. 1; 3S),
wherein the first electrode (1E), the first separator (1S), the third electrode (3E), the second separator (2S), the second electrode (2E), the third separator (3S), and the fourth electrode (4E) are stacked in this sequence (Fig. 1),
each of the first electrode (1E) and the second electrode (2E) has:
a current collector (Fig. 2; element 4); and
an active material layer (Fig. 2; element 5) arranged on at least one face (Fig. 2; top and bottom faces of 4) of the current collector (4),
the current collector (4) includes:
a support layer (“plastic film”; [0017]; Fig. 3; 6) including a thermoplastic resin material (the “plastic film” of [0017] may be PET per [0072], PI per [0077], or PP per [0079]);
a first metal layer (“conductor layer”; [0017]; Fig. 3; 701) formed on a first face (annotated Fig. 3; 1F) of the support layer (6); and
a second metal layer (“conductor layer”; [0017]; Fig. 3; 702) formed on a second face (annotated Fig. 3; 2F) of the support layer (6),
in a vicinity (annotated Fig. 1; area around 1E and 2E) of an end (annotated Fig. 1; E) of the first electrode (1E) and the second electrode (2E), the first metal layer (701) and the second metal layer (702) of the current collector (4) of the first electrode (1E) are welded together ([0070]; [0076]) in an integrated region (at least a portion of the “tab region” [0051]; Fig. 4; at least a portion of 8) of the current collector (4) of the first electrode (1E), the first metal layer (701) and the second metal layer (702) of the current collector (4) of the second electrode (2E) are welded together ([0070]; [0076]) in an integrated region (at least a portion of the “tab region”; [0051]; Fig. 4; at least a portion of 8) of the current collector (4) of the second electrode (2E), and one or both of the first metal layer (701) and the second metal layer (702) of the current collector (4) of the first electrode (1E), in the integrated region (portion of 8) of the current collector (4) of the first electrode (1E), is welded ([0070]; [0076]) to one or both of the first metal layer (701) and the second metal layer (702) of the current collector (4) of the second electrode (2E) in the integrated region (portion of 8) of the current collector (4) of the second electrode (2E) such that the current collector (4) of the first electrode (1E) and the current collector (4) of the second electrode (1) together have an integrated region (at least a portion of the welded region of all the positive current collectors; [0070]; [0076]) in which the first metal layer (701) and the second metal layer (702) of the current collector (4) of the first electrode (1E) and the first metal layer (701) and the second metal layer (702) of the current collector (4) of the second electrode (2E) are all electrically connected together ([0039]; [0076]),
the current collector (4) of each of the first electrode (1E) and the second electrode (2E) has a region (Fig. 4; 8) in which a plurality of through-holes (Fig. 4; 10) extending through the current collector (4) are formed in a vicinity (Fig. 4 area around and including 8) of the integrated region (portion of 8) of the current collector (4) of each of the first (1E) and second (2E) electrode,
a circular (Fig. 4; 10) equivalent diameter (Fig. 4; diameter of 10) of the plurality of through-holes (10) is from 15 um to 150 um (0.01-0.5
m
m
2
cross-sectional area taught in [0015] corresponds to a diameter range of 110 microns to 800 microns by the examiner’s calculations),
an interval (Fig. 4; distance between two directly adjacent elements 10) of two adjacent through-holes (Fig. 4; two adjacent elements 10) among the plurality of through-holes (10),
wherein each of the plurality of through-holes (10) has an inner wall ([0037]) such that the plurality of through-holes (10) have inner walls ([0037]), further comprising an electrically conductive layer ([0037]) arranged on the inner walls ([0037]) of at least the part (Fig. 4; entirety of inner wall of 10) of the plurality of through-holes (10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have employed a circular equivalent diameter of the plurality of through holes from 110 to 150 microns because Wang discloses these values in [0015].
Wang fails to disclose wherein the electrically conductive layer arranged on the inner walls of at least a part of the plurality of through-holes has three or more layers with different main components and an interval of two adjacent through-holes among the plurality of through-holes is from 30 um to 250 um.
Liang discloses wherein an interval of two adjacent through-holes among a plurality of through-holes is from 30 um to 250 um ([0049] teaches 0.2 mm-5 mm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Wang by substituting the interval of Wang for the interval of Liang such that an interval of two adjacent through-holes among the plurality of through-holes is from 200 um to 250 um as taught by Liang in order to reduce the weight of the current collector and increase the weight energy density of the battery ([0013]).
Wang in view of Liang still fails to disclose wherein the electrically conductive layer arranged on the inner walls of at least a part of the plurality of through-holes has three or more layers with different main components
Xue discloses an electrically conductive layer (“upper protective layer”; [0014]; “conductive layer” [0113]; “lower protective layer”; [0113]) having three layers (“upper protective layer”; [0014]; “conductive layer” [0113]; “lower protective layer”; [0113]) with different (materials of the protective layers on the two surfaces of the conductive layer may be different per [0121]; aluminum or copper material, see [0082], of the “conductive layer” of [0113] is different than materials, see [0115], of the protective layers) main components (“nickel, chromium, nickel-based alloy, and copper-based alloy, more specifically nickel or nickel-based alloy” for the protective layers per [0115] and copper or aluminum per [0082]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the first and second metal layers and the electrically conductive layer of Wang in view of Liang for the electrically conductive layer of Liang such that the electrically conductive layer arranged on the inner walls of at least a part of the plurality of through-holes has three or more layers with different main components in order to prevent the current collector from being damaged by chemical corrosion or mechanical damage, and enhance the mechanical strength of the current collector as taught by Xue ([0112]).
Regarding claim 12, Wang in view of Liang and Xue discloses wherein the first metal layer (701 substituted for Xue’s layers) and the second metal layer (702 substituted for Xue’s layers) of the current collector (4) of the first electrode (1E) are made of a metal (metal of [0082 and 0115]) of the first metal layer (701 substituted for Xue’s layers) and the second metal layer (702 substituted for Xue’s layers) of the current collector (4) of the first electrode (1E),
wherein a first ratio, which is a ratio of a volume (Fig. 3; volume of 6 included in at least a portion of 8 in Fig. 4, of 1E) of the thermoplastic resin material ([0017, 0072, 0077, 0079]) included in the integrated region (portion of 8) of the current collector (4 of 1E) of the first electrode (1E) to a volume (Fig. 3; volume of metal in Xue’s conductive layers which have replaced 701 and 702, in at least a portion of 8 in Fig. 4, of 1E) of the metal (Xue “nickel, chromium, nickel-based alloy, and copper-based alloy, more specifically nickel or nickel-based alloy” [0115] and copper or aluminum per [0082]) of the first metal layer (701 substituted for Xue’s layers) and the second metal layer (702 substituted for Xue’s layers) included in the integrated region (portion of 8) of the current collector (4) of the first electrode (1E), is lower (relative to the thermoplastic resin, there is more metal in the integrated region than outside of it due to the electrically conductive layer present on the inner wall of the through holes) than a second ratio, which is a ratio of a volume (Fig. 3; volume of 6 at least 5mm away from 8 in Fig. 4) of the thermoplastic resin material ([0017, 0072, 0077, 0079]) to a volume of the metal (Fig. 3; volume of metal, Xue [0082, 0115], in Xue’s conductive layers which have replaced 701 and 702, at least 5mm away from 8 in Fig. 4, in 1E) of the first metal layer (701 substituted for Xue’s layers) and the second metal layer (702 substituted for Xue’s layers) of the current collector (4) of the first electrode (1E) included in the current collector (4) of the first electrode at a position (Fig. 4; position in 9 and at least 5 mm away from 8 of 1E) 5 mm or more away from an end (Fig. 4; boundary between 8 and 9, of 1E) of the integrated region (portion of 8) of the current collector (4) of the first electrode (1E) and,
and wherein the first metal layer (701 substituted by Xue’s layers) and the second metal layer (702 substituted by Xue’s layers) of the current collector (4) of the second electrode (2E) are made of a metal (Xue metal of [0082 and 0115]) of the first metal layer (701 substituted by Xue’s layers) and the second metal layer (702 substituted by Xue’s layers) of the current collector (4) of the second electrode (2E), wherein a third ratio, which is a ratio of a volume (Fig. 3; volume of 6 at least 5mm away from 8 in Fig. 4 of 2E) of the thermoplastic resin material ([0017, 0072, 0077, 0079]) included in the integrated region (portion of 8) of the current collector (4) of the second electrode (2E) to a volume (Fig. 3; volume of metal in Xue’s conductive layers which have replaced 702 and 702, in at least a portion of 8 in Fig. 4 of 2E) of the metal (Xue [0082, 0115]) of the first metal layer (701 substituted by Xue’s layers) and the second metal layer (702 substituted by Xue’s layers) of the current collector (4) of the second electrode (2E) included in the integrated region (portion of 8 of 2E) of the current collector (4) of the second electrode (2E), is lower than a fourth ratio, which is a ratio of a volume of the thermoplastic resin material ([0017, 0072, 0077, 0079]) to a volume of the metal (Fig. 3; volume of metal in Xue’s conductive layers which have replaced 701 and 702, at least 5mm away from 8 in Fig. 4, of 2E) of the first metal layer (701 substituted by Xue’s layers) and the second metal layer (702 substituted by Xue’s layers) of the current collector (4) of the second electrode (2E) included in the current collector (4) of the second electrode (2E) at a position (Fig. 4; position in 9 and at least 5 mm away from 8, of 2E) 5 mm or more away from an end (Fig. 4; boundary between 8 and 9, of 2E) of the integrated region (portion of 8) of the current collector (4) of the second electrode (2E).
Regarding claim 13, Wang in view of Liang and Xue discloses a battery ([0070]) comprising:
the electrode structure (Fig. 1) according to claim 12; and
a housing (“casing”; [0070]) that accommodates the electrode structure (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 24, Wang in view of Liang and Xue discloses wherein the region (8) in which the plurality of through holes (10) extending through the current collector (4) are formed in each of the first electrode (1E) and the second electrode (2E) is not covered (Fig. 2) by the active material layer (5).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN-108767262-A, machine translation used for rejection below) in view of Liang (US 20200106104 A1, cited in IDS of 12/01/2024) and Xue (US 20220037672 A1) as applied to claim 13 and further in view of Matsumoto (US 20230307730 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Wang in view of Liang and Xue fails to disclose a flight vehicle comprising:
the battery according to claim 13; and
a propulsive force generator that generates propulsive force using electrical energy accumulated in the battery.
Matsumoto teaches a flight vehicle (“aircraft 100”; [0012]) comprising: a propulsive force generator (“VTOL rotor 20 and the cruise rotor 29”; [0050]) that generates propulsive force ([0012]) using electrical energy ([0050]) accumulated in a battery ([0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Matsumoto by substituting the battery of Matsumoto for the battery of Wang in view of Liang and Xue, such that the flight vehicle comprised: the battery according to claim 13 taught by Wang in view of Liang and Xue; and a propulsive force generator that generates propulsive force uses electrical energy accumulated in the battery, to predictably obtain a propulsive force generator that generates propulsive force using electrical energy accumulated in the battery as taught by Matsumoto.
Claims 8 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN-108767262-A, machine translation used for rejection below) in view of Liang (US 20200106104 A1, cited in IDS of 12/01/2024) and Xue (US 20220037672 A1) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Das (Das, Abhishek, et al. "Joining technologies for automotive battery systems manufacturing." World Electric Vehicle Journal 9.2 (2018): 22).
Regarding claim 8, Wang in view of Liang and Xue discloses wherein the thermoplastic resin material ([0017, 0072, 0077, 0079]) is arranged inside (the thermoplastic material is subject to ultrasonic welding per [0070] and [0076]) at least one or more of the plurality of through-holes (10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that the thermoplastic resin material is arranged inside at least part of the plurality of through-holes in Wang in view of Liang and Xue because Das teaches that ultrasonic welding involves subjecting substrate materials to clamping pressure and ultrasonic vibration to create plastic deformation and flow of the substrate materials (pg., 3, section 2.1). This would naturally result in the thermoplastic resin in the support layer, when subjected to the welding process taught by Wang softening around the plurality of through holes and flowing into at least part of the plurality of through holes because of the heat generated during the welding process and the nature of a thermoplastic resin.
Regarding claim 23, Wang in view of Liang and Xue discloses that the integrated region (at least a portion of 8) of each of the plurality of sheet materials (4) has a thickness (Fig. 4; thickness, in a direction into the page, of at least a portion of 8), a surrounding region (Fig. 4; 9) of each of the plurality of sheet materials (4), which excludes the integrated region (portion of 8) of each of the plurality of sheet materials (4), has a thickness (Fig. 4; thickness of 9, in a direction into the page), and wherein in each of the plurality of sheet materials (4), an average value (Fig. 4; average value of the thickness of 8) of the thickness (thickness of 8) of the integrated region (at least a portion of 8) of each of the plurality of sheet materials (4) is less than ([0076] teaches that the plurality of sheet materials are subject to ultrasonic welding at the integrated region) an average value (Fig. 4; average value of the thickness, in a direction into the page, of 9) of the thickness (thickness of 9) of the surrounding region (Fig. 4; 9) of each of the plurality of sheet materials (4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that an average value of the thickness of the integrated region of each of the plurality of sheet materials is less than an average value of the thickness of the surrounding region of each of the plurality of sheet materials because Das teaches that ultrasonic welding involves subjecting substrate materials to clamping pressure and ultrasonic vibration to create plastic deformation and flow of the substrate materials (pg., 3, section 2.1). This would naturally result in the integrated region of each of the plurality of sheet materials having a smaller thickness relative to that of the surrounding region because the compression and plastic deformation that the integrated region is subjected to, would cause the flow of the material in the compressed area (i.e. the integrated region) to an adjacent area (i.e. the surrounding region) not subject to compression.
This conclusion of obviousness is supported by the instant disclosure which teaches that as a result of welding ([0205]) a sheet material having the same structure (Fig. 11) as Wang in view of Liang and Xue’s sheet material, a part of the thermoplastic resin existing in the integrated region before welding moves to the adjacent area during welding resulting in the swelling (i.e. increase in thickness) of the adjacent area ([0334]).
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN-108767262-A, machine translation used for rejection below) in view of Liang (US 20200106104 A1, cited in IDS of 12/01/2024) and Xue (US 20220037672 A1) as applied to claim 1, in view of Zeng (US 20200144585 A1).
Regarding claim 25, Wang in view of Liang and Xue discloses wherein each of the plurality of sheet materials (4) has an L-shaped planar shape (Fig. 3; 701, 6, 702 have the shape of an “l”) with a tab part (Fig. 4; 8), wherein the integrated region (portion of 8) of each of the plurality of sheet materials (4) and the plurality of through holes (10) of each of the plurality of sheet materials (4) are formed in the tab part (8) of each of the plurality of sheet materials (4).
Wang in view of Liang and Xue fails to disclose attached to a current collecting unit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Wang in view of Liang and Xue by adding the current collecting unit of Zeng to the stack of Wang in view of Liang and Xue such that the tab part is attached to the current collecting unit in order to reliably connect the tab part to an electrode terminal as taught by Zeng ([0068]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723