Detailed Action
Claims 1-5 are pending
Priority
This application is a continuation application of International Application PCT/JP2022/027677 filed on Jul. 14, 2022. Therefore, the effective filing date of this application is 07/14/2022.
Drawings
Applicants’ drawings filed on 11/06/2024 has been inspected and it is in compliance with
MPEP 608.02.
Specification
The specification filed on 11/06/2024 is acceptable for examination proceedings.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/06/2024, 09/30/2025, and 01/07/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, and 5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12267430 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the corresponding claims further recite similar/same limitation of the same subject matter.
Current application No. 18/938,436
U.S. Patent No. US 12267430 B2
1.) A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a proof generation program that causes a computer to execute a process comprising:
generating, for each process included in a supply chain, zero-knowledge proof that indicates validity of a cumulative value obtained by accumulating a value of each process from a most upstream process to the process and information regarding the cumulative value; and
causing a blockchain to record the zero-knowledge proof and the information regarding the cumulative value.
1.) A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing an information concealing program for causing a computer to execute processing in a predetermined stage of a plurality of stages included in a supply chain, the processing comprising:
obtaining, from an immediately upstream stage, a first random number and a first cumulative value, the first random number being a random number used to generate a first cumulative value commitment, the first cumulative value commitment being a cumulative value commitment obtained by concealing the first cumulative value that is from a most upstream stage to the immediately upstream stage;
generating, based on the first random number, an upstream component link commitment information obtained by concealing information indicative of a relationship between the immediately upstream stage and the predetermined stage;
calculating, based on the first cumulative value, a second cumulative value that is from the most upstream stage to the predetermined stage;
generating a cumulative value calculation proof information that indicates that the second cumulative value is calculated by using the correct first cumulative value and that is a zero-knowledge proof based on the upstream component link commitment information; and
causing the upstream component link commitment information and the cumulative value calculation proof information to be recorded in a blockchain.
Claims 4 and 5 are parallel claims to independent claim 1. Therefore, claims 4 and 5 are rejected in a similar manner.
Claims 1, 4, and 5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12301721 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the corresponding claims further recite similar/same limitation of the same subject matter.
Current application No. 18/938,436
U.S. Patent No. US 12301721 B2
1.) A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a proof generation program that causes a computer to execute a process comprising:
generating, for each process included in a supply chain, zero-knowledge proof that indicates validity of a cumulative value obtained by accumulating a value of each process from a most upstream process to the process and information regarding the cumulative value; and
causing a blockchain to record the zero-knowledge proof and the information regarding the cumulative value.
1.) A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing an information management program that causes at least one computer to execute a process, the process comprising:
acquiring a first cumulative consideration amount from a most upstream process in a plurality of processes included in a supply chain to a first process of the plurality of processes based on a second cumulative consideration amount from the most upstream process to the first process, a first cumulative value from the most upstream process to the first process, and a second cumulative value from the most upstream process to a second process which is one upstream process of the first process;
generating a consideration amount commitment by concealing the first cumulative consideration amount by using a random number;
registering the consideration amount commitment in a blockchain;
generating a consideration amount proof that is a zero knowledge proof that proves validity of the second cumulative consideration amount without disclosing the second cumulative consideration amount; and
notifying the second process of the second cumulative consideration amount, the random number, and the consideration amount proof.
Claims 4 and 5 are parallel claims to independent claim 1. Therefore, claims 4 and 5 are rejected in a similar manner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because they directed to an abstract idea.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites of A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a proof generation program that causes a computer to execute a process comprising: generating, for each process included in a supply chain, zero-knowledge proof that indicates validity of a cumulative value obtained by accumulating a value of each process from a most upstream process to the process and information regarding the cumulative value; and causing a blockchain to record the zero-knowledge proof and the information regarding the cumulative value.
The limitation of generating, for each process included in a supply chain, zero-knowledge proof that indicates validity of a cumulative value obtained by accumulating a value of each process from a most upstream process to the process and information regarding the cumulative value, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers steps that can be performed in the mind. A user can manually generate for each process in a supply chain zero-knowledge proof that indicates validity of a cumulative value.
The limitation of causing a blockchain to record the zero-knowledge proof and the information regarding the cumulative value, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers steps that can be performed in the mind. A user can manually cause a blockchain to record the zero-knowledge proof and the information regarding the cumulative value.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic statement such as “non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a proof generation program that causes a computer to execute a process”, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites one additional element of computer implemented method. The “computer” recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic computer performing the method) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of “computer” amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. This claim recites of wherein the information regarding the cumulative value includes a cumulative value commitment for the cumulative value, and the zero-knowledge proof is generated using trail information that includes a trail that indicates that the process has been performed and zero-knowledge proof that indicates validity of a cumulative value of a process performed immediately before the process. Therefore, the limitations of this claim, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers steps that can also be performed in the mind. A user can manually generate a zero-knowledge proof using trail information that includes a trail that indicates that the process has been performed and zero-knowledge proof that indicates validity of a cumulative value of a process performed immediately before the process.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. This claim recites of wherein the zero-knowledge proof is generated by: receiving an input of a cumulative value of a process performed immediately before the process and dummy trail information stored in advance in a storage unit; and using a cumulative value obtained from the dummy trail information and the cumulative value of the process performed immediately before the process, with the cumulative value obtained from the dummy trail information set to zero. Therefore, the limitations of this claim, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers steps that can also be performed in the mind. A user can manually receive an input of a cumulative value of a process performed immediately before the process and dummy trail information stored in advance in a storage unit and generate a zero-knowledge proof using a cumulative value obtained from the dummy trail information and the cumulative value of the process performed immediately before the process, with the cumulative value obtained from the dummy trail information set to zero.
Regarding claims 4 and 5. Claims 4 and 5 recite of features similar to that of independent claim 1. Without reciting additional features that are not directed to an abstract idea. Therefore, claims 4 and 5 are rejected in a similar manner as in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-4 recite the limitation of “the process”. It is unclear if the process is being referred to as the process that is executed by a computer or of a process included in a supply chain. For the purpose of examination examiner is interpreting this limitation as “the process included in the supply chain”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 1, 4, and 5 recite the limitation “causing a blockchain to record the zero-knowledge proof and the information regarding the cumulative value”. However, the limitation of generating recites generating for each process included in a supply chain, zero-knowledge proof. It is unclear of which process is the zero-knowledge proof and the information being recorded in a blockchain. For the purpose of examination examiner is interpreting this limitation as causing a blockchain to record for each process included in the supply chain the zero-knowledge proof and the information. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2 and 3 depend on claim 1. Therefore, they also inherit the rejection.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the information regarding the cumulative value” and “the zero-knowledge proof”. However, it is unclear which process these limitations are referring to. Is it all the processes, a single process, or each process? For the purpose of examination examiner is interpreting this as for each process the information regarding the cumulative value and for each process the zero-knowledge proof is generated using. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “the zero-knowledge proof”. However, it is unclear which process this limitation is referring to. Is it all the processes, a single process, or each process? For the purpose of examination examiner is interpreting this as for each process the zero-knowledge proof is generated using. Appropriate correction is required.
Clams 2 and 3 recite the limitation “the process”. It is unclear if this process is being referred to the process performed by the computer, a process included in a supply chain, or a most upstream process. For the purpose of examination examiner is interpreting this as the respective process in the supply chain for which the zero-knowledge proof is being generated. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (“Enabling Privacy and Traceability in Supply Chains using Blockchain and Zero Knowledge Proofs”), hereinafter SAHAI.
Regarding claim 1, SAHAI teaches “A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a proof generation program that causes a computer to execute a process comprising: ([SAHAI, abstract, page 134] “In recent years there have been increased efforts to make supply chains transparent and traceable to better protect the end consumer’s interests against counterfeiting … property enables an end consumer to be convinced about a product to be unaffected by identified faulty upstream processes (contamination) without access to the entire history of the product. Our solution makes novel use of cryptographic tools such as zero-knowledge proofs and cryptographic accumulators to provide these guarantees. The choice of the cryptographic components is grounded in concrete efficiency, and we present an experimental evaluation of the implementation of our protocol on Hyperledger Fabric, a popular platform for enterprise blockchains”) ([SAHAI, computation setup, page 141] “For our experiments, we used Hyperledger Fabric v2.0 as the underlying blockchain, deployed on Docker version 19.03.11. The chaincode and algorithms for generating provable primes and RSA accumulators were implemented in Golang. We used libsnark library [4] to build the circuits for basic gadgets discussed in Section V-B and for generating and verifying SNARK proofs. The experiments were run on an Intel i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz with 8 cores and 32 GB RAM running Ubuntu 18.04.”) generating, for each process included in a supply chain, zero-knowledge proof that indicates validity of a cumulative value obtained by accumulating a value of each process from a most upstream process to the process and information regarding the cumulative value; and ([SAHAI, abstract, page 134] “Our solution makes novel use of cryptographic tools such as zero-knowledge proofs and cryptographic accumulators to provide these guarantees.”) ([SAHAI, Trust model, page 137] “The payload of a transaction additionally contains zero-knowledge proofs for establishing the well-formedness of the document or establishing the relationship between the contents of input/output documents”) ([SAHAI, Merge, page 138] “π1 is a zero knowledge proof for the following: … (doci,1.Quantity + doci,2.Quantity == doco.Quantity) … The merge transaction payload differs from those of entry and shipment transactions by including the accumulator value dAcco for the output document. In other transactions, the value of the accumulator can be calculated, however, in case of Merge, we wish dAcco to represent the union of set of upstream documents for each of the input documents, i.e, we wish to ensure: dAcco := acc(Ui,1 ∪ Ui,2 ∪ {dpo}) where Ui,j denotes the keys of all upstream documents of the document doci,j for j = 1, 2. For most accumulators, the smart contract cannot compute dAcco without the knowledge of sets Ui,1 and Ui,2. Instead, we have the transaction initiator provide the value dAcco along with a zero knowledge proof π2 showing that the value is correct. ”) ([SAHAI, Document Types, page 136] “upstream documents constitute all the documents from which D is reachable, and downstream documents are all the reachable documents from D. Then, provenance for a document can be established by tracing back all its upstream documents.”) causing a blockchain to record the zero-knowledge proof and the information regarding the cumulative value. ([SAHAI, Merge, page 138] “The corresponding transaction is a multiple input single output transaction. The transaction txmerge is structured as: (dtmerge, InDocs, OutDocs, dh = [ho], dAccout, pcert, π1, π2) …. The transaction is added to the ledger and on successful validation the smart contract updates the state database as L[dpo] = doco, where doco = (dtmerge, ho, dpo, dAcco, InDocs).”)
Regarding claim 2, SAHAI teaches all limitations of claim 1. SAHAI further teaches “wherein the information regarding the cumulative value includes a cumulative value commitment for the cumulative value, and ([SAHAI, Preliminaries, page 135] “A cryptographic accumulator [6] is a one-way function, that succinctly commits a set of values to a constant size digest. The commitments are hiding and binding, and support succinct proofs of membership, and often, non-membership of values in the accumulator. RSA accumulator [10] is a dynamic accumulator”) the zero-knowledge proof is generated using trail information that includes a trail that indicates that the process has been performed and zero-knowledge proof that indicates validity of a cumulative value of a process performed immediately before the process. ([SAHAI, Fig. 2, page 137] “Supply Chain Graph”) ([SAHAI, Table 1, page 137] “DocAccumulator: An accumulator value corresponding to the set of IDs of all the upstream documents of the given document.”) ([SAHAI, Merge, page 138] “The merge transaction payload differs from those of entry and shipment transactions by including the accumulator value dAcco for the output document. In other transactions, the value of the accumulator can be calculated, however, in case of Merge, we wish dAcco to represent the union of set of upstream documents for each of the input documents, i.e, we wish to ensure: dAcco := acc(Ui,1 ∪ Ui,2 ∪ {dpo}) where Ui,j denotes the keys of all upstream documents of the document doci,j for j = 1, 2. For most accumulators, the smart contract cannot compute dAcco without the knowledge of sets Ui,1 and Ui,2. Instead, we have the transaction initiator provide the value dAcco along with a zero knowledge proof π2 showing that the value is correct”) ([SAHAI, Computing Accumulator for Merge Transaction Outputs, page 139] “the transaction validation requires certain predicates to be established over the document content, such as Sender-Recipient coupling or quantity conservation. We accomplish this by using Zero-Knowledge Succinct Arguments of Knowledge”)
Regarding claim 3, SAHAI teaches all limitations of claim 1. SAHAI further teaches “the zero-knowledge proof is generated by: receiving an input of a cumulative value of a process performed immediately before the process and dummy trail information stored in advance in a storage unit; and ([SAHAI, Preliminaries, page 135] “A cryptographic accumulator [6] is a one-way function, that succinctly commits a set of values to a constant size digest. The commitments are hiding and binding, and support succinct proofs of membership, and often, non-membership of values in the accumulator. RSA accumulator [10] is a dynamic accumulator”) ([SAHAI, Security Analysis, page 141] “Our protocol satisfies the above notion of contamination tracing by using cryptographic accumulators. As described in Section V and V-A, each document contains accumulator for the set of all its upstream documents.”) ([SAHAI, Entry, page 137] “Since this document does not have any previous references, InDocs is set to empty list ([]).”)([SAHAI, Merge, page 138] “we have the transaction initiator provide the value dAcco along with a zero knowledge proof π2 showing that the value is correct.”) using a cumulative value obtained from the dummy trail information and the cumulative value of the process performed immediately before the process, with the cumulative value obtained from the dummy trail information set to zero. ([SAHAI, Fig. 2, page 137] “Supply Chain Graph”) ([SAHAI, Table 1, page 137] “DocAccumulator: An accumulator value corresponding to the set of IDs of all the upstream documents of the given document.”) ([SAHAI, Merge, page 138] “The merge transaction payload differs from those of entry and shipment transactions by including the accumulator value dAcco for the output document. In other transactions, the value of the accumulator can be calculated, however, in case of Merge, we wish dAcco to represent the union of set of upstream documents for each of the input documents, i.e, we wish to ensure: dAcco := acc(Ui,1 ∪ Ui,2 ∪ {dpo}) where Ui,j denotes the keys of all upstream documents of the document doci,j for j = 1, 2. For most accumulators, the smart contract cannot compute dAcco without the knowledge of sets Ui,1 and Ui,2. Instead, we have the transaction initiator provide the value dAcco along with a zero knowledge proof π2 showing that the value is correct”) ([SAHAI, Entry, page 137] “A product Entry operation introduces an item on the supply chain. The corresponding supply chain transaction outputs a document doco describing the introduced item. The transaction txentry consists of the tuple: txentry := dtentry, InDocs = [], OutDocs = [dpo], dh = [ho], pcert, π). Since this document does not have any previous references, InDocs is set to empty list ([]).”) [Examiner’s note: Examiner is interpreting InDocs being an empty list as a dummy trail with a cumulative value of zero.]
Regarding claim 4, this claim recites of a method that performs the features of independent claim 1. Therefore, claim 4 is rejected in a similar manner as in the rejection of claim 1. SAHAI further teaches ([SAHAI, Evaluation of cryptographic components, page 141] “One of our protocol’s key features is to efficiently prove to an end-customer that given a document for a final product F, it does not involve an identified upstream document D.”)
Regarding claim 5, this claim recites of an information processing apparatus that performs the features of independent claim 1. Therefore, claim 5 is rejected in a similar manner as in the rejection of claim 1. SAHAI further teaches ([SAHAI, computation setup, page 141] “For our experiments, we used Hyperledger Fabric v2.0 as the underlying blockchain, … The experiments were run on an Intel i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz with 8 cores and 32 GB RAM running Ubuntu 18.04.”)
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
RÖLING (US-12015715-B2): This prior art teaches of a processor may commit, anonymously, an identity and associated data of a resource producer on a blockchain by an independent gateway. The processor may generate a Merkle tree hash commitment to the blockchain of all resources handled by an aggregator. The processor may execute individual commitments of a resource to a user. The processor may provide a zero-knowledge-proof that proves that the commitment of the identity and associated data of the resource producer and the Merkle tree hash commitment match.
GAUTHIER (US-20220014502-A1): This prior art teaches of a mechanism for performing an anonymous transfer using a blockchain. A sender's device generates a commitment based on a serial number of a zero-knowledge token and a value of the zero-knowledge token. Moreover, the sender's device generates a range proof and a balance proof for the commitment. The range proof verifies that the value of the zero-knowledge token is within a preset range. The balance proof verifies that the value of a set of input tokens is greater than or equal to the value of the zero-knowledge token. The sender's device sends a conversion request to the blockchain network. The conversion request consumes the set of input tokens and generates the zero-knowledge token. The conversion request includes the generated commitment, the generated range proof, and the generated balance proof.
Conclusion
/A.A./
01/19/2026
/AFAQ ALI/Examiner, Art Unit 2434
/NOURA ZOUBAIR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434