DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a non-final action in response to application filed on 11/06/2024. Claims 1-8 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 11/06/2024 has been considered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: various “units” in claims 1-6
Examiner recommends incorporating structures that are capable of completely performing the entire function (e.g., a computer including CPU and memory) that encompasses each and every one of these units if such invocation is NOT the intended scope. The above recommendation is purely a suggestion and NOT a requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because they recite an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 2A prong 1
As per claim 1, the following steps recites an abstract idea.
… stores correlation data indicating a correlation of a reference control parameter … serving as a reference and a reference response … output by using the reference control parameter
… acquires a target response … output by using a target control parameter …;
… acquires the correlation data and the target response signal and calculates a correlation control parameter corresponding to the target response signal in the reference device by using the correlation data
… calculates an adjustment amount of the target control parameter based on the correlation control parameter and the reference control parameter
The above limitations falls into mental processes for at least the reason of being synonymous to Electric Power Groups’ collecting information and analyzing information, which falls into mental processes. Further, the step can be performed using pen and paper by graphing relationship among data collected and determine an optimal value (e.g., see Fig. 3A and 3B, noting the graph can be different shape such as linear). Therefore, claim 1 recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A prong 2
In this case, the additional element is various units that are generic computer components that are used to perform the abstract idea and that these units performs the abstract idea using signals (e.g., electronic signals) where the intended operating environment being fluid control devices. All of these are merely describing the intended field of use in high level. Further, examiner particularly notes that any adjustment to the controller or the operation of such adjusted controller to control fluid is outside the scope of claim 1. Claim 1’s scope ends at adjustment amount being calculated. Therefore, any potential improvement resulted from applying adjustment calculation is not part of analysis. Therefore, whether viewed individually or as an ordered combination, the additional element are merely generally linking the abstract idea to particular field of use, which would not integrate the abstract idea into practical application.
Step 2B
As noted above in step 2A prong 2, whether viewed individually or as an ordered combination, the additional elements are nothing more than generally linking the abstract idea into particular field of use. The same analysis would apply in step 2B and therefore claim 1 is not eligible.
Claims 2-6 can bs similarly analyzed as further additional elements are also discussed in high level as generally linking the abstract idea into particular field of use while these claims also merely further limit the abstract idea using these further additional elements. Claims 7-8 can be similarly analyzed as claim 1.
Examiner suggest positively requiring the adjusted controller to control fluid into independent claims. Such amendment would likely integrate the abstract idea into practical application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lull (US 20200073415) in view of Jablokov (US 20170031337)
As per claim 1, Lull discloses a control parameter calculation apparatus that calculates a control parameter of a fluid control apparatus that controls a fluid, the control parameter calculation apparatus comprising:
a correlation data storage unit that stores correlation data indicating a correlation of a reference control parameter of
a target response signal acquisition unit that acquires a target response signal output by using a target control parameter of a target device
a correlation control parameter calculation unit that acquires the correlation data and the target response signal and calculates a correlation control parameter corresponding to the target response signal
a target control parameter adjustment amount calculation unit that calculates an adjustment amount of the target control parameter based on the correlation control parameter and the reference control parameter (0026, model adjusted periodically based on use case).
Lull discloses a model for fluid control apparatus that controls a fluid where the model is adjusted periodically. It doesn’t explicitly states that the initial model is from a reference fluid control device different from the device being controlled.
Jabloku teaches building model to monitor control algorithm for devices based on data collected on multiple devices (0367, model created from collected data. See 0468 that collected data is based on multiple users on multiple devices).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to combine Jabloku’s modeling method of using data from other devices with Lull’s control model for the purpose of generating a more accurate initial model based on larger number of feedbacks from multiple machines.
As per claim 2, Lull further discloses the control parameter calculation apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the target response signal acquisition unit acquires a plurality of the target response signals, and the correlation control parameter calculation unit calculates one or one set of the correlation control parameters from the plurality of target response signals (0026-0030 and see Fig. 3B multiple values are collected and correlated for modeling).
As per claim 3, Lull further discloses the control parameter calculation apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the target control parameter adjustment amount calculation unit obtains a difference between the correlation control parameter and the reference control parameter and sets the difference as the adjustment amount of the target control parameter (0026, 0029, GLL gain being determined).
As per claim 4, Lull discloses the control parameter calculation apparatus according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the correlation control parameter calculation unit calculates the correlation control parameter from the target response signal using a Gaussian mixture regression model.
Jabloku teaches using Gaussian mixture regression model for modeling a control system (0367).
The rationale to combine would persist from claim 1.
As per claim 6, Lull does not but Jabloku teaches the control parameter calculation apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the correlation data storage unit stores the correlation data created by using machine learning (0370).
The rationale to combine would persist from claim 1.
Claims 7-8 contain limitations substantially similar to claim 1 and would be rejected under similar rationale set forth above.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lull (US 20200073415) in view of Jablokov (US 20170031337), further in view of Mehta (US 20090112335)
As per claim 5, Lull discloses the control parameter calculation apparatus according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the target response signal acquisition unit acquires the target response signal output by using the target control parameter of the target device at a time of initial setting when the target control parameter is set for a first time, and the correlation control parameter calculation unit calculates the correlation control parameter from the target response signal of the target device at the time of initial setting.
Lull however, discloses performing the above steps on periodic basis without specifying a restriction on time period where such steps can not be performed. Therefore the only difference is explicitly stating performing the above step at the very first time of initialization of the system.
Mehta teaches performing calibration of system at the initialization for the first time (0083).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to perform calibration at the first time as taught by Mehta to Lull’s model algorithm for the purpose of ensuring system is performing accurately at the first time.
Conclusion
GEORGE CHEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3628
/GEORGE CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3628