DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 2, 9, 16 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim (s) 1 of U.S. Patent No. (9,916,830) and Rosenberg (US 9,509,269 B1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant application is merely an obvious variation of the patented claim(s) although, the prior patent disclose of most features, except of the limitation as “causing the at least one speaker to output a second portion of the first content at a second volume that is less than the first volume”.
However, Rosenberg disclose of a device including such aspect related to causing the at least one speaker to output a second portion of the first content at a second volume that is less than the first volume (col.8 line 32-67). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the playback device by adding such the specific related to causing the at least one speaker to output a second portion of the first content at a second volume that is less than the first volume so as to allow the user to being able to hear communication of other party.
Claim(s) 2, 9, 16 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim (s) 1, 8, 15 of U.S. Patent No. (10, 534,649) and Rosenberg (US 9,509,269 B1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims is more of a broader variation of the patented claim(s) and furthermore, although, the prior patent disclose of most features, except of the limitation as “causing the at least one speaker to output a second portion of the first content at a second volume that is less than the first volume”.
However, Rosenberg disclose of a device including such aspect related to causing the at least one speaker to output a second portion of the first content at a second volume that is less than the first volume (col.8 line 32-67). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the playback device by adding such the specific related to causing the at least one speaker to output a second portion of the first content at a second volume that is less than the first volume so as to allow the user to being able to hear communication of other party.
Claim(s) 2, 9, 16 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim (s) 1 of U.S. Patent No. (11, 488,591) and Rosenberg (US 9,509,269 B1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims is more of a broader variation of the patented claim(s) and furthermore, although, the prior patent disclose of most features, except of the limitation as “causing the at least one speaker to output a second portion of the first content at a second volume that is less than the first volume”.
However, Rosenberg disclose of a device including such aspect related to causing the at least one speaker to output a second portion of the first content at a second volume that is less than the first volume (col.8 line 32-67). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the playback device by adding such the specific related to causing the at least one speaker to output a second portion of the first content at a second volume that is less than the first volume so as to allow the user to being able to hear communication of other party.
Claim(s) 2, 9, 16 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim (s) 1 of U.S. Patent No. (12,170,087). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims is more of a broader variation of the patented claim(s) and thus, said instant claim(s) would have been anticipated by the prior patented claim as presented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
Claim(s) 16-17, 20 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) as being anticipated by Rosenberg (US 9,509,269 B1).
Claim 16the prior art as in Rosenberg disclose of A device comprising: at least one speaker; at least one microphone; one or more processors; and computer-readable media storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed on the one or more processors, cause the device to perform operations (fig.1 (100);col.4 line 50-67 & col.6 line 1-25),the operations comprising: causing the at least one speaker to output a first portion of first content at a first volume (col.8 line 32-36 & col.8 line 55-65/the device is currently playing audio content at certain volume); receiving, while the at least one speaker outputs the first portion of the first content at the first volume, a first input audio signal generated by the at least one microphone based at least in part on first sound from a user (fig.2 (201-203); col.6 line 1-10; col.7 line 60 -col.8 line 12); performing processing on the first input audio signal to identify user speech (col.8 line 1-5 & line 12-30); causing the at least one speaker to output a second portion of the first content at a second volume that is less than the first volume (col.8 line 32-67); and 3receiving, while the at least one speaker outputs the second portion of the first content at the second volume, a second input audio signal generated by the at least one microphone based at least in part on second sound from the user (col.9 line 50-67).
17. (New) The device of claim 16, causing the at least one speaker to output the second portion of the first content at the second volume is based at least in part on identifying the user speech (col.8 line 1-20).
20. (New) The device of claim 16, wherein the second volume comprises a predefined percentage of the first volume (col.8 line 35-67).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim (s) 18-19 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Rosenberg (US 9,509,269 B1) and Beckley et al. (US 9,881,616 B2).
18. (New) The device of claim 16, but Rosenberg never mentioned that the second input audio signal represents a voice command, and the computer-readable media further store computer-executable instructions that, when executed on the one or more processors, cause the device to perform operations comprising: performing speech recognition using the second input audio signal to determine a voice command.
However, Beckley et al. disclose of a similar input audio signal represents a voice command, and the computer-readable media further store computer-executable instructions that, when executed on the one or more processors, cause the device to perform operations comprising: performing speech recognition using the second input audio signal to determine a voice command (fig.2 (190); col.5 line 25-50). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the art by adding such specific aspect related to input audio signal represents a voice command, and the computer-readable media further store computer-executable instructions that, when executed on the one or more processors, cause the device to perform operations comprising: performing speech recognition using the second input audio signal to determine a voice command so as to control the device as per user’s voice.
19. (New) The device of claim 18, wherein the computer-readable media further store computer-executable instructions that, when executed on the one or more processors, cause the device to perform an operation comprising causing, based at least in part on the voice command, to implement a certain function as noted therein (Beck-fig.2 (190); col.5 line 25-50).
However, the art never limit such aspect as based on voice command to cause, the at least one speaker to output second content different from the first content. However, the examiner takes official notice implementing such voice command to cause speaker to output different content is notoriously well known in the art. Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the prior art by adding such noted voice command to cause, the at least one speaker to output second content different from the first content so as to control operation of varying content according to user’s voice commands.
Conclusion
/DISLER PAUL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2695