DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 7, 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kadomatsu et al (U.S. Pub. 2007/0013759)
Regarding claim 1, a liquid discharge apparatus comprising: a first discharge unit (12Y, 12M, 12C, 12K) having a first nozzle face having a first nozzle to discharge ink from the first nozzle onto an area of a recording medium to form an image on the recording medium (Figure 2; Paragraphs 0030-0032; 0051, 0070-0072, 0075)
A second discharge unit (12S) having a second nozzle face having a second nozzle to discharge a pretreatment liquid from the second nozzle to the area of the recording medium (Figure 2; Paragraphs 0051, 0070-0075)
A third discharge unit (12T) having a third nozzle face having a third nozzle to discharge a diluent from the third nozzle (Figure 2; Paragraphs 0051, 0070-0075)
Wherein the third nozzle face (12T) is disposed adjacent to the first nozzle face (12Y, 12M, 12C, 12K) and the second nozzle face (12S) (Figure 2)
Regarding claim 2, wherein the third discharge unit discharges the diluent to dilute at least one of the pretreatment liquid or the ink (Paragraph 0075)
Regarding claim 7, further comprising an irradiation unit (41) to emit ultraviolet light to the ink discharged on the recording medium to cure the ink (Paragraphs 0063-0064; Figure 2)
Regarding claim 16, wherein the first nozzle face and the third nozzle face are disposed on a same plane (Figure 2)
Regarding claim 17, wherein the second nozzle face and the third nozzle face are disposed on a same plane (Figure 2)
Regarding claim 18, wherein the pretreatment liquid and the diluent are transparent (Paragraphs 0075-0078)
Regarding claim 19, wherein the diluent includes at least one of a solvent contained in the pretreatment liquid or a solvent contained int eh pretreatment liquid or a solvent contained in the ink (Abstract; Paragraph 0156)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadomatsu et al (U.S. Pub. 2007/0013759) in view of Sumikawa et al (U.S. Pub. 2015/0070422)
Regarding claim 6, Sumikawa discloses it is known in the art to use an ink with an organic solvent (Paragraph 0103)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Sumikawa into the device of Kadomatsu, for the purpose of producing a high-quality image at a high speed and preventing sticking of ink due to drying
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadomatsu et al (U.S. Pub. 2007/0013759) in view of Okeguchi (U.S. 2022/0063278)
Regarding claim 8, Okeguchi discloses a cap which holds a cleaning liquid; wherein the cap covers at least one of the discharge units with the cleaning liquid held in the cap (Paragraph 0069)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Okeguchi into the device of Kadomatsu, for the purpose of preventing thickening and sticking of liquid in the nozzles of the discharge head
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadomatsu et al (U.S. Pub. 2007/0013759) in view of Yahiro (U.S. Pub. 2008/0238984)
Regarding claim 9, Yahiro discloses wherein the diluent includes water (Paragraph 0079)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Yahiro into the device of Kadomatsu, for the purpose of improving image fixing characteristics on the medium (Paragraph 0022)
Regarding claim 10, Yahiro discloses wherein the diluent includes a cleaning liquid including an organic solvent, a surfactant, and water (Paragraph 0079)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Yahiro into the device of Kadomatsu, for the purpose of improving image fixing characteristics on the medium (Paragraph 0022)
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadomatsu et al (U.S. Pub. 2007/0013759) in view of Niimi (U.S. Pub. 2004/0187715)
Regarding claim 11, Niimi discloses it is known to discharge color inks and white ink onto the recording medium including cloth having a color other than white; and the discharge unit discharges the white ink onto an area of the recording medium and discharges the color ink to the area of the recording medium to which the white ink has been discharged (Paragraphs 0055, 0062-0063)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Niimi into the device of Kadomatsu, for the purpose of allowing the inks of the color image formed onto the fabric to show good coloration
Claim(s) 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadomatsu et al (U.S. Pub. 2007/0013759) in view of Evans et al (U.S. Pub. 2024/0100855)
Regarding claims 12-13, Evans discloses it is known to use a transfer system to discharge ink onto a transfer substrate including a non-permeable substrate from which the image is transferable to the transfer target including cloth (Abstract; Paragraphs 0026, 0028, 0062)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Evans into the device of Kadomatsu, for the purpose of providing a less expensive and faster printing system process (Paragraph 0028)
Regarding claims 14-15, Kadomatsu discloses discharging the diluent onto the image and the discharge unit discharges the diluent to a portion of the image (Figure 2; Paragraphs 0051, 0070-0075)
Evans discloses it is known to use a transfer system to discharge ink onto a transfer substrate including a non-permeable substrate from which the image is transferable to the transfer target including cloth (Abstract; Paragraphs 0026, 0028, 0062)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Evans into the device of Kadomatsu, for the purpose of reducing graininess of the recorded image and providing a less expensive and faster printing system process (Evans; Paragraph 0028)
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadomatsu et al (U.S. Pub. 2007/0013759) in view of Ito (U.S. Pub. 2010/0033537)
Regarding claim 20, Ito discloses it is known in the art to form nozzles arrayed in rows to be in a staggered manner (Paragraph 0006)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Ito into the device of Kadomatsu, for the purpose of improving the resolution
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON S UHLENHAKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853 September 23, 2026