DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant has submitted large amount of Information Disclosure Statements and/or huge number of references and/or reference(s) which are very hefty. Where applicant points the Examiner to large reference or references without citing a specific portion or page, the Examiner will not pour over the documents to extract the relevant information, Ernst Haas Studio, Inc. v. palm Press, Inc. 164 F.3rd 110, 112 (2d Cir. 1999), Winer International Royalty Corp. v. Wang, 202 F3d 1340, 1351 (Fed. Cir. 2000). It is not true, if applicant presents an overload of irrelevant or non-probative references, somehow the irrelevancies will add up to relevant evidence, DeSilva v. DiLeonardi, 181 F.3d 865, 867. Information Disclosure Statements must make all relevant information accessible to the Examiner, rather ask him to play archaeologist with the references, Shiokawa v. Maienfisch, 56 USPQ2d 1406, 1413 and LeVeen v. Edwards 57 USPQ2d 1406, 1413. It is desirable to avoid the submission of long lists of documents if it can be avoided. Eliminate clearly irrelevant and marginally pertinent cumulative information. If a long list is submitted, highlight those documents which have been specifically brought to applicant’s attention and/or are known to be of most significance. See Penn Yan Boats, Inc. v. Sea Lark Boats, Inc., 359 F. Supp. 948, 175 USPQ 260 (S.D. Fla. 1972), aff’d, 479 F.2d 1338, 178 USPQ 577 (5th Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 874 (1974). But cf. Molins PLC v. Textron Inc., 48 F.3d 1172, 33 USPQ2d 1823 (Fed. Cir. 1995). With this in mind, the Information Disclosure Statement has been considered.
Drawings
Figures 2 and 3 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the steps of receiving a timing advance, and determining the time adjustment value based on the position of the terminal device, the position of the network device, and the timing advance; sending a first timing advance, wherein the first timing advance is used to determine the time adjustment value; sending a first receiving time, wherein the first receiving time is a time at which the network device expects to receive the random access preamble, and the first receiving time is used to determine the time adjustment value must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation standard, the “or” language, the condition would also not occur, and the step or function claimed would never be realized, hence the claim does not require to perform the step or function. See Ex parte Katz, 2011 WL 514314, at 4-5 (BPAI Jan. 27, 2011, 2011 WL 1211248 at 2 (BPAI Mar. 25, 2011); see also In re Johnston, 435 f.3d 1381, 1384 (Fed. Cir. 2006)( "optional elements do not narrow the claim because they can always be omitted”). “Or” conditions are not limitations against which prior art must be found. Under the broadest scenario, the steps or functions dependent on the “or” condition would not be invoked, and such, the Examiner is not required to find these limitations in the prior art in order to render the claim anticipated. In re Am. Acad. Of Sci. Tech Ctr., 367 f.3d 1359, 1359 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as based on a disclosure which is not enabling. The disclosure does not enable one of ordinary skill in the art to practice the invention without communication unit or interface (#803, 903, 1003), which is/are critical or essential to the practice of the invention but not included in the claim(s). See In re Mayhew, 527 F.2d 1229, 188 USPQ 356 (CCPA 1976). A processor, by definition, only processes data, and cannot send or receive a radio signal. According to the specification, this is done by communication unit or interface (#803, 903, 1003), not the processor.
Claims 1-7, 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 2, 11, 12, the claim language “time adjustment value or an adjusted time adjustment value” is ambiguous. It is unclear whether the “adjusted time adjustment value” narrows the claim because the “adjusted time adjustment value” can always be omitted. The use of “or” does not specify whether these alternatives are mutually exclusive or may coexist. As a result, a person of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to determine, with reasonable certainty, the scope of the claimed invention, as required by 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) and as interpreted by Nautilus, Inc. v. Biosig Instruments, Inc., 572 U.S. 898 (2014). This ambiguity is further reflected in dependent claims 2, 12, which rely on the unclear antecedent basis, compounding the indefiniteness. Applicant is advised to amend the claims to clarify the relationship between the alternatives, specify whether both types of addresses can be present, and provide clear antecedent basis to resolve the ambiguity.
In claims 3 and 13, the term “a time adjustment value” is confusing. Is this term same as the “a time adjustment value” in claims 1 or claim 10 or is it a second and different “time adjustment value”? Also, in claims 1 and 10 already determines the time adjustment value based on the position of the terminal device, based on the position of the network device, is there a second and different determining the time adjustment value based on the position of the terminal device and the position of the network device or are they the same?
In claims 4 ,14, the term “a MSG3” is confusing. Is this term same as the “a MSG3” in claim 1 or is it a second and different “MSG3”.
Regarding claims 5, 15, the claim language “time adjustment value or an adjusted time adjustment value” is ambiguous. It is unclear whether the “time adjustment value or an adjusted time adjustment value” narrows the claim because the adjusted time adjustment value can always be omitted and vice versa. The use of “or” does not specify whether these alternatives are mutually exclusive or may coexist. As a result, a person of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to determine, with reasonable certainty, the scope of the claimed invention, as required by 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) and as interpreted by Nautilus, Inc. v. Biosig Instruments, Inc., 572 U.S. 898 (2014). This ambiguity is further reflected in dependent claim 5, which relies on the unclear antecedent basis, compounding the indefiniteness. Applicant is advised to amend the claims to clarify the relationship between the alternatives, specify whether both types of addresses can be present, and provide clear antecedent basis to resolve the ambiguity.
Claims 10 and 20 recites the limitation “the receiving, the time adjustment value or an adjusted time adjustment value during random access procedures” and "the second timing advance". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 11-20, “A claim which describes the most crucial element in a ‘new’ combination in terms of what it will do, rather than in terms of its own physical characteristics or its arrangement in the new combination, is invalid as a violation of [the indefiniteness requirement].” Halliburton v. Walker, 329 U.S. 1 (1946). A purely functional claim language is not allowable unless done within the scope of 112(f). This general prohibition against the use of “purely functional claim language” (and the more specific Halliburton rule) has not been completely eliminated. Rather, “purely functional claim language” is now permissible but only under the conditions of 35 U.S.C. § 112(f), i.e., if its scope is limited to the corresponding structure, material, or act disclosed in the specification and equivalents thereof. Ex Parte Miyazaki, 89 USPQ2d 1207 (B.P.A.I. 2008). The apparatus is only a processor and it’s functions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, 8-11, 14, 15, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN109788548 in view of United States Patent Application Publication 2017/0374689 (Liu, et al).
The claims are confusing and do not make much sense, note the above paragraphs, the Examiner will try to apply art to these perplexing claims.
CN109788548 discloses communication method (Abstract), applied to a terminal device (¶ 136-137 or page 30 in English translation), comprising determining a time adjustment value based on a position of the terminal device and a position of a network device (¶137 or pages 14, 15, 18, 23, 27, 31, etc. in English translation). Sending a random access preamble based on the time adjustment value and a random access channel (RACH) resource (¶137 or pages 23, 30-32 in English translation) and sending the time adjustment value or an adjusted time adjustment value during random access procedures, wherein the adjusted time adjustment value is obtained by the terminal device by adjusting the time adjustment value (¶137, 232 or pages 23, 30-32 in English translation). CN109788548 does not disclose sending an MSG 3 based on a scheduling delay, wherein the scheduling delay indicates a time domain position for sending the MSG 3. Liu, et al teaches the use of sending an MSG 3 based on a scheduling delay, wherein the scheduling delay indicates a time domain position for sending the MSG 3 for the purpose of when the UL Delay information is indicative of delaying sending the Msg3 message, the second type node determines a delay time T for sending the Msg3 message, note ¶162-163, 173-191, 230, etc. Hence, it whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate the use of disclose sending a MSG 3 based on a scheduling delay, wherein the scheduling delay indicates a time domain position for sending the MSG 3 for the purpose of when the UL Delay information is indicative of delaying sending the Msg3 message, the second type node determines a delay time T for sending the Msg3 message, as taught by Liu, et al, in communication method of CN109788548 in order the RAR information of the node includes resource allocation information required for the node to send the Msg3 message.
Claims 2, 12 are optional, note paragraph 5 above.
Regarding claims 4, 14, note Abstract, figure 4, and page 4 of CN109788548.
Regarding claims 5, 10, 15, 20, note ¶ 52-63 in Liu, et al.
Regarding claims 6, 9, 19, note ¶162, 191, 225, 240, etc. in Liu, et al.
Regarding claim 8, CN109788548 shows a communication method, applied to a network device (¶ 136-137 or page 30 in English translation), comprising broadcasting a random access channel (RACH) resource (¶137 or pages 23, 30-32 in English translation). Receiving a random access preamble, wherein the random access preamble is sent based on a selected RACH resource and a time adjustment, and the time adjustment value is determined based on a position of a terminal device and a position of the network device value (¶137 or pages 23, 30-32 in English translation). Sending a second timing advance carried in a random access response (RAR)and receiving the time adjustment value or an adjusted time adjustment value during random access procedures ((¶137, 232 or pages 23, 30-32 in English translation). CN109788548 does not disclose receiving a scheduling delay, wherein the scheduling delay indicates a time domain position for sending an MSG 3. Liu, et al teaches the use of disclose receiving a scheduling delay, wherein the scheduling delay indicates a time domain position for sending an MSG 3 for the purpose stated above and would have been obvious for the same reasons stated above.
Regarding claims 11 and 18, these claims are the inherent apparatus version of the above method claims since apparatus claims are reciting the same functions of the method and are rejected for the same reasons stated above. Also note ¶333 in Liu, et al.
The Examiner has cited particular columns and/or line/paragraphs numbers in the reference(s) applied to these confusing claims above for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. IN RE JUNG, No. 10-1019 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 8, 11, 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,156,260. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it is clear that all the elements of the application claims are to be found in patent claims (as the application claims fully encompasses patent claims). The difference between the application claims and the patent claims lies in the fact that the patent claim includes many more elements and is thus much more specific. Thus, the invention of claims of the patent is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application claims. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since application claims are anticipated by claims of the patent, it is not patentably distinct from claims of the patent.
CURRENT APPLICATION
1.A communication method, applied to a terminal device, comprising: determining a time adjustment value based on a position of the terminal device and a position of a network device; sending a random access preamble based on the time adjustment value and a random access channel (RACH) resource; sending the time adjustment value or an adjusted time adjustment value during random access procedures, wherein the adjusted time adjustment value is obtained by the terminal device by adjusting the time adjustment value, and sending a MSG 3 based on a scheduling delay, wherein the scheduling delay indicates a time domain position for sending the MSG3.
8. A communication method, applied to a network device, comprising broadcasting a random access channel (RACH) resource; receiving a random access preamble, wherein the random access preamble is sent based on a selected RACH resource and a time adjustment value, and the time adjustment value is determined based on a position of a terminal device and a position of the network device; sending a second timing advance carried in a random access response (RAR);receiving the time adjustment value or an adjusted time adjustment value during random access procedures; and receiving a scheduling delay, wherein the scheduling delay indicates a time domain position for sending a MSG 3.
U.S. Patent No. 12,156,260
1. A random access method, comprising: obtaining, by a terminal device, a position of the terminal device and a position of a network device; determining, by the terminal device, a time adjustment value based on the position of the terminal device and the position of the network device; and sending, by the terminal device, a random access preamble via a first message (MSG 1) based on the time adjustment value and a random access channel (RACH) resource configured by the network device; and sending, by the terminal device, the time adjustment value or an adjusted time adjustment value to the network device through a third message (MSG 3) from the terminal device to the network device, a fourth message from the terminal device to the network device or a combined message (MSG A) as a combination of the first message (MSG 1) and the third message (MSG 3), wherein the adjusted time adjustment value is obtained by the terminal device by adjusting the time adjustment value, wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the terminal device, a scheduling delay and an uplink grant from the network device, wherein the scheduling delay and the uplink grant indicate a time domain position for sending the MSG 3; or receiving, by the terminal device, a scheduling delay from the network device, wherein the scheduling delay indicates a time domain position for sending the MSG 3.
4. The random access method according to claim 1, further comprising: when receiving from the network device both the scheduling delay and the uplink grant that indicate the time domain position for sending the MSG 3, sending, by the terminal device, the MSG 3 to the network device based on the scheduling delay and the uplink grant; or when receiving from the network device the scheduling delay indicating the time domain position for sending the MSG 3, sending, by the terminal device, the MSG 3 to the network device based on the scheduling delay.
7. A random access method, comprising: broadcasting, by a network device, a random access channel (RACH) resource; and receiving, by the network device, a random access preamble via a first message (MSG 1) from a terminal device, wherein the random access preamble is sent based on a selected RACH resource and a time adjustment value, and the time adjustment value is determined based on a position of the terminal device and a position of the network device; sending a first timing advance carried in a second message (MSG 2) to the terminal device; and receiving, by the network device, the time adjustment value or an adjusted time adjustment value from the terminal device through a third message (MSG 3) from the terminal device to the network device, a fourth message from the terminal device to the network device, or a combined message (MSG A) as a combination of the first message (MSG 1) and the third message (MSG 3), wherein the adjusted time adjustment value is obtained by the terminal device by adjusting the time adjustment value based on the first timing advance sent by the network device, wherein the method further comprises; sending, by the network device, a scheduling delay and an uplink grant to the terminal device, wherein the scheduling delay and the uplink grant indicate a time domain position for sending the MSG 3; or sending, by the network device, a scheduling delay to the terminal device, wherein the scheduling delay indicates a time domain position for sending the MSG 3.
Regarding claims 11 and 18, these claims are the inherent apparatus version of the above method claims since apparatus claims are reciting the same functions of the method and are rejected for the same reasons stated above and these claims also correspond to claims 10 and 16 of the patent.
Applicants MUST either traverse the nonstatutory double patenting rejection or file a terminal disclaimer. The requirement for terminal disclaimer will NOT be held in abeyance.
eTerminal Disclaimer
The United States Patent and Trademark Office is pleased to announce the release of eTerminal Disclaimer in EFS-Web. The new eTerminal Disclaimer provides applicants with many advantages and promotes greater efficiency in the patent examination process. This web-based eTerminal Disclaimer can be filled out completely online through web-screens and no EFS-Web fillable forms are required. eTerminal Disclaimers are auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission if the request meets all of the requirements.
Fees must be paid immediately, which will then provide users with more financial flexibility. A paper terminal disclaimer filing requires a fee but does not guarantee a terminal disclaimer approval. Each eTerminal Disclaimer filed requires a single terminal disclaimer fee but can include up to 50 “reference applications” and 50 “prior patents.”
For assistance with filing an eTerminal Disclaimer, or to suggest improvements, please call the Patent Electronic Business Center at 866-217-9197 (toll free) or send an email to EBC@uspto.gov.
Conclusion
If applicants wish to request an interview, an "Applicant Initiated Interview Request" form (PTOL-413A) should be submitted to the examiner prior to the interview in order to permit the examiner to prepare in advance for the interview and to focus on the issues to be discussed. This form should identify the participants of the interview, the proposed date of the interview, whether the interview will be personal, telephonic, or video conference, and should include a brief description of the issues to be discussed. A copy of the completed "Applicant Initiated Interview Request" form should be attached to the Interview Summary form, PTOL-413 at the completion of the interview and a copy should be given to applicant or applicant's representative.
WILLIAM D. CUMMING
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2645
/WILLIAM D CUMMING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645