DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Application filed on November 06, 2024 in which claims 1-22 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 8, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WIETFELDT RICHARD DOMINIC [US] ET AL. US 2017/0318617 A1.
Regarding claim 1, WIETFELDT RICHARD DOMINIC [US] ET AL. disclose a method of wireless communication of a user equipment (UE), comprising: identifying a coexistence of multiple communication instances that interfere with each other (See paragraph 11, describing "determining that at least one of the compatible RATs causes in-device and/or cross-device interference at one or more of the first wireless device or the second wireless device based on the exchanged in-device and cross-device coexistence state" ;paragraph 35, "the wireless device 110 can communicate with any number of systems and/or networks at any given moment, which may also cause the wireless device 110 to experience coexistence issues among various constituent radio devices associated therewith that may operate at the same time"; paragraph 46, in-device coexistence issues may occur at the wireless device 310 due to interference or other coexistence impacts that may be caused when the wireless device 310 uses the WWAN radio 313, the WLAN radio 315, and the Bluetooth radio 317 to communicate at substantially the same time."; Fig. 4); determining, based on a current scenario and a capability of the UE, a
coexistence scheme (See paragraph 11, describing "negotiating a modified configuration associated with the at least one compatible RAT to mitigate the in-device and/or cross-device interference"; paragraph 30, "a wireless device 110, which can have capabilities to communicate with multiple communication systems. For example, the wireless device 110 may have capabilities that support
communication with one or more cellular networks 120 and/or 130, one or more
WLAN networks 140 and/or 150"); and adjusting an execution of the multiple communication instances based on the coexistence scheme (See paragraph 11, describing "adjusting a multi-radio configuration at the first wireless device according to the negotiated modified configuration associated with the at least one compatible RAT"; paragraph 49, "the solutions described herein to select an appropriate D2D RAT in a manner that may mitigate such in-device and/or cross-device coexistence issues are generally applicable anywhere that the RAT used in a D2D connection may cause in-device and/or cross-device coexistence issues.”)
Regarding claim 21, WIETFELDT RICHARD DOMINIC [US] ET AL. disclose an apparatus for wireless communication, the apparatus being a user equipment (UE), comprising: a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured to:: identify a coexistence of multiple communication instances that interfere with each other (See paragraph 11, describing "determining that at least one of the compatible RATs causes in-device and/or cross-device interference at one or more of the first wireless device or the second wireless device based on the exchanged in-device and cross-device coexistence state" ;paragraph 35, "the wireless device 110 can communicate with any number of systems and/or networks at any given moment, which may also cause the wireless device 110 to experience coexistence issues among various constituent radio devices associated therewith that may operate at the same time"; paragraph 46, in-device coexistence issues may occur at the wireless device 310 due to
interference or other coexistence impacts that may be caused when the
wireless device 310 uses the WWAN radio 313, the WLAN radio 315, and the
Bluetooth radio 317 to communicate at substantially the same time."; Fig. 4); determine, based on a current scenario and a capability of the UE, a
coexistence scheme (See paragraph 11, describing "negotiating a modified configuration associated with the at least one compatible RAT to mitigate the in-device and/or cross-device interference"; paragraph 30, "a wireless device 110, which can have capabilities to communicate with multiple communication systems. For example, the wireless device 110 may have capabilities that support
communication with one or more cellular networks 120 and/or 130, one or more
WLAN networks 140 and/or 150"); and adjust an execution of the multiple communication instances based on the coexistence scheme (See paragraph 11, describing "adjusting a multi-radio configuration at the first wireless device according to the negotiated modified configuration associated with the at least one compatible RAT"; paragraph 49, "the solutions described herein to select an appropriate D2D RAT in a manner that may mitigate such in-device and/or cross-device coexistence issues are generally applicable anywhere that the RAT used in a D2D connection may cause in-device and/or cross-device coexistence issues.”)
Regarding claim 22, WIETFELDT RICHARD DOMINIC [US] ET AL. disclose a computer-readable medium storing computer executable code for wireless communication of a user equipment (UE), comprising code to: identify a coexistence of multiple communication instances that interfere with each other (See paragraph 11, describing "determining that at least one of the compatible RATs causes in-device and/or cross-device interference at one or more of the first wireless device or the second wireless device based on the exchanged in-device and cross-device coexistence state" ;paragraph 35, "the wireless device 110 can communicate with any number of systems and/or networks at any given moment, which may also cause the wireless device 110 to experience coexistence issues among various constituent radio devices associated therewith that may operate at the same time"; paragraph 46, in-device coexistence issues may occur at the wireless device 310 due to interference or other coexistence impacts that may be caused when the wireless device 310 uses the WWAN radio 313, the WLAN radio 315, and the Bluetooth radio 317 to communicate at substantially the same time."; Fig. 4); determine, based on a current scenario and a capability of the UE, a
coexistence scheme (See paragraph 11, describing "negotiating a modified configuration associated with the at least one compatible RAT to mitigate the in-device and/or cross-device interference"; paragraph 30, "a wireless device 110, which can have capabilities to communicate with multiple communication systems. For example, the wireless device 110 may have capabilities that support
communication with one or more cellular networks 120 and/or 130, one or more
WLAN networks 140 and/or 150"); and adjust an execution of the multiple communication instances based on the coexistence scheme (See paragraph 11, describing "adjusting a multi-radio configuration at the first wireless device according to the negotiated modified configuration associated with the at least one compatible RAT"; paragraph 49, "the solutions described herein to select an appropriate D2D RAT in a manner that may mitigate such in-device and/or cross-device coexistence issues are generally applicable anywhere that the RAT used in a D2D connection may cause in-device and/or cross-device coexistence issues.”)
As per claim 2, WIETFELDT RICHARD DOMINIC [US] ET AL. further discloses in paragraph 10 that the D2D coexistence protocol may comprise the wireless devices exchanging radio configurations and radio capabilities associated with one another to learn the compatible D2D RATs that can be used to establish the D2D connection (i.e., the possible RATs that the wireless devices can use to establish the D2D connection using locally implemented versions on the respective wireless devices) and further to learn a multi-radio coexistence state associated with each other (e.g., in-device and
cross-device coexistence states). The wireless devices may then mutually negotiate the best RAT to establish the D2D connection based on the compatible D2D RATs and the multi-radio coexistence state(s) exchanged therebetween, among other factors." thereby disclosing the subject matter of claim 2.
As per claim 3, WIETFELDT RICHARD DOMINIC [US] ET AL. further discloses in paragraph 37 that FIG. 2, the multi-radio wireless device 200 can include N radios 220a through 220n, which can be respectively coupled to N antennas 210a through 210n, where N can be any integer value. Those skilled in the art will appreciate, however, that the radios 220 can be coupled to any number of antennas 210 and/or share a given antenna 210." which corroborated with disclosures indicated in 3.1, i.e. selection of a RAT, disclose the subject matter of claim 3.
As per claim 10, WIETFELDT RICHARD DOMINIC [US] ET AL. discloses in paragraph 6 that "the RATs that can be supported on a multi-radio device may include UMTS, GSM, CDMA2000, WiMAX, WLAN (e.g., Wi-Fi), LTE, and the like, and the multi-radio device may further have different radios that each support a different D2D RAT, which may include NFC, Bluetooth, Wi-Fi Direct, LTE Direct, and the like." thereby disclosing the subject matter of claim 10. Further disclosures are in paragraph 64, and 65, "various
IEEE 802.11 standards add multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) antenna support to operate on both the 2.4 GHz band and the lesser-used 5 GHz band that can operate at higher maximum data rates”
As per claims 4 and 13, WIETFELDT RICHARD DOMINIC [US] ET AL. further discloses in paragraph 47 that "the example in-device coexistence impacts shown in FIG. 4 may apply to a particular situation in which coupling and/or isolation between antennas on a particular wireless device is the culprit that causes the in-device coexistence impacts." therefore the subject matter of claim 4, first option, and of claim 13 is a design option that the person skilled in the art would choose, depending on circumstances, without at any time performing an inventive step.
As per claim 5, WIETFELDT RICHARD DOMINIC [US] ET AL. disclose the subject matter of claim 5 since that represents commonly used design option
As per claims 6 and 7, WIETFELDT RICHARD DOMINIC [US] ET AL. indicated in 3.5 implicitly disclose both SISO and MIMO system. Further disclosures relating to MIMO are present in paragraph 68-74 and Fig. 8. The feature of using one antenna for transmission and several antennas for reception is a commonly used design measure for reducing the consumed power and therefore the subject matter of claim 6 is a design measure that the person skilled in the art would choose, depending on circumstances.
The features defined as second option of claim 7 are simple design options.
As per claim 8, WIETFELDT RICHARD DOMINIC [US] ET AL. D1 further discloses in paragraph 51 that "LTE operations 432 that are conducted in the B7 UL band 430 and use the closest channel to the ISM band 410 (e.g., the lowest 10 MHz in the B7 UL band) can cause in-device coexistence impacts whereby Bluetooth and/or WLAN operations may be desensed across the ISM band 410, as depicted at 412 (e.g., the LTE operations 432 in the B7 UL band 430 may desense WLAN channel 11 by ~30
decibels (dB), wherein the desensing shown at 412 can be more or less than 30
dB depending on circumstances)." and LTE operations in the bottom 70 MHz
in the B40 band 420, as depicted at 424, may cause a smaller in-device
coexistence impact, whereby desensing may only be experienced in the lower
20 MHz in the ISM band 410, as depicted at 414." therefore indicating that the
coexistence issues depend on used frequency bands of various RATs. Therefore, the subject matter of claim 8 is an expected design measure.
As per claim 9, WIETFELDT RICHARD DOMINIC [US] ET AL. further disclose in paragraph 51 that "those skilled in the art will appreciate that the in-device coexistence impacts shown in FIG. 4 and the degree to which such in-device coexistence impacts may cause desensing due to operations in different RATs may vary based on many factors, which may include filter parameters, transmit power, and receiver sensitivity levels, among many other factors." which corroborated with disclosure mention in 4.4, implicitly disclosing the "Wi-Fi received signal level" as recited in the claim.
As per claims 11 and 12, the subject matter of claims 11, 12 is a design option that the person skilled in the art would choose, depending on circumstances.
As per claim 13, WIETFELDT RICHARD DOMINIC [US] ET AL. further disclose wherein the cellular radio comprises a Long Term Evolution (LTE) or a New Radio (NR) (See Figure 5; Paragraph 0052 describing cross-device coexistence impacts where LTE operations that a first wireless device (e.g., wireless device 310) conducts in a released spectrum portion 512 within the B40 band).
As per claim 14, WIETFELDT RICHARD DOMINIC [US] ET AL. further disclose wherein the particular parameter comprises an LTE blocker level, a Wi-Fi received signal level, or a target signal signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) (Paragraphs 0051, 0053-0054).
As per claim 15, WIETFELDT RICHARD DOMINIC [US] ET AL. further disclose wherein the Wi-Fi instance comprises at least one of 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi instances and 5 GHz/6 GHz Wi-Fi instances (Figure 7, Paragraphs 0064-0066).
As per claim 16, WIETFELDT RICHARD DOMINIC [US] ET AL. further disclose wherein the UE comprises an integrated power amplifier (iPA), an integrated low noise amplifier (iLNA), an external low noise amplifier (eLNA) and an external power amplifier (ePA) (Figure 8).
As per claim 17, WIETFELDT RICHARD DOMINIC [US] ET AL. further disclose wherein in an eLNA reception stream from an antenna to the iLNA, a filter is located between the eLNA and the iLNA, while in an iPA transmission stream from the iPA to the antenna, the filter is bypassed (Figures 1, 8).
As per claim 18, WIETFELDT RICHARD DOMINIC [US] ET AL. further disclose wherein in both an eLNA reception stream from an antenna to the eLNA and an ePA transmission stream from the ePA to the antenna, a filter is located at the input of the ePA and at the output of the eLNA (Paragraphs 0050-0051).
As per claim 19, WIETFELDT RICHARD DOMINIC [US] ET AL. further disclose wherein adjusting the execution of the multiple communication instances comprises: selecting a Wi-Fi transmission stream that uses an antenna farther from an LTE antenna or a Wi-Fi transmission stream that utilizes an external power amplifier (Figures 1, 8).
As per claim 20, WIETFELDT RICHARD DOMINIC [US] ET AL. further disclose wherein the coexistence scheme is determined based on at least one of: a Long Term Evolution (LTE), a New Radio (NR) or a Wireless Fidelity (Wi-Fi) blocker level, an LTE, NR or Wi-Fi received signal strength indication (RSSI), or a target signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) (Figure 5, Paragraph 0052).
Conclusion
/FRANTZ COBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2459
September 16, 2026