DETAILED ACTION
under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Examiner’s Comments
This office action is in response to the application filed on 11/6/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR
1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/16/2026 is in
compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 10 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as
being anticipated by Everts (US 5181369).
With regard to claim 1, Everts discloses a power tool (10), comprising: an operation portion (inherent) comprising a first handle (28) for a user to grip; a working head (20) drivable to work; a connecting rod (12) connecting the first handle (28) to the working head (20); and a battery pack (24) configured to power the power tool (10); wherein the first handle (28) is disposed at a rear end of the connecting rod (12), the first handle (28) and the battery pack (24) are disposed vertically along a direction perpendicular to an axis of the connecting rod (12), when an included angle between the axis of the connecting rod and a walking direction of the power tool is 45 degrees, an extension direction of the first handle forms a first included angle (visually fig.1) with the walking direction of the power tool, and the first included angle is greater than or equal to 30 degrees and less than or equal to 90 degrees (when tool is oriented in downward direction).
With regard to claim 2, Everts discloses a power tool (10), wherein a lower edge of the first handle (28) forms a second included angle with the axis of the connecting rod (12), and the second included angle is greater than or equal to 45 degrees and less than or equal to 90 degrees (see fig.1).
With regard to claim 4, Everts discloses a power tool (10), wherein a center (CG see fig.1) of a grip of the first handle (28) is disposed on an upper side of the axis of the connecting rod (12), and the battery pack (24) is disposed on a lower side of the axis of the connecting rod (12 fig.1).
With regard to claim 5, Everts discloses a power tool (10), wherein the battery pack (24) is detachably connected to the connecting rod (12) and is mounted to the connecting rod (12 see fig.1) along a direction parallel to the connecting rod.
With regard to claim 6, Everts discloses a power tool (10), wherein the battery pack (24) has a first length parallel (see fig.1) to the connecting rod (12) and a second length (as seen in fig.1) perpendicular to the connecting rod (12 see fig.1), and the first length is greater than the second length.
With regard to claim 7, Everts discloses a power tool (10), further comprising a second handle (30) disposed on an upper side of the connecting rod (12 fig.1).
With regard to claim 10, Everts discloses a power tool (10), wherein, when the power tool (10) is placed on the ground with the working head (20) and the battery pack (24) both touching the ground, the battery pack (24) forms a third included angle with the ground (battery being placed in the same position as in the present invention at rear of tool), and the third included angle is less than or equal to 30 degrees.
With regard to claim 16, Everts discloses a power tool (10), comprising: an operation portion (inherent) comprising a first handle (28) for a user to grip; a working head (20) drivable to work; a connecting rod (12) connecting the first handle to the working head (20); and a battery pack (24) configured to power the power tool; wherein the first handle (28) is disposed at a rear end of the connecting rod (12), and the first handle (28) and the battery pack (24) are disposed vertically along a direction perpendicular to an axis of the connecting rod.
With regard to claim 17, Everts discloses a power tool (10), wherein a center of a grip of the first handle (28) is disposed on an upper side of an axis of the connecting rod (12), and the battery pack (24) is disposed on a lower side of the axis of the connecting rod (12 see fig.1).
With regard to claim 18, Everts discloses a power tool (10), comprising: an operation portion (trigger section, inherent) comprising a first handle (28) for a user to grip; a working head (20) drivable to work; a connecting rod (12) connecting the first handle (28) to the working head; and a battery pack (24) configured to power the power tool (10); wherein the first handle (28) is disposed at a rear end of the connecting rod (12 see fig.1), the first handle (28) and the battery pack (24) are disposed vertically along a direction perpendicular to an axis of the connecting rod, a lower edge of the first handle forms a second included angle with the axis of the connecting rod, and the second included angle is greater than or equal to 45 degrees and less than or equal to 90 degrees (as seen in fig.1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Everts in view of Obviousness.
With regard to claim 9, Everts discloses a power tool (10), but does not mention, wherein the operation portion further comprises a speed adjustment assembly configured to adjust a working speed of the power tool.
However, speed adjustment is well known to one skilled in the art, since adjusting tool speed improves precision and prevent damage. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing, to modify Everts tool by providing speed adjustment in order to include precision and prevent damage.
Claims 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Everts in view of Li et al. (CN 215898418) hereinafter (Li).
With regard to claim 11, Everts discloses a power tool (10), wherein the connecting rod comprises a first connecting rod (12) connected to the working head (20) and except for a second connecting rod connected to the operation portion, the first connecting rod and the second connecting rod are connected to each other through a connecting assembly, the connecting assembly is a foldable assembly, and the connecting assembly is folded so that the connecting rod is folded, causing the power tool to be in a folded state.
Li discloses a power tool (fig.1) including a second connecting rod (32) connected to the operation portion (10), the first connecting rod (31) and the second connecting rod (32) are connected to each other through a connecting assembly (40), the connecting assembly is a foldable assembly (see fig.1), and the connecting assembly is folded so that the connecting rod is folded, causing the power tool to be in a folded state. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing, to modify Everts tool by providing a second connecting rod connected to the operation portion, the first connecting rod and the second connecting rod are connected to each other through a connecting assembly, the connecting assembly is a foldable assembly, and the connecting assembly is folded so that the connecting rod is folded, causing the power tool to be in a folded state such that the tool becomes easily carriable and storable in small spaces.
With regard to claim 12, modified Everts discloses a power tool (10), wherein, when the power tool (10) is in the folded state (Li), an uppermost end of the working head away from the axis of the connecting rod is connected to an end of the first connecting rod (12) away from the working head (20) to form a first straight line, and a center of the first handle is located between the first straight line and the first connecting rod (12).
With regard to claim 13, modified Everts discloses a power tool (10), wherein, when the power tool is in the folded state (Li), the second connecting rod (32 Li) is located above the first connecting rod.
With regard to claim 14, modified Everts discloses a power tool (10), wherein, when the power tool (10) is in the folded state (Li), the first straight line, the first connecting rod (31 Li), and the working head (20) form a triangular region.
With regard to claim 15, modified Everts discloses a power tool (10), wherein, when the power tool (10) is in the folded state (as is within the purview of the skilled artisan), a height of the operation portion is less than or equal to a height of the working head along an up and down direction perpendicular to the axis of the first connecting rod.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 8 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected
base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With regard to claim 3, Everts discloses a power tool, but fails to disclose or teach in combination, wherein the first handle further comprises a grip trigger, and a height difference between a central position of the grip trigger and the axis of the connecting rod is less than or equal to 200 mm.
With regard to claim 8, Everts discloses a power tool, wherein the second handle is disposed between the first handle and the working head, and, when the included angle between the axis of the connecting rod and the walking direction of the power tool is 45 degrees, but fails to disclose or teach in combination, a height difference between a central position of the second handle and a central position of the first handle is less than or equal to 200 mm.
With regard to claim 19, Everts discloses a power tool, wherein the first handle further comprises a grip trigger, and, when an included angle between the axis of the connecting rod and a walking direction of the power tool is 45 degrees, but fails to disclose or teach in combination, a height difference between a central position of the second handle and a central position of the first handle is less than or equal to 200 mm.
With regard to claim 20, Everts discloses a power tool, further comprising a second handle, wherein the second handle is disposed between the first handle and the working head, and, when the included angle between the axis of the connecting rod and the walking direction of the power tool is 45 degrees, but fails to disclose or teach in combination, a height difference between a central position of the second handle and a central position of the first handle is less than or equal to 200 mm.
Conclusion
Refer to attachment for notice of references cited and recommended for
consideration based on their disclosure of limitations of the claimed invention.
/NATHANIEL C CHUKWURAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731
8/25/2026