DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 15 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 15: “initially caibrated” should read “initially calibrated”
In Claim 16: “initial caibration” should read “initial calibration”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “an elastomer support assembly for use in connection with a wearable device” which makes it clear the invention is directed to an elastomer support assembly and that the wearable device is not part of the assembly. The wearable device is not positively claimed. Later claim 1 recites “wherein the support is attached to the wearable device….when the wearable device is worn” is unclear what effect this is meant to have on the scope of the claim given that the wearable device is not part of the assembly. Based on the recitations it would appear that the claimed invention of the assembly is only limited to the structures of “an elastomer support” and “a sensor detachable integrated within the elastomer support”. Claims 2, 4, 12 are similarly rejected for reciting the “wearable device” which is not considered part of the assembly.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the support" in Line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites “sensors” after reciting “a sensor” thus making it unclear if both recitation refer to the same element or not.
The term “tightly” in claim 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “tightly” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 6 recites “wherein the elastomer support replicates the position” and it is unclear exactly what the intended scope of this claim is meant to be. For the purposes of examination it will be treated as if the elastomer support conforms to the back.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the changes" in Line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites “flexible materials including foam, rubber silicone” making it unclear what exactly is intended to be claimed. For examination purposes it will be treated as if the claim recites “wherein the elastomer support is made of one of foam, rubber, silicone, and combinations thereof”.
Claim 10 recites “the sensor includes a flex sensor, a strain sensor, and any other position and displacement detection sensor” making it unclear what exactly is intended to be claimed. It is not clear what the scope of “any other position and displacement detection sensor: is meant to be. For examination purposes it will be treated as if the claim recites “the sensor includes one of a flex sensor or a strain sensor”.
Claim 11 recites “the elastomer support is flexible to conform to different body shapes without deformation” it is unclear what the scope of this claim is meant to be. A structure that is flexible would deform to be flexible. So it appears the limitations contradict each other.
The term “accurately” in claim 11 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “accurately” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 12 recites “any other body-wearable apparatus” making it unclear what exactly is intended to be claimed or what the scope is meant to be.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the spine position" in Line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the predefined threshold" in Line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the initial calibration" in Line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The term “bad” in claim 17 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “bad” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The term “poor” in claim 17 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “poor” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The term “eventually” in claim 17 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “eventually” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 18 recites “sensor data” and is dependent back to claim 3 which recites the same making it unclear if the recitation in claim 18 is meant to refer to that in claim 3 or not. For the purposes of examination it will be treated as the same “sensor data”.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the mobile application" in Lines 2 and 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites “a digital sensor ball” and it is unclear exactly what this is meant to entail. The disclose does not provide any clarity to this term. For the purposes of examination it will be treated as merely a display of the sensor data.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the desired position" in Line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the components" in Line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the data processing module" in Line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the vibration actuator" in Line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the wireless communication module" in Lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Carter et al. (US Patent No. 6554781).
Regarding claim 1, Carter teaches an elastomer support assembly for use in connection with a wearable device (Abstract), comprising:
an elastomer support (Column 3, Lines 10-11; “The monitoring means may for example comprise an elastomeric housing”);
a sensor detachably integrated within the elastomer support (Column 3, Lines 10-11; “The monitoring means may for example comprise an elastomeric housing”; Column 3, Lines 55-60: “A pair of strain gauge transducers may be provided on the opposed flat surfaces of the strip, which may be said to have a ventral surface and a dorsal surface. Thus a differential signal may be generated which corresponds to the curvature of the strip and hence the curvature of the user's spine.”)
wherein the support is attached to the wearable device and adhered to a lumbar spine of a user when the wearable device is worn by the user for allowing sensors to detect lower back movement of the user (Column 3, Lines 3-10: “The monitoring means may advantageously include a flexible body member adapted to conform in use to the lumbar portion of the wearer's spine, and securing means. The securing means may also take any form consistent with the function of maintaining the body member in position on the wearer. For example, the securing means may comprise one or more of adhesive pads or tape members, straps or any other suitable means.”).
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tao et al. (US 2009/0282671)
Regarding claim 1, Tao teaches an elastomer support assembly for use in connection with a wearable device (Abstract), comprising:
an elastomer support (Paragraph 0004; “"Wearable, redundant fabric-based sensor arrays for reconstruction of body segment posture", reported strain sensors to measure body segments made of carbon loaded silicon rubber coated fabrics.”);
a sensor detachably integrated within the elastomer support (Paragraph 0004; "Wearable, redundant fabric-based sensor arrays for reconstruction of body segment posture", reported strain sensors to measure body segments made of carbon loaded silicon rubber coated fabrics.”)
wherein the support is attached to the wearable device and adhered to a lumbar spine of a user when the wearable device is worn by the user for allowing sensors to detect lower back movement of the user (this language is conditional due to the ‘when’ and recites ‘wearable device’ which isn’t positively recited and thus is not required to be taught by the prior art)
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kurzweil et al. (US 2008/0287770).
Regarding claim 1, Kurzweil teaches an elastomer support assembly for use in connection with a wearable device (Figures 11-12; Abstract), comprising:
an elastomer support (Paragraph 0076; “a sensor frame or housing 154 that is comprised of a firm but flexible material (e.g., rubber).”);
a sensor detachably integrated within the elastomer support (Paragraph 0076; “The sensing membrane 156 is comprised of an electrically conductive and flexible material, e.g., a conductive rubber or conductive silicone and is disposed inside the housing 154 and has a major surface thereof that is exposed so that the sensing membrane 156 can make contact with the skin. The sensing membrane 156 can be flat or can be curved as shown, to insure secure and adequate contact with the skin.”);
wherein the support is attached to the wearable device and adhered to a lumbar spine of a user when the wearable device is worn by the user for allowing sensors to detect lower back movement of the user (Paragraph 0074; Figures 1-2 and 5-9).
Regarding claim 2, Kurzweil teaches wherein the support is tightly attached to the wearable device in an opening (Paragraph 0080; “The sensor 150 may fit snugly in the pocket 18, in which ease the harness would provide the function of holding the sensor in place, as previously discussed.”)
Regarding claim 3, Kurzweil teaches further comprises an electronic control unit (ECU) which is connected the sensor via a wire to continuously transmit sensor data related to back posture of the user in real-time (element 50; Paragraphs 0047-0050).
Regarding claim 4, Kurzweil teaches wherein the ECU is hooked on to the wearable device (Figure 2; element 50).
Regarding claim 6, Kurzweil teaches wherein the elastomer support replicates the position of the lower back of the user based on the change in user's position (Paragraph 0074; Figures 1-2 and 5-9).
Regarding claim 7, Kurzweil teaches wherein the elastomer support is made of flexible materials including foam, rubber and silicone (Paragraph 0076; “a sensor frame or housing 154 that is comprised of a firm but flexible material (e.g., rubber).”).
Regarding claim 11, Kurzweil teaches wherein the elastomer support is flexible to conform to different body shapes without deformation such that the sensor accurately detects and responds to movements of the user (Paragraph 0076; “a sensor frame or housing 154 that is comprised of a firm but flexible material (e.g., rubber).”; Paragraph 0094).
Regarding claim 12, Kurzweil teaches wherein the wearable device includes a belt, a garment or any other body-wearable apparatus (Paragraph 0007).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 9-10,13-14, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurzweil et al. (US 2008/0287770) in view of Gokhale et al. (US 2017/0156639)
Regarding claim 5, Kurzweil is silent on measuring spine/back movement/position. Gokhale teaches wherein the lower back movement includes spine movement, low back movement, lumbar spine movement or various lordotic positions (Paragraphs 0007 and 0038; Figure 3D). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Kurzweil with Gokhale because it allows for feedback to encourage users to progress towards a posture goal for improving wellness, health and/or therapeutic results while performing activities (Paragraph 0008 of Gokhale).
Regarding claim 9, Kurzweil is silent on the sensor being a position/displacement sensor. Gokhale teaches wherein the sensor includes a position detection sensor (Paragraphs 0027 and 0029). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Kurzweil with Gokhale because it allows for feedback to encourage users to progress towards a posture goal for improving wellness, health and/or therapeutic results while performing activities (Paragraph 0008 of Gokhale) and since it would only require the routine skill of simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (MPEP 2143 I. B.) in this case the sensors of Kurzweil with those of Gokhale.
Regarding claim 10, Kurzweil is silent on the sensor being a position/displacement sensor. Gokhale teaches wherein the sensor includes a flex sensor, a strain sensor, and any other position and displacement detection senso (Paragraphs 0027 and 0029). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Kurzweil with Gokhale because it allows for feedback to encourage users to progress towards a posture goal for improving wellness, health and/or therapeutic results while performing activities (Paragraph 0008 of Gokhale) and since it would only require the routine skill of simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (MPEP 2143 I. B.) in this case the sensors of Kurzweil with those of Gokhale.
Regarding claim 13, Kurzweil is silent on measuring spine position. Gokhale teaches wherein the sensor data includes spine position data of the user (Paragraphs 0007 and 0038; Figures 5A-5C). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Kurzweil with Gokhale because it allows for feedback to encourage users to progress towards a posture goal for improving wellness, health and/or therapeutic results while performing activities (Paragraph 0008 of Gokhale).
Regarding claim 14, Kurzweil is silent on the ECU elements. Gokhale teaches wherein the ECU includes a data processing module to detect if the spine position of the user exceeds predefined thresholds (Paragraph 0038; Figure 5A-5C). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Kurzweil with Gokhale because it allows for feedback to encourage users to progress towards a posture goal for improving wellness, health and/or therapeutic results while performing activities (Paragraph 0008 of Gokhale).
Regarding claim 18, Kurzweil teaches wherein the ECU includes a wireless communication module to communicate sensor data to the mobile application (Paragraph 0047; “The harness also carries an electronics module 50 that can wireless transmit signals from the sensors to a nearby computer, PDA or wireless phone. A PDA 43, as shown, may be carried by the person wearing the harness 10”) but is silent on the GUI. Gokhale teaches for real time visualization of user's back posture using a graphical user interface (GUI) of the mobile application (Figures 5A-5C; Paragraph 0038). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Kurzweil with Gokhale because it allows for feedback to encourage users to progress towards a posture goal for improving wellness, health and/or therapeutic results while performing activities (Paragraph 0008 of Gokhale).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurzweil et al. (US 2008/0287770) in view of Gefen (US 2022/0183872).
Regarding claim 8, Kurzweil is silent on the type of foam. Gefen teaches wherein the foam is open-cell foam and closed-cell foam (Paragraphs 0029 and 0120). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Kurzweil with Gefen since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. MPEP 2144.07
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurzweil et al. (US 2008/0287770) in view of Gokhale et al. (US 2017/0156639) and in further view of Yip et al. (US 2019/0307394).
Regarding claim 15, Kurzweil is silent on the calibration of spine position. Yip teaches wherein the predefined threshold includes initially caibrated spine position of the user (Paragraphs 0012 and 0066). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Kurzweil with Yip because it allows for providing a personalized biofeedback to the patient based on the patient-related signals, and providing posture trainings to the patient by restoring a balance in muscle activities and reducing a displacement of both sides of the patient's spine (Paragraph 0011 of Yip).
Regarding claim 16, Kurzweil is silent on the calibration of spine position. Yip teaches wherein the initial caibration of spine position is performed using a software application in a mobile device (Paragraphs 0012 and 0066). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Kurzweil with Yip because it allows for providing a personalized biofeedback to the patient based on the patient-related signals, and providing posture trainings to the patient by restoring a balance in muscle activities and reducing a displacement of both sides of the patient's spine (Paragraph 0011 of Yip).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurzweil et al. (US 2008/0287770) in view of Gokhale et al. (US 2017/0156639) and in further view of Carter et al. (US Patent No. 6554781).
Regarding claim 17, Kurzweil is silent on the ECU elements. Carter teaches wherein the ECU includes a vibration actuator that receives control signal from the data processing module upon the data processing module detecting bad or poor position of user's spine and eventually alerts the user (Column 3, Line 61-Column 4, Line 22). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Kurzweil with Carter because it enables feedback to reinforce maintenance of good posture (Column 3, Line 61-Column 4, Line 22 of Carter).
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurzweil et al. (US 2008/0287770) in view of Gokhale et al. (US 2017/0156639) and in further view of Utsunomiya et al. (US 2015/0003687).
Regarding claim 19, Kurzweil is silent on the GUI. Utsunomiya teaches wherein the GUI visualizes the user's back posture by displaying back posture through a digital sensor ball and digital flexion and extension barriers (See various Figures detailing the GUI and at least Paragraph 0291). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Kurzweil with Utsunomiya because it aids in therapy and training of a user thus improving vital functions and social functions (Paragraph 0080 of Utsunomiya).
Regarding claim 20, Kurzweil is silent on the flexion and extension barriers. Utsunomiya teaches wherein the flexion and extension barriers are upper and lower limits respectively alerting the user of excessive movement (Paragraph 0291). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Kurzweil with Utsunomiya because it aids in therapy and training of a user thus improving vital functions and social functions (Paragraph 0080 of Utsunomiya).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurzweil et al. (US 2008/0287770) in view of Gokhale et al. (US 2017/0156639) and Utsunomiya et al. (US 2015/0003687) and in further view of Carter et al. (US Patent No. 6554781).
Regarding claim 21, Kurzweil is silent on the flexion and extension barrier. Carter teaches wherein the flexion and extension barriers return to predetermined distances from the desired position upon recalibration (Column 5, Line 57-Column 6, Line 6; Column 7, Lines 49-62). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Kurzweil with Carter because it enables better posture training through various levels of sensitivity (Column 5, Lines 34-47 and Column 5, Line 57-Column 6, Line 23 of Carter).
Claim(s) 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurzweil et al. (US 2008/0287770) in view of Carter et al. (US Patent No. 6554781).
Regarding claim 22, Kurzweil is silent on the ECU elements. Carter teaches wherein the ECU is housed within the elastomer support (Column 3, Lines 3-21; Figure 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Kurzweil with Carter because it allows a housing that is unobtrusive for the wearer (Column 3, Lines 3-21 of Carter) and since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1993).
Regarding claim 23, Kurzweil is silent on the ECU elements. Carter teaches wherein the components of ECU including the data processing module, the vibration actuator and the wireless communication module are integrated within the elastomer support (Column 3, Lines 3-21; Figure 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Kurzweil with Carter because it allows a housing that is unobtrusive for the wearer (Column 3, Lines 3-21 of Carter) and since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1993).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Lee (US 2024/0165464) and Gladoun (US 2003/0220591) and Hyde et al. (US 2017/0136264).
/PATRICK FERNANDES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791