DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the display of claim 4, which does not have an air gap, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). All of the examples appear to have an air gap (for example parts 3416 and 2401). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of the use of the legalese language “comprises”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nichol et al. (US 2024/0302580) .
The applied reference has a common inventor and Applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding independent claim 1, Nichol et al. (‘580) teaches in figure 37, paragraph 0214, and the abstract, a display (4600) comprising: a transmissive spatial light modulator (4602- please note throughout the text, the references teaches the light modulator can be refractive of transmissive) with an active area (no number but where the viewing arrows 4603 and 4605 are located); a first backlight (4604) positioned to illuminate the transmissive spatial light modulator; and a second backlight (4606) positioned between (the curved part on the right edge between 4604 and 4602) the first backlight and the transmissive spatial light modulator, wherein the second backlight comprises a film-based lightguide emitting light with a smaller average angular full width at half-maximum luminous intensity in a light output plane than the first backlight (see abstract).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Nichol et al. (‘580) teaches the transmissive spatial light modulator is a transmissive liquid crystal display.
Regarding dependent claim 3, Nichol et al. (‘580) teaches the first backlight is a direct-lit backlight with electronically configurable spatially varying light output across a first light output surface of the first backlight (see last three lines of paragraph 0214).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record neither shows nor suggest the display does not comprise an air gap between the second backlight and the transmissive liquid crystal display, along with the rest of the limitations of the claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yoon US 2003/0086032 teaches the state of the art for lcd display devices.
Contact Information
JOSEPH L. WILLIAMS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/JOSEPH L WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875