DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendments filed on 12/30/2025.
Claims 1, 4-8, 10,13-17 and 19-24 are currently pending.
Claims 1, 4-8, 10,13-17 and 19-24 are rejected.
Claims 1, 10 and 19 are independent claims.
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1, 4-8, 10, 13-17 and 19-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jarkko L. Kneckt et al. (US 2022/0418022 A1), hereinafter Kneckt, in view of Peiman AMINI et al. (US 2015/0215950 A1), hereinafter AMINI.
For claim 1, Kneckt teaches a non-access point (AP) multi-link device (non-AP MLD) configured to operate in a wireless communication system (Kneckt, Fig. 5 and Fig. 8 item 106), the non-AP MLD comprising:
a communication module (Kneckt, Fig. 5 items 335-338), and
a processor (Kneckt, Fig. 5 item 302) for controlling the communication module,
wherein the processor is configured to:
perform a multi-link setup procedure for setting up at least one link with an AP MLD comprising multiple APs (Kneckt, Fig. 8 and paragraph 89 teach three links between AP MLD 112 and non-AP MLD in three different band range.); and
perform a channel switching procedure for switching an operating channel of a specific link with the AP among the multiple APs (Kneckt, Fig. 9 and paragraph 97 teach an AP MLD node may perform channel switching, e.g., changing/moving an affiliated AP from one channel to another. Such channel switching may be performed between channels of one band (e.g., 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz, or 6 GHz, etc.). …For example, a channel switch may be a move of a first affiliated AP from a first channel on a first band to a second channel on the first band….),
wherein a new operating channel switched through the channel switching procedure is selected from at least one channel in the specific link (Kneckt, Fig. 9 and paragraph 97 teach an AP MLD node may perform channel switching, e.g., changing/moving an affiliated AP from one channel to another. Such channel switching may be performed between channels of one band (e.g., 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz, or 6 GHz, etc.). …For example, a channel switch may be a move of a first affiliated AP from a first channel on a first band to a second channel on the first band…. In other words, the first band here is the specific link.), and
wherein the one or more other links are set up with at least one non-AP MLD that is associated with the AP MLD and has also set up the specific link (Kneckt, Fig. 3 and paragraph 63 teach AP 112 associated with multiple client stations 106 which may also use those three different bands (e.g., 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz, or 6 GHz, etc.). In other words, those three different bands are the three different links which includes the one or more other links and the specific link.).
AMINI further teaches a new operating channel is selected such that no MLDs have multiple setup links located on overlapping operating channels (AMINI, Fig. 11 and paragraphs 68-73. See also abstract.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in Kneckt with a new operating channel is selected such that no MLDs have multiple setup links located on overlapping operating channels taught in AMINI to have method of performing a multi-link setup procedure for setting up at least one link with an AP MLD comprising multiple APs, and performing a channel switching procedure for switching an operating channel of a specific link with an AP among the multiple APs, wherein a new operating channel switched through the channel switching procedure is selected such that no non-AP MLDs, including the non-AP MLD, that are associated with the AP MLD have multiple setup links located on overlapping operating channels to optimize channel selection to avoid overlap/interference [AMINI: paragraph 57].
For claim 4, Kneckt and AMINI further teach the non-AP MLD of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to receive a specific frame for the channel switching procedure for switching the operating channel of the specific link, wherein the specific frame includes a Channel Switch Announcement element or an Extended Channel Switch Announcement element for switching the operating channel (Kneckt, Fig. 9 and paragraph 100 teach channel Switch and/or extended Channel Switch elements may be included in beacons from the switching AP and/or other affiliated APs. During the channel transition the channel switch duration may be added to beacons from affiliated APs. A quiet element may be added to beacons from affiliated APs. For example, the quiet element may indicate that the switching AP is currently switching, e.g., and thus may not be transmitting beacons and/or other frame and may not receive transmissions for a period of time.).
For claim 5, Kneckt and AMINI further teach the non-AP MLD of claim 4,
wherein the Channel Switch Announcement element or the Extended Channel Switch Announcement element includes a channel switch mode field, a new channel number field indicating a channel number of the new operating channel, and a Channel Switch Count field (Kneckt, Fig. 12 and paragraph 160 teach FIG. 12 illustrates a neighbor AP information field, according to some embodiments. The neighbor AP information field may include subfields for different information about a corresponding neighbor AP. As shown, the neighbor AP information field may include a TBTT information header field, e.g., indicating timing information of beacons transmitted by the corresponding neighbor AP as further described with respect to FIG. 15. The neighbor AP information field may include operating class information and a channel number for the corresponding neighbor AP. The operating class and channel number may indicate the channel in which the AP operates. The neighbor AP information field may include a TBTT information set, including any number of TBTT information fields as further described with respect to FIG. 13. For example, an RNR may describe a band and channel first and then include a TBTT information field for an AP in this channel.).
For claim 6, Kneckt and AMINI further teach the non-AP MLD of claim 5, wherein the channel switch mode field indicates information necessary for switching the operating channel, and wherein the Channel Switch Count field indicates the number of target beacon transmission times (TBTTs) until the operating channel is switched (Kneckt, Fig. 13 and paragraph 161 teach FIG. 13 illustrates a TBTT information field, according to some embodiments. The TBTT information field may include an indication of a TBTT offset of the corresponding neighbor AP, e.g., relative to the transmitting AP. The TBTT information field may include an indication of the BSSID and/or short SSID of the corresponding neighbor AP. The TBTT information field may include an indication of the BSS parameters of the corresponding neighbor AP, e.g., fields as further described with respect to FIG. 14. The TBTT information field may include an indication of 20 MHz power spectral density (PSD) of the corresponding neighbor AP. The TBTT information field may include an indication of MLD parameters of the corresponding neighbor AP, e.g., as further discussed with respect to FIG. 16.).
For claim 7, Kneckt and AMINI further teach the non-AP MLD of claim 1,
wherein the processor is configured to:
transmit a link reconfiguration request frame for changing a configuration of the at least one link, and receive a link reconfiguration response frame in response to the link reconfiguration request frame, wherein the link reconfiguration response frame is received on a link, among the at least one link, on which the link reconfiguration request frame has been transmitted (Kneckt, Fig. 9 and table 3 teach Multi-link element variant/type Use in different frames Basic variant When present in a beacon or probe response frame, may contain common parameters and may not contain Per-STA parameters. When used in Association Requests and Association Response frames, may contain common parameters and complete set of per- STA parameters, e.g., describing the affiliated AP. Probe Request May be used in a Probe Request to signal for which link(s) variant parameters are requested and whether request is partial or complete, e.g., whether all parameters are requested for the indicated link(s) or only an (e.g., identified) subset of the parameters are requested. Reconfiguration May be used to indicate a reconfiguration, e.g., such as a channel variant switch. May be included in a ML reconfiguration request and/or response. May communicate the addition and/or deletion of a link. May contain common parameters, an indication of a link ID that is deleted, and/or a complete set of Per-STA Profile Parameters for AP/STA that is added. See also paragraphs 166-169.).
For claim 8, Kneckt and AMINI further teach the non-AP MLD of claim 7,
wherein the link reconfiguration request frame is transmitted on one of links, other than the one or more links which are requested to be deleted, among the at least one link when the link reconfiguration request frame requests the one or more links to be deleted (Kneckt, Fig. 9 and table 3 teach Multi-link element variant/type Use in different frames Basic variant When present in a beacon or probe response frame, may contain common parameters and may not contain Per-STA parameters. When used in Association Requests and Association Response frames, may contain common parameters and complete set of per- STA parameters, e.g., describing the affiliated AP. Probe Request May be used in a Probe Request to signal for which link(s) variant parameters are requested and whether request is partial or complete, e.g., whether all parameters are requested for the indicated link(s) or only an (e.g., identified) subset of the parameters are requested. Reconfiguration May be used to indicate a reconfiguration, e.g., such as a channel variant switch. May be included in a ML reconfiguration request and/or response. May communicate the addition and/or deletion of a link. May contain common parameters, an indication of a link ID that is deleted, and/or a complete set of Per-STA Profile Parameters for AP/STA that is added. See also paragraphs 166-169.).
For claim 10, Kneckt teaches a method performed by a non-access point (AP) multi-link device (non-AP MLD) comprising multiple stations (Kneckt, Fig. 8 item 106), the method comprising:
performing a multi-link setup procedure for setting up at least one link with an AP MLD comprising multiple APs (Kneckt, Fig. 8 and paragraph 89 teach three links between AP MLD 112 and non-AP MLD in three different band range.); and
performing a channel switching procedure for switching an operating channel of a specific link with the AP among the multiple APs (Kneckt, Fig. 9 and paragraph 97 teach an AP MLD node may perform channel switching, e.g., changing/moving an affiliated AP from one channel to another. Such channel switching may be performed between channels of one band (e.g., 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz, or 6 GHz, etc.). …For example, a channel switch may be a move of a first affiliated AP from a first channel on a first band to a second channel on the first band….),
wherein a new operating channel switched through the channel switching procedure is selected from at least one channel in the specific link (Kneckt, Fig. 9 and paragraph 97 teach an AP MLD node may perform channel switching, e.g., changing/moving an affiliated AP from one channel to another. Such channel switching may be performed between channels of one band (e.g., 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz, or 6 GHz, etc.). …For example, a channel switch may be a move of a first affiliated AP from a first channel on a first band to a second channel on the first band…. In other words, the first band here is the specific link.), and
wherein the one or more other links are set up with at least one non-AP MLD that is associated with the AP MLD and has also set up the specific link (Kneckt, Fig. 3 and paragraph 63 teach AP 112 associated with multiple client stations 106 which may also use those three different bands (e.g., 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz, or 6 GHz, etc.). In other words, those three different bands are the three different links which includes the one or more other links and the specific link.).
AMINI further teaches a new operating channel is selected such that no MLDs have multiple setup links located on overlapping operating channels (AMINI, Fig. 11 and paragraphs 68-73. See also abstract.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in Kneckt with a new operating channel is selected such that no MLDs have multiple setup links located on overlapping operating channels taught in AMINI to have method of performing a multi-link setup procedure for setting up at least one link with an AP MLD comprising multiple APs, and performing a channel switching procedure for switching an operating channel of a specific link with an AP among the multiple APs, wherein a new operating channel switched through the channel switching procedure is selected such that no non-AP MLDs, including the non-AP MLD, that are associated with the AP MLD have multiple setup links located on overlapping operating channels to optimize channel selection to avoid overlap/interference [AMINI: paragraph 57].
For claim 13, Kneckt and AMINI further teach the method of claim 10, further comprising:
receiving a specific frame for the channel switching procedure for switching the operating channel on the specific link, wherein the specific frame includes a Channel Switch Announcement element or an Extended Channel Switch Announcement element for switching the operating channel (Kneckt, Fig. 9 and paragraph 100 teach channel Switch and/or extended Channel Switch elements may be included in beacons from the switching AP and/or other affiliated APs. During the channel transition the channel switch duration may be added to beacons from affiliated APs. A quiet element may be added to beacons from affiliated APs. For example, the quiet element may indicate that the switching AP is currently switching, e.g., and thus may not be transmitting beacons and/or other frame and may not receive transmissions for a period of time.).
For claim 14, Kneckt and AMINI further teach the method of claim 13,
wherein the Channel Switch Announcement element or the Extended Channel Switch Announcement element includes a channel switch mode field, a new channel number field indicating a channel number of the new operating channel, and a Channel Switch Count field (Kneckt, Fig. 12 and paragraph 160 teach FIG. 12 illustrates a neighbor AP information field, according to some embodiments. The neighbor AP information field may include subfields for different information about a corresponding neighbor AP. As shown, the neighbor AP information field may include a TBTT information header field, e.g., indicating timing information of beacons transmitted by the corresponding neighbor AP as further described with respect to FIG. 15. The neighbor AP information field may include operating class information and a channel number for the corresponding neighbor AP. The operating class and channel number may indicate the channel in which the AP operates. The neighbor AP information field may include a TBTT information set, including any number of TBTT information fields as further described with respect to FIG. 13. For example, an RNR may describe a band and channel first and then include a TBTT information field for an AP in this channel.).
For claim 15, Kneckt and AMINI further teach the method of claim 14,
wherein the channel switch mode field indicates information necessary for switching the operating channel, and wherein the Channel Switch Count field indicates the number of target beacon transmission times (TBTTs) until the operating channel is switched (Kneckt, Fig. 13 and paragraph 161 teach FIG. 13 illustrates a TBTT information field, according to some embodiments. The TBTT information field may include an indication of a TBTT offset of the corresponding neighbor AP, e.g., relative to the transmitting AP. The TBTT information field may include an indication of the BSSID and/or short SSID of the corresponding neighbor AP. The TBTT information field may include an indication of the BSS parameters of the corresponding neighbor AP, e.g., fields as further described with respect to FIG. 14. The TBTT information field may include an indication of 20 MHz power spectral density (PSD) of the corresponding neighbor AP. The TBTT information field may include an indication of MLD parameters of the corresponding neighbor AP, e.g., as further discussed with respect to FIG. 16.).
For claim 16, Kneckt and AMINI further teach the method of claim 10, the method further comprising: transmitting a link reconfiguration request frame for changing a configuration of the at least one link; and receiving a link reconfiguration response frame in response to the link reconfiguration request frame, wherein the link reconfiguration response frame is received on a link, among the at least one link, on which the link reconfiguration request frame has been transmitted (Kneckt, Fig. 9 and table 3 teach Multi-link element variant/type Use in different frames Basic variant When present in a beacon or probe response frame, may contain common parameters and may not contain Per-STA parameters. When used in Association Requests and Association Response frames, may contain common parameters and complete set of per- STA parameters, e.g., describing the affiliated AP. Probe Request May be used in a Probe Request to signal for which link(s) variant parameters are requested and whether request is partial or complete, e.g., whether all parameters are requested for the indicated link(s) or only an (e.g., identified) subset of the parameters are requested. Reconfiguration May be used to indicate a reconfiguration, e.g., such as a channel variant switch. May be included in a ML reconfiguration request and/or response. May communicate the addition and/or deletion of a link. May contain common parameters, an indication of a link ID that is deleted, and/or a complete set of Per-STA Profile Parameters for AP/STA that is added. See also paragraphs 166-169.).
For claim 17, Kneckt and AMINI further teach the method of claim 16,
wherein the link reconfiguration request frame is transmitted on one of links, other than the one or more links which are requested to be deleted, among the at least one link when the link reconfiguration request frame requests the one or more links to be deleted (Kneckt, Fig. 9 and table 3 teach Multi-link element variant/type Use in different frames Basic variant When present in a beacon or probe response frame, may contain common parameters and may not contain Per-STA parameters. When used in Association Requests and Association Response frames, may contain common parameters and complete set of per- STA parameters, e.g., describing the affiliated AP. Probe Request May be used in a Probe Request to signal for which link(s) variant parameters are requested and whether request is partial or complete, e.g., whether all parameters are requested for the indicated link(s) or only an (e.g., identified) subset of the parameters are requested. Reconfiguration May be used to indicate a reconfiguration, e.g., such as a channel variant switch. May be included in a ML reconfiguration request and/or response. May communicate the addition and/or deletion of a link. May contain common parameters, an indication of a link ID that is deleted, and/or a complete set of Per-STA Profile Parameters for AP/STA that is added. See also paragraphs 166-169.).
For claim 19, Kneckt teaches an access point multi-link device (AP MLD) configured to operate in a wireless communication system (Kneckt, Fig. 6 and Fig. 8 item 112), the AP MLD comprising:
a communication module (Kneckt, Fig. 6 items 435-436), and
a processor (Kneckt, Fig. 6 item 402) for controlling the communication module,
wherein the processor is configured to:
perform a multi-link setup procedure for setting up at least one link with an AP MLD comprising multiple APs (Kneckt, Fig. 8 and paragraph 89 teach three links between AP MLD 112 and non-AP MLD in three different band range.); and
perform a channel switching procedure for switching an operating channel of a specific link with the AP among the multiple APs (Kneckt, Fig. 9 and paragraph 97 teach an AP MLD node may perform channel switching, e.g., changing/moving an affiliated AP from one channel to another. Such channel switching may be performed between channels of one band (e.g., 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz, or 6 GHz, etc.). …For example, a channel switch may be a move of a first affiliated AP from a first channel on a first band to a second channel on the first band….),
wherein a new operating channel switched through the channel switching procedure is selected from at least one channel in the specific link (Kneckt, Fig. 9 and paragraph 97 teach an AP MLD node may perform channel switching, e.g., changing/moving an affiliated AP from one channel to another. Such channel switching may be performed between channels of one band (e.g., 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz, or 6 GHz, etc.). …For example, a channel switch may be a move of a first affiliated AP from a first channel on a first band to a second channel on the first band…. In other words, the first band here is the specific link.), and
wherein the one or more other links are set up with at least one non-AP MLD that is associated with the AP MLD and has also set up the specific link (Kneckt, Fig. 3 and paragraph 63 teach AP 112 associated with multiple client stations 106 which may also use those three different bands (e.g., 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz, or 6 GHz, etc.). In other words, those three different bands are the three different links which includes the one or more other links and the specific link.).
AMINI further teaches a new operating channel is selected such that no MLDs have multiple setup links located on overlapping operating channels (AMINI, Fig. 11 and paragraphs 68-73. See also abstract.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in Kneckt with a new operating channel is selected such that no MLDs have multiple setup links located on overlapping operating channels taught in AMINI to have method of performing a multi-link setup procedure for setting up at least one link with an AP MLD comprising multiple APs, and performing a channel switching procedure for switching an operating channel of a specific link with an AP among the multiple APs, wherein a new operating channel switched through the channel switching procedure is selected such that no non-AP MLDs, including the non-AP MLD, that are associated with the AP MLD have multiple setup links located on overlapping operating channels to optimize channel selection to avoid overlap/interference [AMINI: paragraph 57].
For claim 20, Kneckt and AMINI further teach the AP MLD of claim 19, wherein the processor is configured to, transmit a specific frame for the channel switching procedure for switching an operating channel of the specific link, wherein the specific frame includes a Channel Switch Announcement element or an Extended Channel Switch Announcement element for switching the operating channel (Kneckt, Fig. 9 and paragraph 100 teach channel Switch and/or extended Channel Switch elements may be included in beacons from the switching AP and/or other affiliated APs. During the channel transition the channel switch duration may be added to beacons from affiliated APs. A quiet element may be added to beacons from affiliated APs. For example, the quiet element may indicate that the switching AP is currently switching, e.g., and thus may not be transmitting beacons and/or other frame and may not receive transmissions for a period of time.).
For claim 21, Kneckt and AMINI further teach the AP MLD of claim 20,
wherein the Channel Switch Announcement element or the Extended Channel Switch Announcement element includes a channel switch mode field, a new channel number field indicating a channel number of the new operating channel, and a Channel Switch Count field (Kneckt, Fig. 12 and paragraph 160 teach FIG. 12 illustrates a neighbor AP information field, according to some embodiments. The neighbor AP information field may include subfields for different information about a corresponding neighbor AP. As shown, the neighbor AP information field may include a TBTT information header field, e.g., indicating timing information of beacons transmitted by the corresponding neighbor AP as further described with respect to FIG. 15. The neighbor AP information field may include operating class information and a channel number for the corresponding neighbor AP. The operating class and channel number may indicate the channel in which the AP operates. The neighbor AP information field may include a TBTT information set, including any number of TBTT information fields as further described with respect to FIG. 13. For example, an RNR may describe a band and channel first and then include a TBTT information field for an AP in this channel.).
For claim 22, Kneckt and AMINI further teach the AP MLD of claim 21,
wherein the channel switch mode field indicates information necessary for switching the operating channel, and wherein the Channel Switch Count field indicates the number of target beacon transmission times (TBTTs) until the operating channel is switched (Kneckt, Fig. 13 and paragraph 161 teach FIG. 13 illustrates a TBTT information field, according to some embodiments. The TBTT information field may include an indication of a TBTT offset of the corresponding neighbor AP, e.g., relative to the transmitting AP. The TBTT information field may include an indication of the BSSID and/or short SSID of the corresponding neighbor AP. The TBTT information field may include an indication of the BSS parameters of the corresponding neighbor AP, e.g., fields as further described with respect to FIG. 14. The TBTT information field may include an indication of 20 MHz power spectral density (PSD) of the corresponding neighbor AP. The TBTT information field may include an indication of MLD parameters of the corresponding neighbor AP, e.g., as further discussed with respect to FIG. 16.).
For claim 23, Kneckt and AMINI further teach the AP MLD of claim 19, wherein the processor is configured to:
receive a link reconfiguration request frame for changing a configuration of the at least one link; and transmit a link reconfiguration response frame in response to the link reconfiguration request frame, wherein the link reconfiguration response frame is received on a link, among the at least one link, on which the link reconfiguration request frame has been transmitted (Kneckt, Fig. 9 and table 3 teach Multi-link element variant/type Use in different frames Basic variant When present in a beacon or probe response frame, may contain common parameters and may not contain Per-STA parameters. When used in Association Requests and Association Response frames, may contain common parameters and complete set of per- STA parameters, e.g., describing the affiliated AP. Probe Request May be used in a Probe Request to signal for which link(s) variant parameters are requested and whether request is partial or complete, e.g., whether all parameters are requested for the indicated link(s) or only an (e.g., identified) subset of the parameters are requested. Reconfiguration May be used to indicate a reconfiguration, e.g., such as a channel variant switch. May be included in a ML reconfiguration request and/or response. May communicate the addition and/or deletion of a link. May contain common parameters, an indication of a link ID that is deleted, and/or a complete set of Per-STA Profile Parameters for AP/STA that is added. See also paragraphs 166-169.).
For claim 24, Kneckt and AMINI further teach the AP MLD of claim 23,
wherein the link reconfiguration request frame is transmitted on one of links, other than one or more links which are requested to be deleted among the at least one link when the link reconfiguration request frame requests the one or more links to be deleted (Kneckt, Fig. 9 and table 3 teach multi-link element variant/type Use in different frames Basic variant When present in a beacon or probe response frame, may contain common parameters and may not contain Per-STA parameters. When used in Association Requests and Association Response frames, may contain common parameters and complete set of per- STA parameters, e.g., describing the affiliated AP. Probe Request May be used in a Probe Request to signal for which link(s) variant parameters are requested and whether request is partial or complete, e.g., whether all parameters are requested for the indicated link(s) or only an (e.g., identified) subset of the parameters are requested. Reconfiguration May be used to indicate a reconfiguration, e.g., such as a channel variant switch. May be included in a ML reconfiguration request and/or response. May communicate the addition and/or deletion of a link. May contain common parameters, an indication of a link ID that is deleted, and/or a complete set of Per-STA Profile Parameters for AP/STA that is added. See also paragraphs 166-169.).
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant's arguments filed 04/14/2025 have been fully considered and the 112(a) and 112(b) rejections have been withdrawal. However, a new ground of rejection has been provided.
Conclusion
/WILL W LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412