This is a Non-Final office action for serial number 18/938501.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species requirement in the reply filed on June 1, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the examination of the species does not impose a serious burden, since claim 20 depends from claim 17 which has been found to include allowable subject matter, the examiner has determined that examination of claim 20 is not burdensome and therefore claim 20 has been rejoined and examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the base" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The claims have been rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 for the above reasons. Please note that the Examiner may not have pointed out each and every example of indefiniteness. The applicant is required to review all the claim language to make sure the claimed invention is clear and definite.
All words in a claim must be considered in determining the patentability of theclaim against the prior art. If no reasonably definite meaning can be ascribed to certainterms in the claim, the subject matter does not become obvious, the claim becomesindefinite. In re Wilson, 424F.2d 1382, 1385 (CCPA 1970). The examiner's analysis ofthe claims, in particular claim language within the claims as rejected under 35 USC 112 above, indicates that considerable speculation as to the meaning of the terms employed and assumptions as to the scope of the claims needs to be made, as the examiner does not understand what is exactly being claimed by the applicant. Any rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 should not be based on such speculations and assumptions. In re Steele, 305 F.2d 859,862 (CCPA 1962); Ex parte Head, 214 USPQ 551 (Bd.App. 1981). Accordingly, the applicant should not assume that any claims not rejected using prior art is considered allowable since the examiner can not clearly determine the limitations of the claim due to indefiniteness. The applicant should be aware that once the claims have been corrected to remove the problems concerning indefiniteness, prior art may be used to reject the claims and the next action made final or if the application is in a final status the amendment after final may not be entered as requiring further search and/or consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5 and 6 is/are rejected, as best understood, under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Chaoping et al. CN108799709, known as Chaoping1.
Chaoping1 disclose:
1. A holding mechanism, comprising: a bottom plate (11); a clamp (355, 315) movably disposed over the bottom plate (11); a slider (31,35) connected to the clamp (355,315) and used to drive the clamp to move; and a knob (612) rotatably disposed over the bottom plate (11), wherein the knob (612) abuts the slider (355,315), wherein the slider (355,315) is pushed to move the clamp (355,315) towards the base (200) by the knob (612).
2. The holding mechanism as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a spring (80) connected to the clamp (355,315) and used to exert a force on the clamp so that the clamp moves toward a cover plate (70).
5. The holding mechanism as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a cam (50), wherein the knob (612) is pivotally connected to the bottom plate (152) via the cam.
6. The holding mechanism as claimed in claim 1, further comprising an operating portion (60) extending from the knob and in a direction away from the bottom plate (11).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6 and 15 is/are rejected,as best understood, under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Chaoping et al. CN108799709, known as Chaoping2.
Chaoping 2 discloses:
1. A holding mechanism, comprising: a bottom plate (11); a clamp (31,35) movably disposed over the bottom plate (11); a slider (50) connected to the clamp (31,35) and used to drive the clamp to move; and a knob (612) rotatably disposed over the bottom plate (11), wherein the knob (612) abuts the slider (50), wherein the slider (50) is pushed to move the clamp (31,35) towards the base (200) by the knob (612).
2. The holding mechanism as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a spring (80) connected to the clamp (31/35) and used to exert a force on the clamp so that the clamp moves toward a cover plate (70).
4. (Original) The holding mechanism as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a cover plate (70), wherein the cover plate is disposed opposite the bottom plate (11), the cover plate (70) comprises a protrusion (see protrusion on 70 that are received in 3127 that contact 17 of bottom plate), the clamp comprises a groove (3127), and the protrusion of the cover plate is used to push against a sidewall of the groove of the clamp, so that the clamp is moved toward the bottom plate.
6. The holding mechanism as claimed in claim 1, further comprising an operating portion (60) extending from the knob and in a direction away from the bottom plate (11).
15. A bracket assembly, for abutting against a display device (screen of 200), comprising: a base (back of 200); and a holding mechanism movably connected to the base and used to abut against the display device, wherein the holding mechanism comprises: a bottom plate (11); a clamp (30, 31, 35) movably disposed over the bottom plate (11); a slider (connected to the clamp and used to drive the clamp to move; and a knob (612) rotatably disposed over the bottom plate (11), wherein the knob (612) is abutted against the slider (50) , wherein the base (back of 200 slide within bottom plate and clamp) is slidably disposed between the bottom plate and the clamp of the holding mechanism, and the slider (50) is pushed to move the clamp (30, 31, 35) toward the base through the knob, so that the bottom plate and the clamp contact opposite surfaces of the base (back of 200) respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chaoping CN108799709, known as Chaoping in view of Galant 2015/0305518.
Chaoping discloses all of the limitations of the claimed invention except for the buffer member disposed over a surface of the clamp.
Galant teaches that it is known to have
(Claim 3) The holding mechanism as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a buffer member (162) disposed over a surface of the clamp (140).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success to have modified Chaoping to have a buffer member disposed over a surface of the clamp as taught by Galant for the purpose of providing an anti-slip coating to prevent damage to the supported object.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-14 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: in regards to claim 7, the closest prior art Chaoping does not disclose a bracket assembly, for carrying an electronic component, comprising: a base; and a holding mechanism, movably connected to the base and used to carry the electronic component, wherein the holding mechanism comprises: a knob rotatably disposed on the bottom plate and abutting against the slider, wherein the base is slidably disposed between the bottom plate of the holding mechanism and the clamp, and the slider is pushed to move the clamp toward the base by the knob, so that the bottom plate and the clamp contact opposite surfaces of the base respectively and including all of the other limitations included in the claim.
Claims 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art discloses conventional holding mechanisms.
/KIMBERLY T WOOD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631